DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed June 2, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Of these claims, claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election Response
In Response to the Restriction Election Requirement dated August 3, 2026, Applicant Elected Species I, without traverse. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for PCT Patent Application No. PCT/AU2023/051241, filed December 1, 2023, is acknowledged and accepted.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Australian Patent Application No. AU2022903663, filed on December 1, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 2, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFT 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84, as indicated below.
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-3, 7, and 11-15 are blurry and have illegible text. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “such as”, which fails to positively recite a claim feature. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0099665, to You.
As per claim 1, You discloses a warning system for early notification of danger by approaching objects to a monitored zone (e.g. see Fig. 3, Abstract, and paras 0008 and 0083, wherein a technique for predicting a progress path of an object through an intersection and provide a warning on a display device of a vehicle based upon the possibility of a collision), the system comprising: a. at least two distinct types of detectors configured to detect and track vehicles and obtain characteristics of a tracked vehicle relative to the monitored zone (e.g. see Figs. 1-2 and 5-6, and para 0033-0037, wherein the vehicle includes a vehicle control device 100 including sensing unit 110 having at least a radar and camera, the radar and camera would capture movement of objects as well as capture characteristics of the vehicle, at an intersection); b. a processor communicatively coupled to the at least two distinct types of detectors (e.g. see Fig. 1, and paras 0033-0035, wherein the vehicle control device includes controller 140 which is coupled to the sensing unit, via tacker 120 and scenario device 130), the processor configured to: i. receive the characteristics of the tracked vehicle relative to the monitored zone; and ii. assess the expected relative impact of the object on the monitored zone (e.g. see para 0050, wherein the radar and camera track movement of the objects in a longitudinal and lateral direction, respectively, within the zone of observation); and c. an alarm system communicatively coupled to the processor, the alarm system configured to provide an alarm action based on a predetermined danger level associated with the assessed expected relative impact of the object to the monitored zone (e.g. see para 0083, wherein the controller activates an alarm based upon the potential of collision (i.e. predetermined danger level) with the objects within a path scenario, such as intersection).
As per claim 2, You discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the monitored zone is predefined (e.g. see Fig. 4, para 0062, wherein a sensing region is defined) and wherein a watch area is defined relative to the monitored zone wherein the watch area includes an area that is predetermined to cover trajectories of detected and tracked objects that are expected to provide the predetermined danger level associated with the assessed expected relative impact of the object to the monitored zone (e.g. see Fig. 4, and paras 0063-0065, wherein the sensing regions is divided into a plurality of subregions 352, 354, 356 and 358 (watch area) having different priorities to track objects 371-378).
As per claim 3, You discloses the features of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the watch area includes at least a first distant area (e.g. see Fig. 4, first area 352) and a second distant area (e.g. see Fig. 4, first area 354), both spatially related to the monitored zone and within the watch area (e.g. see Fig. 4 and paras 0048-0050, watch area defined by areas 352-358) and wherein the at least two distinct types of detectors are configured to monitor the first distant area or the second distant area (e.g. see Fig. 3, wherein the radar monitors an area having a greater distance than the camera, and the camera monitors an area wider than the radar), said detectors being selected based on possessing at least partially complementary operational characteristics across one or more of a plurality of distinct performance parameters (e.g. see Fig. 3, and paras 0048-0050, wherein the camera and radar generate an overlapping region 320 (i.e. complementary operational characteristics)) wherein the complementary nature of said characteristics enables the system to: i. leverage a strength of a first of said detector types to compensate for a corresponding weakness or limitation of a second of said detector types with respect to at least one of said performance parameters (e.g. the Office notes that radars and cameras provide different information about common objects); and ii. perform crosschecking of detections derived from said detector types; thereby enhancing overall detection reliability and limiting false alarms (e.g. see para 0054, wherein the sensing accuracy is improved through complement of the sensors in overlapping regions).
As per claim 4, You discloses the features of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the at least two distinct types of detectors comprise a combination of at least one visual camera and at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of radar and LiDAR (e.g. see rejection of claim 1), said combination inherently exhibiting said at least partially complementary operational characteristics across performance parameters including one at least of illumination dependency, weather robustness, angular resolution, and target classification capability (e.g. see Fig. 3).
As per claim 5, You discloses the features of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the plurality of distinct performance parameters, which contribute to the complementary operational characteristics, further includes parameters related to sensor configuration or intrinsic capabilities, selected from the group consisting of: detection range, noise immunity, velocity tracking accuracy, height tracking capability, distance tracking accuracy, different focal lengths, different depths of field, and different sensor data processing times, to ensure robust assessment of tracked vehicles (e.g. see Fig. 3).
As per claim 6, You discloses the features of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the plurality of distinct performance parameters comprises at least three parameters selected from the group consisting of: performance under varying illumination conditions, performance in adverse weather conditions, susceptibility to signal noise, maximum and minimum detection range, angular resolution, accuracy of velocity tracking, accuracy of height tracking, accuracy of distance tracking, and capability for target classification (e.g. see Fig. 3).
