DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to claims 1-9 and 16-26 in the reply filed on 12/16/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites “The fluid coupling device of claim 1, wherein the handle portion has a rectangular geometry with at least one rounded edge”. However, claim 1, from which claim 24 depends, does not recite a handle portion. However, claim 5 recites a handle portion. Does Applicant mean for claim 24 to depend from claim 5 rather than from claim 1 or does Applicant mean to recite “a handle portion” and define where the handle portion is? As it is not clear and as best understood, Examiner is interpreting that claim 24 depends from claim 5 and not claim 1. If this understanding is correct, Applicant needs to amend claim 24 to reflect this understanding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9 and 16-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shevitz U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0167971A1.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figure 3D, Shevitz discloses a fluid coupling device (at 3), comprising:
a main body (main body of 3) defining an interior passage (passage thru 17) and having a front face surface (as shown below);
a seal member (at 5) coupled to the main body (as shown in Fig 3D) and extending beyond the front face surface (as shown below); and
a membrane (at 9 as shown in Fig 4) removably bonded to the front face surface by a peripheral bond that surrounds the seal member (paragraph 111, lines 1-4), the membrane including an area of the membrane within the peripheral bond (as shown in Fig 4),
wherein the membrane is pre-formed such that the area of the membrane within the peripheral bond has a larger surface area than a planar area that is defined by the peripheral bond (wherein the membrane is capable of being pre-formed before being removably bonded to the front face surface; also note: the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation is given little patentable weight. The invention as assembled in its final state is given patentable weight. Intermediate steps are given little patentable weight.).
With regard to claim 2, Shevitz discloses wherein the membrane (at 9) includes a fold (as shown in Fig 4 and paragraph 113, lines 3-4).
With regard to claim 3, Shevitz discloses wherein the membrane (at 9) closes an opening to the interior passage defined by the front face surface (as shown in Fig 3E).
With regard to claim 4, Shevitz discloses wherein the membrane (at 9) is bonded to the front face surface by a heat bond (paragraph 111, lines 1-4).
With regard to claim 5, Shevitz discloses wherein a free end of the membrane (at 9) includes a handle portion (at 73 as shown in Fig 1A and 5).
With regard to claim 6, Shevitz discloses wherein the membrane is removably bonded (paragraph 111, lines 1-4) to the front face surface by an annular bond (dashed lines denoting the annular bond – paragraph 111, lines 21-25) that encircles the annular seal member (at 5 – see Fig 3E).
With regard to claim 8, Shevitz discloses wherein the membrane (at 9) covers the seal member (at 5 – see Fig 3E).
With regard to claim 9, Shevitz discloses wherein the fluid coupling device is an aseptic fluid coupling device (paragraph 2).
With regard to claim 16, Shevitz discloses wherein the fluid coupling device is a single-use, genderless device (paragraph 106, lines 1-2 and paragraph 122, lines 1-3).
With regard to claim 17, Shevitz discloses wherein the seal member (at 5) comprises an elastomeric annular ring with an open center that surrounds the interior passage of the main body (as shown in Fig 3D).
With regard to claim 18, Shevitz discloses wherein the seal member (at 5) is positioned within a recess (as shown above) defined by the main body.
With regard to claim 19, Shevitz discloses wherein the seal member defines a width that is greater than a depth of the recess (as shown in Fig 3D).
With regard to claim 20, Shevitz discloses wherein the membrane (at 9) is gas permeable (paragraph 111, lines 6-8).
With regard to claim 21, Shevitz discloses wherein an outer diameter of the seal member (at 5) has a concave cross-section (as shown in Fig 3D).
With regard to claim 22, Shevitz discloses wherein the seal member (at 5) defines an hourglass-shaped cross-section (as shown in Fig 3D).
With regard to claim 23, Shevitz discloses wherein the seal member (at 5) defines a middle portion positioned between a first end portion and a second end portion, the middle portion being narrower than the first end portion and the second end portion (as shown in Fig 3D).
With regard to claim 24, Shevitz discloses wherein the handle portion has a rectangular geometry with at least one rounded edge (as shown below).
With regard to claim 25, Shevitz discloses wherein the handle portion (at 73) includes at least one attachment member (see above) configured to engage with an attachment feature included with another fluid coupling device (where the attachment member is capable of being configured to engage with an attachment feature).
With regard to claim 26, Shevitz discloses wherein the membrane (at 9) is removable from the fluid coupling device using the handle portion (at 73, paragraph 118, lines 1-3 and 13-16).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,338,931. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader recitation of “fluid coupling device comprising a main body, a seal member and a membrane removably bonded to the front face surface” as presently claimed in the current application along with the independently and dependently claimed limitations of claims 1-5 and 7 are merely a broadened form of the limitations as disclosed in claims 1-6 of patent ‘931.
Conclusion
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679