Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of June 2, 2025. Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to Application JP2024-089768, filed on June 3, 2024. The certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55 has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 2, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: acquisition circuit, and charging control circuit in claims 1-7.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUYAMA et al (US-20200231060-A1)(“Matsuyama”) and Takano et al (US-20150236524-A1)(“Takano”).
As per claim 1, Matsuyama discloses a control device which controls a vehicle including a battery implemented by an all-solid-state battery (Figure 1), the control device comprising:
an acquisition circuit configured to acquire a battery temperature that is a temperature of the battery (Matsuyama at Figure 2, battery temperature sensor 143.); and
a charging control circuit configured (Matsuyama at Figure 2, charge port 11 and Electronic Control Unit 10, and Para. [0076] discloses a charging cycle where the current is changed based on the upper limit based on battery temperature:” a temperature restriction for protecting battery 14 is imposed and charging current IB is suppressed to be lower than maximum current I.sub.max. This current is referred to as “suppressing current I.sub.sup”. Suppressing current I.sub.sup prevents a further rise in battery temperature TB by balancing the amount of heat generation in battery 14 with the amount of cooling of battery 14. Thereafter, the SOC of battery 14 rises gradually and reaches target value TAG at time t12, and charging is completed (the charging completion condition is satisfied). A charging period with maximum current I.sub.max is denoted as T.sub.max, and a charging period with suppressing current I.sub.sup is denoted as T.sub.sup.”) to, when the battery temperature acquired by the acquisition circuit reaches a predetermined upper limit temperature during charging of the battery, stop the charging of the battery or decrease a charging current as compared with before the battery temperature reaches the predetermined upper limit temperature (Matsuyama at Para. [0077] discloses limiting the charging process the battery reaches a critical temperature:” battery temperature TB can reach upper limit temperature UL rapidly and charging with maximum current I.sub.max can be impossible until the SOC of battery 14 reaches target value TAG. In order to protect battery 14, it is required to strictly restrict a further rise in battery temperature TB having already reached upper limit temperature UL, and thus, charging current IB must be significantly suppressed from maximum current I.sub.max to suppressing current I.sub.sup. As a result, the charging time can become longer.”), wherein the charging control circuit
sets the upper limit temperature to a first upper limit temperature when a charging time for charging the battery is (Matsuyama at Figure 9, process S92 a user can select a normal, long-life, and time reduction charging modes, and Para. [0130] disclosing that the lowest upper limit temperature is for the long-life charging mode:” the long-life mode is selected by the user (“long-life mode” in S92), ECU 10 sets upper limit temperature UL at the lowest temperature among the three charging modes (S93)”.), and
sets the upper limit temperature to a second upper limit temperature higher than the first upper limit temperature when the charging time is (Matsuyama at Figure 9, process S92 a user can select a normal, long-life, and time reduction charging modes, and Para. [0131] disclosing that a time reduction in charging the upper-limit is set at a higher setting:” the time reduction mode is selected by the user (“time reduction mode” in S92), ECU 10 sets upper limit temperature UL at the highest temperature among the three charging modes (S95).”).
Matsuyama does not explicitly disclose the setting of the upper limit (UL) temperature based on a shorter or longer predetermined time for charging time of the battery.
Takano discloses that it is well known or that a “user is aware that the charging time becomes longer in order to prevent deterioration of the battery 20 during charging” and that the “allowable charge time corresponding to the lower limit temperature of the temperature range or the lower side of the temperature range is set based on the relationship between the temperature of the battery 20 and reaction speed of the battery 20”. At Para. [0061].
Takano is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which charge battery in a vehicle based on time and temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsuyama further in view of Takano to allow for a user to select a charging mode that sets the UL temperature higher or lower based on a desired charge time . Motivation to do so would allow for reducing the sense of discomfort to the user while minimizing the battery deterioration due to temperature rise of the battery by strategically selecting the battery temperature and the charge time (Takano at Para. [0083]).
