DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 24, 26-29, and 32-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8, and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,332,173, hereinafter “’173”, in view of Doylend et al. (US 2017/0184450 A1), hereinafter “Doylend”. The pending claims are rendered obvious by the patented claims in view of Doylend.
Regarding claim 21, ‘173 claims a system (claim 1, col. 29, line 65) comprising:
one or more light sources (line 66);
a plurality of waveguides (line 67);
at least one outcoupler (col. 30, line 1);
a phase control network (line 2);
a detector (line 3);
a system interface including a launch region and a detection region (lines 5-6); and
wherein: the plurality of waveguides are configured to route light generated by the one or more light sources to the at least one outcoupler (lines 7-9);
the phase control network is configured to control a relative phase of a portion of the light routed by at least one of the plurality of waveguides (lines 10-12);
the at least one outcoupler is configured to redirect the light to form a launch beam that exits the system via the launch region (lines 17-19); and
the detector is positioned to detect a portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via the detection region (lines 20-22).
‘173 does not claim a first set of optics positioned between the at least one outcoupler and the launch region.
However, Doylend teaches an optical device (abstract) including a first set of optics (Fig. 3B, ref 340) positioned between the at least one outcoupler (ref 334) and the launch region (ref 342).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim a first set of optics positioned between the at least one outcoupler and the launch region in order to have light focused differently to allow for wider or narrower transmission and reception, paragraph [0058].
Regarding claim 24, ‘173 does not claim regarding a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector.
However, Doylend teaches an optical device (abstract) including a second set of optics (Fig. 3B, ref 390, paragraph [0065]) positioned between the detection region (ref 392, paragraph [0065]) and the detector (ref 394, paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector in order to focus light on the detector.
Regarding claim 26, ‘173 claims wherein: the phase control network comprises a plurality of phase shifters (claim 5).
Regarding claim 27, ‘173 claims wherein: the phase control network introduces different group delays between different outputs of the plurality of waveguides (claim 6).
Regarding claim 28, ‘173 claims wherein: the detection region is a first detection region and the detector is a first detector; the system interface comprises a second detection region; and the second detector is positioned to detect an additional portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via the second detection region (claim 7).
Regarding claim 29, ‘173 claims a method of determining one or more sample properties of a sample using a system (claim 8, col. 30, lines 48-49), comprising:
emitting a launch beam into the sample via a launch region of a system interface of the system, wherein emitting the launch beam comprises (lines 50-52):
routing light generated by one or more light sources to at least one outcoupler using a plurality of waveguides, wherein a phase control network controls a relative phase of a portion of the light routed by at least one of the plurality of waveguides (lines 53-57); and
receiving a portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via a detection region of the system interface (lines 59-61);
measuring the received portion of the launch beam using a detector to generate one or more signals (lines 62-63); and
determining the one or more sample properties using the one or more signals, wherein emitting the launch beam (lines 64-65).
‘173 does not claim redirecting the light to pass through a first set of optics positioned between the launch region and the at least one outcoupler to form the launch beam.
However, Doylend teaches an optical device (abstract) including redirecting the light to pass through a first set of optics (Fig. 3B, ref 340) positioned between the launch region (ref 342) and the at least one outcoupler (ref 334) to form the launch beam (ref 342).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim redirecting the light to pass through a first set of optics positioned between the launch region and the at least one outcoupler to form the launch beam in order to have light focused differently to allow for wider or narrower transmission and reception, paragraph [0058].
Regarding claim 32, ‘173 does not claim wherein: receiving the received portion comprises passing the received portion through a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector.
However, Doylend teaches an optical device (abstract) including receiving the received portion comprises passing the received portion through a second set of optics (Fig. 3B, ref 390, paragraph [0065]) positioned between the detection region (ref 392, paragraph [0065]) and the detector (ref 394, paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim receiving the received portion comprises passing the received portion through a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector in order to focus light on the detector.
Regarding claim 33, ‘173 claims wherein: the phase control network comprises a plurality of phase shifters (claim 12).
