DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: Figure 1 is either missing or has misaligned surfaces regarding: wheel fenders, seat, front grill bars, base of handlebars and central console, resulting in confusion as to what surface abuts, is centered or adjacent to at least one of the other parts listed. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: the letters in brackets (e.g. “(a)” in front of descriptions of parts in the claims are unnecessary and inhibit the flow of the claims. It is suggested by the examiner that they be deleted, for greater clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8, 11-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2-6, 8, and 11-17, the recitation of “system” is indefinite, as it lacks prior antecedent basis in claims 1, 7 or 8, in which “a segmented wheel system” is recited. Examiner suggests changing the recitation to “the segmented wheel system” for greater clarity.
Regarding Claims 4, 7 and 11-17, the recitation “apertures positioned slightly inward”, in line 4, includes a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested by the Examiner to change the recitation to “apertures positioned inward”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11, 14, 16, 18-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 7198337-B2 to Deckler et al. (“Deckler”).
Regarding claim 1, Deckler discloses a segmented wheel system (Fig 1, 3) for a track vehicle (10), said system comprising:a plurality of segmented wheels (a total of four: two sides each having two:17” forward wheel”, 18” rear wheel”, Fig 1); a track belt (22 “rubber belt track”) surrounding at least one segmented wheel of said plurality of segmented wheels (Col 4 lines 33-35), said track belt having an inner surface (inside of track facing 17, Fig 3) and an outer surface (outside of track facing sky, or ground surface, Fig 3), said inner surface nearer (Fig 3) to said at least one segmented wheel than said outer surface; wheel guide (24 “inner lug”) positioned on (Fig 2) said inner surface of said track belt; and
at least one grouser (“cleat”, Col 4 line 35) positioned on said outer surface (cleats typically are on outer surface) of said track belt.
Regarding Claim 2, Deckler discloses the system of claim 1, each of said plurality of segmented wheels (a total of four: two sides each having two:17” forward wheel”, 18” rear wheel”, Fig 1 having a central disk (34 “disc”) and a plurality of wheel segments (twelve wheel segments formed by : 38a, 38b, 378c… at 26 “first wheel side” and 40a, 40b, 40c at 27 ‘second wheel side”, Fig 3, 5-15, segments, Col 5 lines 4-35)
Regarding Claim 3, Deckler discloses the system of claim 1, said track belt surrounding at least two of said plurality of segmented wheels (twelve as described in paragraph 11 of this document).
Regarding Claim 4, Deckler discloses the segmented wheel system of claim 1, each segmented wheel, comprising: a central disk (34 “disc”, Fig 7) having an outer peripheral edge (79 “bearing surface”, Fig 7), a central aperture (receiving 31 “axle or tube housing” Fig 5, 7), and a plurality of evenly spaced disk connection apertures (50 “bolt apertures” receiving 43 “bolts, Col 5 lines 23-24, Col 6, lines 22-23 Fig 5, 7, 14) positioned inward (Fig 5, 14) from said peripheral edge; a plurality of wheel segments (twelve wheel segments formed by : 38a, 38b, 378c… at 26 “first wheel side” and 40a, 40b, 40c at 27 ‘second wheel side”, Fig 3, 5-15, segments, Col 5 lines 4-35), each wheel segment having an inner diameter surface (Fig 5), an outer diameter surface (Fig 5, 6), two faces (Fig 6, 9, 10), and two ends (circumferential ends Fig 5, 7, 10); said inner diameter surface having an interconnection slot (formed between inner facing 71 ”lower edge surface” on 49 “base” on each segment of each side 26, 27, Fig 6, 14) defined therein; a segment connection aperture (45, Col 5 lines 45-46, Fig 7,14) extends through each wheel segment between said faces (Fig 14); and for each wheel segment, said outer peripheral edge of said central disk is positioned within (Fig 8, 14) said interconnection slot of said wheel segment, said wheel segment is positioned such that said segment connection aperture aligns with (Fig 4-6) one of said disk connection apertures, and a bolt (43, Col 5 lines 23- 36, Fig 7, 14) is positioned within a channel (of 45 and 50 Figs 7-11,14) formed by said segment connection aperture and said disk connection aperture (just described ).
Regarding Claim 7, Deckler discloses a segmented wheel, comprising: a central disk (34 “disc”, Fig 7) having an outer peripheral edge (79 “bearing surface”, Fig 7), a central aperture (receiving 31 “axle or tube housing” Fig 5, 7), and a plurality of evenly spaced disk connection apertures (50 “bolt apertures” receiving 43 “bolts, Col 5 lines 23-24, Col 6, lines 22-23 Fig 5, 7, 14) positioned inward (Fig 5, 14) from said peripheral edge; a plurality of wheel segments (twelve wheel segments formed by : 38a, 38b, 378c… at 26 “first wheel side” and 40a, 40b, 40c at 27 ‘second wheel side”, Fig 3, 5-15, segments, Col 5 lines 4-35), each wheel segment having an inner diameter surface (Fig 5), an outer diameter surface (Fig 5, 6), two faces (Fig 6, 9, 10), and two ends (circumferential ends Fig 5, 7, 10); said inner diameter surface having an interconnection slot (formed between inner facing 71 ”lower edge surface” on 49 “base” on each segment of each side 26, 27, Fig 6, 14) defined therein; a segment connection aperture (45, Col 5 lines 45-46, Fig 7,14) extends through each wheel segment between said faces (Fig 14); and for each wheel segment, said outer peripheral edge of said central disk is positioned within (Fig 8, 14) said interconnection slot of said wheel segment, said wheel segment is positioned such that said segment connection aperture aligns with (Fig 4-6) one of said disk connection apertures, and a bolt (43, Col 5 lines 23- 36, Fig 7, 14) is positioned within a channel (of 45 and 50 Figs 7-11,14) formed by said segment connection aperture and said disk connection aperture (just described ).
Regarding Claim 8, Deckler discloses a segmented wheel system (Fig 1, 3) for a track vehicle (10), having at least one track belt (two 22 “rubber belt track”, at right and left of vehicle, Fig 1, Col 4 lines 22-27), each said track belt having an inner belt surface (inside of track facing 17, Fig 3) and an outer belt surface (outside of track facing sky, or ground surface, Fig 3), said system comprising:a plurality of segmented wheels (a total of four: two sides each having two: 17” forward wheel”, 18” rear wheel”, Fig 1), each of said plurality of segmented wheels having a central disk (34 “disc”) and a plurality of wheel segments (twelve wheel segments formed by: 38a, 38b, 378c… at 26 “first wheel side” and 40a, 40b, 40c at 27 ‘second wheel side”, Fig 3, 5-15, segments, Col 5 lines 4-35); and at least one segmented wheel of said plurality of segmented wheels surrounded by said track belt (Col 4 lines 33-35, Fig 1), said inner belt surface nearer to (Fig 3) said at least one segmented wheel than (Fig 3) said outer belt surface;at least one wheel guide (24 “inner lug”) positioned on (Fig 2) said inner belt surface of said track belt; and at least one grouser (“cleat”, Col 4 line 35) positioned on said outer surface (cleats typically are on outer surface) of said track belt.
Regarding claim 11, Deckler discloses the system of claim 8, each of said plurality of segmented wheels comprising: a central disk (34 “disc”, Fig 7) having an outer peripheral edge (79 “bearing surface”, Fig 7), a central aperture (receiving 31 “axle or tube housing” Fig 5, 7), and a plurality of evenly spaced disk connection apertures (50 “bolt apertures” receiving 43 “bolts, Col 5 lines 23-24, Col 6, lines 22-23 Fig 5, 7, 14) positioned inward (Fig 5, 14) from said peripheral edge; each wheel segments (twelve wheel segments formed by : 38a, 38b, 378c… at 26 “first wheel side” and 40a, 40b, 40c at 27 ‘second wheel side”, Fig 3, 5-15, segments, Col 5 lines 4-35), each wheel segment having an inner diameter surface (Fig 5), an outer diameter surface (Fig 5, 6), two faces (Fig 6, 9, 10), and two ends (circumferential ends Fig 5, 7, 10); said inner diameter surface having an interconnection slot (formed between inner facing 71 ”lower edge surface” on 49 “base” on each segment of each side 26, 27, Fig 6, 14) defined therein; a segment connection aperture (45, Col 5 lines 45-46, Fig 7,14) extends through each wheel segment between said faces (Fig 14); and for each wheel segment, said outer peripheral edge of said central disk is positioned within (Fig 8, 14) said interconnection slot of said wheel segment, said wheel segment is positioned such that said segment connection aperture aligns with (Fig 4-6) one of said disk connection apertures, and a bolt (43, Col 5 lines 23- 36, Fig 7, 14) is positioned within a channel (of 45 and 50 Figs 7-11,14) formed by said segment connection aperture and said disk connection aperture (just described ).
Regarding Claim 14, Deckler discloses system of claim 8 further comprising at least one grouser (“cleat”, Col 4 line 35) positioned on said outer surface (cleats typically are on outer surface) of said track belt.
Regarding claim 16, Deckler discloses the system of claim 8 further comprising: at least one wheel guide (24 “inner lug”) positioned on (Fig 2) said inner surface of said track belt; and at least one grouser (“cleat”, Col 4 line 35) positioned on said outer belt surface of said track belt.