As per claim 2, Matsuyama and Takano disclose a control device according to claim 1, wherein the first upper limit temperature is a temperature higher than an upper limit temperature that is able to be set in a liquid battery (Matsuyama at Para. [0131] discloses that in the time reduction mode the controller sets the upper limit temperature to its highest level:” time reduction mode is selected by the user (“time reduction mode” in S92), ECU 10 sets upper limit temperature UL at the highest temperature among the three charging modes (S95).”).
As per claim 3, Matsuyama and Takano disclose a control device according to claim 1, wherein the second upper limit temperature is a temperature in a predetermined temperature range higher than the first upper limit temperature (Matsuyama at Para. [0129] discloses a temperate that is between the highest and lowest setting:” ECU 10 sets upper limit temperature UL at a medium temperature among the three charging modes (S94).”), and the charging control circuit sets the second upper limit temperature that is relatively higher within the predetermined temperature range as the charging time becomes shorter (Matsuyama at Para. [0131] discloses setting the upper limit temperature to a higher temperature to decrease charging time:” ECU 10 sets upper limit temperature UL at the highest temperature among the three charging modes (S95).”).
As per claim 4, Matsuyama and Takano disclose a control device according to claim 1, wherein when the charging is performed at the second upper limit temperature, the charging control circuit controls the charging current to gradually decrease from a maximum current allowed in the battery based on the charging time and the temperature of the battery (Matsuyama at Figure 6, S6 current reduction if UL is higher than battery temperature, and Para.[0111] disclosing a change in current based on charging time and battery temperature:” battery temperature TB exceeds upper limit temperature UL (YES in S5), ECU 10 moves the process to S6 and suppresses charging current IB supplied to battery 14 (temperature restriction). Namely, ECU 10 changes charging current IB to suppressing current I.sub.sup smaller than constant current I.sub.const calculated by the constant current calculation process. Thereafter, the process is returned to S4 and external charging with suppressing current I.sub.sup is continued until the charging completion condition, is satisfied.”), and sets the temperature of the battery at which the decrease from the maximum current is started to be lower as the charging time becomes longer (Matsuyama at Figure 10 and Para. [0114] disclosing a setting a point where current reduction is implemented based on battery temperature:” permitting a rise in battery temperature TB to a temperature (UL−TB.sub.mgn) close to upper limit temperature UL, the charging time can be shortened. In addition, by performing external charging using constant current I.sub.const as charging current IB, the total amount of heat generation during the charging period can be reduced, as compared with the case of switching charging current 1B to suppressing current I.sub.sup during charging.”).
As per claim 7, Matsuyama and Takano disclose a control device according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle further includes a cooling device configured to cool the battery, the control device further comprises a cooling control circuit configured to control the cooling device, and the cooling control circuit causes the cooling device to cool the battery when the battery is charged at a temperature exceeding the first upper limit temperature (Matsuyama at Figure 3, cooling system 8, and Para. [0062] disclosing a cooling system for changing the temperature of the battery:” Flow rate adjusting valve 64 is provided between refrigerant passage 73 and refrigerant passage 74. Flow rate adjusting valve 64 increases and decreases a pressure loss of the refrigerant flowing through refrigerant passage 73, by changing the degree of opening. As a result, a flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through refrigerant passage 73 and a flow rate of the refrigerant flowing through a cooling system 8 (described below) of battery 14 are adjusted.”).
