DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 07/08/2026 concerning application no. 19/225,582 filed on 06/02/2026.
Claims 1-10 are pending (Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from consideration).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (Claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 07/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings (Figs. 4, 7-8, and 10) are objected to because, according to MPEP 608.02 and 67 CFR 1.84, "India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings". Drawings should be presented as India ink drawings unless the illustration is not capable of being accurately or adequately depicted by India ink drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “employing the first value of the measure, the second value of the measure, and a predetermined calibration between skull temperature and changes in the measure to determine the change in skull temperature”. While paragraph 0033 states “employing the first value of the measure, the second value of the measure, and a predetermined calibration between skull temperature and changes in the measure to determine the change in skull temperature,” the specification fails to disclose what the predetermined calibration is or in what manner it is determined prior to the procedure. The specification does not provide disclosure on the relationship between the skull temperature and the changes in the measure that are used in the calibration. Furthermore, the specification fails to disclose in what manner it is predetermined. Finally, the specification does not disclose in what manner it is employed with the first and second values such that it is able to determine the change in the skull temperature. Therefore, the claim contains subject matter which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one with ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claim invention at the time of filing.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are also rejected because they inherit the deficiencies of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claims 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “the skull”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Recites “after delivering focused ultrasound to the subject, employing…” This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the focused ultrasound delivery is actively claimed as the performance of the step b or is referring to the measure done in the case in which focused ultrasound is applied.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “dependent on a speed of sound with the skull”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish the assessment of the speed of sound in skull tissue or if the claim is attempting to establish the dependent variables in relation to the speed of sound and the skull.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “dependent on the speed of sound with the skull”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish the assessment of the speed of sound in skull tissue or if the claim is attempting to establish the dependent variables in relation to the speed of sound and the skull.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “further comprising performing steps b) to e) one or more times during the therapeutic ultrasound therapy procedure to intermittently and intraoperatively track changes in skull temperature”. This claim element is indefinite. In the case of application of steps b-e being performed one time, it would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the further comprising is attempting to establish an additional performance or the same performance as established in the claim 1 performance steps.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 4 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “wherein step a) is performed intermittently between episodes of the delivery of focused ultrasound therapy to the subject”. This claim element is indefinite. Claim 1 establishes “b) after delivering focused ultrasound to the subject, employing the ultrasound transducer to transmit a second non-therapeutic ultrasound pulse and receive a second reflected ultrasound pulse, thereby obtaining a second receive signal”. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish that the intermittent application between the episodes of focused ultrasound therapy is a step b performance or remains to be a step a performance. If it is the later, it is further unclear how the step a application is distinct from the step b application as the step b application is established to be after the focused ultrasound.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “the focused ultrasound therapy”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “focused ultrasound therapy” is the same as the “intracranial focused ultrasound therapy procedure” established claim 1 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claims recite a method of measuring a change in skull temperature during an intracranial focused ultrasound therapy procedure and therefore, is a method.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claim recites the limitation “c) processing the first receive signal to determine a first value of a measure dependent on a speed of sound with the skull; d) processing the second receive signal to determine a second value of the measure dependent on the speed of sound with the skull; and e) employing the first value of the measure, the second value of the measure, and a predetermined calibration between skull temperature and changes in the measure to determine the change in skull temperature”.
This limitation, as drafted, is a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it is regarding a concept relating to the processing of a signal for the determination of speed sound dependent variables and using the measures and a calibration to assess skull temperature. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process-type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No - The claim recites the following additional elements: “a) employing an ultrasound transducer located adjacent to the skull of a subject to transmit a first non-therapeutic ultrasound pulse and receive a first reflected ultrasound pulse, thereby obtaining a first receive signal; b) after delivering focused ultrasound to the subject, employing the ultrasound transducer to transmit a second non-therapeutic ultrasound pulse and receive a second reflected ultrasound pulse, thereby obtaining a second receive signal”. The use of ultrasound to receive signal is a data gathering step that is a form of a pre-solution insignificant activity.
These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, merely amount to insignificant pre/post-solution activities and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No - Similarly to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional claim elements merely recite insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim. In light of the above, claim 1 is ineligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claims recite a method and therefore, is a method.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claim recites the limitation “further comprising performing steps b) to e) one or more times during the therapeutic ultrasound therapy procedure to intermittently and intraoperatively track changes in skull temperature”.
This limitation, as drafted, is a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it is regarding a concept relating to the processing of a signal for the determination of speed sound dependent variables and using the measures and calibration to assess skull temperature as discussed in steps c-e. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process-type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No - The claim recites the following additional elements: “further comprising performing steps b) to e) one or more times during the therapeutic ultrasound therapy procedure to intermittently and intraoperatively track changes in skull temperature”. The use of ultrasound to receive signal as discussed in step b is a data gathering step that is a form of a pre-solution insignificant activity.
