DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 15, 16, 21-22, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bairo, US 2017/0359542.
In regard to claim 1, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses a photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising:
a plurality of pixels (see figure 1, element 10; para 74-75); and
a processing circuit (see figure 1, element 90) configured to process signals read out from the plurality of pixels (see para 74 and 84), wherein
each of the plurality of pixels includes a photoelectric conversion element (see figure 2, element 211), a first amplification unit (see figure 2, element 214) which includes an input node to which a signal from the photoelectric conversion element is input and which is configured to output a signal obtained by amplifying a level of the signal at the input node (see para 76 and 80-81), and a capacitance element (see figure 3, element C1) configured to hold an output signal of the first amplification unit (see para 89),
the photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising:
a shield section (see figure 26, element 530) arranged to shield the capacitance element (see para 172-176); and
a second amplification unit (see figure 1, element 80) configured to amplify an output signal output from the capacitance element (see para 89-91).
In regard to claim 2, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a semiconductor substrate to which the photoelectric conversion element is provided (see para 92; figure 29, element 540 and para 174); and
a wiring layer (see figure 26-29, elements M1-M4), wherein the semiconductor substrate has a first main surface and a second main surface located between the wiring layer and the first main surface, and the capacitance element is included in the wiring layer (see para 172-175).
In regard to claim 3, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein the capacitance element has a first capacitance portion that is a portion provided in a first layer of the wiring layer, and the shield section has a first shield portion that is a portion provided in the first layer (see figures 26-29 and 172-175).
In regard to claim 4, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 3, wherein the capacitance element has a second capacitance portion that is a portion provided in a second layer that is a layer different from the first layer of the wiring layer, and the shield section has a second shield portion that is a portion provided in the second layer (see figures 26-29 and 172-175).
In regard to claim 5, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 4, wherein in a plan view relative to the semiconductor substrate, the first capacitance portion is surrounded by the first shield portion (see para 28).
In regard to claim 6, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 4, wherein a plurality of wiring patterns respectively segmented by insulating members are provided in the first layer, and the first capacitance portion and the first shield portion are included in one wiring pattern of the plurality of wiring patterns (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 7, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 5, wherein a plurality of wiring patterns respectively segmented by insulating members are provided in the first layer, and the first capacitance portion and the first shield portion are included in one wiring pattern of the plurality of wiring patterns (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 8, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a semiconductor substrate to which the photoelectric conversion element is provided (see para 92; figure 29, element 540 and para 174); and
a wiring layer (see figure 26-29, elements M1-M4), wherein
the semiconductor substrate has a first main surface and a second main surface located between the wiring layer and the first main surface, and the capacitance element has a first capacitance portion provided in the semiconductor substrate (see para 172-175).
In regard to claim 9, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 8, wherein the shield section has a first shield portion provided in the semiconductor substrate, and in a plan view relative to the semiconductor substrate, at least a part of the first capacitance portion is sandwiched by the first shield portion (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 10, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 9, wherein at least a part of the first capacitance portion is surrounded by the first shield portion (see para 28).
In regard to claim 11, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 8, wherein the capacitance element includes a metal-insulator-semiconductor capacitance structure (see para 183).
In regard to claim 12, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 9, wherein the capacitance element includes a metal-insulator-semiconductor capacitance structure (see para 183).
In regard to claim 15, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pixels has a second capacitance element (see figure 29, element C11, M2) which is provided separately from the capacitance element and configured to hold the output signal of the first amplification unit, and the shield section is provided between the capacitance element and the second capacitance element (see para 172-175).
In regard to claim 16, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of pixels has a third capacitance element (see figure 29, element C11, M3) which is provided separately from the capacitance element and the second capacitance element and configured to hold the output signal of the first amplification unit, the second capacitance element is provided between the capacitance element and the third capacitance element, and the shield sections are respectively provided between the capacitance element and the second capacitance element and between the second capacitance element and the third capacitance element (see para 172-175).
In regard to claim 21, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the pixel includes a plurality of capacitance elements each of which is the capacitance element and a plurality of shield sections each of which is the shield section, and the number of all of the plurality of shield sections provided in the pixel is higher than the number of all of the capacitance elements provided in the pixel (see figures 26-29 and 172-175).
In regard to claim 22, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein a power source voltage (Vslop) is supplied to the shield section at least during a period in which the signal is written to the capacitance element or at least during a period in which the signal is read from the capacitance element (see para 88).
In regard to claim 44, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses an equipment comprising the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the equipment further comprises at least any of:
an optical apparatus corresponding to the photoelectric conversion apparatus,
a control apparatus (see figure 1, element 20) configured to control the photoelectric conversion apparatus (see para 74),
a processing apparatus (see figure 1, element 90) configured to process a signal output from the photoelectric conversion apparatus (see para 74),
a display apparatus configured to display information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus,
a storage device (see figure 1, element 52) configured to store the information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus (see para 74), and
a mechanical apparatus arranged to operate based on the information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 27-36, 42, 43, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303.
