DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Restriction
Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09 December 2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on 2024-06-20. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202421047544 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 December 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is hereby considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, last line, --at least one-- should be added before “heat” (see line 2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cruz et al. (US 10,167,879 - hereafter referred to as Cruz).
In reference to claim 1
Cruz discloses:
An apparatus for airflow management, comprising:
a structure (i.e., the assembly of flap 110 and pivot 128 - Figure 1) attachable to a fan (126), the fan capable of directing a primary airflow (i.e., forward flow) at least one of into or through a cabinet-based device (see Figure 4);
wherein the structure maintains a closed formation (such as for fan 420B in Figure 4) when the fan is not operational (“The cooling system 400 may represent an arrangement/configuration where fans 420A and 420C are operational but fan 420B is not operational (e.g., has failed).” - col.3:ln.66 through col.4:ln.2), the closed formation configured for obstructing a secondary airflow (i.e., a backflow and/or circulation flow) through the fan, the secondary airflow associated with a direction opposite the primary airflow; and
wherein the structure is configured to deploy into an open formation (such as for fan 420A in Figure 4) when the fan is operational, the open formation configured for allowing the primary airflow through the fan.
In reference to claim 2
Cruz discloses:
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein:
the fan has an inflow side (inherent) and an outflow side opposite the inflow side (inherent);
wherein the primary airflow occurs in a direction (see Figure 4) from the inflow side to the outflow side; and
wherein the structure is attached (see Figure 4) to the outflow side of the fan.
In reference to claim 7
Cruz discloses:
A cabinet-based device (i.e., an electronic system), comprising:
a plurality of fans (420A-420C) at least partially disposed within a cabinet (i.e., the structure formed by walls 499 - Figure 4), the plurality of fans including at least one primary fan (420A) and at least one redundant fan (420B), the at least one redundant fan configured for operation in response to a failure of the at least one primary fan (note: the recitation configured for operation in response to a failure of the at least one primary fan is considered as --when the primary fan is not operating-- in light of Applicant’s disclosure being silent as to any active status-based/sensed control being performed; each fan 420A-420C is capable of operating regardless of the operational status of the other fans),
wherein the plurality of fans is configured to direct a primary airflow (i.e., forward flow) at least one of into or through the cabinet; and
a structure (i.e., the assembly of flap 110 and pivot 128 - Figure 1) attached to at least one fan of the plurality of fans, each structure configured to maintain a closed formation (such as for fan 420B in Figure 4) when the associated fan is not operational (“The cooling system 400 may represent an arrangement/configuration where fans 420A and 420C are operational but fan 420B is not operational (e.g., has failed).” - col.3:ln.66 through col.4:ln.2),
wherein the closed formation is configured for obstructing a secondary airflow (i.e., a backflow and/or circulation flow) through the associated fan, the secondary airflow in a direction opposite that of the primary airflow, and
wherein the structure is configured to deploy into an open formation (such as for fan 420A in Figure 4) when the associated fan is operational, the open formation configured for allowing the primary airflow through the associated fan.
In reference to claim 10
Cruz discloses:
The cabinet-based device of Claim 7, wherein:
each fan has an inflow side (see Figure 4) and an outflow side (see Figure 4), the outflow side opposite the inflow side and associated with an interior of the cabinet;
wherein the primary airflow flows (see Figure 4) from the inflow side to the outflow side; and
wherein each structure is attached (see Figure 4) to the outflow side of the associated fan.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baddour et al. (US 6,031,717 - hereafter referred to as Baddour).
In reference to claim 1
Baddour discloses:
An apparatus for airflow management, comprising:
a structure (12) attachable to a fan (20), the fan capable of directing a primary airflow (AF - Figure 9) at least one of into or through a cabinet-based device (32);
wherein the structure maintains a closed formation (see Figures 1 and 11) when the fan is not operational (“However, due to the presence of the above-described louver members 12 adjacent the fans 20, FIG. 11, the pressure differential between high pressure side 42 and low pressure side 40, will automatically close the louver member 12 adjacent the failed fan 20, to block reverse air flow RAF” - see col.5:ll.10-15), the closed formation configured for obstructing a secondary airflow (RAF - Figure 11) through the fan, the secondary airflow associated with a direction opposite the primary airflow; and
wherein the structure is configured to deploy into an open formation (see Figures 2 and 9) when the fan is operational, the open formation configured for allowing the primary airflow through the fan.
