DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Please note that USPN 4217921 has been crossed-out as the name provided was not accurate. The reference has been considered and is cited in the action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening means” in claim 11.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1, line 3, “at its first” should read --at a first--; claim 1, line 4, “the housing side” should read --a housing side--; claim 1, line 4, “its lateral” should read --a lateral--; claim 1, line 14, “the internal pressure” should read --an internal pressure--; claim 1, line 16, “the radial direction” should read --a radial direction--; claim 1, line 17, “outer surfaces” should read --outer surface--; claim 2, line 2, “its second base” should read --a second base--; claim 2, line 3, “the area” should read --an area--; claim 3, line 2, “its second base” should read --a second base--; claim 5, line 5, “the area” should read --an area--; claim 11, line 2, “the area” should read --an area--; claim 11, line 3, “it” should read --the base body--; claim 15, line 3, “its lateral” should read --a lateral--. Appropriate correction is required. Claims not specifically referenced are objected to as being dependent on an objected to base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 9-10, the limitation “is in contact with the housing and the lateral surface of the housing” is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite how the sealing region is in contact with the housing twice. Furthermore, a lateral surface of the housing has not been claimed. It appears that the claim should read --is in contact with the housing and the lateral surface of the base body--.
Regarding claims 5, and 10, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “comprise substantially the same distance” is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite how openings can comprise a distance. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as --and are at the same distance--.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “a threshold value” in line 9 is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite whether a second threshold value is being claim different from the threshold value in claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as the same threshold value.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "a second base surface" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-16, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gidner (U.S. Patent No. 4,217,921).
Regarding claim 1, Gidner discloses:
A pressure equalization device for a housing (101), comprising
a base body (109) having an inner surface and an outer surface, the base body (109) being at least partially configured as a hollow cylinder, wherein the base body (109) comprises, at a first base surface, a gas passage opening on a housing side, and at a lateral surface, at least one gas pressure relief opening 110 (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figure 1)
a housing seal (113, 114) arranged on the outer surface of the base body (109) in a circumferential direction and comprising a first sealing region (114) and a second sealing region 113 (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figure 1)
wherein the first sealing region (114) of the housing seal (113, 114), in a state in which the pressure equalization device is mounted in the housing (101), is in contact with the housing (101) and the lateral surface of the base body (109) and seals the housing (101) with respect to the pressure equalization device and the second sealing region (113) completely covers the gas pressure relief opening 110 (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figure 1)
wherein the second sealing region (113) of the housing seal (113, 114), when a pressure difference between the internal pressure on the inner surface of the base body (109) and the external pressure on the outer surface of the base body (109) exceeds a threshold value, is elastically deformable outward in the radial direction and thereby providing a flow-conducting connection between the inner surface and outer surfaces through the gas pressure relief opening 110 (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figures 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 7, Gidner discloses:
wherein the lateral surface of the base body (109) comprises a plurality of gas pressure relief openings (110) extending in the circumferential direction, all of which are covered by the second sealing region (113) of the housing seal 113, 114 (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 8, Gidner discloses:
wherein the gas pressure relief openings (110) are slot-shaped and are at a same distance from the first base surface (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 9, Gidner discloses:
wherein the housing seal (113, 114) is ring-shaped and has an L-shaped cross-section (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 10, Gidner discloses:
wherein a first, shorter, leg of the housing seal (113, 114) forms the first sealing region (114), which is in contact with a circumferential retaining projection attached to the lateral surface of the base body 109 (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figure 1)
wherein a second, longer, leg of the housing seal (113, 114) forms the second sealing region (113), which is in contact with the lateral surface of the base body (109) and completely covers the gas pressure relief opening (110) and which tilts relative to the first leg when the pressure difference between the inner pressure on the inner surface of the base body (109) and the outer pressure on the outer surface of the base body (109) exceeds the threshold value (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figures 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 11, Gidner discloses:
wherein fastening means (per the 112f interpretation, shown as element 30 in applicant’s figure 1 and described in paragraph 0018; functional equivalent 107 in Gidner) are arranged in an area of the first base surface of the base body (109) for detachably fastening the base body (109) in or to an installation opening of the housing 101
Regarding claim 12, Gidner discloses:
wherein the fastening means (107) are configured as a screw or snap connection (Col. 3, lines 58 - Col. 4, line 15)
Regarding claim 13, Gidner discloses:
wherein the base body (109) is at least partially configured as a straight hollow cylinder with a circular cross-section (Col. 3, line 58 - Col. 4, line 28; see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 14, Gidner discloses:
a protective body (117) surrounding the housing seal (113, 114) and at least partially surrounding the base body (109) in the circumferential direction (Col. 4, lines 29-53; see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 15, Gidner discloses:
wherein the protective body (117) is ring-shaped and comprises at least one further gas pressure relief opening (121) in a lateral surface and/or between the lateral surface and a second base surface (Col. 4, lines 29-53; see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 16, Gidner discloses:
A housing (101) comprising a pressure equalization device according to claim 1 (see rejection above)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stradella (U.S. 2017/0259895) discloses a pressure equalizing device for a housing comprising a base body having an inner and outer surface and having openings on a lateral surface that are closed by a first sealing region of a seal.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753