DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 06/12/2026. Claims 1, 3-20 are pending; claims 1, 3, 5-7, 12, 14-16 have been amended; claim 2 is canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig.1 depicts drive shaft 10 delivers power to the screw 104. However, the specification ¶[0055] describes that output shaft 30 delivers power from the drive shaft to an object to be driven. It is unclear whether reference number “10” in Fig.1 should be --30--, or whether reference number 30 is omitted from Fig.1. Clarification is required to show how the power is delivered in manner consistent with the specification.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “54”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DOHI (US 20240200617 A1)
Dohi discloses:
Claim 1: A clutch device (1; Fig.1) with a reverse input blocking function (¶[0001]), the clutch device comprising: a drive shaft (3) rotating by power from a drive unit (motor, see ¶[0053]);
an output shaft (4) transmitting a power transmitted from the drive shaft (3) to an object to be driven (¶[0061] “an output-side mechanism such as a speed-reducing mechanism and outputs rotational torque”); and
a variable transmission unit (5,2) engaged to the drive shaft (3) and the output shaft (4), transmitting the power from the drive shaft to the output shaft (see ¶[0099]-[0100]) and blocking reverse-direction power input from the output shaft (¶[0103-[0104]),
wherein the drive shaft (3) comprises:
a shaft body (20) connected to the drive unit (motor, see ¶[0053]); and
a drive connection unit (21, 22) connecting the shaft body (20) to a rotational center of the variable transmission unit (5,2) (¶[0056]), which has a different diameter from the shaft body (20) (e.g. element 21 and 22 has different diameter than 20, see Fig.12),
wherein the drive connection unit (21,22) comprises:
a drive panel (21) disposed on the shaft body (20); and
a plurality of connection protrusions (22) disposed on the drive panel (21) to be spaced apart from the shaft body (20), and coupled to the variable transmission unit (5,2), and
wherein the variable transmission unit (5,2) includes connection hole portions (sections of 50 where the pin 22 contacts the hole/see annotated Fig below. Note: applicant does not have any definition for the term “portion” in the specification. Accordingly, the term is interpreted under BRI standard consistent with its ordinary meaning, namely, a section or region of a whole) into which the connection protrusions (22) are coupled,
wherein the variable transmission unit (5,2) comprises:
a housing (2) connected to the drive unit (motor) and including an installation space (see Fig.11, space where 5 is disposed);
a plurality of shoe members (5) rotatably disposed in the housing (2) and arranged with a variable gap therebetween (cam 33 pushes shoes 5 varies gap);
wherein the shoe members (5) comprise:
a first shoe (upper 5) disposed in a side portion of the housing (2) and having an end (one end of 5) pivotally connected to (when torque is applied, 22 contacts 50. This contact creates pivot point, shoe 5 rotates about this point as it moves radially. Thereof, the end of the shoes also moves in an arc relative to the drive shaft 3) the drive shaft (3) and an opposite end (opposite end of 5) movably connected (moves via 24) to the drive shaft (3);
a second shoe (lower 5) disposed in an opposite side portion of the housing (2), including an end (one end of 5) pivotally connected (when torque is applied, 22 contacts 50. This contact creates pivot point, shoe 5 rotates about this point as it moves radially. Thereof, the end of the shoes also moves in an arc relative to the drive shaft 3) to the drive shaft (3) and an opposite end (opposite end of 5) movably connected (moves via 24) to the drive shaft (3), and installed symmetrically to the first shoe (upper 5);
wherein the variable transmission unit (5,2) comprises:
slot portions (sections of 50 that allow movement of the pin relative to the shoe /see annotated Fig below. Note: applicant does not have any definition for the term “portion” in the specification. Accordingly, the term is interpreted under BRI standard consistent with its ordinary meaning, namely, a section or region of a whole structure.) disposed in the opposite ends of the first shoe (upper 5) and the second shoe (lower 5) and movably connected (via 24) to the drive shaft (3).
