DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is responsive to application filed on 05/30/2025 Claims 1-15 are pending, with claims 1, 14 and 15 being independent.
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/734,956 filed May 02, 2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/334,574 filed April 25, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2025 and 07/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boll et al. (US 2023/0394144, PCT filed Oct. 30, 2020).
As per claim 1, Boll discloses a system (Boll Fig. 1 and par. 88, FIG. 1 presents a possible design of a classification engine 32, implemented by software on a standard computer system, that executes a method for malware detection), comprising:
a processor (Boll Fig. 1 and par. 88, FIG. 1 presents a possible design of a classification engine 32, implemented by software on a standard computer system, that executes a method for malware detection) configured to:
receive a Portable Document Format (PDF) document (see Boll Fig. 1, receiving computer file under test (CFUT) 1; Boll par. 13, the computer file under test (CFUT) 1 may be of any file format. For example, it may be a standard PDF-document);
determine a likelihood that the received PDF document represents a threat (Boll Fig. 1 and par. 91, To detect any malware 2 contained in the CFUT 1, the outputs of the classification modules 6 are evaluated by a classifier module 7 in the form of a decision tree 26 that delivers a final classification score 23 between 0 and 100, expressing the probability of the CFUT being malign (e.g. 0=benign, 100=malign), at least in part using an image based model (Boll par. 89, For each image type (A, B, C, D, E), the engine 32 of FIG. 1 offers a separate image classification module 6 (6a .. 6e) in the form of a respective neural network 24 that has been trained with training images up-front to identify malign content in the respective images 4), wherein the image based model was previously trained, at least in part, using a plurality of images (Boll par. 89, For each image type (A, B, C, D, E), the engine 32 of FIG. 1 offers a separate image classification module 6 (6a .. 6e) in the form of a respective neural network 24 that has been trained with training images up-front to identify malign content in the respective images 4) that were generated using one or more tools that collectively convert a set of given PDF document files to the respective plurality of images (Boll par. 27, an image classification module used to classify one of the different image types may be trained using training computer files of different sizes X,. In this case, the training computer files may be converted into training images of the uniform image size S, of the image type classified by the module and used as inputs to that image classification module for training); and
provide as output a verdict for the PDF document based at least in part on the determined likelihood (Boll Fig. 1 and par. 91, Depending on this final classification score 23, the computer system executing the method may take further steps to safely isolate the CFUT, for example if the score 23 expresses a probability of the presence of malware 2 in the CFUT 1 above a certain threshold); and
a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions (Boll Fig. 1 and par. 88, FIG. 1 presents a possible design of a classification engine 32, implemented by software on a standard computer system, that executes a method for malware detection).
As per claim 2, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the verdict is that the received PDF document is benign (Boll Fig. 1 and par. 91, Depending on this final classification score 23, the computer system executing the method may take further steps to safely isolate the CFUT, for example if the score 23 expresses a probability of the presence of malware 2 in the CFUT 1 above a certain threshold. [These indicate that the probability of the CFUT 1 being benign if the score 23 is a under certain threshold]).
As per claim 4, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, wherein determining the likelihood includes converting at least one page of the received PDF document into an image (Boll par. 11, the CFUT is converted into image data that comprise a multitude of different images).
As per claim 10, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the image based model (Boll par. 16, Such classification can be based on training performed with training data in the form of image files).
As per claim 11, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the image based model is a convolutional neural network model (Boll par. 57, at least one of the different images may be classified by an image classification module, in particular by a convolutional classifier, such as a convolutional neural network).
As per claim 13, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the verdict is usable by a security appliance to take a remedial action associated with the received PDF document (Boll Fig. 1 and par. 91, Depending on this final classification score 23, the computer system executing the method may take further steps to safely isolate the CFUT, for example if the score 23 expresses a probability of the presence of malware 2 in the CFUT 1 above a certain threshold).
Claim 14 does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. As such, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 15 does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. As such, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boll et al. (US 2023/0394144, PCT filed Oct. 30, 2020) and Lesperance et al. (US 2021/0126944, published Apr. 29, 2021).
As per claim 3, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the verdict is that the received PDF document does not represent a phishing threat.
Lesperance teaches:
verdict is that the received PDF document does not represent a phishing threat (see Lesperance Fig. 6B, score 3 for pdf containing hyperlinks; Lesperance par. 217, In the scoring and findings 610, any item having a score exceeding a predetermined value (e.g., 4 or greater) can be marked as "malicious"); Lesperance par. 4, malicious (e.g., phishing attempts). [These indicate that the score not exceeding the predetermined value (e.g., 4) can be marked as not malicious (e.g., not phishing attempts)]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Boll with the teaching of Lesperance to further analyze PDF to detect potential phishing attempts. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of protecting user from phishing attack.
As per claim 5, Boll discloses the system of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the received PDF document is a multi-page PDF document and wherein determining the likelihood includes converting the first page of the multi-page PDF document and not converting additional pages of the multi-page PDF document.
Lesperance teaches:
the received PDF document is a multi-page PDF document and wherein determining the likelihood includes converting the first page of the multi-page PDF document (Lesperance par. 195, The system can render each page of a PDF doc as an image).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Boll with the teaching of Lesperance for the received PDF document is a multi-page PDF document and wherein determining the likelihood includes converting the first page of the multi-page PDF document. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of providing support for analysis of multi-page PDF document.
Boll-Lesperance teaches converting each page of a PDF doc but does not teach converting the first page of the multi-page PDF document and not converting additional pages of the multi-page PDF document. However, choosing which page(s) of a PDF doc for conversion was an obvious matter of design/operate choice to focus on certain page(s) of the PDF doc for providing flexibility of operation and/or improving efficiency of the system.
