DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-11, 13, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0164589).
As to claim 1, Watanabe teaches an information display method of a head mounted display apparatus (display apparatus of the head mounted display apparatus 1 as shown in Fig. 1, the display has a method of displaying information related to real space, [0007], lines 1-9) comprising:
acquiring a view range image (view range image 21, Figs. 3A-3C) corresponding to a field of view range of a user of the head mounted display apparatus (the field of view range of a user 51, the view range image 21 corresponds to the field 51, Fig. 3B);
determining whether an information terminal (Fig. 7, A) is included in the acquired view range image (Figs. 7 in step S1 and S2, the information terminal A is determined, [0090], lines 19-22);
in response to determining that the information terminal is included in the acquired view range image (Fig. 7, the smartphone A is shown in the view range image when the user moves the smartphone A in front of the region 51a/21), determining whether a display image of the information terminal is an image in which additional information (SC1) is superimposed on a main image (the new screen SC1 is displayed in a superimposed style on the main image 21, [0093], lines 1-9);
in response to determining that the display image of the information terminal is the image in which the additional information is superimposed on the main image (in response to determining that the display image of the information terminal A is in the user’s field of view as shown in step 2 of Fig. 7, [0094], lines 1-4), requesting the information terminal (Smartphone A) or contents server to send the additional information (the wearable device 1receives from the smartphone A, a display control signal for performing predetermine display on the display unit 2 of the wearable device 1, and the wearable device 1 displays a new screen SC1 on the display unit, [0093], lines 9-17);
receiving the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7);
detecting a visual recognition area (the area where the smartphone A is displayed, [0073], line 1 – [0074], line 5) that is an area where the information terminal (smartphone A) is viewed in a display of the head mounted display apparatus (Fig. 7, the smartphone A is displayed in the area 2a and 2b of the head mounted display apparatus); and
displaying the received additional information (SC1, Fig. 7) at a position that does not overlap with the visual recognition area in the display (the additional information SC1 is displayed in an area that does not overlap with the visual recognition area where the smartphone A is displayed on the screen).
As to claim 2, Watanabe teaches the display is a transmissive display (Fig. 7, the display 2a(2b) are transmissive displays where the smartphone and additional information SC1 can be displayed).
As to claim 4, Watanabe teaches in response to receiving the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7), sending (the smartphone A and the display 21 are in connection and sending signals back and forth, Fig. 1 between controller 7 and the control program 9 and communicating unit 8 with the controller 7) a request for reduced display of the additional information to the information terminal (the display displayed reduced additional information to the smartphone 1 to display the smaller additional information on the display shown in Fig. 8 step S13).
As to claim 6, Watanabe teaches the position at which the additional information is displayed is fixed even if a display position of the information terminal in the display moves (Fig. 13, the additional information shown as a vehicle and a city in the background is fixed on the display area 21 even when the position of the smartphone A is changed).
As to claim 7, Watanabe teaches the position at which the additional information is displayed is fixed relative to the information terminal when a display position of the information terminal in the display moves (when the smartphone A’s location is changed relative to the display 21, the additional information shown in Fig. 13’s location is fixed on the top left edge of the display 21).