Regarding claim 34, ‘173 claims wherein: the phase control network introduces different group delays between different outputs of the plurality of waveguides (claim 13).
Regarding claim 35, ‘173 claims wherein: the detection region is a first detection region and the detector is a first detector; the system interface comprises a second detection region; and the second detector is positioned to detect an additional portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via the second detection region (claim 14).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,332,173 in view of Doylend and Shin et al. (US 2018/0052378), hereinafter “Shin”.
Regarding claim 22, ‘173 does not claim wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides.
However, Shin teaches wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides (Fig. 1. refs 160 A1-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides in order to have a wider field of emission.
Regarding claim 23, ‘173 does not claim wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). One would use a staggered arrangement to have a larger area of emission.
Claim 25 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,332,173 in view of Doylend and Eldada et al. (US 2015/0293224 A1), hereinafter “Eldada”.
Regarding claim 25, ‘173 does not claim wherein: the first set of optics comprises collimating optics.
However, Eldada teaches an optical device (abstract) including wherein: the first set of optics comprises collimating optics (ref 394, paragraphs [0007], [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein: the first set of optics comprises collimating optics in order to emit light with even intensity over the detection area.
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,332,173 in view of Doylend and Shin et al. (US 2018/0052378), hereinafter “Shin”.
Regarding claim 30, ‘173 does not claim regarding wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides.
However, Shin teaches wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides (Fig. 1. refs 160 A1-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides in order to have a wider field of emission.
Regarding claim 31, ‘173 does not claim regarding wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). One would use a staggered arrangement to have a larger area of emission.
No double patenting rejection is made in view of Arbore (US 11579080), as the instant claims include a "plurality of waveguides are configured to route light generated by the one or more light sources to the at least one outcoupler; the phase control network is configured to control a relative phase of a portion of the light routed by at least one of the plurality of waveguides", while the Arbore patent recites a sheet light beam that does not include any waveguides. To reason exists to combine the Arbore patent with prior art to render the claims obvious, as a sheet light beam travels in a fundamentally different manner than a beam in a LIDAR waveguide, as in Shin (infra) or Doyle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 26-30, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2018/0052378), hereinafter “Shin”.
Regarding claim 21, Shin discloses a system (Figs. 1, 12) comprising:
one or more light sources (Figs. 1, 12, ref 200, paragraph [0030]);
a plurality of waveguides (ref 101, paragraph [0041]);
at least one outcoupler (Fig. 11, ref 1, paragraph [0104]);
a phase control network (Fig. 12, refs 110, 120, 130, 150, paragraph [0028]);
a detector (ref 300, paragraph [0109, [0112]);
a system interface including a launch region and a detection region (Fig. 12, beam from Tx Array 160 to target 3000 to Rx Array 300); and,
a first set of optics positioned between the at least one outcoupler and the launch region (Fig. 11, ref 162, paragraph [0104]) wherein:
the plurality of waveguides are configured to route light generated by the one or more light sources to the at least one outcoupler (as shown in Fig. 1, paragraph [0028]-[0030]);
the phase control network is configured to control a relative phase of a portion of the light routed by at least one of the plurality of waveguides (paragraph [0032]-[0034]);
the at least one outcoupler is configured to redirect the light to form a launch beam that exits the system via the launch region (paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0109]); and
the detector is positioned to detect a portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via the detection region (Fig. 12, paragraphs [0109]-[0112]).
Regarding claim 22, Shin discloses wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides (Fig. 1. refs 160 A1-16).
Regarding claim 26, Shin discloses wherein: the phase control network comprises a plurality of phase shifters (refs 120, 130, paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 27, Shin discloses wherein: the phase control network introduces different group delays between different outputs of the plurality of waveguides (paragraphs [0041]-[0042], the different location of the phase shifters 130 will create different group delays at any cross-section of the waveguides).
Regarding claim 28, Shin discloses wherein: the detection region is a first detection region and the detector is a first detector; the system interface comprises a second detection region; and the second detector is positioned to detect an additional portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via the second detection region (paragraph [0079], the claim does not require that the second region be different than the first region, it merely requires that there is a second detector).