In reference to claim 2
Baddour discloses:
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein:
the fan has an inflow side (see Figure 9) and an outflow side (see Figure 9) opposite the inflow side;
wherein the primary airflow (AF) occurs in a direction from the inflow side to the outflow side; and
wherein the structure is attached (see Figure 9) to the outflow side of the fan.
In reference to claim 7
Baddour discloses:
A cabinet-based device (see Figure 8), comprising:
a plurality of fans (20 and 41) at least partially disposed within a cabinet (32), the plurality of fans including at least one primary fan (41)(note: the term primary is not structurally limiting) and at least one redundant fan (20)(note: the term redundant is not structurally limiting), the at least one redundant fan configured for operation in response to a failure of the at least one primary fan (note: the recitation configured for operation in response to a failure of the at least one primary fan is considered as --when the primary fan is not operating-- in light of Applicant’s disclosure being silent as to any active status-based/sensed control being performed; the fans 20 are capable of operating regardless of the operational status of fans 41),
wherein the plurality of fans is configured to direct a primary airflow (AF - Figure 11) at least one of into or through the cabinet; and
a structure (12 - see Figures 1 and 2) attached to at least one fan of the plurality of fans, each structure configured to maintain a closed formation (see Figures 1 and 11) when the associated fan is not operational (“However, due to the presence of the above-described louver members 12 adjacent the fans 20, FIG. 11, the pressure differential between high pressure side 42 and low pressure side 40, will automatically close the louver member 12 adjacent the failed fan 20, to block reverse air flow RAF” - see col.5:ll.10-15),
wherein the closed formation is configured for obstructing a secondary airflow (RAF - Figure 11) through the associated fan, the secondary airflow in a direction opposite that of the primary airflow, and
wherein the structure is configured to deploy into an open formation (see Figures 2 and 11) when the associated fan is operational, the open formation configured for allowing the primary airflow through the associated fan.
In reference to claim 9
Baddour discloses:
The cabinet-based device of Claim 7, wherein the structure is attached to the at least one redundant fan (20) only (see Figure 9).
In reference to claim 10
Baddour discloses:
The cabinet-based device of Claim 7, wherein:
each fan has an inflow side (see Figure 9) and an outflow side (see Figure 9), the outflow side opposite the inflow side and associated with an interior of the cabinet;
wherein the primary airflow (AF) flows from the inflow side to the outflow side; and
wherein each structure is attached (see Figure 9) to the outflow side of the associated fan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz in view of Chiu et al. (US 5,953,209 - hereafter referred to as Chiu).
In reference to claim 8
Cruz discloses:
The cabinet-based device of Claim 7.
Cruz does not disclose:
further comprising:
at least one heat sink;
wherein the primary airflow into or through the cabinet-based device is directed at least one of over or through the heat sink.
Chiu discloses:
an electronic device comprising fans (20,22) that direct air at a heat sink (12) in order to cool a heat-generating component (24 & 28) of the device.
Cruz further discloses (see col.1:ll.6-11) that the device is an electronic system (which has heat-generating components).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cruz to include a heat sink that is cooled by the primary airflow, as disclosed by Chiu, for the purpose of maintaining safe operating temperature in order to maximize performance of the electronic system
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baddour in view of Chiu.
In reference to claim 8
Baddour discloses:
The cabinet-based device of Claim 7.
Baddour does not disclose:
further comprising:
at least one heat sink;
wherein the primary airflow into or through the cabinet-based device is directed at least one of over or through the heat sink.
Chiu discloses:
an electronic device comprising fans (20,22) that direct air at a heat sink (12) in order to cool a heat-generating component (24 & 28) of the device.
Baddour further discloses (see col.1:ll.5-7) that the device is a computer system (which has heat-generating components).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Baddour to include a heat sink that is cooled by the primary airflow, as disclosed by Chiu, for the purpose of maintaining safe operating temperature in order to maximize performance of the computer system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
All cited references disclose a fan or a fan system comprising a shutter for obstructing flow through the fan.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711