Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshinobu et al (US 5,777,605).
As per claim 1 Yoshinobu et al discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a program for causing a computer connected to a resistive touch panel 4 to execute a process { [column 3, lines 4-8] there is provided an information processing apparatus for performing a predetermined process according to the coordinate input with a finger or a pen, the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen}, the process comprising:
acquiring first data based on touch input of the resistive touch panel 4 { [column 3, lines 7-10] the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen; position detecting means for detecting a pressed position of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen};
determining whether an input area of the touch input is equal to or larger than a threshold value { [column 3, lines 7-14] the apparatus including . . . comparison means for comparing the pressed area detected by the area detecting means with a predefined reference value};
converting the first data into second data for causing the resistive touch panel 4 to operate as an absolute coordinate input device when the input area is equal to or larger than the threshold value { figure 5:S7 & [column 6, lines 17-24] If it is concluded that the contact area is greater than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a finger having a rather great size, then the process goes to step S7 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the relative coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the relative coordinates of the point P are supplied}, and
converting the first data into third data for causing the resistive touch panel 4 to operate as a relative coordinate input device when the input area is smaller than the threshold value { figure 5:S8 & [column 6, lines 36-44] if it is concluded that the contact area is equal to or smaller than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a pen having a small contact area, then the process goes to step S8 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the absolute coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the absolute coordinates of the point P are supplied}; and
outputting the second data or the third data to an application { [column 3, lines 7-19] the apparatus including . . . output means for outputting relative coordinate information corresponding to the movement of the pressed position detected by the position detecting means or absolute coordinate information corresponding to the pressed position detected by the position detecting means.}, wherein when data output to the application changes from the third data to the second data, the application continuously executes a process of moving a cursor indicating an input position based on the third data and a process of determining the input position based on the second data { [column 6, line 50 through column 7, line 5] the remote commander 6 transmits the signal representing the coordinates corresponding to the point P of the finger or pen position on the tablet . . . Therefore, for example when an icon displayed on a CRT (display means) 5 is selected with a cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given relative coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the actual moving distance of the finger over the tablet 51 to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor on the CRT 5 can be increased or decreased to a desired value . . . On the other hand, when it is desired to write a character or draw a picture using the cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given absolute coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the moving distance of the pen to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor can be set to 1:1}.
As per claim 2 Yoshinobu et al discloses: The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the first data includes status data indicating on or off of the touch input, coordinate data indicating a position of the touch input, and input area data indicating an input area { [column 3, lines 7-12] the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen; position detecting means for detecting a pressed position of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen; area detecting means for detecting the pressed area of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen}, and
each of the second data and the third data includes the status data, the coordinate data, the input area data, and device data indicating whether an operation mode of the touch panel 4 is the absolute coordinate input device or the relative coordinate input device {[column 6, lines 41-44] Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the absolute coordinates of the point P are supplied Note: the signals are seen to be the second and third data}.
As per claim 3 Yoshinobu et al discloses: The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 2, wherein the converting sets the status data included in the third data to data indicating that the touch input is off {[column 5, lines 49-53] If a power switch 64 is turned on, a power supply circuit 62 generates an increased voltage from a voltage supplied by a battery 63 and supplies the resultant voltage to the detection circuit 61 and the transmission module 65.}.
As per claim 4 Yoshinobu et al discloses: The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the program is executed by either a touch panel controller connected to the touch panel 4 or an information processing apparatus connected to the touch panel 4 controller {[column 3, lines 4-8] there is provided an information processing apparatus for performing a predetermined process according to the coordinate input with a finger or a pen, the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen}.
As per claim 5 Yoshinobu et al discloses: The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the first data includes status data indicating on or off of the touch input, coordinate data indicating a position of the touch input, and input area data indicating an input area,
{ [column 3, lines 7-12] the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen; position detecting means for detecting a pressed position of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen; area detecting means for detecting the pressed area of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen} .
the second data includes the status data, the coordinate data, the input area data, and first device data indicating that an operation mode of the touch panel 4 is the absolute coordinate input device, and the third data includes second device data indicating that an operation mode of the touch panel 4 is the relative coordinate input device {[column 6, lines 41-44] Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the absolute coordinates of the point P are supplied Note: the signals are seen to be the second and third data}, and key code data indicating a key of a keyboard {[column 8, lines 37-46] In step S23, the remote commander 6 is operated so as to move the pointing cursor 101 to an area of the post card image in which a text is to be written. If the above-described area is selected, an editor cursor 302 is displayed on the screen (FIG. 13) in addition to the pointing cursor 101, and a virtual keyboard 301 (FIG. 13) is also displayed in a predetermined area of the screen. A text is then input by properly selecting key icons of the virtual keyboard 301 using the pointing cursor 101. The input text is stored in the RAM 41.}.
As per claim 6 Yoshinobu et al discloses: The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the touch input is performed by a member whose input area is variable {figures 6-7}.
As per claim 7 Yoshinobu et al discloses: A touch panel 4 controller connected to a resistive touch panel 4 { [column 3, lines 4-8] there is provided an information processing apparatus for performing a predetermined process according to the coordinate input with a finger or a pen, the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen}, comprising:
an acquirer that acquires first data based on touch input of the resistive touch panel 4 { [column 3, lines 7-10] the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen; position detecting means for detecting a pressed position of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen};
a determiner determines whether an input area of the touch input is equal to or larger than a threshold value{ [column 3, lines 7-14] the apparatus including . . . comparison means for comparing the pressed area detected by the area detecting means with a predefined reference value};
a converter converts the first data into second data for causing the resistive touch panel 4 to operate as an absolute coordinate input device when the input area is equal to or larger than the threshold value { figure 5:S7 & [column 6, lines 17-24] If it is concluded that the contact area is greater than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a finger having a rather great size, then the process goes to step S7 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the relative coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the relative coordinates of the point P are supplied}, and
converts the first data into third data for causing the resistive touch panel 4 to operate as a relative coordinate input device when the input area is smaller than the threshold value { figure 5:S8 & [column 6, lines 36-44] if it is concluded that the contact area is equal to or smaller than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a pen having a small contact area, then the process goes to step S8 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the absolute coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the absolute coordinates of the point P are supplied}; and
an outputter outputs the second data or the third data to an application { [column 3, lines 7-19] the apparatus including . . . output means for outputting relative coordinate information corresponding to the movement of the pressed position detected by the position detecting means or absolute coordinate information corresponding to the pressed position detected by the position detecting means} wherein when data output to the application changes from the third data to the second data, the application continuously executes a process of moving a cursor indicating an input position based on the third data and a process of determining the input position based on the second data { [column 6, line 50 through column 7, line 5] the remote commander 6 transmits the signal representing the coordinates corresponding to the point P of the finger or pen position on the tablet . . . Therefore, for example when an icon displayed on a CRT (display means) 5 is selected with a cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given relative coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the actual moving distance of the finger over the tablet 51 to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor on the CRT 5 can be increased or decreased to a desired value . . . On the other hand, when it is desired to write a character or draw a picture using the cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given absolute coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the moving distance of the pen to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor can be set to 1:1}.
As per claim 8 Yoshinobu et al discloses: An information processing apparatus connected to a resistive touch panel 4 { [column 3, lines 4-8] there is provided an information processing apparatus for performing a predetermined process according to the coordinate input with a finger or a pen, the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen}, comprising:
an acquirer that acquires first data based on touch input of the resistive touch panel 4 { [column 3, lines 7-10] the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen; position detecting means for detecting a pressed position of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen};
a determiner determines whether an input area of the touch input is equal to or larger than a threshold value { [column 3, lines 7-14] the apparatus including . . . comparison means for comparing the pressed area detected by the area detecting means with a predefined reference value};
a converter converts the first data into second data for causing the resistive touch panel 4 to operate as an absolute coordinate input device when the input area is equal to or larger than the threshold value { figure 5:S7 & [column 6, lines 17-24] If it is concluded that the contact area is greater than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a finger having a rather great size, then the process goes to step S7 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the relative coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the relative coordinates of the point P are supplied}, and
converts the first data into third data for causing the resistive touch panel 4 to operate as a relative coordinate input device when the input area is smaller than the threshold value { figure 5:S8 & [column 6, lines 36-44] if it is concluded that the contact area is equal to or smaller than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a pen having a small contact area, then the process goes to step S8 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the absolute coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the absolute coordinates of the point P are supplied}; and
an outputter outputs the second data or the third data to an application { [column 3, lines 7-19] the apparatus including . . . output means for outputting relative coordinate information corresponding to the movement of the pressed position detected by the position detecting means or absolute coordinate information corresponding to the pressed position detected by the position detecting means.}
wherein when data output to the application changes from the third data to the second data, the application continuously executes a process of moving a cursor indicating an input position based on the third data and a process of determining the input position based on the second data { [column 6, line 50 through column 7, line 5] the remote commander 6 transmits the signal representing the coordinates corresponding to the point P of the finger or pen position on the tablet . . . Therefore, for example when an icon displayed on a CRT (display means) 5 is selected with a cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given relative coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the actual moving distance of the finger over the tablet 51 to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor on the CRT 5 can be increased or decreased to a desired value . . . On the other hand, when it is desired to write a character or draw a picture using the cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given absolute coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the moving distance of the pen to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor can be set to 1:1}.
