DETAILED ACTION
Objection Response:
Applicant states that the apparent blurriness of FIGS. 6A–11D and 13A–16 resulted from Patent Center file conversion, and that the originals in Supplemental Content are satisfactory for examination; Applicant offered to submit replacement drawings when the application is otherwise in condition for allowance. Upon review, the Examiner finds that the black-and-white line drawings and other drawings are not blurry. Accordingly, the drawing objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments to Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. Because amendment removes the terms of degree that formed the basis of the rejection. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1–6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn. Claims 7–14 have been canceled and are not under consideration.
Response to Arguments to Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant argues claim 1 integrates the alleged abstract idea into a practical application because the first machine learning model having been trained to segment a plurality of users into patient subgroups and the second machine learning model having been trained to classify the user into one or more of the patient subgroups sequentially define how the machine-learning system operates, relying on Ex parte Desjardins and distinguishing Recentive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under BRI, claim 1 requires historical data for the trained segmentation model and at least behavioral and input data for the trained classification model, linked through the same patient subgroups; this relationship specifies the patient-analysis workflow, but does not establish an improvement in machine-learning operation. Specification paragraphs [0041]–[0042] describe those functions, while paragraph [0044]’s reference to improving “any inferential and/or predictive capacity” does not explain a technological improvement attributable to their combination; MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1), An improvement required to be apparent to a skilled artisan and reflected in the claim. Desjardins satisfied that requirement through protecting earlier-task performance during subsequent learning, whereas the claimed segmentation-to-classification relationship supplies no corresponding explanation of improved machine-learning operation.
Applicant argues claim 1 also satisfies Step 2B because sequentially employing the first and second machine-learning models improves machine-learning technology and therefore constitutes significantly more than merely instructing a computer to perform the alleged abstract idea.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under BRI, claim 1 assigns historical data to a trained segmentation model and at least behavioral and input data to a trained classification model linked through the same patient subgroups, thereby specifying a patient-analysis workflow without establishing improved machine-learning operation. Specification paragraphs [0041]–[0042] describe those functions, while paragraph [0044] refers to improving “any inferential and/or predictive capacity” through training without attributing a technological benefit to their combination. MPEP § 2106.05, subsection I, requires an additional element or combination that provides significantly more than the exception; the claimed relationship and cited disclosure do not establish the asserted technological improvement.
Response to Arguments to Rejections under 35 U.S.C. $ 103
Applicant argues that Batta and Hodgson do not teach all limitations of claim 1 and that there is no motivation to combine and/or to modify them as alleged by the Office.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. For clarify and focus in applicant highlight claim 1 limitations. Batta teaches trained classifier 402 to identify/classify health conditions/diseases, paragraph 0064, by determining whether an input belongs to a class, paragraph 0067. Applied across its multiple users, paragraph 0077, these eye-health classes reasonably provide the claimed segmentation. The classifier receives behavioral images, user input and medical history, paragraphs 0027–0030 and 0079. The missing element is a second trained model assigning the user to the first model’s subgroups. Paragraphs 0070 and 0081 describe condition prediction, recommendations and classifier updating, but do not establish that separate subgroup-assignment model. Hodgson teaches a two-step process in which patient cohorts are identified first and another model is trained to predict cohort membership, paragraph 0112. Paragraph 0113 labels training records with the first-stage groups and uses those records to train a second model to predict the cluster to which a new patient belongs. Before the effective filing date, a POSITA would have combined Batta with Hodgson by retaining Batta’s trained classifier for condition-based segmentation of historical patient records and adding a distinct model trained on those subgroup assignments, with behavioral and user-input features as predictor inputs. The added model would then classify the current user into the first model’s subgroups. Batta already compares diagnostic labels and characteristics with a database of thousands of other entities, paragraph 0083. That population comparison would prompt a POSITA using historical subgroup assignments as prediction targets for current users, through Hodgson’s cluster-labeled training data set, paragraph 0113. The reason for adding the second model is to extend population-derived group assignments to a new user through a predictor trained specifically for membership in those groups. Batta supplies patient characteristics, diagnoses and input data, paragraphs 0076–0079; Hodgson supplies the linked training-and-prediction procedure, paragraph 0113, supporting a reasonable expectation of the claimed subgroup assignment. See some relevant paragraphs: Batta, US 2021/0315499 A1, paragraphs 0027–0030, 0032, 0064, 0067, 0070, 0076–0079, 0081 and 0083; Hodgson, US 2020/0387810 A1, paragraphs 0112–0113, 0117, 0134.