Regarding Claim 18, Deckler discloses the segmented wheel of claim 7, wherein each end of each wheel segment is adjacent to (Fig 5), but not attached to (wheel segments are attached to disc as described in paragraph 16 of this document), an end of an adjacent wheel segment (circumferentially adjacent ends of wheel segments abut as shown Fig 5)
Regarding Claim 19, Deckler discloses segmented wheel of claim 7, wherein said outer diameter surface of each wheel segment comprises a plurality of elongate teeth (55, 56, 57 “feet /belt support elements” having a squared tip thins radially at outer edges of segments, [i.e. having a teeth like shape] Col 6 lines 4-21, Fig 3, 4 ,6).
Regarding Claim 20, Deckler discloses segmented wheel of claim 7, wherein said outer diameter surface of each wheel segment comprises a plurality of elongate teeth (55, 56, 57 “feet /belt support elements” having a squared tip thins radially at outer edges of segments, [i.e. having a teeth like shape; i.e. teeth] Col 6 lines 4-21, Fig 3, 4, 6), and wherein said plurality of elongate teeth are narrower (axially Fog 9) toward a center of said outer diameter surface 55, 56, 57 “feet /belt support elements” having a squared tip thins axially at outer edges of segments, [i.e. having a teeth like shape] Col 6 lines 4-21, Fig 3). and wider toward said two faces (Fig 9) of said wheel segment).
Regarding Claim 22, Deckler discloses segmented wheel of claim 7, wherein said plurality of wheel segments are individually removable from and replaceable (Col 3 lines 15-35) on said central disk.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckler as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 21, Deckler discloses segmented wheel of claim 7, is a cast metal, but does not disclose wherein each wheel segment is constructed from a plastic or an alloy.
The specific material of the wheel segments is/are not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible castable metals, made as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected an Aluminum alloy that was anticorrosive and light weight for the wheel segments, with the motivation to ensure the segment was sufficiently designed to meet the design parameters just described and better suited to withstand the harsh environment while also allowing a weight reduction, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-612956-A to Gignac (“Gignac”).
Regarding claim 5, Deckler discloses the segmented wheel system of claim 1, but does not disclose each wheel guide having a longitudinal length that includes a first end section, a first upwardly extending guide ear, a radiused valley, a second upwardly extending guide ear, and a second end section.
Gagnac discloses a track (23, 25) including at least one wheel guide (36, Col 4 lines 40-49, Fig 4c) wherein each having a longitudinal length (Fig 4b) that includes a first end section (top Fig 4b), a first upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, left Fig 4c), aspacing between pair of 36, Fig 4c), a second upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, right Fig 4c), and a second end section (bottom Fig 4b).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the segmented wheel system and the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the segmented wheel system of Deckler and the teaching of the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections of Gagnac, to modify the track of Deckler, such that it includes first and second guide ears each with first and second end sections, the ears located outboard and inboard of the inner and outer guide wheels, each with first and second end sections with the motivation enable allow the track to stay engaged to the wheels (Gagnac Col 4 lines 41-42), and such that the valley between guide ears and central lug (24 of Deckler, described in paragraph 9 of this document) is radiused with the motivation to ensure the track surface is smooth to avoid trapping debris, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Deckler and Gagnac discloses the system of claim 1, including at least one wheel guide, but does not disclose each wheel guide comprising: ;
Gagnac discloses a track (23, 25) including at least one wheel guide (36, Col 4 lines 40-49, Fig 4c) wherein each having a longitudinal length (Fig 4b) that includes a first end section (top Fig 4b), a first upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, left Fig 4c), a valley (spacing between pair of 36, Fig 4c), a second upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, right Fig 4c), and a second end section (bottom Fig 4b); said radiused valley having a radiused central section flanked on both ends by said guide ears.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the segmented wheel system and the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the segmented wheel system of Deckler and the teaching of the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections of Gagnac, to modify the track of Deckler, such that it includes first and second guide ears each with first and second end sections, the ears located outboard and inboard of the inner and outer guide wheels, each with first and second end sections with the motivation enable allow the track to stay engaged to the wheels (Gagnac Col 4 lines 41-42), and such that the valley between guide ears is radiused, and has a central elongate tooth (lug 24 of Deckler as described in paragraph 9 of this document) parallel to said longitudinal length; and (d) said radiused valley on either side of the central elongate tooth angled downward from said central elongate tooth with the motivation to ensure the track surface is smooth to avoid trapping debris, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, Deckler discloses system of claim 8, including at least one further comprising at least one wheel guide positioned on said inner belt surface of said track belt, but does not disclose each wheel guide having a longitudinal length that includes a first end section, a first upwardly extending guide ear, a radiused valley, a second upwardly extending guide ear, and a second end section.