These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, merely amount to insignificant pre/post-solution activities and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No - Similarly to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional claim elements merely recite insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim. In light of the above, claim 2 is ineligible.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 and Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception are discussed above in the claim 1 rejection.
Claim 3 recites the following elements: “wherein step a) is performed prior to initiating delivery of focused ultrasound to the subject”. This claim element is a mere data gathering step which amounts to a pre-solution insignificant activity. This pre-solution insignificant activity does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor does it contain an inventive step. In light of above, claim 3 is ineligible.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 and Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception are discussed above in the claim 1 rejection.
Claim 4 recites the following elements: “wherein the ultrasound transducer is an element of an ultrasound transducer array employed to deliver the focused ultrasound therapy, and wherein step a) is performed intermittently between episodes of the delivery of focused ultrasound therapy to the subject”. This claim element is a mere data gathering step which amounts to a pre-solution insignificant activity. This pre-solution insignificant activity does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor does it contain an inventive step. In light of above, claim 4 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebbini et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0144165).
Regarding claim 1, Ebbini teaches a method of measuring a change in skull temperature during an intracranial focused ultrasound therapy procedure, the method comprising:
a) employing an ultrasound transducer located adjacent to the skull of a subject to transmit a first non-therapeutic ultrasound pulse and receive a first reflected ultrasound pulse, thereby obtaining a first receive signal (Paragraph 0137 teaches the identification of the target points in the treatment region data. The images are based on the ultrasound transducer elements of an array that are used in the scan. Paragraph 0139 teaches the generation of image data based on the transducer emission with respect to skull. This may follow the delivery of a therapy burst and be used to further determine following therapy signals in sequential bursts. Paragraph 0008 teaches cranial application. Fig. 2 shows an iterative application);
b) after delivering focused ultrasound to the subject, employing the ultrasound transducer to transmit a second non-therapeutic ultrasound pulse and receive a second reflected ultrasound pulse, thereby obtaining a second receive signal (Paragraph 0137 teaches the identification of the target points in the treatment region data. The images are based on the ultrasound transducer elements of an array that are used in the scan. Paragraph 0139 teaches the generation of image data based on the transducer emission with respect to skull. This may follow the delivery of a therapy burst and be used to further determine following therapy signals in sequential bursts. Paragraph 0008 teaches cranial application. Fig. 2 shows an iterative application);
c) processing the first receive signal to determine a first value of a measure dependent on a speed of sound with the skull (Paragraph 0150 teaches that the control image data can include displacement, strain, another mechanical response with respect to the target data that can be temperature change, cavitation activity, etc. This can be later used as the basis to control the focused ultrasound. Paragraph 0240-44 teaches that the speed of sound is used with respect to the temperature curves for the determination of the material constant. The temperature depends on the speed of sound in the medium. The temperature imaging equation provides the basis for image generation. The real-time feedback control is used for therapy. Paragraph 0167 teaches the assessment of the temperature change with respect to a baseline. See Fig. 2);
d) processing the second receive signal to determine a second value of the measure dependent on the speed of sound with the skull (Paragraph 0150 teaches that the control image data can include displacement, strain, another mechanical response with respect to the target data that can be temperature change, cavitation activity, etc. This can be later used as the basis to control the focused ultrasound. Paragraph 0240-44 teaches that the speed of sound is used with respect to the temperature curves for the determination of the material constant. The temperature depends on the speed of sound in the medium. The temperature imaging equation provides the basis for image generation. The real-time feedback control is used for therapy. Paragraph 0167 teaches the assessment of the temperature change with respect to a baseline. See Fig. 2); and
e) employing the first value of the measure, the second value of the measure, and a predetermined calibration between skull temperature and changes in the measure to determine the change in skull temperature (Paragraph 0150 teaches that the control image data can include displacement, strain, another mechanical response with respect to the target data that can be temperature change, cavitation activity, etc. This can be later used as the basis to control the focused ultrasound. Paragraph 0240-44 teaches that the speed of sound is used with respect to the temperature curves for the determination of the material constant. The temperature depends on the speed of sound in the medium. The temperature imaging equation provides the basis for image generation. The real-time feedback control is used for therapy. Paragraph 0167 teaches the assessment of the temperature change with respect to a baseline. See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Ebbini teaches the method in claim 1, as discussed above.