Applicant argues that claims 4 and 6 are patentable because Batta and Hodgson do not teach the disputed limitations of claim 1, and Larsen and Kellner do not cure that deficiency.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments for claims 4 and 6 depend solely on the alleged deficiency of claim 1. As explained above, Batta in view of Hodgson already teaches or suggests the disputed limitations of claim 1. Larsen and Kellner are relied upon only for the additional limitations recited in claims 4 and 6, respectively, and Applicant does not separately dispute those teachings. Accordingly, the §103 rejections of claims 4 and 6 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected for being directed to abstract idea, without recited practical application or inventive concept as explained below.
Step 1.
A statutory category refers to the types of inventions eligible for patent protection, such as processes, machines, manufactures, or compositions of matter.
Claims 1-6 are written as methods and therefore recite process statutory categories.
Since claims 1-6 are written as methods and fit within a statutory category under Step 1, they will be analyzed under the first prong of the eligibility framework.
Prong One
Prong One is used to determine whether the claims recite a judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 recites the following abstract idea (shown in non-bold text). The bolded language in claim 1 represents additional elements, which will be further analyzed under Prong Two and Step 2B.
Claim 1.
A method comprising:
capturing, via a device, behavioral data regarding
(a) a user's use of the device,
or (b) the user's interaction with the user's environment;
capturing, via the device, input data comprising one or more of:
(a) user survey data,
(b) user biometric data,
(c) data entered by the user through a screen or peripheral of the device, and
(d) device sensor data;
obtaining, from a remote system, historical data related to one or more of:
(a) medical history of the user,
(b) medical data relating to a plurality of patients,
(c) clinical trial data,
and (d) purchase data;
providing the historical data to a first machine learning model, the first machine learning model having been trained to segment a plurality of users into patient subgroups that are distinct and associated with differences with regard to one or more eye health conditions;
providing at least the behavioral data and the input data to a second machine learning model, the second machine learning model having been trained to classify the user into one or more of the patient subgroups; and
performing an action in response to the classification of the user into the one or more of the patient subgroups, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following:
(i) displaying a notification to the user, via a display of the device, of at least one risk associated with the one or more patient subgroups,
(ii) presenting to the user, via a display of the device, of educational content associated with the at least one risk,
(iii) presenting to the user, via a display of the device, of contact information for a healthcare provider specialized for the one or more eye health conditions, and
(iv) establishing a communicative connection between the device and a remote server.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims recite collecting user health-related information, including behavioral data, input data, medical data, and/or historical data; evaluating that information using claimed machine learning models; determining a user health classification, patient subgroup, or health score; and providing risk-, score-, provider-, or appointment-related information based on that determination. These limitations fall within the mental-process grouping of abstract ideas because they reasonably correspond to observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion that can be practically performed by a healthcare professional using patient observations, patient-provided information, medical records, historical patient data, and ordinary clinical reasoning.
Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea at Step 2A, Prong One in the form of a mental process.
Dependent Claims
Claims 2-6 do not overcome Step 2A, Prong One. Each dependent claim incorporates the limitations of its respective independent claim and therefore continues to recite the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Claim 2 limits the behavioral data to a measurement of time spent viewing the device or a measurement of time spent in an outdoors space. This does not add a new technical act at Prong One. It identifies the kind of behavior considered in the later assessment. A person could observe or record screen time and outdoor time, then use those facts as inputs when judging eye-health risk. The claim therefore still recites information collection for an evaluation.