As per claim 7, You discloses the features of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the at least two forms of detectors are a visual camera and at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of radar and LiDAR are configured to cooperatively detect and track the objects (e.g. see Fig. 3, wherein both camera and radar detect the same object) which are vehicles within the watch area at least a first distance of at least 180 meters (e.g. see para 0039, wherein the radar comprises a Long-Range Radar (LRR); the office further notes that long range LiDARs have a range of approximately 150-300m) and obtain said characteristics of the tracked vehicle at each watch area relative to the monitored zone (e.g. see Fig. 4), wherein the at least two distinct types of detectors are configured to detect and track objects approaching the monitored zone from a plurality of different angles of incidence and over a range of relative velocities (e.g. see Fig. 4, object 378).
As per claim 8, You discloses the features of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the at least two forms of detectors are a visual camera and at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of radar and LiDAR are configured to cooperatively detect and track the objects which are vehicles within the watch area including for use in horizontal traffic use (e.g., approaching vehicles) or vertical risk detection (e.g., falling materials, objects under crane loads) (e.g. see Fig. 4, object 378, and Fig. 15).
As per claim 11, You discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the alarm action includes one or more of: a. an audible warning; b. a visual warning; c. an instructional sign warning; and d. a haptic sensory warning (e.g. see para 0083).
As per claim 15, You discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses 1 wherein the at least two distinct types of detectors are selected from modalities including: a. a radar detector, optionally a short-range Doppler radar detector; b. a vision-based detector (camera); c. a thermal-based detector (camera); d. a sonar detector; and e. a LiDAR detector (e.g. see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0233048, to Andersson et al. (hereinafter Andersson).
As per claim 9, You discloses the features of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the detectors include a least one auxiliary detector locatable at a distance from the monitored zone…so as to provide an extended warning of a distant danger and incorporate into a warning at the monitored zone (e.g. see Fig. 1, Front Side Radar (Right) and (Left)).
You fails to disclose that the auxiliary detector is wirelessly connected to the warning system. However, Andersson teaches a collision avoidance system including camera and radars wirelessly in communication with a controller of the system (e.g. see Fig. 5 and para 0086-0088). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the system of You to include wireless communication between the sensors and controller to reduce wiring cost.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0349844, to Rosenzweig et al. (hereinafter Rosenzweig).
As per claim 10, You discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: a. receive monitored input from each of the at least two distinct types of detectors (e.g. see rejection of Claim 1); b. determine a distance of the tracked vehicle to the monitored zone and an apparent speed of the tracked vehicle (e.g. see para 0135 and 0205-0207, wherein the system determines a time to collision (TTC), which requires moving speed and distance to potential location of collision);…wherein the predictive alarm timing is based on: i. an assessed risk and trajectory of the approaching tracked vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 18, wherein based upon TTC, a notification is generated).
You fails to disclose c. calculate a predictive alarm timing for latency compensation, wherein the predictive alarm timing is based on: … ii. a configurable or learned latency value associated with the alarm system; and iii. a required time for the alarm action to be effective at a target location within or near the monitored zone. However, Rosenzweig teaches a collision warning system that uses data and operator latency when issuing warnings (e.g. see para 0024). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the system of You to include taking into consideration latency when generating a collision warning for the purpose of ensuring sufficient notification time.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0339395, to Haynes.
As per claim 12, You discloses the features of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the alarm system is configured to perform one or more of: a. transmitting a first alert signal to an approaching vehicle to warn of danger at the monitored zone; b. activating a second alert signal, such as an air horn or beeping sound, to alert personnel at the monitored zone; and c. activating a third alert signal, such as a pager notification, to alert personnel undertaking actions at or near the monitored zone, including vehicle service personnel or first responders. However, Hayes teaches notifying other actors in a traffic environment (i.e. approaching vehicle) of a high likelihood of a collision (e.g. see para 0182). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the system of You to include warning other vehicle of a likelihood of collision to increase probability that a collision could be avoided.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0042237, to Shimizu.
As per claim 13, You discloses the features of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the alarm system provides a graded warning based on a grade of the predetermined dangers and including an emergency activation. However, Shimizu teaches increasing warning and response based upon speed and time of approaching vehicle (e.g. see paras 0052-0053). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the system of You to include increasing warning to ensure driver response.
As per claim 14, You discloses the features of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the alarm system is configured to provide a graded warning based on a severity level of a predetermined danger, and wherein the alarm system is further configured to initiate an emergency activation for highest severity dangers. However, Shimizu teaches increasing warning and response based upon speed and time of approaching vehicle (e.g. see paras 0052-0053). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicants’ invention to modify the system of You to include increasing warning to ensure driver response.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James M. McPherson whose telephone number is (313) 446-6543. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 AM - 5PM Mon-Fri Eastern Alt Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abby Flynn can be reached on 571 272-9855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663B