DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following reasons:
Each of the figures showing a cross-section (figures 1-3 and 5) do not have proper cross-hatching provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Clm 1: This claim recites “the at least one cooling channel having at least one component along the axis of rotation”. Examiner notes that it is unclear as to how the at least one component is along the axis of rotation, which is in the middle of the shaft. The cooling channel and any associated component would not be “along the axis”, rather parallel to the axis of rotation.
Re Clms 4, 10, 13, and 17: The phrases "preferably" and “in particular” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR 2949246, hereafter ‘246.
Re Clm 1 (as best understood): ‘246 discloses a rotary shaft device (see at least fig 3) comprising: a housing (22, 44, 68); a rotary shaft (10) surrounded by the housing, rotatably mounted relative to the housing about an axis of rotation, and having a geometry of revolution (cross-section) about said axis of rotation, the rotary shaft comprising a main body comprising a fluid receiving portion (left end of shaft 10); at least one rolling bearing (8) comprising rolling elements (16), and ensuring the rotatably mounting of the rotary shaft relative to the housing; a pressurization member (72) belonging to the rotary shaft, and secured in rotation to the main body of the rotary shaft, the pressurization member being radially disposed between the main body of the rotary shaft and the housing (see figs) and axially positioned at the fluid receiving portion of the main body of the rotary shaft (see figs, left side of shaft), the pressurization member and the main body of the rotary shaft defining between them a pressurization reservoir (volume/cavity containing lubricating cooling oil) configured to receive a volume of a cooling fluid; and at least one cooling channel (70) radially arranged between the main body of the rotary shaft and the at least one rolling bearing (see figs), and extending between a fluid inlet (left side of 70) and a fluid outlet (right side of 70), the at least one cooling channel having at least one component along the axis of rotation, and being in fluid communication, at the fluid inlet, with the pressurization reservoir (as best understood, see fig 3), the at least one cooling channel being configured to provide heat transfer between the rotary shaft, the at least one rolling bearing, and the cooling fluid, when the cooling fluid flows along the at least one cooling channel from the pressurization reservoir (throughout disclosure).
Re Clm 2: ‘246 discloses wherein the rotary shaft delimits the at least one cooling channel (as shown in fig 3) .
Re Clm 3: ‘246 discloses wherein the pressurization reservoir is configured to place the cooling fluid under overpressure relative to an ambient pressure, at the fluid inlet, when the cooling fluid is subjected to a centrifugal force caused by a rotational movement of the rotary shaft about the axis of rotation (“The rotation of the shaft carrying the annular element allows the oil to be centrifuged to the nozzles through the channels of the annular element and gives the oil sufficient speed to impact the rolling parts without bending the oil jet, ensuring good targeting of the rolling parts.”)
Re Clm 4 (as best understood): ‘246 discloses wherein the fluid receiving portion comprises a first part devoid of a cooling channel (left end of shaft is devoid of the cooling channel), the first part of the fluid receiving portion preferably having a frustoconical shape.
Re Clm 5: ‘246 discloses wherein at least one element, selected from the group comprising the pressurization member and the first part of the fluid receiving portion, comprises orientation fins configured to direct the cooling fluid toward the fluid inlet (radially inward directed flanges of oil scoop 72 reads on orientation fins, as it directed the cooling oil down the shaft).
Re Clm 6: ‘246 discloses wherein the at least one cooling channel is provided on an outer surface of the rotary shaft (channel 70 is provided on the outer radial surface of shaft 10).
Re Clm 7: ‘246 discloses wherein the pressurization member (72) comprises a proximal pressurization portion (right side of 72) configured to cover the rotary shaft on a second part of the fluid receiving portion (member 72 located radially outside of shaft 10), so as to externally close radially the at least one cooling channel (see fig 3).
Re Clm 8: ‘246 discloses wherein the pressurization member comprises a distal pressurization portion (far left portion of 72), distinct from the proximal pressurization portion, and having a geometry of revolution about the axis of rotation (see cross-section of 72), converging up to the proximal pressurization portion (left side converges to right side).
Re Clm 9: ‘246 discloses wherein the distal pressurization portion (far left portion of 72, including radially inward directed flange/tab) has a pressurization member thickness measured radially relative to the axis of rotation which progressively decreases as it axially approaches the proximal pressurization portion (right side tapered portion of 72).
Re Clm 10 (as best understood): ‘246 discloses wherein the at least one cooling channel has a cross-section of constant shape along the at least one cooling channel (see fig 3), in particular of rectangular shape.
Re Clm 11: ‘246 discloses wherein the at least one cooling channel extends axially in a straight line between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet where the cooling fluid exits the at least one cooling channel (see fig 3).
Re Clm 13 (as best understood): ‘246 discloses wherein the cooling fluid comprises a lubrication oil (as disclosed throughout specification), preferably having a viscosity comprised between 5 cSt and 45 cSt, and more particularly equal to 15 cSt, at temperatures between 30 and 800C, and more particularly between 400C and 50C.
Re Clm 14: ‘246 discloses wherein the at least one rolling bearing comprises: an inner ring (14) secured to the outer surface of the rotary shaft; an outer ring (12) radially offset relative to the inner ring and secured to the housing; rolling elements (16) interposed between the inner and outer rings and mounted in a rolling manner on both the inner and outer rings; and a cage (18) placed between the inner and outer rings, and maintaining a regular space between the rolling elements.
Re Clm 15: ‘246 discloses wherein the inner ring at least partially covers the at least one cooling channel (see fig 3).
Re Clm 16: ‘246 discloses wherein the at least one cooling channel (70) is open radially towards the inner ring of the at least one rolling bearing, such that the cooling fluid passing through the at least one cooling channel is in direct contact with the inner ring (see fig 3).
Re Clms 17 (as best understood) and 18: ‘246 discloses a turbocharger (as disclosed) capable of compressing a fluid, in particular a refrigerant, the turbocharger comprising the rotary shaft device according to claim 1 (as rejected above), the cooling fluid comprises the refrigerant (cooling oil).
Re Clm 19: ‘246 discloses a spindle or electro-spindle suitable for equipping a machine tool (as shown in fig 3), the spindle or the electro-spindle comprising the rotary shaft device according to claim 1 (as rejected above).
Re Clm 20: ‘246 discloses a pump (centrifugal pump) for circulating fluid, the pump comprising the rotary shaft device according to claim 1 (as rejected above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2949246, hereafter ‘246.
Re Clm 12: ‘246 discloses wherein the housing comprises a cylindrical lateral wall (the cylindrical outer radial wall of 68) and a distal end wall (right-facing end wall of 68) extending from the cylindrical lateral wall radially inward of the cylindrical lateral wall. ‘246 fails to disclose wherein the distal end wall defining, with the pressurization member, an access conduit configured to allow introduction of the cooling fluid into the pressurization reservoir. Examiner notes ‘246 shows the access conduit formed in the cylindrical wall of the housing. Examiner notes, however, that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have relocated and provided the access conduit on the distal end wall of the housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678