DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-15) in the response filed 9/8/2026 is acknowledged. The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn and all claims have been examined as set forth below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted 5/30/2025 and 8/15/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- or --Related Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. MPEP 608.02(g). Fig. 5 does not appear to illustrate any embodiments of the invention. See, e.g., Specification, ¶¶74-75.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or cancelled: “wherein the first pair of parallel conductive plates is separate to the second pair of parallel plates,” recited in claim 14.
The drawings are further objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “the first pair of parallel conductive plates is separate to the second pair of parallel plates,” as described in the specification (¶¶17, 118, 167). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: NONRADIATIVE DIELECTRIC WAVEGUIDE ASSEMBLY INCLUDING A BEND
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-13, 16-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by T. Yoneyama and S. Nishida, Nonradiative Dielectric Wave-guide for Millimeter-Wave Integrated Circuits, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Technology, Vol. 29, No. 11, 1981, pp. 1188-1192 (“Yoneyama”), cited by the applicant.
Yoneyama discloses in Figs. 1-10 and pp. 1188-1192:
Claims 1 and 16
A waveguide assembly (Figs. 1, 10, annotated; pp. 1188-1192, nonradiative dielectric waveguide), comprising:
a first non-radiative dielectric waveguide (Fig. 1, 10, Abstract) comprising a first pair of parallel conductive plates and a first bent dielectric strip (Fig. 1, 10; Section VII, pp. 1190-1191, bends made of polystyrene strips) disposed between the first pair of parallel conductive plates (p. 1190, the strips held between two square brass plates), the first bent dielectric strip comprising a first bend (Fig. 10); and
a first dielectric waveguide comprising a first exposed dielectric strip (Fig. 10, p. 1191, “The tapered sections were made to stick out to facilitate transition from rectangular metal waveguides to dielectric strips.” The protruding tapered ends form the exposed dielectric waveguides),
wherein the first non-radiative dielectric waveguide is connected to an end of the first dielectric waveguide to form a first transmission path for an electromagnetic wave through the first dielectric waveguide and the first non-radiative dielectric waveguide (Fig. 10, p. 1191, the polystyrene strips form a transmission path).
Regarding claim 16, Yoneyama discloses a method of manufacturing as recited (p. 1190-1191).
Claims 2 and 17
wherein the first exposed dielectric strip is straight (Fig. 10, both protruding ends forming the exposed dielectric strips are straight).
Claim 4
wherein the first bent dielectric strip and the first exposed dielectric strip are integrally formed (p. 1190-1191).
Claims 5 and 19
further comprising: a second dielectric waveguide comprising a second exposed dielectric strip, wherein the second dielectric waveguide is connected to the first non-radiative dielectric waveguide such that the first non-radiative dielectric waveguide is between the first dielectric waveguide and the second dielectric waveguide (Fig. 10, annotated, there are two exposed dielectric strips forming first and second dielectric waveguides, respectively).
Claims 6 and 20
wherein the second exposed dielectric strip is straight (Fig. 10, both protruding ends forming the exposed dielectric strips are straight).
Claim 8
wherein the second exposed dielectric strip is integrally formed with the first bent dielectric strip (p. 1190-1191).
Claims 10-13
wherein the first non-radiative dielectric waveguide being connected to the end of the first dielectric waveguide forms a first branch of the waveguide assembly (Fig. 10, Section VII.A, T-junction; Section VII.D, Directional Coupler), the waveguide assembly further comprising:
a second non-radiative dielectric waveguide comprising a second pair of parallel conductive plates (a portion of the plates covering the second NRD of the T-junction or the second NRD of the Directional Coupler, as annotated. A single pair of the conductive plated disclosed in Yoneyama meets this limitation because the present specification explains that “[t]he first pair of parallel conductive plates and the second pair of parallel plates may be the same,” ¶17; cf. claim 14, which explicitly requires two separate pairs) and a second bent dielectric strip disposed between the second pair of parallel conductive plates (Fig. 10, annotated; a bend of the T-junction meets this limitation because the present specification explains that “a bend may include one or more of: a curve, a turn, a corner, a kink, an arch etc.,” ¶101)
wherein the second non-radiative dielectric waveguide is connected to the end of the first dielectric waveguide to form a second branch of the waveguide assembly, the second branch of the waveguide assembly forming a second transmission path through the first dielectric waveguide and the second non-radiative dielectric waveguide (Fig. 10, annotated, T-junction and Directional Coupler each includes at least two transmission paths).
Regarding claims 11-12, the T-junction with coupling between the main arms and stub ends, can function as a divider or a combiner (Fig. 10, Section VII.A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama in view of F. Kuroki et al., Transmission Characteristics of NRD Guide as a Transmission Medium in THz Frequency Band, Joint 30th Int’l Conf. on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and 13th Int’l Conf. on Terahertz Electronics, vol. 2, 2005, pp. 331–332 (“Kuroki”).
Regarding Claims 9 and 15, Yoneyama discloses all the limitations except “wherein the waveguide assembly is configured to receive a Terahertz wave for propagation along the first transmission path.”
However, Kuroki, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a similar waveguide assembly designed for THz frequencies (Fig. 1, pp. 331-332).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the waveguide assembly of Yoneyama by configuring it for THz frequencies for the benefit of lower transmission losses, as taught by Kuroki (Abstract).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,172,648, issued 1/9/2001 (“Tanizaki”).
Regarding Claim 14, Yoneyama discloses all the limitations except “wherein the first pair of parallel conductive plates is separate to the second pair of parallel plates.”
However, Tanizaki, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a waveguide assembly including two non-radiative dielectric waveguides 11 and 12, each waveguide positioned between its own separate pair of conductive plates 14-15 and 16-17 (Figs. 1A, 3; 2:52-3:65; 5:29-6:46)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the waveguide assembly of Yoneyama by having the first pair of parallel conductive plates to be separate to the second pair of parallel plates for the benefit of mechanically independent waveguide modules allowing relative movement of the waveguides, as taught by Tanizaki (2:52-54; 3:51-64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VICTOR COLE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843