Claim 3 specifies that the remote server is the computing system or telecommunications system of an eye health care provider. Claim 4 adds presenting an interface for scheduling an in-person appointment with the eye health care provider. These claims still organize the user’s access to healthcare services after risk classification. The server and interface do not change the nature of the claimed idea; they identify where the user is routed.
Claim 5 specifies that the remote server is a purchasing system or a distribution system. That limitation routes the classified user toward commercial or distribution activity. It therefore remains within the organizing-human-activity grouping because it manages a user’s commercial interaction after the assessment.
Claim 6 specifies that the remote server is the computing system of an educational provider. That limitation routes the user toward educational content or an educational provider after classification. It still uses the health-risk evaluation to direct user behavior and interaction with another entity.
Thus, Claims 3-6 do not pass Prong One because they do not add a new non-abstract concept. They merely identify the type of third-party system involved after the user has been classified: healthcare, scheduling, purchasing/distribution, or education. That is routing or organizing user interaction based on the abstract assessment.
Claims 1-6 recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong One. Under BRI, the independent claims collect user behavioral, input, medical, and historical information; use that information to classify the user into an eye-health subgroup or generate a health score; and then notify, educate, recommend, connect, or schedule based on that result. The dependent claims only narrow the type of behavior measured, the type or meaning of the score, or the post-assessment routing destination. These limitations remain mental-process evaluations and, for the routing and scheduling claims, certain methods of organizing human activity. Therefore, because the claims recite an abstract idea, the analysis proceeds to Step 2A, Prong Two to determine whether the additional elements integrate that abstract idea into a practical application.
Prong Two
Step 2A, Prong Two determines whether the additional elements, individually and in combination with the abstract idea, integrate the exception into a practical application.
The additional elements in independent claim 1 are the device, remote system, machine learning model, display, remote server or provider system, and communicative connection. These elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims use them only to collect data, apply the classification or scoring process, and communicate the result.
Claim 1 recites capturing, via a device, behavioral data, capturing, via the device, input data, and obtaining, from a remote system, historical data. These limitations are pre-solution data gathering because they merely supply the information used by the later classification or scoring step. Under MPEP § 2106.05(g), such data gathering is insignificant extra-solution activity.
The machine-learning limitations also do not provide integration. Claim 1 recites models trained to segment a plurality of users into patient subgroups and classify the user into one or more of the patient subgroups. These limitations state the intended result of the model, but do not recite a particular model architecture, training rule, feature transformation, or improvement to machine-learning technology. The model is therefore used as a tool to perform the abstract assessment.
The output limitations likewise do not provide integration. Claim 1 recites displaying a risk notification, educational content, provider contact information, or establishing a communicative connection with a remote server. These are post-solution reporting or routing steps because they occur after the classification or score has been produced. Under MPEP § 2106.05(g), merely reporting the result of an information-analysis process is insignificant extra-solution activity.
Viewed as a whole, claim 1 collects data, uses a machine-learning model to classify the user or generate a health score, and displays, connects, or schedules based on that result. The additional elements do not apply the abstract idea through a specific technological mechanism or particular treatment. Therefore, Step 2A, Prong Two is not satisfied.
Dependent claim 2 does not add a new additional element beyond the abstract idea. It limits the behavioral data to a measurement of time spent viewing the device or a measurement of time spent in an outdoors space. That limitation identifies the type of behavioral information used in the later eye-health assessment. It remains part of the abstract evaluation explained in Prong One and does not require separate Prong Two treatment.
Claims 3-6 add or further define the remote-server environment. Claim 3 specifies that the remote server is the computing system or telecommunications system of an eye health care provider. Claim 4 adds an interface for scheduling an in-person appointment with the eye health care provider. Claim 5 specifies a purchasing system or a distribution system. Claim 6 specifies the computing system of an educational provider. These limitations do not improve the remote server, communication system, purchasing system, distribution system, educational system, or scheduling interface. They identify the destination or environment for routing the user after the abstract classification. Under MPEP § 2106.05(h), limiting an abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Viewed with claim 1, dependent claims 2-6 still collect or use health-related information, classify or score the user, and display, route, or schedule based on the result. The added limitations narrow the data, score meaning, server type, provider listing, or appointment context, but they do not represent applicability. Therefore, Step 2A, Prong Two is not satisfied.
Claims 1-6 do not satisfy Step 2A, Prong Two. The additional elements use a device, remote system, display, remote server or provider system, communicative connection, interface, and machine-learning model only to gather health-related information, perform the claimed classification or scoring, and report or route the result. The data-capture limitations merely supply information for the assessment, the machine-learning limitations state the desired classification or score without reciting a particular model architecture or technological improvement, and the display, connection, provider-listing, and scheduling limitations merely communicate or act on the result after the abstract evaluation is complete. The dependent claims only narrow the type of data, score, server, provider listing, or appointment context. They do not improve the device, display, remote system, communication system, interface, scheduling system, or machine-learning technology, and they do not require a particular medical treatment. Therefore, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and the analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Step 2B
Step 2B evaluates the same additional elements identified in Prong Two to determine whether they add significantly more than the abstract idea, individually or as an ordered combination. The additional elements in independent claim 1 are the device, remote system, machine learning model, display, remote server or provider system and, communicative connection.
The device, remote system, display, remote server or provider system, communicative connection, and interface do not add significantly more. Claim 1 uses these elements to capture data, obtain data, display information or establish communication. The claim language does not recite a new device structure, new display operation, new network architecture, new communication protocol, and new server configuration. These elements perform generic computer functions used to implement the abstract classification or scoring process. The device, remote system, display, remote server or provider system, communicative connection, and interface in these steps add insignificant extra-solution activity/pre-solution activity in the form of WURC activity to the abstract idea. The following is an example of a court decision demonstrating computer functions as well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II): Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec.
The machine learning model also does not add significantly more. Claim 1 recites models trained to segment a plurality of users into patient subgroups and classify the user into one or more of the patient subgroups. These limitations define the desired result of the model, but not a particular technical model architecture, training rule, feature transformation, parameter structure, or improvement to machine-learning technology. The model is therefore recited as a tool for performing the abstract assessment, not as an inventive technological feature.
The ordered combination does not change the result. Claim 1 follows the same sequence: collect health-related data, apply a machine-learning model to classify the user or generate a health score, and then display, connect, or schedule based on that result. That combination does not improve the operation of the device, remote system, display, communication system, interface, or model. It only implements the abstract idea with generic computer components.
Accordingly, independent claim 1 does not recite additional elements, individually or in ordered combination, that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Step 2B is not satisfied.
Dependent Claims:
Claim 2 adds no inventive concept because the added limitation is the type of behavioral data used in the abstract assessment: time spent viewing the device or time spent in an outdoors space. That narrows the information considered, but it does not add a new sensor structure, data-capture technique, device operation, or technical improvement.
Claims 3-6 add no inventive concept because the added server limitations merely identify the type of system connected to or used after classification. A healthcare-provider system, purchasing system, distribution system, or educational-provider system does not become inventive by being used as the destination for the result of an abstract classification. The claims do not recite a non-generic server configuration or improved communication arrangement.
Viewed as an ordered combination, dependent claims 2-6 retain the structure of claim 1: collect or use health-related information, produce a classification or score, and then display, route, recommend, or schedule based on that result. The dependent limitations narrow the abstract idea or its field of use, but they do not add significantly more than the exception. Therefore, Step 2B is not satisfied for dependent claims 2-6.
