Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravasz (US 20200387213 A1) in view of Connellan (US 20200042111 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Ravasz (US 20200387213 A1) discloses a wearable device (in Fig. 1A) comprising:
a camera (138, Fig. 1A);
displays (HMD, see Fig. 1A) respectively facing two eyes of a user wearing the wearable device ((Left and right eye glasses) ([0070-0075]);
memory (memory) comprising one or more storage media storing instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry ([0070-0075], [0158]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: obtain, in a state displaying a first media content in the displays (physical environment with computer-mediated content display on HMD),
a frame using the camera ([0036, 0062], Fig. 1 and 5).
Note that Ravasz does not specifically disclose corresponding to the identified shape of the grip by changing positions and sizes of the first media content respectively displayed in the displays
Connellan (US 20200042111 A1) corresponding to the identified shape of the grip (see Fig. 5A-5B, 6A-6C) by changing positions and sizes of the first media content (i.e. landscape on a projected virtual canvas, see Fig. 6A) respectively displayed in the displays ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravasz with the teaching of Connellan, thereby providing a high degree of precision and fine control gripping motion in the HMD content.
Regarding claim 2:
Ravasz discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: determine whether a hand included in the body part, that is detected using the frame (i.e. in camera’s field of view) (see Razav, [0036, 0062], Fig. 1 and 5). ([0070-0075], [0158]); and
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses a first preset shape of the grip grabbing an end of the external object having a shape of a pen (see Connellan Fig. 6A-6C); and display, based on a determination that the hand has the first preset shape of the grip, a plurality of media contents including the first media content see Connellan, [0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3:
Ravasz discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: while displaying the plurality of media contents (i.e. contents in 112, see Fig. 1A) having positions (focus point) and sizes in the displays associated with a first distance (e.g. distance from user’s eye) (see, Ravasz, [0041] As one example, one or more of the predefined gestures in the gesture library may trigger the generation, transformation, and/or configuration of one or more user interface elements, e.g., UI menu 124, to be rendered and overlaid on artificial reality content 122, where the gesture may define a location and/or orientation of UI menu 124 in artificial reality content 122. As another example, one or more of the defined gestures may indicate an interaction by user 110 with a particular user interface element, e.g., selection of UI element 126 of UI menu 124, to trigger a change to the presented user interface, presentation of a sub-menu of the presented user interface, or the like);
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses determine a second preset shape of the grip of the hand different from the first preset shape of the grip (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C); based on a determination that the hand has the second preset shape of the grip (see [0153]), display a second media content of the plurality of media contents at a second distance (media content close to the eye, see Connellan Fig. 1A ) shorter than the first distance (image content based longer eye distance) by changing positions and sizes (see Fig. 1A-1B) (changing position and size of the 122), in each of the displays, of one of the plurality of media contents [0153]; and at least temporarily cease to display the second media content distinguished from the first media content displayed at the second distance (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and see Connellan ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4:
Ravasz discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: determine whether a hand included in the body part, that is detected using the frame (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5), and
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses a preset shape of the grip to draw handwritings (see Connellan Fig. 6A-6C); and based on a determination that the hand has the preset shape of the grip, display the first media content (image content on HMD, at a third distance shorter (i.e. image content close to eyes) than or equal to a fourth distance reachable by the hand , by changing the positions and the sizes of the first media content displayed in each of the displays ((see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and see Connellan ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses when executed by the at least one Connellan discloses processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to move the first media content to a position of the external object viewable through the display, by changing the positions or the sizes of the first media content displayed in each of the displays (see Ravasz [0112-0113] Fig. 1A-1B, , and Fig. 5, and see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to, based on a path of the external object identified through the camera, display a visual object indicating the path on the first media content. (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and see Connellan ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: determine whether a plurality of hands, which are detected using the frame, have a preset shape of the grip grabbing both ends of the external object having a shape of a pen; based on a determination that the plurality of hands have the preset shape of the grip, detect a direction of the external object tilted by the plurality of hands; and change the positions and the sizes of the first media content displayed in each of the displays, based on the detected direction of the external object. (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and see Connellan[([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8:
Ravsz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to, based on changing the distance of the first media content, display the first media content using at least one of a depth value or a binocular parallax corresponding to the changed distance (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to, based on identifying, from the frame, the external object included in a preset category including an object having a shape of a pen, identify the shape of the grip in the frame (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses communication circuitry (315, see Ravasz, Fig. 3, [0081]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to, based on identifying a gesture to move the first media content to an external electronic device including the frame, transmit, to the external electronic device using the communication circuitry, information to display the first media content in a display of the external electronic device frame (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11:
further comprising communication circuitry, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to, based on identifying in formation with respect to a contact point of the external object with respect to an external electronic device, from the external electronic device connected through the communication circuitry, display a visual object (i.e. image) indicating a path of the contact point and overlap the displayed visual object on the first media content (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and see Connellan ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12:
Ravasz (US 20200387213 A1) comprising: a method of a wearable device (Fig. 1A), the method comprising:
obtaining a frame (field of view with display frame) using a camera (138) of the wearable device ([0070-0075]);
identifying, based on identifying a body part (finger) contacted to an external object (e.g. stylus) in the frame ([0070-0075]), a shape of a grip of the body part with respect to the external object ([([0036, 0062], Fig. 1 and 5);
based on identifying a first shape of the grip, displaying a plurality of media contents according to a first distance corresponding to the first shape of the grip (in FIG. 1A, in response to detecting a single-handed gesture performed by hand 132 in which two digits form approximately a right angle (e.g. to form approximately an ‘L’ shape or a mirror image of an approximate ‘L’ shape). According to other techniques and system configurations of this disclosure, the artificial reality application running on artificial reality system 20 detects a gating gesture if hand 132 is positioned substantially stationary for at least the threshold period of time, and the digits of hand 132 are positioned such that such that the thumb and at least one other finger of hand 132 form approximately a circle (e.g., an approximate ‘O’ shape, see [0065, 0070-0075]) and contents displayed in each of displays respectively facing two eyes of a user wearing the wearable device (see[0065, 0070-0075]) .
Note that Ravasz does not specifically disclose by adjusting positions and sizes of the plurality of media and based on identifying a second shape of the grip distinguished from the first shape of the grip, displaying one of the plurality of media contents using a second distance shorter than the first distance, by adjusting positions and sizes of a first media content displayed in each of the displays.
Connellan (US 20200042111 A1) corresponding by adjusting positions and sizes of the plurality of media and based on identifying a second shape of the grip distinguished from the first shape of the grip (see Fig. 5A-5B, 6A-6C) by changing positions and sizes of the first media content (i.e. landscape on a projected virtual canvas, see Fig. 6A) respectively displayed in the displays ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C) , displaying one of the plurality of media contents using a second distance shorter than the first distance (touch sensors may be configured to detect the presence of an object at a distance from a reference zone or point (e.g., <5 mm), contact with a reference zone or point, or a combination thereof) , by adjusting positions and sizes of a first media content displayed in each of the displays (see Connellan, [0053], ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravasz with the teaching of Connellan, thereby providing a high degree of precision and fine control gripping motion in the HMD content.
Regarding claim 13:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the displaying the plurality of media contents comprises: identifying whether a hand included in the body part has the second shape of the grip to draw handwritings displays (see Connellan, ([0048], [0053], [0079], [0089] Figs. 1, 6A-6C).
Based on identifying that the hand has the second shape of the grip (see Collenall, Fig. 6A-6C), moving the first media content, among the plurality of media contents displayed at the first distance (see Connellan [0053], [0048, [0079], [0082] Figs. 1, 6A-6B), side-by- side, the first media content being positioned at a center of a displaying area of the wearable device to the second distance [see Fig. 1] by adjusting positions and sizes of the first media content; and based on identifying the second shape of the grip, at least temporarily ceasing to display a second media content distinguished from the first media content moved to the second distance (see Connellan, [0153], ([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 12.