Claim 12: A clutch device (1; Fig.1) with a reverse input blocking function (¶[0001]), the clutch device comprising:
a drive shaft (3) rotating by power from a drive unit (motor; ¶[0053]);
an output shaft (4) transmitting a power transmitted from the drive shaft (3) to an object to be driven (¶[0061] “an output-side mechanism such as a speed-reducing mechanism and outputs rotational torque”); and
a variable transmission unit (5,2) engaged to the drive shaft (3) and the output shaft (4), transmitting the power from the drive shaft to the output shaft (see ¶[0099]-[0100]) and blocking reverse-direction power input from the output shaft (¶[0103-[0104]);
wherein the clutch device (1; Fig.1) is installed in any one of a four-wheel independent steering system, a steer-by-wire (SBW) system, or a rear-wheel steering system (this underline limitation is intended use or environment, not structural limitation of the overall “clutch device” to which the claim is directed. A statement of intended use does not distinguish over prior art device that is structurally capable of performing the claimed function. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See Ex parte Masham, 2USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
wherein the drive shaft (3) comprises:
a shaft body (20) connected to the drive unit (motor, see ¶[0053]); and
a drive connection unit (21, 22) connecting the shaft body (20) to a rotational center of the variable transmission unit (5,2) (¶[0056]), which has a different diameter from the shaft body (20) (e.g. element 21 and 22 has different diameter than 20, see Fig.12),
wherein the drive connection unit (21,22) comprises:
a drive panel (21) disposed on the shaft body (20); and
a plurality of connection protrusions (22) disposed on the drive panel (21) to be spaced apart from the shaft body (20), and coupled to the variable transmission unit (5,2), and
wherein the variable transmission unit (5,2) includes connection hole portions (sections of 50 where the pin 22 contacts the hole/see annotated Fig. Note: applicant does not have any definition for the term “portion” in the specification. Accordingly, the term is interpreted under BRI standard consistent with its ordinary meaning, namely, a section or region of a whole structure) into which the connection protrusions (22) are coupled,
wherein the variable transmission unit (5,2) comprises:
a housing (2) connected to the drive unit (motor) and including an installation space (see Fig.11, space where 5 is disposed);
a plurality of shoe members (5) rotatably disposed in the housing (2) and arranged with a variable gap therebetween (cam 33 pushes shoes 5 varies gap);
wherein the shoe members (5) comprise:
a first shoe (upper 5) disposed in a side portion of the housing (2) and having an end (one end of 5) pivotally connected to (when torque is applied, 22 contacts 50. This contact creates pivot point, shoe 5 rotates about this point as it moves radially. Thereof, the end of the shoes also moves in an arc relative to the drive shaft 3) the drive shaft (3) and an opposite end (opposite end of 5) movably connected (moves via 24) to the drive shaft (3);
a second shoe (lower 5) disposed in an opposite side portion of the housing (2), including an end (one end of 5) pivotally connected (when torque is applied, 22 contacts 50. This contact creates pivot point, shoe 5 rotates about this point as it moves radially. Thereof, the end of the shoes also moves in an arc relative to the drive shaft 3) to the drive shaft (3) and an opposite end (opposite end of 5) movably connected (moves via 24) to the drive shaft (3), and installed symmetrically to the first shoe (upper 5);
wherein the variable transmission unit (5,2) comprises:
slot portions (sections of 50 that allow movement of the pin relative to the shoe /see annotated Fig. Note: applicant does not have any definition for the term “portion” in the specification. Accordingly, the term is interpreted under BRI standard consistent with its ordinary meaning, namely, a section or region of a whole structure.) disposed in the opposite ends of the first shoe (upper 5) and the second shoe (lower 5) and movably connected (via 24) to the drive shaft (3).
Claim 3: The clutch device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of connection protrusions (22) are disposed at an equal distance from the shaft body (20).
Claim 4 and 13: wherein the output shaft (4) comprises: a first shaft member (34) coupled to the variable transmission unit (5,2); a second shaft member (31) connected to the object to be driven (The output member 4 is connected to an output-side mechanism such as a speed-reducing mechanism and outputs rotational torque; ¶]0061]); and a transmission block (33) disposed between the first shaft member (34) and the second shaft member (31) and interlocked with the variable transmission unit (5,2) (note: the claim does not require the first shaft second and block be separable pieces)
Claim 5 and 14: wherein the variable transmission unit (5,2) comprises:
a braking unit (33, 49, 7) configured to block power by widening the variable gap (when reverse torque is applied, cam 33 pushes shoes 5 varies gap until shoes 5 hits the housing surface 7, ¶[0102]-[0104]) between the plurality of shoe members (5) and allowing the shoe members (5) to frictionally contact the housing (2).
Claims 6 and 15: wherein the shoe members (5) comprise:
and a variable connection unit (5, 2) movably connecting the first shoe (upper 5) and the second shoe (lower 5) and maintaining a constant gap (space) between the first shoe (upper 5) and the second shoe (lower 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOHI (US 20240200617 A1) in view of Crow (US 2373462)
Claims 7 and 16: Dohi does not disclose a first elastic member connecting the first shoe and the second shoe and providing a tension that pulls the first shoe and the second shoe toward each other.
