Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dekel (WO 2023126914 A2) in view of Rothberg (US 20170360412 A1).
Dekel (WO 2023126914 A2) discloses an information processing system that applies an image processing algorithm to image data (in Fig.5, 5a-5c), comprising:
a memory (memory resources) storing instructions (memory resources may be saved at the client device by using data stored at a server.); and
at least one processor (image processing device) configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire input information from a user (51, Fig. 5) on the image data and information on the image processing algorithm; (a memory for storing computer-executable instructions, and a processor configured by the memory to perform acts comprising part of, or whole of, and method of image processing device) (see Page,73-75 ).
acquire an image processing algorithm (the algorithm can be implemented as software on general purpose machines, or as hardware in specialized video processing units.) corresponding to the input information and an image processing candidate (i.e. candidate object) being at least one of parameters constituting the image processing algorithm ( a classifier is applied to a sparse set of candidate object locations); the information on the image processing algorithm to a generative model based on deep learning; and display information on the image processing candidate on a display unit (i.e. 54, see Fig.5, 5a-5b, Fig. 6, , pg 32-33, 73-75).
Note that Dekel does not specifically disclose by inputting a prompt based on the input information. Rothberg (US 20170360412 A1) discloses inputting a prompt based on the input information (e.g., medical information, age) ( [0175-0176])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dekel with the teaching of Rothberg, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 2:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire selection information on the image processing candidate from the user (user may be presented of various images to select from the database ‘Structure Images Database’ 31c, to be used as the “Structure Source Image” 51a for executing the flow chart 60 shown in FIG. 6. Alternatively or in addition, the server 24 may comprises, or may be in connection with, a database ‘Appearance Images Database’ 31d, that stores many images, where each of these images may be selected as the ‘Appearance Source Image’ 51b for executing the flow chart 60 shown in FIG. 6.
Regarding claim 3:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire an acceptance or rejection regarding whether to adopt the image processing candidate displayed on the display unit (see Fig. 5a-5b, 6) ( A key characteristic of an RTOS is the level of its consistency to accept and complete an application's task on the screen is an example of output image 53’ display image on display screen, see Fig.5a-5b and Fig. 6, The appearance image 51b is transferred to the output image 53 in a realistic manner, while preserving the structure of the structure image 51a. An example of an output image 53’ generated by the generator 52 is shown in an arrangement 50a shown in Fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 4:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire information on a plurality of image processing candidates from the generative model (see Fig. 5a-5b, pg 73-75), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire the selection information from the user with respect to the information on the plurality of image processing candidates (see Fig. 8, pg 81-83).
Regarding claim 5:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire information on a plurality of image processing candidates (see Fig. 5a-5B, Fig. 6) from the generative model (pg 71-73), and wherein in a case where the image processing candidate displayed on the display unit is not adopted by the user, the at least one processor is further configured to display another image processing candidate among the plurality of image processing candidates on the display unit (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to further acquire information on preliminary image processing having previously been applied to the image data (see Fig. 5a-5b, pg, 71-73), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to further display the information on the preliminary image processing (see Figs. 5, 6).
Regarding claim 7:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire the image processing candidate by inputting the information on the preliminary image processing to the generative model (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8:
Dekel discloses wherein the information on the preliminary image processing is information including an image processing algorithm having previously been executed or a parameter of the image processing algorithm having previously been executed (executed at step 63, see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9:
Dekel in view of Rothberg discloses wherein the input information from the user on the image data is text information input (i.e. user age) by the user or text information selected by the user (see Rothberg, [0175]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10:
Dekel in view of Rothberg discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to generate the prompt by using a prompt template (see Rothberg, [0175]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute image processing corresponding to the image processing candidate selected by the user (see Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 12:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: acquire first image data (image data at 51’b, see Dkel, Fig. 5a), and second image data (51’a) being image data before preliminary image processing is applied to the first image data; and generate third image data (53’) by applying the image processing candidate to the first image data or the second image data (also see Fig.6, 8).
Regarding claim 13:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to display at least one of the first image data and the second image data, and the third image data in a comparable manner (i.e. comparator’s acceptance at 93a) on the display unit (i.e. output on display unit) (see Fig. 9a).
Regarding claim 14:
Dekel discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to generate comparison image data representing a result of comparison between the at least one of the first image data and the second image data, and the third image data, and displays the comparison image data on the display unit (see Fig. 9a,).
Regarding claims 15:
Dekel discloses an information processing method for applying an image processing algorithm to image data (see Fig. 5, 6), the information processing method comprising:
acquiring input information from a user on the image data and information on the image processing algorithm (see Fig. 6, and 9a);
acquiring an image processing algorithm corresponding to the input information and an image processing candidate being at least one of parameters constituting the image processing algorithm (i.e. numerical parameters that are tuned by a learning algorithm, and capability of approximating non-linear functions from their inputs. The adaptive weights can be thought of as connection strengths between neurons, which are activated during training and prediction, see page 15-17), based on the input information and the information on the image processing algorithm to a generative model based on deep learning (see pg 17-19); and displaying information on the image processing candidate on a display unit ((i.e. 54, see Fig.5, 5a-5b, Fig. 6, , pg 32-33, 73-75) (also see the discussion in claim 1).
Note that Dekel does not specifically disclose by inputting a prompt based on the input information. Rothberg (US 20170360412 A1) discloses inputting a prompt based on the input information (e.g., medical information, age) ( [0175-0176])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dekel with the teaching of Rothberg, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Regarding claim 16:
A non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute an information processing method for applying an image processing algorithm to image data (see pg 69-73, Fig, 5, 6), the information processing method comprising: acquiring input information from a user on the image data and information on the image processing algorithm (see pg 73-75 ); acquiring an image processing algorithm corresponding to the input information and an image processing candidate being at least one of parameters constituting the image processing algorithm (a memory for storing computer-executable instructions, and a processor configured by the memory to perform acts comprising part of, or whole of, and algorithm of image processing device) (see Page,73-75 ) , based on the input information and the information on the image processing algorithm to a generative model based on deep learning; and displaying information on the image processing candidate on a display unit i.e. 54, see Fig.5, 5a-5b, Fig. 6, , pg 32-33, 73-75).
Note that Dekel does not specifically disclose by inputting a prompt based on the input information. Rothberg (US 20170360412 A1) discloses inputting a prompt based on the input information (e.g., medical information, age) ( [0175-0176])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dekel with the teaching of Rothberg, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the display device.
Pertinent art
2. Pertinent art of record US 20140132972 A1discloses display device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627