Regarding claim 15:
Ravasz discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions ([0158]) , wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor of a wearable device including a camera (138, see Fig. 1) and displays respectively facing two eyes of a user wearing the wearable device ([0070-0076]), cause the wearable device to: obtain, in a state of displaying a first media content in the displays ([0070-0076]), a frame (display frame in camera field of view ) using the camera (0070-0076]); identify, based on identifying a body part (i.e. finger) contacted to an external object in the frame (i.e. stylus), a shape of the grip of the body part with respect to the external object (See Ravasz, [0036, 0062], Fig. 1A and 5);
Connellan (US 20200042111 A1) corresponding to the identified shape of the grip (see Fig. 5A-5B, 6A-6C) by changing positions and sizes of the first media content (i.e. landscape on a projected virtual canvas, see Fig. 6A) respectively displayed in the displays (see Connellan, [0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravasz with the teaching of Connellan, thereby providing a high degree of precision and fine control gripping motion in the HMD content.
Regarding claim 16:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor of the wearable device, cause the wearable device to: determine whether a hand included in the body part (i.e. finger), that is detected using the frame, has a first preset shape of the grip grabbing an end of the external object being a shape of a pen;and display, based on a determination that the hand has the first preset shape of the grip, a plurality of media contents including the first media content (see Connellan, [0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 15.
Regarding claim 17:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor of the wearable device, cause the wearable device to: while displaying the plurality of media contents having positions and sizes in the displays associated with a first distance (see Ravasz, Connellan [0053], [0048, [0079], [0082] Figs. 1, 6A-6B), determine a second preset shape of the grip of the hand different from the first preset shape of the grip;based on a determination that the hand has the second preset shape of the grip, display a second media content of the plurality of media contents at a second distance shorter than the first distance, by changing positions and sizes in each of the displays of one of the plurality of media contents; and at least temporarily cease to displaying the second media content distinguished from the first media content displayed at the second distance (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 15.
Regarding claim 18:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor of the wearable device, cause the wearable device to: determine whether a hand included in the body part (Finger), that is detected using the frame, has a preset shape of the grip to draw handwritings; and based on a determination that the hand having the preset shape of the grip (see Connellan, Fig. 6A-6B), display the first media content at a distance shorter than or equal to a distance reachable by the hand, by changing the positions and the sizes of the first media content displayed in each of the displays. (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 15.
Regarding claim 19:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor of the wearable device, cause the wearable device to: move the first media content to a position of the external object viewable through the display, by changing positions or sizes of the first media content displayed in the displays (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20:
Ravasz in view of Connellan discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor of the wearable device, cause the wearable device to, based on a path of the external object identified through the camera, display a visual object indicating the path on the first media content (see Ravasz [0112-0113], and Fig. 5, and (see Connellan [([0048, 0079] Figs. 1A-1B, 6A-6C). Same motivation as applied to claim 15.
2. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravasz (US 20200387213 A1) in view of Connellan (US 20200042111 A1) further in view of Son (US 20160086386 A1).
Regarding claim 14:
Note that Ravasz in view of Connellan does not specifically disclose wherein the displaying the plurality of media contents comprises, based on a binocular parallax corresponding to the first distance, determining sizes and distances of the plurality of media contents displayed in each of the displays.
Son (US 20160086386 A1) wherein the displaying the plurality of media contents comprises, based on a binocular parallax corresponding to the first distance ([0116], Fig. 4D), determining sizes and distances of the plurality of media contents displayed in each of the displays (Fig. 5B, [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravasz with the teaching of Connellan and Son thereby providing a high efficient data transmission in the HMD content.
Pertinent art
3. Pertinent art of record US 20150178992 A1 discloses HMD device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627