DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Priority
2. The instant application claim benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/655,042, filed 6/2/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgement is made to the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2026. The information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seekola (US 2014/0110472 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seekola discloses a meter (12 - meter) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive information from one or more devices [0048, 0061, & 0062];
a controller configured to generate a plurality of symbols based on the received information [0051-0055]; and
a display (14 – variable display) configured to render the plurality of symbols [0048 & 0051-0055].
Regarding claim 2, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 1, wherein: the meter is an electricity meter; the one or more devices are a plurality of IOT devices; and the received information corresponds to power consumed by the IOT devices for different periods of time [0048, 0061 & 0062].
Regarding claim 3, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 1, wherein: each symbol corresponds to a particular set of information for a particular device for a particular period of time; and different symbols correspond to one or more of different sets of information, different devices, and different periods of time [0048, 0061 & 0062].
Regarding claim 4, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 1, wherein the symbols are QR codes [0031 & 0051].
Regarding claim 5, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 4, wherein a second displayed symbol is an inter-symbol QR code representing differences between a first QR code and a corresponding second QR code [0031 & 0051-0055].
Regarding claim 6, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 1, wherein at least some of the symbols are displayed sequentially [0048 & 0051].
Regarding claim 7, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 1, wherein at least some of the symbols are displayed in parallel side by side [0048 & 0051].
Regarding claim 8, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 1, wherein: the meter is one instance in a network of meters, each of which receives information from a different set of one or more devices; and the network processes data from the different meters to make network-level decisions [0049, 0061, & 0102-0107].
Regarding claim 9, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 1, wherein the plurality of symbols are two-dimensional (2D) symbols that are part of a multi-dimensional (ND) symbol, wherein two of the dimensions of the ND symbol correspond to width and height of each 2D symbol, another dimension of the ND symbol corresponds to different devices, and another dimension of the ND symbol corresponds to different time periods [0031 & 0051-0055].
Regarding claim 10, Seekola discloses a method for the meter of claim 1, the method comprising: the transceiver receiving information from the one or more devices; the controller generating the plurality of symbols based on the received information; and the display rendering the plurality of symbols [0048, 0061 & 0062].
Regarding claim 11, Seekola discloses the method of claim 10, wherein: the meter is an electricity meter; the one or more devices are a plurality of IOT devices; and the received information corresponds to power consumed by the IOT devices for different periods of time [0048, 0061 & 0062].
Regarding claim 12, Seekola discloses the method of claim 10, wherein: each symbol corresponds to a particular set of information for a particular device for a particular period of time; and different symbols correspond to one or more of different sets of information, different devices, and different periods of time [0048, 0061 & 0062].
Regarding claim 13, Seekola discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the symbols are QR codes [0031 & 0051].
Regarding claim 14, Seekola discloses the method of claim 13, wherein a second displayed symbol is an inter-symbol QR code representing differences between a first QR code and a corresponding second QR code [0031 & 0051-0055].
Regarding claim 15, Seekola discloses the method of claim 10, wherein at least some of the symbols are displayed sequentially [0048 & 0051].
Regarding claim 16, Seekola discloses the method of claim 10, wherein at least some of the symbols are displayed in parallel side by side [0048 & 0051].
Regarding claim 17, Seekola discloses a reader (10 – reader system) comprising:
a camera configured to capture images of symbols displayed by a meter [0064 & 0067]; and
a transceiver configured to transmit the captured images to a server [0062 & 0076].
Regarding claim 18, Seekola discloses the meter of claim 17, further comprising: a controller configured to generate an inter-symbol QR code representing differences between a first QR code and a corresponding second QR code [0031 & 0051-0055].
Regarding claim 19, Seekola discloses a method for the reader of claim 17, wherein: the camera captures the images of the symbols displayed by the meter; and the transceiver transmits the captured images to the server [0062, 0064, 0066, 0074, & 0076].
Regarding claim 20, Seekola discloses a method for the meter of claim 17, further comprising: the controller generating the inter-symbol QR code representing the differences between the first QR code and the corresponding second QR code [0031 & 0051].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876