Gagnac discloses a track (23, 25) including at least one wheel guide (36, Col 4 lines 40-49, Fig 4c) wherein each having a longitudinal length (Fig 4b) that includes a first end section (top Fig 4b), a first upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, left Fig 4c), aspacing between pair of 36, Fig 4c), a second upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, right Fig 4c), and a second end section (bottom Fig 4b).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the segmented wheel system and the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the segmented wheel system of Deckler and the teaching of the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections of Gagnac, to modify the track of Deckler, such that it includes first and second guide ears each with first and second end sections, the ears located outboard and inboard of the inner and outer guide wheels, each with first and second end sections with the motivation enable allow the track to stay engaged to the wheels (Gagnac Col 4 lines 41-42), and such that the valley between guide ears and central lug (24 of Deckler, described in paragraph 9 of this document) is radiused with the motivation to ensure the track surface is smooth to avoid trapping debris, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Deckler discloses system of claim 8, further comprising at least one wheel guide positioned on said inner belt surface of said track belt, but does not disclose each wheel guide comprising:
Gagnac discloses a track (23, 25) including at least one wheel guide (36, Col 4 lines 40-49, Fig 4c) wherein each having a longitudinal length (Fig 4b) that includes a first end section (top Fig 4b), a first upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, left Fig 4c), a valley (spacing between pair of 36, Fig 4c), a second upwardly extending guide ear (36 triangular tip of cross section of 36, right Fig 4c), and a second end section (bottom Fig 4b); said radiused valley having a radiused central section flanked on both ends by said guide ears.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the segmented wheel system and the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the segmented wheel system of Deckler and the teaching of the wheel guide having first and second guide ears and first and second end sections of Gagnac, to modify the track of Deckler, such that it includes first and second guide ears each with first and second end sections, the ears located outboard and inboard of the inner and outer guide wheels, each with first and second end sections with the motivation enable allow the track to stay engaged to the wheels (Gagnac Col 4 lines 41-42), and such that the valley between guide ears is radiused, and has a central elongate tooth (lug 24 of Deckler as described in paragraph 9 of this document) parallel to said longitudinal length; and (d) said radiused valley on either side of the central elongate tooth angled downward from said central elongate tooth with the motivation to ensure the track surface is smooth to avoid trapping debris, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deckler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view EP 0270237 A1 to Cartwright et al. (“Cartwright”).
Regarding claim 15, Deckler discloses system of claim 8 further comprising at least one grouser positioned on said outer belt surface of said track belt, wherein each said at least one grouser comprises a base and two sides, but does not disclose said two sides comprising stability shoulders, one of said two sides further comprising a foot, said foot and said stability shoulders together helping said at least one grouser retain its shape (intended use).
Cartwright discloses a grouser wherein each said at least one grouser comprises sides having stability shoulders (120a, 120b, 120c, “form/backing “Page 9, Para 3, lines 1-6, Fig 14) together helping said at least one grouser retain its shape (intended use, not limiting) (“provide traction…provides backing…aids in fastening” capable of helping grouser retain its shape, Page 9, Para 3, lines 1-6, Fig 14).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the segmented wheel and the grouser having sides with shoulders in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the segmented wheel of Deckler and the teaching of the grouser having sides with shoulders of Cartwright, to modify the grouser sides (of Deckler), such that the include shoulders (like Cartwright), with the motivation to provide backing and attachment (Page 9, Para 3, lines 1-6), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, Deckler discloses the segmented wheel system of claim 1, wherein said at least one grouser comprises a base and two sides, said two sides comprising stability shoulders, one of said two sides further comprising a foot, said foot and said stability shoulders together helping said at least one grouser retain its shape.
Cartwright discloses a grouser wherein each said at least one grouser comprises sides having stability shoulders (120a, 120b, 120c, “form/backing “Page 9, Para 3, lines 1-6, Fig 14) together helping said at least one grouser retain its shape (intended use, not limiting) (“provide traction…provides backing…aids in fastening” capable of helping grouser retain its shape, Page 9, Para 3, lines 1-6, Fig 14).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the segmented wheel and the grouser having sides with shoulders in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the segmented wheel of Deckler and the teaching of the grouser having sides with shoulders of Cartwright, to modify the grouser sides (of Deckler), such that the include shoulders (like Cartwright), with the motivation to provide backing and attachment (Page 9, Para 3, lines 1-6), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, listed on PTO-892 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and discloses at least one of: a vehicle, a segmented wheel, removable replaceable wheel segments, wheel guides, ears, valleys, a plurality of teeth, a track, and grousers,
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615