In regard to claim 23, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, discloses a photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising:
a plurality of pixels (see figure 1, element 10; para 74-75);
a processing circuit (see figure 1, element 90) configured to process signals read out from the plurality of pixels (see para 74 and 84);
a first member including a first substrate (see para 28); and
wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a photoelectric conversion element(see figure 2, element 211), a first amplification unit (see figure 2, element 214) which includes an input node to which a signal from the photoelectric conversion element is input and which is configured to output a signal obtained by amplifying a level of the signal at the input node (see para 76 and 80-81), and a capacitance element (see figure 3, element C1) configured to hold an output signal of the first amplification unit (see para 89), the photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising:
a shield section (see figure 26, element 530) arranged to shield the capacitance element (see para 172-176), wherein
the photoelectric conversion element is arranged in the first member (see para 28).
The Bairo reference does not specifically disclose a second member including a second substrate, wherein the first member and the second member being stacked and the capacitance element and the shield section are arranged in the second member.
Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses an imaging device with a first substrate (chip A) with a pixel array (21) and a second substrate (chip B) with a storage circuit array (31), wherein the first member and the second member being stacked and the capacitance element and the shield section are arranged in the second member (see para 89-92 and figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to have been motivated to modify Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, to have a second member including a second substrate, wherein the first member and the second member being stacked and the capacitance element and the shield section are arranged in the second member, in order to suppress crosstalk to produce a higher quality image.
In regard to claim 27, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 23, further comprising:
a semiconductor substrate to which the photoelectric conversion element is provided (see para 92; figure 29, element 540 and para 174); and
a wiring layer (see figure 26-29, elements M1-M4), wherein the semiconductor substrate has a first main surface and a second main surface located between the wiring layer and the first main surface, and the capacitance element is included in the wiring layer (see para 172-175).
In regard to claim 28, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 27. The Bairo reference discloses wherein the capacitance element has a first capacitance portion that is a portion provided in a first layer of the wiring layer, and the shield section has a first shield portion that is a portion provided in the first layer (see figures 26-29 and 172-175).
In regard to claim 29, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 28. The Bairo reference discloses wherein the capacitance element has a second capacitance portion that is a portion provided in a second layer that is a layer different from the first layer of the wiring layer, and the shield section has a second shield portion that is a portion provided in the second layer (see figures 26-29 and 172-175).
In regard to claim 30, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 29. The Bairo reference discloses wherein in a plan view relative to the semiconductor substrate, the first capacitance portion is surrounded by the first shield portion (see para 28 and figure 28).
In regard to claim 31, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 29. The Bairo reference discloses wherein a plurality of wiring patterns respectively segmented by insulating members are provided in the first layer, and the first capacitance portion and the first shield portion are included in one wiring pattern of the plurality of wiring patterns (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 32, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 30. The Bairo reference discloses wherein a plurality of wiring patterns respectively segmented by insulating members are provided in the first layer, and the first capacitance portion and the first shield portion are included in one wiring pattern of the plurality of wiring patterns (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 33, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 23. The Bairo reference discloses further comprising:
a semiconductor substrate to which the photoelectric conversion element is provided (see para 92; figure 29, element 540 and para 174); and
a wiring layer (see figure 26-29, elements M1-M4), wherein
the semiconductor substrate has a first main surface and a second main surface located between the wiring layer and the first main surface, and the capacitance element has a first capacitance portion provided in the semiconductor substrate (see para 172-175).
In regard to claim 34, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 33. The Bairo reference discloses wherein the shield section has a first shield portion provided in the semiconductor substrate, and in a plan view relative to the semiconductor substrate, at least a part of the first capacitance portion is sandwiched by the first shield portion (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 35, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 34. The Bairo reference discloses wherein at least a part of the first capacitance portion is surrounded by the first shield portion (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 36, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 23. The Bairo reference discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels has a second capacitance element which is provided separately from the capacitance element and configured to hold the output signal of the first amplification unit, and the shield section is provided between the capacitance element and the second capacitance element (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 42, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 23. The Bairo reference discloses wherein the pixel includes a plurality of capacitance elements each of which is the capacitance element and a plurality of shield sections each of which is the shield section, and the number of all of the plurality of shield sections provided in the pixel is higher than the number of all of the capacitance elements provided in the pixel (see figure 28).
In regard to claim 43, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 23. The Bairo reference discloses wherein a power source voltage (Vslop) is supplied to the shield section at least during a period in which the signal is written to the capacitance element or at least during a period in which the signal is read from the capacitance element (see para 88).
In regard to claim 45, Bairo, US 2017/0359542, in view of Murao, US 2018/0295303, discloses the equipment comprising the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to Claim 23. The Bairo reference discloses wherein the equipment further comprises at least any of: an optical apparatus corresponding to the photoelectric conversion apparatus,
a control apparatus (see figure 1, element 20) configured to control the photoelectric conversion apparatus (see para 74),
a processing apparatus (see figure 1, element 90) configured to process a signal output from the photoelectric conversion apparatus (see para 74),
a display apparatus configured to display information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus,
a storage device (see figure 1, element 52) configured to store the information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus (see para 74), and
a mechanical apparatus arranged to operate based on the information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 14, 17-20, 24-26, 37-41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2025/0107254, discloses an image sensor with a stacked substrate. US 2021/0152771, discloses an imaging device with stacked substrates and shielded storage capacitors. US 2019/0149754, discloses an imaging device with a stacked structure.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs