Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellowe, US 2017/0351978 A1, in view of Khoury, US 2017/0255966 A1.
As per Claim 1, Bellowe teaches a computer-implemented method (¶¶ 17-18) comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, geolocation data and auxiliary data associated with driving activities of a user (¶ 97; based on “automobile battery use . . . and/or driving habits”), wherein the auxiliary data comprise a set of driving behaviors for the user that correlate to the geolocation data (¶ 44);
training a machine learning model based upon the geolocation data and the auxiliary data (¶ 103; “the user schedule can be determined based on information received from devices”); and
identifying, by the computing device using the machine learning model, as trained, a plurality of driving routes of the user (¶ 122; as the “information in itinerary can be analyzed for example a row can be mapped and the most efficient route identified”).
Bellowe does not expressly teach: determining, by the computing device, one or more driving routes of the plurality of driving routes that are traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes of the plurality of driving routes; generating, by the computing device, a user map that comprises the one or more driving routes, wherein the user map is populated with at least information related to one of the auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes; and transmitting, by the computing device, the user map to a user device of the user and to be displayed on a user interface of the user device. Khoury teaches:
determining, by the computing device, one or more driving routes of the plurality of driving routes that are traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes of the plurality of driving routes (¶ 46; “as inferred by the routes typically driven by the driver”);
generating, by the computing device, a user map that comprises the one or more driving routes, wherein the user map is populated with at least information related to one of the auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes (¶ 47; as shown in Figure 4A); and
transmitting, by the computing device, the user map to a user device of the user and to be displayed on a user interface of the user device (¶¶ 65-67).
At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to combine the geolocation data from Bellowe with the mapping methods Khoury, in order to create user profiles more readily, and deliver relevant or otherwise useful content more quickly to particular users.
As per Claim 2, Bellowe teaches aggregating, by the computing device, the geolocation data and the auxiliary data before training the machine learning model (¶ 56).
As per Claim 3, Bellowe teaches that training the machine learning model further comprises training the machine learning model based upon the geolocation data and the auxiliary data, as aggregated, to identify patterns in the set of driving behaviors (¶ 102).
As per Claim 4, Bellowe teaches that determining the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes comprises determining the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes based upon a travel frequency threshold derived from the auxiliary data (¶¶ 86-87; based on “a threshold confidence factor”).
As per Claim 5, Bellowe teaches that the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes comprise one of a single driving route or a plurality of sub-routes that comprise the single driving route (¶¶ 46-47).
As per Claim 6, Bellowe teaches that generating the user map comprises utilizing one or more edges of a reference map that match the geolocation data associated with the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes (¶ 59; based on “the coordinates of the geo-fenced area A1 701” of Figure 7).
As per Claim 7, Bellowe teaches that generating the user map further comprises populating the user map with one or more auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes that is pertinent to a driver different from the user (¶ 105; “a user profile is clustered with other user profiles and the data model is built using the information collected from the cluster”).
As per Claim 8, teaches that Bellowe identifying the plurality of driving routes comprises searching an activity table storing the geolocation data and the auxiliary data to identify the plurality of driving routes from the driving activities of the user that have common geolocation data points (¶¶ 86-87).
As per Claim 9, Bellowe teaches a computing system comprising a processor and a memory storing computing instructions (¶ 92; computer system 1100 with processor 1102 and main memory 1104 of Figure 11) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by the computing system, geolocation data and auxiliary data associated with driving activities of a user (¶ 97; based on “automobile battery use . . . and/or driving habits”), wherein the auxiliary data comprise a set of driving behaviors for the user that correlate to the geolocation data (¶ 44);
training a machine learning model based upon the geolocation data and the auxiliary data (¶ 103; “the user schedule can be determined based on information received from devices”); and
identifying, by the computing system using the machine learning model, as trained, a plurality of driving routes of the user (¶ 122; as the “information in itinerary can be analyzed for example a row can be mapped and the most efficient route identified”).
Bellowe does not expressly teach: determining, by the computing system, one or more driving routes of the plurality of driving routes that are traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes of the plurality of driving routes; generating, by the computing system, a user map that comprises the one or more driving routes, wherein the user map is populated with at least information related to one of the auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes; and transmitting, by the computing system, the user map to a user device of the user and to be displayed on a user interface of the user device. Khoury teaches:
determining, by the computing system, one or more driving routes of the plurality of driving routes that are traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes of the plurality of driving routes (¶ 46; “as inferred by the routes typically driven by the driver”);
generating, by the computing system, a user map that comprises the one or more driving routes, wherein the user map is populated with at least information related to one of the auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes (¶ 47; as shown in Figure 4A); and
transmitting, by the computing system, the user map to a user device of the user and to be displayed on a user interface of the user device (¶¶ 65-67).
See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 10, Bellowe teaches that the operations further comprise aggregating the geolocation data and the auxiliary data before training the machine learning model (¶ 56).
As per Claim 11, Bellowe teaches that training the machine learning model further comprises training the machine learning model based upon the geolocation data and the auxiliary data, as aggregated, to identify patterns in the set of driving behaviors (¶ 102).
As per Claim 12, Bellowe teaches that the operations further comprise identifying the plurality of driving routes based upon the aggregated geolocation data and the auxiliary data, as trained (¶¶ 86-87; based on “a threshold confidence factor”).
As per Claim 13, Bellowe teaches that the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes comprise one of a single driving route or a plurality of sub-routes that comprise the single driving route (¶¶ 46-47).
As per Claim 14, Bellowe teaches that the operations further comprise generating the user map by utilizing one or more edges of a reference map that match the geolocation data associated with the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes (¶ 59; based on “the coordinates of the geo-fenced area A1 701” of Figure 7).
As per Claim 15, Bellowe teaches that the operations further comprise populating the user map with one of the auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes that is pertinent to a driver different from the user (¶ 105; “a user profile is clustered with other user profiles and the data model is built using the information collected from the cluster”).
As per Claim 16, Bellowe teaches that identifying the plurality of driving routes comprises searching an activity table storing the geolocation data and the auxiliary data to identify the plurality of driving routes from the driving activities of the user that have common geolocation data points (¶¶ 86-87).
As per Claim 17, Bellowe teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing computing instructions (¶¶ 93-95) that, when executed by a processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by the computing device, geolocation data and auxiliary data associated with driving activities of a user (¶ 97; based on “automobile battery use . . . and/or driving habits”), wherein the auxiliary data comprise a set of driving behaviors for the user that correlate to the geolocation data (¶ 44);
training a machine learning model based upon the geolocation data and the auxiliary data (¶ 103; “the user schedule can be determined based on information received from devices”); and
identifying, by the computing device using the machine learning model, as trained, a plurality of driving routes of the user (¶ 122; as the “information in itinerary can be analyzed for example a row can be mapped and the most efficient route identified”).
Bellowe does not expressly teach: determining, by the computing device, one or more driving routes of the plurality of driving routes that are traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes of the plurality of driving routes; generating, by the computing device, a user map that comprises the one or more driving routes, wherein the user map is populated with at least information related to one of the auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes; and transmitting, by the computing device, the user map to a user device of the user and to be displayed on a user interface of the user device. Khoury teaches:
determining, by the computing device, one or more driving routes of the plurality of driving routes that are traversed by the user more frequently than other driving routes of the plurality of driving routes (¶ 46; “as inferred by the routes typically driven by the driver”);
generating, by the computing device, a user map that comprises the one or more driving routes, wherein the user map is populated with at least information related to one of the auxiliary data associated with the one or more driving routes (¶ 47; as shown in Figure 4A); and
transmitting, by the computing device, the user map to a user device of the user and to be displayed on a user interface of the user device (¶¶ 65-67).
See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 18, Bellowe teaches that the operations further comprise aggregating the geolocation data and the auxiliary data before training the machine learning model (¶ 56).
As per Claim 19, Bellowe teaches that training the machine learning model further comprises training the machine learning model based upon the geolocation data and the auxiliary data, as aggregated, to identify patterns in the set of driving behaviors (¶ 102).
As per Claim 20, Bellowe teaches that the operations further comprise identifying the plurality of driving routes based upon the aggregated geolocation data and the auxiliary data, as trained (¶¶ 86-87; based on “a threshold confidence factor”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable: over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,830,603 (“the ‘603 patent”); over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,668,580 (“the ‘580 patent”); and claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,320,662 (“the ‘662 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘603 patent, the ‘580 patent and the ‘662 patent each teach; a method for iteratively training a machine learning model based upon geolocation and auxiliary data; and a step of generating a user neighborhood map that includes a plurality of designated driving routes that are transmitted to one or more users.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661