As per claim 8, Matsuyama discloses a control method performed by a computer which controls a vehicle including a battery implemented by an all-solid-state battery (Figures 6-9), the control method comprising:
acquiring a battery temperature that is a temperature of the battery (Matsuyama at Figure 2, battery temperature sensor 143.);
when the acquired battery temperature reaches a predetermined upper limit temperature during charging of the battery (Matsuyama at Para. [0077] discloses limiting the charging process the battery reaches a critical temperature:” battery temperature TB can reach upper limit temperature UL rapidly and charging with maximum current I.sub.max can be impossible until the SOC of battery 14 reaches target value TAG. In order to protect battery 14, it is required to strictly restrict a further rise in battery temperature TB having already reached upper limit temperature UL, and thus, charging current IB must be significantly suppressed from maximum current I.sub.max to suppressing current I.sub.sup. As a result, the charging time can become longer.”), stopping the charging of the battery or decreasing a charging current as compared with before the battery temperature reaches the upper limit temperature (Matsuyama at Figure 2, charge port 11 and Electronic Control Unit 10, and Para. [0076] discloses a charging cycle where the current is changed based on the upper limit based on battery temperature:” a temperature restriction for protecting battery 14 is imposed and charging current IB is suppressed to be lower than maximum current I.sub.max. This current is referred to as “suppressing current I.sub.sup”. Suppressing current I.sub.sup prevents a further rise in battery temperature TB by balancing the amount of heat generation in battery 14 with the amount of cooling of battery 14. Thereafter, the SOC of battery 14 rises gradually and reaches target value TAG at time t12, and charging is completed (the charging completion condition is satisfied). A charging period with maximum current I.sub.max is denoted as T.sub.max, and a charging period with suppressing current I.sub.sup is denoted as T.sub.sup.”) (Matsuyama at Figure 2, charge port 11 and Electronic Control Unit 10, and Para. [0076] discloses a charging cycle where the current is changed based on the upper limit based on battery temperature and the stopping charging at the point of deterioration:” a temperature restriction for protecting battery 14 is imposed and charging current IB is suppressed to be lower than maximum current I.sub.max. This current is referred to as “suppressing current I.sub.sup”. Suppressing current I.sub.sup prevents a further rise in battery temperature TB by balancing the amount of heat generation in battery 14 with the amount of cooling of battery 14. Thereafter, the SOC of battery 14 rises gradually and reaches target value TAG at time t12, and charging is completed (the charging completion condition is satisfied). A charging period with maximum current I.sub.max is denoted as T.sub.max, and a charging period with suppressing current I.sub.sup is denoted as T.sub.sup.”);
setting the upper limit temperature to a first upper limit temperature when a charging time for charging the battery is (Matsuyama at Figure 9, process S92 a user can select a normal, long-life, and time reduction charging modes, and Para. [0130] disclosing that the lowest upper limit temperature is for the long-life charging mode:” the long-life mode is selected by the user (“long-life mode” in S92), ECU 10 sets upper limit temperature UL at the lowest temperature among the three charging modes (S93)”.); and
setting the upper limit temperature to a second upper limit temperature higher than the first upper limit temperature when the charging time is equal to or (Matsuyama at Figure 9, process S92 a user can select a normal, long-life, and time reduction charging modes, and Para. [0131] disclosing that a time reduction in charging the upper-limit is set at a higher setting:” the time reduction mode is selected by the user (“time reduction mode” in S92), ECU 10 sets upper limit temperature UL at the highest temperature among the three charging modes (S95).”).
Matsuyama does not explicitly disclose the setting of the upper limit (UL) temperature based on a shorter or longer predetermined time for charging time of the battery.
Takano discloses that it is well known or that a “user is aware that the charging time becomes longer in order to prevent deterioration of the battery 20 during charging” and that the “allowable charge time corresponding to the lower limit temperature of the temperature range or the lower side of the temperature range is set based on the relationship between the temperature of the battery 20 and reaction speed of the battery 20”. At Para. [0061].
Takano is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which charge battery in a vehicle based on time and temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsuyama further in view of Takano to allow for a user to select a charging mode that sets the UL temperature higher or lower based on a desired charge time . Motivation to do so would allow for reducing the sense of discomfort to the user while minimizing the battery deterioration due to temperature rise of the battery by strategically selecting the battery temperature and the charge time (Takano at Para. [0083]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama and Takano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Izumi et al (US-20160301115-A1)(“Izumi”).
As per claim 5, Matsuyama and Takano disclose a control device according to claim 1.