As per claim 6, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a first image included in the plurality of images was generated from a first page of multi-page PDF document, and wherein additional images of additional pages of the multi-page PDF document are not included in the plurality of images.
Lesperance teaches:
a first image included in the plurality of images was generated from a first page of multi-page PDF document (Lesperance par. 195, The system can render each page of a PDF doc as an image).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Boll with the teaching of Lesperance for a first image included in the plurality of images was generated from a first page of multi-page PDF document. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of providing support for analysis of multi-page PDF document.
Boll-Lesperance teaches converting each page of a PDF doc but does not teach converting the first page of the multi-page PDF document and not converting additional pages of the multi-page PDF document (i.e., additional images of additional pages of the multi-page PDF document are not included in the plurality of images). However, choosing which page(s) of a PDF doc for conversion was an obvious matter of design/operate choice to focus on certain page(s) of the PDF doc for providing flexibility of operation and/or improving efficiency of the system.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boll et al. (US 2023/0394144, PCT filed Oct. 30, 2020) and Symons et al. (US 2015/0067857, published Mar. 5, 2015).
As per claim 7, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the image based model is trained using a plurality of images labeled as [phishing PDFs] (Boll par. 16, Such classification can be based on training performed with training data in the form of image files derived from known malware).
Boll teaches the image based model is trained using a plurality of images with labels indicating malicious, but does not explicitly discloses the images labeled as phishing PDFs. However, labeling/naming the images with certain name (e.g., phishing PDFs) was an obvious matter of design choice to distinguish between images.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boll et al. (US 2023/0394144, PCT filed Oct. 30, 2020) and Suresh et al. (US 2020/0050893, published Feb. 13, 2020).
As per claim 8, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, prior to training the image based model, an image hash based filtering operation is performed on at least some of the images.
Suresh teaches:
prior to training the image based model, an image hash based filtering operation is performed on at least some of the images (Suresh par. 18, Deduplication of the training images using hash outputs can be performed prior to the training).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Boll with the teaching of Suresh to incorporate filtering images. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of shortening training time for the classifier.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boll et al. (US 2023/0394144, PCT filed Oct. 30, 2020), Suresh et al. (US 2020/0050893, published Feb. 13, 2020) and Rim et al. (US 2019/0221313, published Jul. 18, 2019).
As per claim 9, Boll-Suresh discloses the system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein filtered images are stored using a TFRecord data format.
Rim teaches:
images are stored using a TFRecord data format (Rim par. 146, image data may be converted to the TFRecord format for use in training a neural network model).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Boll with the teaching of Rim for filtered images are stored using a TFRecord data format. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of providing files in a data format suitable for use in training a neural network model.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boll et al. (US 2023/0394144, PCT filed Oct. 30, 2020) and Symons et al. (US 2015/0067857, published Mar. 5, 2015).
As per claim 12, Boll discloses the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, at least in part in response to receiving an indication of a false positive result, the image based model is retrained using a benign data set that includes the false positive result.
Symons teaches:
at least in part in response to receiving an indication of a false positive result, the image based model is retrained using a benign data set that includes the false positive result (Symons par. 39, an analyst can label false positives as such, or correctly identified attacks as such, and this information can be added to the training set for retraining).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Boll with the teaching of Symons for at least in part in response to receiving an indication of a false positive result, the image based model is retrained using a benign data set that includes the false positive result. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it offers the advantage of providing an improved model.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,348,560. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined claims are anticipated by patent claims. For instance, claim 1 of the application is anticipated by patent claim 1 as shown below.
Examined Application
US 12,348,560
1. A system, comprising:
a processor configured to:
receive a Portable Document Format (PDF) document;
determine a likelihood that the received PDF document represents a threat, at least in part using an image based model, wherein the image based model was previously trained, at least in part, using a plurality of images that were generated using one or more tools that collectively convert a set of given PDF document files to the respective plurality of images; and
provide as output a verdict for the PDF document based at least in part on the determined likelihood; and
a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions.
1. A system, comprising:
a processor configured to:
receive a Portable Document Format (PDF) document in response to a determination having been made that the PDF document includes at least one clickable link to a Uniform Resource Locator (URL);
determine a likelihood that the received PDF document represents a phishing threat, at least in part, using an image-based model that was previously trained, at least in part, using a plurality of images that were generated using one or more tools that collectively convert a set of PDF given document files to the plurality of images, wherein at least one given document file has a ground truth label of being a phishing PDF; and provide as output a verdict for the PDF document based at least in part on the determined likelihood, wherein the verdict is usable by a security appliance to take a remedial action associated with the received PDF document; and
a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10169579 B1; Malicious PDF Detection
A PDF document is received. The PDF is classified using a classifier. The classifier is trained at least in part by using one of the following: (1) a feature associated with embedded script code; (2) a feature associated with a PDF action; and (3) a feature associated with a PDF structure.
US 10834128 B1; System And Method For Identifying Phishing Cyber-attacks Through Deep Machine Learning Via A Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) Engine
The present disclosure relates generally to the detection of cyber-attacks and more specifically to systems for the detection of phishing cyber-attacks through deep machine learning via a convolutional neural network (CNN) engine.
US 9253208 B1; System And Method For Automated Phishing Detection Rule Evolution
This invention relates to the field of information security and, particularly, to protecting a personal computer system and its user from fraudulent information-gathering activity commonly known as phishing. More particularly, the invention is directed to automatic development of phishing detection rules based on the use of existing rules.
/KHANG DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492