As to claim 8, Watanabe teaches an information display method of a head mounted display apparatus (display apparatus of the head mounted display apparatus 1 as shown in Fig. 1, the display displays information related to real space, [0007], lines 1-9) comprising:
acquiring a view range image (view range image 21, Figs. 3A-3C) corresponding to a field of view range of a user of the head mounted display apparatus (the field of view range of a user 51, the view range image 21 corresponds to the field 51, Fig. 3B);
accepting a selection instruction of the user for selecting an object (selecting an objected in Fig. 10 of the additional information based on the selection instruction of the user to slide down) in the display image of an information terminal (Fig. 7, the user’s instructions to select a section of the additional information on the smartphone, which is the information terminal) based on the acquired view range image (Fig. 7, the smartphone A is shown in the view range image when the user moves the smartphone A in front of the region 51a/21 and the additional section is displayed);
determining whether the selected object is additional information (Fig. 10, the selected additional information SC9) that is superimposed on a main image (the new screen SC9 is displayed in a superimposed style on the main image 21, in this paragraph the additional information SC9 is similar to the additional information SC1, [0093], lines 1-9, paragraph [0127] teaches the additional information SC9);
in response to determining that the selected object is the additional information (in Fig. 10 the selected object such as additional information SC9), requesting the information terminal or contents server to send the selected object (the wearable device 1receives from the smartphone A, a display control signal for performing predetermine display on the display unit 2 of the wearable device 1, and the wearable device 1 displays a new screen SC1 (similarly SC9 in Fig. 10) on the display unit, [0093], lines 9-17);
receiving the selected object from the information terminal or the contents server (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23; from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7);
detecting a visual recognition area (the area where the smartphone A is displayed, [0073], line 1 – [0074], line 5) that is an area where the information terminal (smartphone A) is viewed in a display of the head mounted display apparatus (Fig. 7, the smartphone A is displayed in the area 2a and 2b of the head mounted display apparatus); and
displaying the received object at a position that does not overlap with the visual recognition area in the display (the additional information SC1, SC9, and etc. are displayed in an area that do not overlap with the visual recognition area where the smartphone A is displayed on the screen).
As to claim 9, Watanabe teaches the selection instruction of the user is accepted by detecting that the user performs a tap operation or a blink operation, keeping a line of sight of the user on the object (Fig. 7, the user is keeping a line of sight of the user on the object SC1 and smartphone A, the tap by the user causes the additional information to be displayed, [0092], lines 1-7.
As to claim 10, Watanabe teaches a head mounted display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a display (2a/2b);
a camera (imager 3 to capture image) configured to acquire a view range image (view range image 21, Figs. 3A-3C) corresponding to a field of view range of a user (the field of view range of a user 51, the view range image 21 corresponds to the field 51, Fig. 3B) of the head mounted display apparatus ([0038], lines 4-8);
a communication interface (8, [0051], lines 1-2); and
a processing circuit (7 and 9) configured to:
determine whether an information terminal (Fig. 7, A) is included in the view range image ((Figs. 7 in step S1 and S2, the information terminal A is determined, [0090], lines 19-22) acquired by the camera (3, [0038], lines 4-8),
in response to determining that the information terminal is included in the view range image (Fig. 7, the smartphone A is shown in the view range image when the user moves the smartphone A in front of the region 51a/21), determine whether a display image of the information terminal is an image in which additional information (SC1) is superimposed on a main image (the new screen SC1 is displayed in a superimposed style on the main image 21, [0093], lines 1-9),
in response to determining that the display image of the information terminal is the image in which the additional information is superimposed on the main image (in response to determining that the display image of the information terminal A is in the user’s field of view as shown in step 2 of Fig. 7, [0094], lines 1-4), request the information terminal (Smartphone A) or contents server to send the additional information (the wearable device 1receives from the smartphone A, a display control signal for performing predetermine display on the display unit 2 of the wearable device 1, and the wearable device 1 displays a new screen SC1 on the display unit, [0093], lines 9-17) via the communication interface ([0064], lines 7-16),
receive the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7) via the communication interface ([0064], lines 7-16),
detect a visual recognition area (the area where the smartphone A is displayed, [0073], line 1 – [0074], line 5) that is an area where the information terminal (smartphone A) is viewed in the display (Fig. 7, the smartphone A is displayed in the area 2a and 2b of the head mounted display apparatus), and
display the received additional information (SC1, Fig. 7) at a position that does not overlap with the visual recognition area in the display (the additional information SC1 is displayed in an area that does not overlap with the visual recognition area where the smartphone A is displayed on the screen).
As to claim 11, Watanabe teaches the display is a transmissive display (Fig. 7, the display 2a(2b) are transmissive displays where the smartphone and additional information SC1 can be displayed).
As to claim 13, Watanabe teaches in response to receiving the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7), the processing circuit sends (the smartphone A and the display 21 are in connection and sending signals back and forth, Fig. 1 between controller 7 and the control program 9 and communicating unit 8 with the controller 7) a request for reduced display of the additional information to the information terminal (the display displayed reduced additional information to the smartphone 1 to display the smaller additional information on the display shown in Fig. 8 step S13).
