DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/982,9583, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claim 1 requires a “self-applicable defibrillator” which is not explicitly disclosed in the prior-filed application. Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and therefore all claimed have an effective filing date of 5/30/2025.
Furthermore, the prior-filed application does not disclose:
Notifying emergency contacts of a user as recited in claim 2,
A button to select instructions as recited in claim 3,
Providing instructions for self-application as recited in claim 6,
Contacting emergency services as recited in claim 7, and
A precursor being syncope or angina, as recited in claim 8
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 5/16/2026 with respect to the 101 rejections of claims 1-10 and the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejections and the objection to the specification have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 5/16/2026 regarding the 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As described below, the amendments to the claims introduce 112 issues. Additionally, Shaker discloses that the shorter walls/sides of the cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). The rejections in view of Shaker are still considered proper.
The applicant did not argue against the double patenting rejections. The rejections have been updated based on the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, the original specification does not disclose a cover with four walls and an overhang fixed to a shorter wall of the cover.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and are rejected based on their association.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the shorter walls" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and are rejected based on their association.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaker et al. (US 11,547,863, hereinafter Shaker).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 9 and 10, Shaker discloses a defibrillator housing as seen in figures 4 and 5. Four walls are affixed to a bottom surface and a dividing layer is affixed to the four walls to create a circuit enclosure configured to hold circuitry 415, and to create, along with removable cover 465 having two shorter sides/walls and two longer sides/walls, an electrode enclosure configured to hold electrode pads 405 and 410 before they are adhesively applied to the chest of the user (figures 4, 6 and 9 and annotated figure below)
Shaker discloses that the shorter walls/sides of the cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21).
The pads are configured to be placed on a user, by the user, after the user experiences any cardiac arrest precursor, including syncope and angina. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is also noted that the claims do not require detection of angina or syncope, merely that the pads can be applied after angina or syncope occurs, which the pads of Shaker are configure to do.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Shaker discloses the device is an automated external defibrillator (AED) that determine if a shock is needed and delivers the shock based on the determination (Col. 8, lines 32-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker in view of Chapman et al. (US 2024/0207625, hereinafter Chapman).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 6 and 7, Shaker, as described above, discloses a defibrillator with pads but is silent as to the defibrillator notifying emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application. Chapman also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker (par. 0017). Chapman discloses notifying emergency services and emergency contacts (par. 0044-0045), as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application (par. 0023, 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shaker to notify emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as include a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application as taught by Chapman in order to allow a user to be treated when the are alone and without further assistance (par. 0012).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 10 of copending Application No. 19/223,747 (reference application) in view of Shaker.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, and 8, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claims. The pads are configured to be placed on a user, by the user, after the user experiences any cardiac arrest precursor, including syncope and angina. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is also noted that the claims do not require detection of angina or syncope, merely that the pads can be applied after angina or syncope occurs, which the pads of the copending claims are configured to do.
While the prior art is silent as to an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover, Shaker discloses a defibrillator with a shorter wall/side of a cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the prior art to include an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover to ensure a reversible tight fit of the cover.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of adhesive to adhere defibrillator pads to a chest of a user it notoriously old and well known in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 10 of copending Application No. 19/223,747 (reference application) in view of Chapman et al. (US 2024/0207625, hereinafter Chapman) an further in view of Shaker.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 6 and 7, the copending claims disclose the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to the defibrillator notifying emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application. Chapman also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker (par. 0017). Chapman discloses notifying emergency services and emergency contacts (par. 0044-0045), as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application (par. 0023, 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the copending claims to notify emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as include a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application as taught by Chapman in order to allow a user to be treated when they are alone and without further assistance (par. 0012).
While the prior art is silent as to an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover, Shaker discloses a defibrillator with a shorter wall/side of a cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the prior art to include an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover to ensure a reversible tight fit of the cover.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 10 of copending Application No. 19/224,713 (reference application) in view of Shaker. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claims except for an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover. Shaker discloses a defibrillator with a shorter wall/side of a cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the prior art to include an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover to ensure a reversible tight fit of the cover.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/982,974 (reference application) in view of Shaker.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claims. The pads are configured to be placed on a user, by the user, after the user experiences any cardiac arrest precursor, including syncope and angina. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is also noted that the claims do not require detection of angina or syncope, merely that the pads are stored with the intended use “TO monitor” and that the pads can be applied after angina or syncope occurs, which the pads of the copending claims are configured to do.
While the prior art is silent as to an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover, Shaker discloses a defibrillator with a shorter wall/side of a cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the prior art to include an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover to ensure a reversible tight fit of the cover.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 9 and 10, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of adhesive to adhere defibrillator pads to a chest of a user, and to use pads of a defibrillator to monitor cardiac data for a shockable rhythm, is notoriously old and well known in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/982,974 (reference application) in view of Chapman et al. (US 2024/0207625, hereinafter Chapman) and further in view of Shaker.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 6 and 7, the copending claims disclose the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to the defibrillator notifying emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application. Chapman also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker (par. 0017). Chapman discloses notifying emergency services and emergency contacts (par. 0044-0045), as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application (par. 0023, 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the copending claims to notify emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as include a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application as taught by Chapman in order to allow a user to be treated when they are alone and without further assistance (par. 0012).
While the prior art is silent as to an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover, Shaker discloses a defibrillator with a shorter wall/side of a cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the prior art to include an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover to ensure a reversible tight fit of the cover.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/982,960 (reference application) in view of Shaker.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claims. The pads are configured to be placed on a user, by the user, after the user experiences any cardiac arrest precursor, including syncope and angina. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is also noted that the claims do not require detection of angina or syncope, merely that the pads are stored with the intended use “TO monitor” and that the pads can be applied after angina or syncope occurs, which the pads of the copending claims are configured to do.
While the prior art is silent as to an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover, Shaker discloses a defibrillator with a shorter wall/side of a cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the prior art to include an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover to ensure a reversible tight fit of the cover.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 9 and 10, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of adhesive to adhere defibrillator pads to a chest of a user, and to use pads of a defibrillator to monitor cardiac data for a shockable rhythm, is notoriously old and well known in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/982,960 (reference application) in view of Chapman et al. (US 2024/0207625, hereinafter Chapman) in view of Shaker.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 6 and 7, the copending claims disclose the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to the defibrillator notifying emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application. Chapman also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker (par. 0017). Chapman discloses notifying emergency services and emergency contacts (par. 0044-0045), as well as a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application (par. 0023, 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the copending claims to notify emergency services and emergency contacts, as well as include a button for selecting and providing instructions for self-application as taught by Chapman in order to allow a user to be treated when they are alone and without further assistance (par. 0012).
While the prior art is silent as to an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover, Shaker discloses a defibrillator with a shorter wall/side of a cover 465 includes an overhang portion 1005 that extends further than the shorter wall/side, the overhang portion configured to initiate opening of the cover by pulling on the overhang to disengage the overhang from notch 1010 (see fig. 10 and Col. 9, lines 5-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the prior art to include an overhang portion affixed to a shorter side/wall of the cover to ensure a reversible tight fit of the cover.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796