As per claim 11 Yoshinobu et al discloses: A method of controlling a resistive touch panel 4 { [column 3, lines 4-8] there is provided an information processing apparatus for performing a predetermined process according to the coordinate input with a finger or a pen, the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen}, comprising:
acquiring first data based on touch input of the resistive touch panel 4 { [column 3, lines 7-10] the apparatus including: operation means which is operated with the finger or pen; position detecting means for detecting a pressed position of the operation means pressed by the finger or pen};
determining whether an input area of the touch input is equal to or larger than a threshold value { [column 3, lines 7-14] the apparatus including . . . comparison means for comparing the pressed area detected by the area detecting means with a predefined reference value};
converting the first data into second data for causing the resistive touch panel 4 to operate as an absolute coordinate input device when the input area is equal to or larger than the threshold value { figure 5:S7 & [column 6, lines 17-24] If it is concluded that the contact area is greater than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a finger having a rather great size, then the process goes to step S7 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the relative coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the relative coordinates of the point P are supplied}, and
converting the first data into third data for causing the touch panel 4 to operate as a relative coordinate input device when the input area is smaller than the threshold value { figure 5:S8 & [column 6, lines 36-44] if it is concluded that the contact area is equal to or smaller than the threshold A, which will occur for example when the tablet 51 is operated with a pen having a small contact area, then the process goes to step S8 in which the detection circuit 61 detects the absolute coordinates of the point P. Then a signal corresponding to the contact area detected in the earlier step and a signal corresponding to the absolute coordinates of the point P are supplied}; and
outputting the second data or the third data to an application { [column 3, lines 7-19] the apparatus including . . . output means for outputting relative coordinate information corresponding to the movement of the pressed position detected by the position detecting means or absolute coordinate information corresponding to the pressed position detected by the position detecting means.},
wherein when data output to the application changes from the third data to the second data, the application continuously executes a process of moving a cursor indicating an input position based on the third data and a process of determining the input position based on the second data { [column 6, line 50 through column 7, line 5] the remote commander 6 transmits the signal representing the coordinates corresponding to the point P of the finger or pen position on the tablet . . . Therefore, for example when an icon displayed on a CRT (display means) 5 is selected with a cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given relative coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the actual moving distance of the finger over the tablet 51 to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor on the CRT 5 can be increased or decreased to a desired value . . . On the other hand, when it is desired to write a character or draw a picture using the cursor . . . the cursor is moved in response to the given absolute coordinates. In this case, the ratio of the moving distance of the pen to the corresponding moving distance of the cursor can be set to 1:1}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshinobu et al (US 5,777,605) in view of Zaman et al (US 2010/0070912).
Regarding claim 10 Yoshinobu et al is silent as to: wherein the application displays an enlarged image obtained by enlarging a region around the cursor including the cursor during execution of the process for determining the input position and the process for moving the cursor. With respect to claim 10 Zaman et al discloses: [0002] The enlarged view often tracks the pointer or cursor as the user moves a mouse or other input device around the screen so that the user can magnify different areas.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the apparatus of Yoshinobu et al with an application that displays an enlarged image obtained by enlarging a region around the cursor including the cursor during execution of the process for determining the input position and the process for moving the cursor as taught by Zaman et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an apparatus with an application that displays an enlarged image obtained by enlarging a region around the cursor including the cursor during execution of the process for determining the input position and the process for moving the cursor so as to assist the user in moving and locating the cursor thereby making the apparatus more user friendly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts the following in the paragraph bridging pages 2 and 3:
The problem of reducing computational overhead by eliminating the "tap event" process during a specific type of mode transition is not recognized or addressed in Yoshinobu. Yoshinobu's focus is on providing flexible coordinate input, not on optimizing the event handling process during mode changes to reduce system load. The skilled person, seeking to reduce computational overhead, would not find any motivation in Yoshinobu to implement a system where a mode change, triggered by a variation in contact area, continuously executes both processes without a tap operation. Such a solution goes beyond a mere design choice or straightforward modification. This specific continuous execution and the associated technical advantage are neither disclosed nor rendered obvious by Yoshinobu.
Assuming arguendo the elimination of a “tap event” of novel, unobvious and distinguishes over the applied prior art, it is not set forth in the claimed invention. As a result, contrary to applicants’ assertion, Yoshinobu discloses the claimed invention as stated and mapped supra.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD