DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to independent claims 1 and 6 Applicant argues that the cited reference Sawaki et al does not teach or disclose the amended claim limitation “a single operator configured to receive a first operation, the single operator being further configured to receive a second operation, an operation action of the second operation being different from that of the first operation”. Applicant argues that Sawaki’s operation switch 4 is provided in both the first display area and the second display area rather than “a single operator” receiving first and second operations as different operation actions on that same single operator. Examiner respectfully disagrees as the operation switch 4 itself is being interpretated as the “operator”. As was shown in the previous Office Action Sawaki in at least paragraph 0026 discloses that the operation switch 4 is provided in both the first display area 12 and the second display area 13 and configured to receive an operation for either of the first display area 12 or the second display area 13, thus a “single” operator configured to receive a first operation or a second operation having different operation actions. The rejections are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawaki et al (pub # 20200319786).
Consider claim 1. Sawaki et al An input device (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0019, vehicular display apparatus 1). comprising:
a single operator (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0026, operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11).
configured to receive a first operation, (paragraph 0026, Upon receiving the screen operation detection signal from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a screen change operation on the first display area 12 by the received screen operation detection signal. The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
the operator being further configured to receive a second operation, (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
an operation action of the second operation to the operator being different from that of the first operation; (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11. The rotation operation detection signal is different from the screen operation signal in paragraph 0026).
an output unit configured to output, to another device, a first command corresponding to the first operation (paragraph 0026, when the user touches the first display area 12 to perform a screen change operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a screen operation detection signal that can specify the screen change operation to the controller 2).
and a second command corresponding to the second operation; (paragraph 0028, when the user touches the second display area 13 to perform a rotation operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a rotation operation detection signal capable of specifying the rotation operation to the controller 2).
and a display device configured to perform a first display corresponding to a first state in which the first command is output (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and a second display corresponding to a second state in which the second command is output, (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
wherein the display device is disposed in a periphery of the single operator, (paragraph 0026, The operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11. Figs. 2 and 3 second display area 13 is on the periphery of operation switch 4 provided in the first display area 12).
the display device is divided into a first display region and a second display region, (Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraph 0026, first display area 12 and second display area 13).
and the first display includes a state in which the first display region is displayed, (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and the second display includes a state in which the second display region is displayed. (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
Consider claim 6. Sawaki et al teaches An input method (abstract). comprising: receiving an operation by a single operator (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0026, operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11).
configured to receive a first operation (paragraph 0026, Upon receiving the screen operation detection signal from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a screen change operation on the first display area 12 by the received screen operation detection signal. The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and receiving a second operation, (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
an operation action of the second operation to the operator being different from that of the first operation; (paragraph 0028, When the rotation operation detection signal is received from the operation switch 4, the controller 2 specifies a rotation operation on the second display area 13 based on the received rotation operation detection signal. The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11. The rotation operation detection signal is different from the screen operation signal in paragraph 0026).
outputting a first command corresponding to the first operation (paragraph 0026, when the user touches the first display area 12 to perform a screen change operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a screen operation detection signal that can specify the screen change operation to the controller 2).
and a second command corresponding to the second operation to another device; (paragraph 0028, when the user touches the second display area 13 to perform a rotation operation, the operation switch 4 outputs a rotation operation detection signal capable of specifying the rotation operation to the controller 2).
and causing a display device to perform a first display corresponding to a first state in which the first command is output (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and a second display corresponding to a second state in which the second command is output, (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
wherein the display device is disposed in a periphery of the single operator, (paragraph 0026, The operation switch 4 is a touch panel provided in the first display area 12 of the first display unit 10 and the second display area 13 of the second display unit 11. Figs. 2 and 3 second display area 13 is on the periphery of operation switch 4 provided in the first display area 12).
the display device is divided into a first display region and a second display region, (Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraph 0026, first display area 12 and second display area 13).
and the first display includes a state in which the first display region is displayed, (paragraph 0026, The first display command signal corresponding to the specified screen change operation is then outputted to the first display unit 10).
and the second display includes a state in which the second display region is displayed. (paragraph 0028, The second display command signal corresponding to the specified rotation operation is outputted to the second display unit 11).
Consider claim 3. Sawaki et al further teaches The input device according to claim 1, wherein the single operator comprises a push button. (paragraph 0030, The remote control terminal 16 is provided separately from the vehicular display apparatus 1. When the user operates the remote control terminal 16, an operation detection signal capable of specifying the operation content is transmitted to the remote control sensor 5 by wireless communication such as WiFi (registered trademark) or Bluetooth (registered trademark). The remote control terminal 16 is configured to be capable of performing a plurality of operations such as a long press, a short press, a movement in eight directions (up, down, left, right, and diagonally), thus a push button).
Consider claim 4. Sawaki et al further teaches The input device according to claim 3, wherein the single operator is configured to distinguish between the first operation or the second operation based on a difference in a length of time for which the push button is pushed. (paragraph 0030, The remote control terminal 16 is configured to be capable of performing a plurality of operations such as a long press, a short press, a movement in eight directions (up, down, left, right, and diagonally), thus a push button).
Consider claim 5. Sawaki et al further teaches The input device according to claim 4, wherein the output unit is configured to: transition, in response to the push button being pushed for a predetermined time or longer, to a selection state in which a selection operation of the first command and the second command is received, (paragraph 0030, The remote control terminal 16 is configured to be capable of performing a plurality of operations such as a long press, a short press, a movement in eight directions (up, down, left, right, and diagonally), thus a push button).
and receive a change in selection of the first command and the second command in response to a push operation for less than the predetermined time being received in the selection state, and output the first command or the second command being selected when the push button is pushed for the predetermined time or longer. (paragraph 0030, The remote control terminal 16 is configured to be capable of performing a plurality of operations such as a long press, a short press, a movement in eight directions (up, down, left, right, and diagonally), thus a push button).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawaki et al (pub # 20200319786) in view of Ban et al (pub # 20220318607).
Consider claim 2. Sawaki et al does not specifically disclose The input device according to claim 1, wherein the first command includes a call command of first setting data related to a first sound processing, and the second command includes a call command of second setting data related to a second sound processing. However Ban et al in at least paragraph 0056 discloses “if the processing result of the audio data needs to be obtained, the PCH can send the call command to the storage unit (DRAM) through a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface. The storage unit (DRAM) can send the processing result to the CPU according to the call command of the PCH, such that the processing result of the audio data is obtained by the processor and fed back to the CPU”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Ban et al with the system and method of Sawaki et al in order to improve a data processing efficiency (Ban et al paragraph 0023).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624
/MATTHEW A EASON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2624