Claims 1-6 do not satisfy Step 2B. The same additional elements identified in Prong Two, including the device, remote system, display, remote server or provider system, communicative connection, interface, and machine-learning model, do not add significantly more than the abstract idea, either individually or as an ordered combination. The claims use these elements to capture or obtain data, apply a classification or scoring model, display information, establish communication, provide provider information, or enable appointment scheduling. The claim language does not recite a new device structure, display operation, network architecture, communication protocol, server configuration, model architecture, training rule, feature transformation, parameter structure, or machine-learning improvement. The dependent claims only narrow the data considered, the score meaning, the type of server, the provider listing, or the appointment context. Viewed as a whole, the claims implement the abstract health-assessment and routing process with generic computer components and do not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, Step 2B is not satisfied, and Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batta- US20210315499A1 in view of Hodgson- US20200387810A1.
Claim 1.
Batta teaches, A method comprising:
capturing, via a device, behavioral data regarding
(a) a user's use of the device,
or (b) the user's interaction with the user's environment; (Batta, par. 0024, ... monitoring of eye health. In various embodiments, an entity (e.g., a user) can interact with a smart device ...; par. 0025, ... the camera of the smart device can be leveraged to perform continual background monitoring of eye health of the entity ... record images and/or videos of the eyes, face, and/or body of the entity ...; par. 0027, ... the trained machine learning classifier can be trained to receive the recorded images and/or videos as input, analyze the recorded images and/or videos to recognize the one or more physical characteristics… can include eye movement and/or frequency of eye movement of the entity, blink rate of the entity, pupil contraction of the entity… surrounding and/or ambient conditions can be detected by the smart device and used to help diagnose the health condition. For example, in some cases, the camera can detect ambient lighting levels and/or ambient temperature levels (e.g., via a thermographic camera and/or thermometer)…, fig.2)
capturing, via the device, input data comprising one or more of:
(a) user survey data,
(b) user biometric data,
(c) data entered by the user through a screen or peripheral of the device, and
(d) device sensor data; (Batta, par. 0079, … In various aspects, the entity 110 can interact with any suitable interface device of the smart device 104 to provide the input information…. Par. 0024-0027, fig.2)
obtaining, from a remote system, historical data related to one or more of:
(a) medical history of the user,
(b) medical data relating to a plurality of patients,
(c) clinical trial data,
and (d) purchase data; (Batta, fig. 14 par. 0018, par. 0124, … The components can communicate via local and/or remote processes…, par. 0113, 0081, … centralized knowledge base 902 can be any suitable database that receives and/or stores feedback from multiple entities across multiple smart devices…, par.0079, … In various aspects, the input component 802 can receive the input information from any suitable electronic file and/or database which can be electronically accessed… pre-existing medical conditions and/or medical history of the entity 110, current medicines and/or medications of the entity 110, and/or any other suitable demographic information regarding the entity 110…fig.2 , fig.13)
providing the historical data to a first machine learning model, the first machine learning model having been trained to segment; (Batta, fig. 4, par. 0022… provide information to and/or receive input from users …, par. 0008, … system including a machine learning classifier that facilitates continual background monitoring of eye health…, par. 0025… device to record images and/or videos of the eyes, face, and/or body of the entity. …, par. 0077… smart device 104 can track the eye health histories (e.g., physical characteristics, diagnoses, alerts, feedback) of multiple entities at once …, par. 0064, … machine learning classifier 402 in order to analyze the images and/or videos received by the sensor component 116… classify / label input data ( e.g. , to identify / classify health conditions / diseases that correspond to the physical characteristics 302 depicted in the images and / or videos recorded by the camera…, par. 0066, … employ various classification (explicitly trained (e.g., via training data) as well as implicitly trained (e.g., via observing behavior, preferences, historical information, receiving extrinsic information))… par. 0027 par. 0079, par. 0032…In various instances, the trained machine learning classifier can be trained to recognize, classify, and/or label any suitable number and/or any suitable types of symptoms, behaviors, medical conditions, and/or diseases…. Non-limiting examples of such symptoms, behaviors, medical conditions, and/or diseases can include erratic eye movement, increased and/or decreased eye movement, blink rate, increased and/or decreased blink rate,… par. 0041)
Batta describes a machine learning system that collects historical data and classifies users into different categories based on their eye health. This is because Batta’s machine learning system takes into account users’ pre-existing medical conditions and/or medical history to classify their images according to their health status that could be for example myopia, hyperopia, ect.