Regarding claim 29, Shin discloses a method of determining one or more sample properties of a sample using a system (abstract, Figs. 1, 12), comprising:
emitting a launch beam (from ref 160) into the sample (ref 3000) via a launch region of a system interface of the system, wherein emitting the launch beam comprises (Fig. 12, beam from Tx Array 160 to target 3000 to Rx Array 300):
routing light generated by one or more light sources (ref 200; paragraph [0030]) to at least one outcoupler (Fig. 11, ref 1, paragraph [0104]) using a plurality of waveguides (Fig. 12, ref 101, paragraph [0041]), wherein a phase control network controls a relative phase of a portion of the light routed by at least one of the plurality of waveguides (refs 110, 120, 130, 150, paragraph [0028]); and
redirecting the light to pass through a first set of optics positioned between the launch region and the at least one outcoupler to form the launch beam (via grating 162, Fig. 11, paragraph [0104])
receiving a portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via a detection region of the system interface (paragraphs [0109]-[0112]);
measuring the received portion of the launch beam using a detector to generate one or more signals (paragraphs [0109]-[0112]); and
determining the one or more sample properties using the one or more signals, wherein emitting the launch beam (paragraphs [0109]-[0112], LIDAR determines velocity of target, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 30, Shin discloses wherein: the at least one outcoupler comprises an outcoupler array with a plurality of outcouplers coupled to the plurality of waveguides (Fig. 1. refs 160 A1-16).
Regarding claim 33, Shin discloses wherein: the phase control network comprises a plurality of phase shifters (refs 120, 130, paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 34, Shin discloses wherein: the phase control network introduces different group delays between different outputs of the plurality of waveguides (paragraphs [0041]-[0042], the different locations of the phase shifters 130 will create a different group delay at any cross section of the waveguide).
Regarding claim 35, Shin discloses wherein: the detection region is a first detection region and the detector is a first detector; the system interface comprises a second detection region; and the second detector is positioned to detect an additional portion of the launch beam that is returned to the system via the second detection region (paragraph [0079], the claim does not require that the second region be different than the first region, it merely requires that there is a second detector).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin.
Regarding claim 23, Shin is silent regarding wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). One would use a staggered arrangement to have a larger area of emission.
Regarding claim 31, Shin is silent regarding wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: the plurality of outcouplers is positioned in in a staggered arrangement as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). One would use a staggered arrangement to have a larger area of emission.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Doylend.
Regarding claim 24, Shin is silent regarding a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector.
However, Doylend teaches an optical device (abstract) including a second set of optics (Fig. 3B, ref 390, paragraph [0065]) positioned between the detection region (ref 392, paragraph [0065]) and the detector (ref 394, paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shin with teaching of Doylend by including a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector in order to focus light on the detector
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Eldada et al. (US 2015/0293224 A1), hereinafter “Eldada”.
Regarding claim 25, Shin is silent regarding wherein: the first set of optics comprises collimating optics.
However, Eldada teaches an optical device (abstract) including wherein: the first set of optics comprises collimating optics (ref 394, paragraphs [0007], [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Shin with teaching of Eldada by including wherein: the first set of optics comprises collimating optics in order to emit light with even intensity over the detection area.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Doylend.
Regarding claim 32, Shin is silent regarding receiving the received portion comprises passing the received portion through a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector.
However, Doylend teaches an optical device (abstract) including receiving the received portion comprises passing the received portion through a second set of optics (Fig. 3B, ref 390, paragraph [0065]) positioned between the detection region (ref 392, paragraph [0065]) and the detector (ref 394, paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Shin with teaching of Doylend by including receiving the received portion comprises passing the received portion through a second set of optics positioned between the detection region and the detector in order to focus light on the detector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bernasconi (US 8515217) teaches a phase modulator for a photonic device but does not teach any detection, as claimed.
Ridder (US 2019/0137337) teaches a similar device lacking a phase control network.
Shin (US 10983413) and Zhu (US 11320717) teach a similar phase control to the claimed device.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877