Crow teaches a friction clutch (see title) having two shoes (10, 11); a first elastic member (20/21) connecting a first shoe (10) and a second shoe (11) and providing a tension that pulls the first shoe (10) and the second shoe (11) toward each other (lines 38-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the spring connects two shoes toward each other as taught by Crow in the clutch system of Dohi in order to provide balance and symmetric inward biasing force, ensuring uniform radial positioning of the shoes relative to the shaft and/or smooth movement of the shoes. This improve engagement stability and reduces uneven wear.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With reference to claims 8 and 17, for purposes of allowance, the phrase “conversion transmission unit” is interpreted under 112(f) to encompass the structure disclosed in the specification that performs the recited function of converting linear motion of protrusions into a widening gap of the shoes and transmission of that converted motion. The word “unit” is a nonce word that does not denote structure.
Response to Amendment/Argument
Applicant’s remarks regarding objections to the drawings have been considered but are not persuasive. Although applicant states the objection to the drawing is overcome by accompanying amendment to Figs.1-3, 7, however, no replacement drawing sheets for Figs.1-3, 7 were received with this amendment. Examiner is unable to determine whether the identified drawing deficiencies have been corrected. Accordingly, the objection to the drawings are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect the rejection under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
1-Applicant argued that “the input-side engaged portion 50 of Dohi does not qualify as the connection hole portions of the presently claimed invention because the input-side engaging portion 22 of Dohi is not coupled into the input-side engaged portion 50 of Dohi. See Dohi, FIG. 4, reproduced below. This is evident from the fact that the input-side engaging portion 22 of Dohi is coupled into the inner side surface 23 and outer side surface 24 of the input-side engaging portion 22 of Dohi are not disposed in the end portions of the input- side engaged portion 50.”
--In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees, from ¶[0079] the specification of Dohi states that “The input-side engaged portion 50 has a size that allows the input-side engaging portion 22 to be loosely inserted”. This confirms that pin inserted into a hole is literally coupled into that hole. The fact that there are gaps does not mean it is not coupled; it means it has a clearance fit which is common in mechanical coupling.
2-Applicant argued that “Dohi, Crow fail to disclose slot portions of the presently claimed invention. Applicant respectfully notes that a claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found. See MPEP § 2131.01. However, the Examiner does not indicate which elements of the related art corresponds to the claimed slot portions of the presently claimed invention. See Office Action, page 8. Accordingly, Dohi, Crow fail to disclose slot portions of the presently claimed invention.”
--In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees, since examiner indicated slot as one section of 50 (see office action sent out on 3/12/2026 on page 8, line 2; also noted that the term “portion” does not define in the specification. Thus, the term is interpreted under BRI as section, or region of a whole structure. Furthermore, the claim does not require the connection hole portions and slot portions to be distinct openings. The connection hole portions and slot portions to be located at different position on the shoe. The connection hole portions and slot portions to have different functions. The claim simply requires “connection hole portion into which the connection protrusion are coupled”; and “slot portions disposed in the opposite ends of the shoes and movable connected to the drive shaft”. In Dohi, hole (50) can reasonably interpreting as having a connection hole portion (area where the pin 22 contacts the hole) and slot portion (area that allows movement of the pin relative to the shoe).
3. Applicant argued that applicant’s invention has connection hole portion (18) and slot portion (72) are different features.
--In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees, the specification ¶[0058] states “connection hole portions 18 provided in the variable transmission unit 50 to allow insertion and connection of the connection protrusions 17.”; and ¶[0064]-[0065] states “The connection hole portions 18 are formed at an end portion of the first shoe 57 and an end portion of the second shoe 58 to allow insertion of the connection protrusions 17; and Due to slot portions 72 formed at the opposite end portions of the first shoe 57 and the second shoe 58, the opposite end portions of the first shoe 57 and the second shoe 58 may move outward by the length of the slot portions 72 even when the connection protrusions 17 are inserted.” These paragraphs describe connection hole portion functions as pivot and slot portion functions as guide permits translation. The specification has not provided explicit definition require “connection hole portion” and “slot portion” to be separate physical openings. Accordingly, under BRI, the term “portion” encompasses a section or region of whole structure. Accordingly, the “connection hole portion” and “slot portion” is reasonably interpreted as different region of the same opening 50. Thus the rejections under 35 USC §102, 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/STACEY A FLUHART/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655