DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaki et al (pub # 20200319786) in view of Lang et al (pub # 20210405871).
Consider claim 1. Sawaki et al An input device (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0019, vehicular display apparatus 1). comprising:
a single push button (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0026, operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11).
configured to receive a first operation, (paragraph 0026, Upon receiving the screen operation detection signal from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a screen change operation on the first display area 12 by the received screen operation detection signal. The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
the push button being further configured to receive a second operation, (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
an operation action of the second operation to the push button being different from that of the first operation; (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11. The rotation operation detection signal is different from the screen operation signal in paragraph 0026).
an output unit configured to output, to another device, a first command corresponding to the first operation (paragraph 0026, when the user touches the first display area 12 to perform a screen change operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a screen operation detection signal that can specify the screen change operation to the controller 2).
and a second command corresponding to the second operation; (paragraph 0028, when the user touches the second display area 13 to perform a rotation operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a rotation operation detection signal capable of specifying the rotation operation to the controller 2).
and a display device configured to perform a first display corresponding to a first state in which the first command is output (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and a second display corresponding to a second state in which the second command is output, (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
wherein the display device is disposed in a periphery of the single push button , (paragraph 0026, The operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11. Figs. 2 and 3 second display area 13 is on the periphery of operation switch 4 provided in the first display area 12).
the display device is divided into a first display region and a second display region, (Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraph 0026, first display area 12 and second display area 13).
and the first display includes a state in which the first display region is displayed, (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and the second display includes a state in which the second display region is displayed. (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
It is admitted that Sawaki et al does not specifically disclose a push button as required by the claim language. However Lang et al in at least Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0060-0061 discloses a user interface control device 200 comprising an input key 205 that can be a physical key, for example a push-button. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (touchscreen) with another known element (push button) resulting in the predictable result of the user using the push button to enter inputs into the interface device.
Consider claim 6. Sawaki et al teaches An input method (abstract). comprising: receiving an operation by a single push button (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0026, operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11).
configured to receive a first operation (paragraph 0026, Upon receiving the screen operation detection signal from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a screen change operation on the first display area 12 by the received screen operation detection signal. The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and receiving a second operation, (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
an operation action of the second operation to the push button being different from that of the first operation; (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11. The rotation operation detection signal is different from the screen operation signal in paragraph 0026).
outputting a first command corresponding to the first operation (paragraph 0026, when the user touches the first display area 12 to perform a screen change operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a screen operation detection signal that can specify the screen change operation to the controller 2).
and a second command corresponding to the second operation to another device; (paragraph 0028, when the user touches the second display area 13 to perform a rotation operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a rotation operation detection signal capable of specifying the rotation operation to the controller 2).
and causing a display device to perform a first display corresponding to a first state in which the first command is output (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and a second display corresponding to a second state in which the second command is output, (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
wherein the display device is disposed in a periphery of the single push button , (paragraph 0026, The operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11. Figs. 2 and 3 second display area 13 is on the periphery of operation switch 4 provided in the first display area 12).
the display device is divided into a first display region and a second display region, (Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraph 0026, first display area 12 and second display area 13).
and the first display includes a state in which the first display region is displayed, (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and the second display includes a state in which the second display region is displayed. (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
It is admitted that Sawaki et al does not specifically disclose a push button as required by the claim language. However Lang et al in at least Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0060-0061 discloses a user interface control device 200 comprising an input key 205 that can be a physical key, for example a push-button. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (touchscreen) with another known element (push button) resulting in the predictable result of the user using the push button to enter inputs into the interface device.
Consider claim 4. Lang et al further teaches The input device according to claim 3, wherein the single push button is configured to distinguish between the first operation or the second operation based on a difference in a length of time for which the push button is pushed. (paragraph 0059, an input key 205 that can be pressed by a user, and a processor 207 configured to register a starting time and a duration of a key press on the input key 205. The processor 207 is configured to assign a first function to the input key if the duration of the key press is shorter or equal to a threshold time value, and to assign a second function to the input key if the duration of the key press exceeds the threshold time value. Thereby, the display 203 is configured to display a graphical element, which indicates a duration of the key press at least until the threshold time value is reached.).
Consider claim 5. Lang et al further teaches The input device according to claim 4, wherein the output unit is configured to: transition, in response to the push button being pushed for a predetermined time or longer, to a selection state in which a selection operation of the first command and the second command is received, (paragraph 0059, an input key 205 that can be pressed by a user, and a processor 207 configured to register a starting time and a duration of a key press on the input key 205. The processor 207 is configured to assign a first function to the input key if the duration of the key press is shorter or equal to a threshold time value, and to assign a second function to the input key if the duration of the key press exceeds the threshold time value. Thereby, the display 203 is configured to display a graphical element, which indicates a duration of the key press at least until the threshold time value is reached.).
and receive a change in selection of the first command and the second command in response to a push operation for less than the predetermined time being received in the selection state, and output the first command or the second command being selected when the push button is pushed for the predetermined time or longer. (paragraph 0059, an input key 205 that can be pressed by a user, and a processor 207 configured to register a starting time and a duration of a key press on the input key 205. The processor 207 is configured to assign a first function to the input key if the duration of the key press is shorter or equal to a threshold time value, and to assign a second function to the input key if the duration of the key press exceeds the threshold time value. Thereby, the display 203 is configured to display a graphical element, which indicates a duration of the key press at least until the threshold time value is reached.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaki et al (pub # 20200319786) in view of Lang et al (pub # 20210405871) and further in view of Ban et al (pub # 20220318607).
Consider claim 2. Sawaki et al in view of Lang et al does not specifically disclose The input device according to claim 1, wherein the first command includes a call command of first setting data related to a first sound processing, and the second command includes a call command of second setting data related to a second sound processing. However Ban et al in at least paragraph 0056 discloses “if the processing result of the audio data needs to be obtained, the PCH can send the call command to the storage unit (DRAM) through a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface. The storage unit (DRAM) can send the processing result to the CPU according to the call command of the PCH, such that the processing result of the audio data is obtained by the processor and fed back to the CPU”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Ban et al with the system and method of Sawaki et al in view of Lang et al in order to improve a data processing efficiency (Ban et al paragraph 0023).
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624