DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The underline symbols in the claim should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: image forming portion and cleaning unit in claim 1, urging means in claim 4, image forming portion and frame in claim 18, cleaning unit in claim 19, and frame in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11-13, and 15, 18--20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aida Takamitsu (JP 2003-215992).
Regarding claim 1, Takamitsu discloses an image forming apparatus (fig. 1) comprising: an image forming portion 3 to form a toner image on an image bearing member 1 (par. 0003, fig. 1); and an intermediary transfer unit B onto which the toner image formed on the image bearing member is transferred and from which the transferred toner image is transferred onto a recording material (par. 0004, fig. 1), the intermediary transfer unit including: frame unit B including an intermediary transfer belt 6a onto which the toner image is transferred from the image bearing member (par. 0004), a plurality of stretching rollers 6b, 6d, 6f (par. 0009, fig. 1) for stretching the intermediary transfer belt, and a frame B for supporting the plurality of stretching rollers; cleaning unit 12 detachably mountable to the frame unit and configured to remove toner from a surface of the intermediary transfer belt (par. 0004, fig. 1); and memory substrate Mb (par. 0006, fig. 1) provided on the frame unit and including a storing portion for storing information.
Regarding claim 2, Saito discloses wherein the memory substrate Mb is disposed outside the intermediary transfer belt with respect to a belt width direction R6 crossing a movement direction of the intermediary transfer belt (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Saito discloses wherein the memory substrate Mb is positioned on a side upstream of a center of the frame unit with respect to an insertion direction of the intermediary transfer unit (Mb is provided toward the front of the intermediate transfer unit B, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Saito discloses wherein as viewed in a belt width direction crossing a movement direction R6 of the intermediary transfer belt , the memory substrate Mb is positioned outside an outer configuration of the intermediary transfer belt stretched by the plurality of stretching rollers (fig. 1)
Regarding claim 12, Saito discloses wherein as viewed in the belt width direction crossing the movement direction R6 of the intermediary transfer belt 6a, the memory substrate Mb is positioned on a side opposite from the image forming portion while sandwiching the intermediary transfer belt between itself and the at least one image forming portion 4 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Saito discloses wherein as viewed in a belt width direction crossing a movement direction R6 of the intermediary transfer belt, the memory substrate Mb is positioned inside an outer configuration of the intermediary transfer belt stretched by the plurality of stretching rollers 6b, 6c, 6d (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Saito discloses wherein the memory substrate Mb is positioned on a side downstream of the frame with respect to an assembling direction of the intermediary transfer belt to the frame (fig. 1).
Regarding claims 18-20, Saito further discloses the memory substrate provided on the frame so as to be disposed outside the intermediary transfer belt with respect to a belt width direction crossing a movement direction R6 of the intermediary transfer belt, and including a storing portion for storing information (see cumulative number of rotations, par. 0006, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamitsu et al. in view of Kubota (US 11,561,490).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Takamitsu discloses an operation portion (par. 0008) but does not disclose the operating portion from which a user is capable of manually inputting a message that the cleaning unit is exchanged and the controller to execute a predetermined initializing operation in a case where the message that the cleaning unit is exchanged is inputted from the operating portion or the controller is to execute the predetermined initializing operation on the basis of the information stored in the memory substrate in a case where the intermediary transfer unit is a new intermediary transfer unit.
Kubota discloses an operating portion 60 where a user is capable of manually inputting a message that the cleaning unit is exchanged and a controller 50 to execute a predetermined initializing operation in a case where the message that the cleaning unit is exchanged is inputted from the operating portion and the controller to execute the predetermined initializing operation on the basis of the information stored in the memory substrate in a case where the intermediary transfer unit is a new intermediary transfer unit (see col. 1, lines 35-45, col. 13, lines 13-30, fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the operation portion as taught by Kuboto to the device of Takamitsu so that the information relating to the condition of the intermediary transfer unit can be inputted by the operator and the initial operation can be performed (see Takamitsu, col. 1, lines 35-45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 10, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 3-8, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus comprising all the features of claim 1 and wherein the memory substrate includes a contact portion connectable to a contact member provided in the main assembly, the contact portion being provided toward an outside of the intermediary transfer unit with respect to the belt width direction.
As to claims 10 and 14, the prior art of record neither disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus comprising all the features of claim 1 and claim 13, respectively, and wherein the image forming apparatus further comprises a contact member provided in the main assembly and connectable to a contact portion of the memory substrate, and the contact member is positioned outside a movement locus of the projection in the main assembly when the intermediary transfer unit is inserted into the main assembly.
Conclusion
/HOANG X NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852