providing at least the behavioral data and the input data to ; (Batta, par. 0024-0028, par.0079, par. 0032…In various instances, the trained machine learning classifier can be trained to recognize, classify, and/or label any suitable number and/or any suitable types of symptoms, behaviors, medical conditions, and/or diseases….)
and
performing an action in response to the classification of the user into the one or more of the patient subgroups, wherein the action comprises one or more of the following:
(i) displaying a notification to the user, via a display of the device, of at least one risk associated with the one or more
(ii) presenting to the user, via a display of the device, of educational content associated with the at least one risk,
(iii) presenting to the user, via a display of the device, of contact information for a healthcare provider specialized for the one or more eye health conditions, and
(iv) establishing a communicative connection between the device and a remote server. (Batta, par. 0060, … alert to the entity based on the diagnosed eye health… include recommendations to cease using the smart device… par. 0069… seek medical treatment… par. 0045… Further still, in various aspects, various embodiments of the invention can contact, schedule and/or otherwise procure medical professional services for the entity based on the generated and displayed alert (e.g., if the trained machine learning classifier and/or the alert component determines that a doctor should be consulted, embodiments of the invention can automatically contact a nearby doctor's office to schedule an appointment for the entity). Such embodiments thus constitute a concrete and tangible technical improvement in the field of eye health monitoring….)
Batta teaches all limitations except the strikethrough elements above.
Hodgson teaches strikethrough elements, par. 0005-0006… receive outcome data comprising a plurality of outcome categories for a plurality of subjects… process said outcome data to generate a plurality of data points corresponding to said plurality of subjects… obtain a data set for said plurality of subjects, par. 0111… Each outcome may be ranked according to predictive confidence or accuracy…par. 0112… one or more machine learning algorithms… utilizes a unique two-step process in which patient cohorts are first clustered based on multiple outcomes…par.0113... clustering as described herein is applied to the data set to identify multi-outcome clusters representing various patient cohorts 1170… This cluster-labeled training data set is then used to train a machine learning model during a second step… configured to predict the cluster to which a new patient belongs…
A POSITA looking more information of the machine learning classifier trained to classify disease of an entity (Batta, par. 0024-0028, 0032), could be find Hodgson because also speak about modeling complex outcomes using clustering and machine learning algorithms (Hodgson, abstract). The combination would have predictably improved Batta by using Hodgson’s empirical, less-biased cohort-generation and second-stage-cluster-prediction model to classify the current eye-health user into clinically distinct conditions subgroups based on historical eye-health data, behavioral data, and input data and use a second machine learning to predict the cluster to which the subgroups belongs.
Claim 2.
Batta in view of Hodgson, teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the behavioral data regarding the user's use of the device comprises a measurement of time spent viewing the device or a measurement of time spent in an outdoors space. (Batta, par. 0029… … the entity had been looking at the screen of the smart phone for so long that the entity burst/ruptured an ocular blood vessel (e.g., the rupture can be visible on the sclera of the entity's eye). In such case, the camera of the smart phone can capture images and/or videos of the entity's eyes, and the trained machine learning classifier can analyze the captured images and/or videos to determine/infer that the entity has ruptured an ocular blood vessel…par. 0034-0035)
Claim 3.
Batta in view of Hodgson, The method of claim 1, wherein the remote server is the computing system or telecommunications system of an eye health care provider. (Batta, fig. 14 par. 0018, par. 0124, … The components can communicate via local and/or remote processes…, par. 0113, 0081, … centralized knowledge base 902 can be any suitable database that receives and/or stores feedback from multiple entities across multiple smart devices…, par.0079, … In various aspects, the input component 802 can receive the input information from any suitable electronic file and/or database which can be electronically accessed… pre-existing medical conditions and/or medical history of the entity 110, current medicines and/or medications of the entity 110, and/or any other suitable demographic information regarding the entity 110…fig.2, fig. 14, fig. 13, par. 0046, 0050, par. 0033 )
Claim 5.
Batta in view of Hodgson , The method of claim 1, wherein the remote server
Batta teaches using remote/cloud servers in the eye-health system because its computer environment can operate with one or more remote computers, such as a remote computer(s) 1350, including a server computer par. 0107, and its cloud environment includes servers, network application server software par. 0115, and a User portal for access to cloud services.
Hodgson teaches the missing distribution-system aspect because its application provision system includes one or more application servers and one or more web servers, provides interfaces via a network, such as the Internet, and expressly states that commercial forums are available for distribution of mobile applications, including app stores. Refer par. 0238
A POSITA would have combined Batta with Hodgson by implementing Batta’s remote/cloud eye-health functionality through Hodgson’s application-provision/distribution server architecture, so that the eye-health application or user interface could be distributed and accessed through remote web or application servers. The reason to combine is that Batta already supports remote/server and cloud deployment, while Hodgson provides the known server architecture for distributing web/mobile healthcare applications over the Internet. The predictable result is a remotely hosted eye-health system with a distribution-system server providing the application or interface to user devices, without changing Batta’s eye-health monitoring operation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batta- US20210315499A1 in view of Hodgson- US20200387810A1 and further view of Larsen- US8165900.
Claim 4.
Batta in view of Hodgson, The method of claim 3, wherein the performing of an action in response to the classification of the user into the one or more of the patient subgroups comprises par. 0045, … invention can contact, schedule and/or otherwise procure medical professional services for the entity based on the generated and displayed alert…, par. 00124)
Batta does not teaches strikethrough above element, however Larsen in Col.16, ll. 20-45, fig.2 disclosed the missing element “one or more schedule opening have been determined and options for scheduling an appointment are displayed to the patient.”
Batta already contact, schedule medical professional par. 0045, 0124, therefore a POSITA looking how or where to show the schedule options could found Larsen to implement an interface for present professional options to the user.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batta- US20210315499A1 in view of Hodgson- US20200387810A1 and in further view of Kellner- US11944380.
Claim 6.
Batta in view of Hodgson, The method of claim 1, wherein the remote server
A POSITA would have combined Batta with Kellner by using Kellner’s student-record/educator-access server as the remote educational-provider computing system that receives or stores Batta’s eye-health information. Batta already determines eye health from eye-related physical characteristics and displays an alert with recommendations to seek medical treatment. Kellner teaches storing vision-screening health metric(s) in a student profile of a student record system and making those results accessible to an educator so the educator can determine whether vision problems contribute to school difficulty. (Kellner, abstract, fig. 5-Fig.8
The reason to combine is that both references address eye/vision assessment and follow-up action. Kellner provides the known educational-provider server environment for student vision data, while Batta provides the eye-health monitoring and alerting process. The predictable result is that Batta’s eye-health output is communicated to a school/student-record server so an educator or educational provider can use the eye-health information in the student’s educational record, without changing Batta’s eye-health monitoring operation.
RELEVANT PRIOR ART
CN113538029A directly addresses the first-model portion of claim 1. It trains the clustering model from population data: “the training sample set and the test sample set include a plurality of user data” and iteratively trains that model until “the trained clustering model is obtained.” Page 2. CN113538029A - User behavior da… The trained model then receives the training population and produces “a plurality of clustering families; wherein each of the clustering families is one of the user categories.” Page 2. CN113538029A - User behavior da…
The disclosed architecture also continues beyond clustering. It “construct[s] a first classifier for each cluster family” and “train second classifier by using the learning result of each first classifier.” Page 3. CN113538029A - User behavior da… The reference further explains that historical behavior and identity data from numerous users train the clustering model, including an example using data from 100,000 users. Page 4. CN113538029A - User behavior da…
Thus, the clustering operation is not merely an uncharacterized preprocessing step: it is an expressly trained model that forms user categories from multi-user historical data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.D.R/
Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684