As to claim 15, Watanabe teaches the position at which the additional information is displayed is fixed even if a display position of the information terminal in the display moves (Fig. 13, the additional information shown as a vehicle and a city in the background is fixed on the display area 21 even when the position of the smartphone A is changed).
As to claim 16, Watanabe teaches the position at which the additional information is displayed is fixed relative to the information terminal when a display position of the information terminal in the display moves (when the smartphone A’s location is changed relative to the display 21, the additional information shown in Fig. 13’s location is fixed on the top left edge of the display 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0015736).
As to claim 3, Watanabe teaches in response to receiving the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7),
Watanabe does not teach sending a stop request,
Kim teaches sending a display stop request of the additional information to the information terminal ([0075], lines 12-18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the stop request of Kim to the device of Watanabe because if the content 1 is a video content and the location state of the digital device 200 is switched from the first state into the second state, the digital device 200 may be able to pause the output of the video content during a preset time. [0076], lines 22-26.
As to claim 12, Watanabe teaches in response to receiving the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7),
Watanabe does not teach sending a stop request,
Kim teaches the processing circuit sends a display stop request of the additional information to the information terminal ([0075], lines 12-18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the stop request of Kim to the device of Watanabe because if the content 1 is a video content and the location state of the digital device 200 is switched from the first state into the second state, the digital device 200 may be able to pause the output of the video content during a preset time. [0076], lines 22-26.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Chi (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0061969).
As to claim 5, Watanabe teaches in response to receiving the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7),
Watanabe does not teach sending a request for moving the additional information to the information terminal
Chi teaches sending a request for moving the additional information to the information terminal (Fig. 6D, sending the image displayed on device 500 to the device 600 in part (b), therefore sending a request to display the image of the ring from one display to another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the copying the additional information of one device to the information terminal of Chi to the device of Watanabe because of the user inputs a control command, [0188].
As to claim 14, Watanabe teaches in response to receiving the additional information (SC1, Fig. 7 or SC6, SC7, SC8 in Fig. 9 step S23) from the information terminal or the contents server (from the smartphone A, [0121], lines 1-7),
Watanabe does not teach sending a request for moving the additional information to the information terminal
Chi teaches the processing circuit (180, Fig. 1) sends a request for moving the additional information to the information terminal (Fig. 6D, sending the image displayed on device 500 to the device 600 in part (b), therefore sending a request to display the image of the ring from one display to another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the copying the additional information of one device to the information terminal of Chi to the device of Watanabe because of the user inputs a control command, [0188].
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Double patenting rejection has been withdrawn in light of the terminal disclaimer.
The applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach:
“detecting a visual recognition area that is an area where the information terminal is viewed in a display of the head mounted display apparatus; and
displaying the received additional information at a position that does not overlap with the visual recognition area in the display”
Watanabe specifically teaches wherein as a device is brought into view of a wearable HUD, the system automatically requests additional information related to the device, as shown in all the exemplary figures. Specifically the examiner would like to point out Figs. 11-13.
In Fig. 11 Watanabe specifically teaches wherein as device is brought into view and additional information is supposed to be displayed, see the top initial section. Additional information such as controls are supposed to overlap the viewable area, because this is the case those controls are then expanded to adjacent areas, some of which are overlapping either vertically or horizontally but not completely with the original position of the device. Additionally the full display of the video which would be viewed on the device itself is then projected onto the HUD instead and make sure not to overlap with the device itself.
Further example of this would be in Fig. 12 even after full display of the video is shown, if the device is brought back into view the video is then moved again since it is predicted that it would overlap with the device controls as well as the expanded controls as shown in the HUD. This dynamic adjustment of images satisfies the claimed invention.
The applicant fails to explicitly claim how each of the steps of display, detection, and information presentation take place. Instead said explicit implementation can be instantaneous, reactive, being done by the system or by the user operating said system.
For at least the reasons set forth above, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KE XIAO/SPE, Art Unit 2627