Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an upper controller” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/225,780 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claims.
Claim mapping: the examined application claim is compared by the reference claim in parenthesis. The differences are underlined.
An inverter driving apparatus configured to drive an inverter including a plurality of power modules connected in parallel, the apparatus comprising: (An apparatus for driving an inverter comprising a plurality of power modules connected in parallel, the apparatus comprising:)
a gate driver configured to output a control signal to the plurality of power modules and monitor a threshold voltage of each of the plurality of power modules; and (a gate driver configured to output a gate voltage to the plurality of power modules and to monitor a threshold voltage of each of the plurality of power modules; and)
a controller configured to control the gate driver in response to an instruction input from an upper controller (a controller configured to output a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal to the gate driver in response to a command input from an upper controller);
wherein the controller is configured to change a first Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal generated based on the instruction (output a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal to the gate driver in response to a command) and based on the threshold voltage for each of the plurality of power modules provided by the gate driver to generate a second PWM signal (and to output a voltage control signal), and to output the second PWM signal to the gate driver (and to output a voltage control signal to the gate driver based on the threshold voltage of each of the plurality of power modules; wherein the gate driver is configured to output the gate voltage, based on a feedback gate voltage that includes feedback regarding the gate voltage, the PWM signal, and the voltage control signal).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zarabadi (US 2024/0106369).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 19, Zarabadi discloses an inverter driving apparatus, a method and a vehicle (FIG 1-12)(¶[0043]) configured to drive an inverter including a plurality of power modules (140, 145, specifically 144 and 146 phase switches or power device switches) connected in parallel (¶[0103]), the apparatus comprising: a gate driver (142, 146 gate driver, ¶[0052]) configured to output a control signal to the plurality of power modules and monitor (¶[0052]) a threshold voltage (¶[0052]) of each of the plurality of power modules; and a controller (130, 135, PWM controller, ¶[0043]) configured to control the gate driver (142, 146) in response to an instruction input from an upper controller (300 ¶[0057]-[0071] via 120 and 125 ¶[0055]); wherein the controller (130, 135) is configured to change a first Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal (PWM is updated based on the communication between the controllers and the gate drivers ¶[0043]-[0045]) and generated based on the instruction (¶[0043]-[0045], and based on the threshold voltage for each of the plurality of power modules provided by the gate driver to generate a second PWM signal (updated PWM signal based on the continuous measurement ¶[0052]), and to output the second PWM signal to the gate driver (142, 148 ¶[0052]).
Regarding claims 2|1, 14|13 and 20|19 Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein the controller is configured to change a generation point of the first PWM signal or change a duty of the first PWM signal based on a first delay determined based on the threshold voltage (¶[0103]-[0105]) of each of the plurality of power modules to generate the second PWM signal (¶[0052]).
Regarding claims 3|2|1 and 15|14|13, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein: the controller is configured to apply the first delay to a count serving as a reference for the generation point of the first PWM signal to generate the second PWM signal; and the second PWM signal is generated with a second delay equal to the first delay, relative to the first PWM signal (¶[0052] “computation of the optimum gate-drive turn-on and tun-off voltage profiles ...” ¶[0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claims 4|2|1 and 16|14|13, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein the controller is configured to apply the first delay to at least one of a turn-on point and a turn-off point of the first PWM signal to generate the second PWM signal having a longer duty than the first PWM signal (¶[0052] “optimum” includes a longer duty as well as shorter duty ¶[0103]-[0105]).
Regarding claims 5|4|2|1 and 17|16|14|13, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein: the controller is configured to apply the first delay to the turn-on point and turn-off point of the first PWM signal; and the turn-on point of the second PWM signal is delayed relative to the turn-on point of the first PWM signal by the first delay, and the turn-off point of the second PWM signal is delayed relative to the turn-off point of the first PWM signal by the first delay (¶[0043],[0048],[0103],[0104],[0106]).
Regarding claims 6|4|2|1 and 18|16|14|13, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein: the controller is configured to apply the first delay to the turn-on point of the first PWM signal; and the turn-on point of the second PWM signal is delayed relative to the turn-on point of the first PWM signal by the first delay (¶[0043],[0048],[0103],[0104],[0106]).
Regarding claim 7|1, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein the controller is configured to determine the first delay based on slope characteristics of a gate-source voltage of the plurality of power modules (¶[0094]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 8|7|1, Zarabadi implies the apparatus wherein the controller is configured to determine the first delay based on: delay =(Vth1-Vth2)/dVgs/dt (Vth1>Vth2), where Vth1 is a threshold voltage of a first power module, Vth2 is a threshold voltage of a second power module, and dVgs/dt is current flowing through a gate resistor Rg (¶[0103]-[0104]).
Regarding claim 10|1, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein the gate driver includes a threshold voltage monitoring circuit configured to monitor the threshold voltages of the plurality of power modules, to convert the monitored threshold voltages into digital signals, and to provide the digital signals to the controller (¶[0089]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 11|1, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein: the inverter includes a plurality of module groups including a plurality of power modules connected in parallel; the gate driver is connected to each of the plurality of module groups; and the gate driver is configured to monitor the threshold voltages for the plurality of power modules within the plurality of module groups (¶[0089]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 12, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein the gate driver is configured to monitor the voltage of a gate resistor connected between the gate driver and a gate terminal of the power module in a state where a switch element connected between the gate terminal and a drain terminal of the power module is short-circuited (¶[0089]-[0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zarabadi.
Regarding claim 9|1, Zarabadi discloses the apparatus wherein the controller is configured to determine the first delay corresponding to a threshold voltage based on
Zarabadi does not disclose a table including delays for each threshold voltage of each of the plurality of power modules. As know in the art, use of a table is a routine practice of determination scheme and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a table because such a modification would have been a mere substitution of art recognized equivalent determination scheme.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR20140013277 discloses an inverter for driving a motor for converting DC form a high voltage battery to drive a motor showing a gate driver circuit, a controller, and power switches using PWM signals having a adjusted delay time.
/JOSEPH CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836