Matsuyama and Takano do not disclose, Izumi discloses wherein the battery is mounted on the vehicle in a state where the battery is coolable by outside air (Izumi at Figure 1, air inlet duct 46 for introducing outside air to cool battery 10, and Para. [0031] disclosing the flow of air from an inlet to an outlet port for air cooling the mounted battery:” cooling fan 40 is connected to the low voltage bus bars 34 and 35. The cooling fan 40 is composed of a fan body 41 which houses an impeller, a motor 44 for driving the impeller, and a control unit 45 for controlling the speed of the motor 44. The control unit 45 is connected to the low voltage bus bars 34 and 35. A suction duct 46 for drawing cooled air is connected to an inlet port 42 of the fan body 41, and a connection duct 47 for supplying cooled air to a casing 48 that houses the main battery 10 is connected to an outlet port 43 of the fan body 41. An exhaust duct 49 for discharging the air after cooling the main battery 10 is mounted on the casing 48. While in the example structure described above, the main battery 10 is cooled by air discharged through the cooling fan 40, the invention is not limited to this structure, and may be configured such that the cooling fan 40 is disposed toward the exhaust duct 49 and is driven to generate a negative voltage in the casing 48 to thereby blow cooled air to the main battery 10. In the present embodiment, the motor 44 which drives the cooling fan 40 may be either a direct-current motor or an alternating-current motor.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the air cooling structure taught in Izumi in the vehicle in Matsuyama as modified by Takano with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a vehicle being utilized to protect the battery and the driving state due to insufficient cooling of the battery leading to deterioration of the battery leading to undesirable noise and power consumption. (see Izumi at Paras. [0002] & [0055]).
As per claim 6, Matsuyama and Takano disclose a control device according to claim 1.
Matsuyama and Takano do not disclose, Izumi discloses wherein the battery is mounted on the vehicle in a state where the battery having a temperature three times or higher than an outside air temperature is coolable (Izumi at Para. [0043] discloses that the cooling of the battery is based on a difference between the temperature at the inlet and the battery which under the broadest reasonable interpretation is a multiple of the temperatures:” a temperature difference ΔT between the temperature of intake air of the cooling fan 40 detected by the temperature sensor 66 and the temperature TB of the main battery 10 detected by the temperature sensor 61, the vehicle speed Vel detected by the vehicle speed sensor 65, and other parameters, determines the command duty D of the cooling fan 40 and outputs the determined command duty D to the control unit 45.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the air cooling structure taught in Izumi in the vehicle in Matsuyama as modified by Takano with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a vehicle being utilized to protect the battery and the driving state due to insufficient cooling of the battery leading to deterioration of the battery leading to undesirable noise and power consumption. (see Izumi at Paras. [0002] & [0055]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: .
FURUYA KEIHIRO (JP-2022061183-A) vehicle;
FUJIKAWA; HIROSHI et al. (US-20210273270-A1) BATTERY SYSTEM;
RUAN; Jian et al. (US-20210146794-A1) CHARGING METHOD, APPARATUS, DEVICE, MEDIUM, BATTERY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM AND CHARGING PILE;
OKAMOTO; Yusuke et al. (US-20210101504-A1) CHARGING CONTROL APPARATUS, TRANSPORT DEVICE, AND NON-TEMPORARY COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM;
IGUCHI HIROKI (JP-2021005456-A) Battery system;
Kinomura; Shigeki et al. (US-20140217956-A1) CHARGING SYSTEM FOR VEHICLE, METHOD FOR CHARGING VEHICLE, POWER SUPPLY SYSTEM, AND POWER SUPPLY METHOD;
Hiroe; Yoshihiko (US-20140042968-A1) CHARGING DEVICE AND CHARGING METHOD;
Hao; Zhiming (US-20130285599-A1) CHARGING METHOD AND USER EQUIPMENT;
Kim; Dal et al. (US-20120312610-A1) BATTERY COOLING STRUCTURE FOR ELECTRIC VEHICLE;
Tonozuka; Hiroshi et al. (US-20120280050-A1) TEMPERATURE REGULATING DEVICE OF ON-VEHICLE BATTERY AND ITS TEMPERATURE REGULATING METHOD;
Ichikawa; Shinji (US-20100217466-A1) POWER SUPPLY SYSTEM, VEHICLE PROVIDED WITH THE SAME AND CONTROL METHOD OF POWER SUPPLY SYSTEM.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658