Ebbini further teaches a method, further comprising performing steps b) to e) one or more times during the therapeutic ultrasound therapy procedure to intermittently and intraoperatively track changes in skull temperature (Paragraph 0137 teaches the identification of the target points in the treatment region data. The images are based on the ultrasound transducer elements of an array that are used in the scan. Paragraph 0139 teaches the generation of image data based on the transducer emission with respect to skull. This may follow the delivery of a therapy burst and be used to further determine following therapy signals in sequential bursts. Paragraph 0008 teaches cranial application. Fig. 2 shows an iterative application. Paragraph 0150 teaches that the control image data can include displacement, strain, another mechanical response with respect to the target data that can be temperature change, cavitation activity, etc. This can be later used as the basis to control the focused ultrasound. Paragraph 0240-44 teaches that the speed of sound is used with respect to the temperature curves for the determination of the material constant. The temperature depends on the speed of sound in the medium. The temperature imaging equation provides the basis for image generation. The real-time feedback control is used for therapy. Paragraph 0167 teaches the assessment of the temperature change with respect to a baseline).
Regarding claim 3, Ebbini teaches the method in claim 1, as discussed above.
Ebbini further teaches a method, wherein step a) is performed prior to initiating delivery of focused ultrasound to the subject (Paragraph 0137 teaches the identification of the target points in the treatment region data. The images are based on the ultrasound transducer elements of an array that are used in the scan. Paragraph 0139 teaches the generation of image data based on the transducer emission with respect to skull. This may follow the delivery of a therapy burst and be used to further determine following therapy signals in sequential bursts. Paragraph 0008 teaches cranial application. Fig. 2 shows an iterative application).
Regarding claim 4, Ebbini teaches the method in claim 1, as discussed above.
Ebbini further teaches a method, wherein the ultrasound transducer is an element of an ultrasound transducer array employed to deliver the focused ultrasound therapy, and wherein step a) is performed intermittently between episodes of the delivery of focused ultrasound therapy to the subject (Paragraph 0137 teaches the identification of the target points in the treatment region data. The images are based on the ultrasound transducer elements of an array that are used in the scan. Paragraph 0139 teaches the generation of image data based on the transducer emission with respect to skull. This may follow the delivery of a therapy burst and be used to further determine following therapy signals in sequential bursts. Paragraph 0008 teaches cranial application. Fig. 2 shows an iterative application).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2003/0092987): Teaches feedback consideration of the cranial treatment.
Imai (PGPUB No. US 2018/0220998): Controlling the ultrasound transmission and reception based on the frequency spectra and thresholding.
Gertner (PGPUB No. US 2014/0074076): Teaches correction of ultrasound transmission and treatment in response to temperature’s relationship to the speed of sound. Teaches use with respect to the cranium.
Zadicario (PGPUB No. US 2010/0125193): Teaches the adjusting and considering of aberrations due to skull thickness and optimizing transmission based on that.
Pinton et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0187910): Teaches the imaging of the patient skull with focused ultrasound imaging that is not therapeutic.
Erkamp et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0159761): Teaches selection of transducers for use based on thresholding.
Tamura (PGPUB No. US 2009/0112096): Controlling the ultrasound transmission and reception based on the frequency spectra and thresholding.
Beach et al. (US Patent No. 6,042,556): Teaches the use of HIFU and imaging transduces with one ultrasound probe.
Routh (US Patent No. 5,606,972): Controlling the ultrasound transmission and reception based on the frequency spectra and thresholding.
Matsui et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0007713): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Frenz et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0317121): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Mougenot et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0338485): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Zur et al. (PGPUB No. US 2014/0350439): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects.
Lacoste (PGPUB No. US 2009/0306502): Teaches the adjustment of ultrasound based on multiple parameters. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Angelsen et al. (US Patent No. 9,939,413): Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Rothberg et al. (US Patent No. 8,852,103): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Pernot et al. (PGPUB No. US 2009/0093724): Teaches the temperature consideration with respect to ultrasound velocity and performing correctios to signals based on that. Teaches cranial aberration reduction.
Peyman et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0246179): Teaches the temperature consideration with respect to ultrasound velocity and performing correctios to signals based on that. Teaches cranial aberration reduction.
Eibl et al. (PGPUB No. US 2018/0353157): Teaches feedback consideration of the treatment.
Levy et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0307427): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Sumi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0129026): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
O’Brien et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0188992): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects.
Yang et al. (PGPUB No. US 2009/0054780): Teaches beamforming control for ultrasound transmission.
Ayati et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0022886): Teaches beamforming control for ultrasound transmission.
Grinfeld et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0085409): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Haupt (PGPUB No. US 2015/0148675): Teaches beamforming control for ultrasound transmission.
Vortman et al. (PGPUB No. US 2004/0122323): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Hynynen et al. (PGPUB No. US 2004/0210134): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
Zeng et al. (PGPUB No. US 2012/0209150): Teaches beamforming control for ultrasound transmission.
Takano (PGPUB No. US 2018/0214123): Teaches beamforming control for ultrasound transmission.
Mao et al. (PGPUB No. US 2004/0236222): Teaches beamforming control for ultrasound transmission.
Curra et al. (Patent No. US 8,900,145): Teaches the determination and correction of aberrations in an acoustic field based on the consideration of thermal effects. Teaches that the speed of sound is affected by temperature.
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798