DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-29 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (US 20240280515 A1) in view of Schamber (US 20180033589 A1), in further view of Kato (US 20230083479 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Yun discloses an apparatus comprising:
an x-ray source (Figs. 5C, 410) configured to generate an x-ray beam comprising x-rays configured to irradiate an object, the object responsive to the x-rays by generating fluorescence x-rays, the x-ray beam having an energy spectrum with less than 50% of the x-rays of the x-ray beam having energies greater than 1.84 keV.
a plurality of x-ray detection elements configured to receive and detect at least some of the fluorescence x-rays emitted from a surface of the object (310a and 310b) being irradiated by the x-ray beam (120), the plurality of x-ray detection elements comprising:
at least a first x-ray detection element (310a) configured to receive and detect at least a first portion of the fluorescence x-rays emitted at a first emission angle relative to the surface with a first angular acceptance of less than 30 degrees (Abstract: “The x-ray beam includes x-rays and has an angular beam divergence less than 30 mrad in at least one direction.”); and
at least a second x-ray detection element (310b) configured to receive and detect at least a second portion of the fluorescence x-rays emitted at a second emission angle relative to the surface with a second angular acceptance less than 30 degrees(Abstract: “The x-ray beam includes x-rays and has an angular beam divergence less than 30 mrad in at least one direction.”), the second emission angle larger than the first emission angle by at least 0.5 degree, wherein the first x-ray detection element and the second x-ray detection element are configured to provide depth distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object ([0062]: “…the first flat Bragg diffractor 110a configured to diffract the lower energy x-ray fluorescence line can be positioned upstream of the second flat Bragg diffractor 110b configured to diffract the higher energy x-ray fluorescence line. Certain such implementations can enable probing of the depth of the atomic element from a surface of the sample containing the atomic element.”).
Yun fails to teach the x-ray beam having an energy spectrum with less than 50% of the x-rays of the x-ray beam having energies greater than 1.84 keV.
However, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the x-ray beam such that <50% of the energy exceeds 1.84 keV, given the known scientific principle of the silicon K-edge (1.84 keV) and the well-known goal of minimizing Si fluorescence. It is a straightforward application of standard XRF techniques (adjusting voltage or adding filters) for routine optimization by one skilled in the art. One would be motivated to reduce unwanted Si fluorescence when analyzing structures on silicon substrates.
Yun also fails to explicitly teach the second emission angle larger than the first emission angle by at least 0.5 degree.
Schamber teaches two x-ray detection elements wherein the second emission angle is larger than the first emission angle by at least 0.5 degrees ([0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees.”; “Detector 941 is positioned around electron beam 932 at a takeoff angle of about 79 degrees”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yun to incorporate the teachings of Schamber and set the detectors such that the second emission angle is larger than the first by at least 0.5 degrees. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce shared geometric or systematic biases.
Yun and Schamber both fail to teach wherein the first x-ray detection element and the second x-ray detection element are configured to provide lateral distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object.
However, it is well known in the art of wavelength dispersive spectroscopy to provide lateral distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object as shown by Kato ([0050]: “The analyzer main body 10 can perform mapping analysis (surface analysis) of the specimen S. Specifically, in the analyzer main body 10, element mapping data can be obtained by dividing the designated range of the specimen S into predetermined pixels (unit areas) and measuring the X-ray intensity of each pixel by the energy dispersive detector 18 or the wavelength dispersive detector 19.”; [0051]: “The element mapping data include information on two-dimensional distribution of elements and include information on two-dimensional positions (coordinates) and X-ray intensity (or element concentration) at each position.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Yun and Schamber to incorporate the teachings of Kato and configure the detectors to provide lateral distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of enabling a visual representation of the spatial distribution of chemical elements within a material.
Regarding Claim 2: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first emission angle is at least one degree (Schamber: [0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees.”).
Regarding Claim 3: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first emission angle is at least 5 degrees (Schamber: [0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees.”).
Regarding Claim 4: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first angular acceptance and the second angular acceptance are less than 30 degrees (Schamber: [0070]: “detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”, “detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”).
Regarding Claim 5: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second emission angle is greater than the first emission angle by at least 5 degrees (Schamber: [0070]: “detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”, “detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”).
Regarding Claim 6: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one x-ray detection element of the plurality of x-ray detection elements is configured to collect fluorescence x-rays emitted from the surface of the object irradiated by the excitation beam over an acceptance angle perpendicular to the first emission angle or the second emission angle, the acceptance angle greater than 1 degree (Schamber: [0070]: “detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”, “detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”).
Regarding Claim 7: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a computer system configured to receive detection signals from the plurality of x-ray detection elements and in response at least to the detection signals to generate depth distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object (Yun: [0062]: “…the first flat Bragg diffractor 110a configured to diffract the lower energy x-ray fluorescence line can be positioned upstream of the second flat Bragg diffractor 110b configured to diffract the higher energy x-ray fluorescence line. Certain such implementations can enable probing of the depth of the atomic element from a surface of the sample containing the atomic element.”).
Regarding Claim 8: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one Bragg diffractor configured to receive and diffract at least some of the fluorescence x-rays emitted from the object and to direct the diffracted fluorescence x-rays to the plurality of x-ray detection elements (Fig. 5C, flat Bragg diffractors 110; [0067]).
Regarding Claim 9: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the diffracted fluorescence x-rays comprise at least one fluorescence x-ray line that is characteristic of and emitted by at least one atomic element in the object (Yun: [0067]: “…at least two of the flat Bragg diffractors 110 of the longitudinal wavelength dispersive spectrometer of FIG. 5C are configured to measure two specific x-ray energies (e.g., two characteristic x-ray lines)”).
Regarding Claim 10: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one Bragg diffractor is configured to receive the fluorescence x-rays over an emission angular range AO of at least 0.5 degree with respect to the surface of the object with emission angles of at least 0.001 degree (Schamber: [0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees”; “Detector 941 is positioned around electron beam 932 at a takeoff angle of about 79 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 11: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one Bragg diffractor is selected from the group consisting of: single crystal; mosaic crystal; synthetic multilayer (Yun: [0060]: “The plurality of stacked flat Bragg diffractors 110 of FIGS. 5A-5C comprises a pair of flat crystal diffractors (e.g., first and second flat Bragg diffractors 110a,b; single crystals; mosaic crystals)”).
Regarding Claim 12: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one Bragg diffractor comprises at least one first Bragg diffractor and at least one second Bragg diffractor, the at least one second Bragg diffractor receiving fluorescence x-rays that are transmitted through the at least one first Bragg diffractor (Yun: Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 13: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 8, further comprising at least one x-ray collimating optic configured to receive and collimate at least some of the fluorescence x-rays and to direct the collimated fluorescence x-rays to impinge the at least one Bragg diffractor (Yun: Fig. 5C, 420).
Regarding Claim 14: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one x-ray collimating optic has an angular range of at least 0.5 degree with respect to the surface of the object with emission angles of at least 0.001 degree (Yun: 420; Schamber: [0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees”; “Detector 941 is positioned around electron beam 932 at a takeoff angle of about 79 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 15: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one x-ray collimating optic comprises a mirror optic with a reflective surface portion having a paraboloidal shape or a Wolter optic with an infinity image conjugate (Yun: [0054]: “…the at least one collimating x-ray optic 420 comprises a monocapillary optic (e.g., single capillary optic; mirror optic). In certain implementations, an inner functional surface of the monocapillary optic has a paraboloidal shape, ellipsoidal shape, or a combination of a hyperboloidal shape with either a paraboloidal shape or ellipsoidal shape”).
Regarding Claim 16: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein a beam of collimated fluorescence x-rays emitted from the at least one x-ray collimating optic has an angular divergence of less than 3 degrees (Yun: [0052]: “…at least one collimating x-ray optic 420 configured to receive x-rays 124 propagating from the x-ray source 410 and to form the collimated x-ray beam 120 (e.g., having an angular beam divergence less than 30 mrad”; 30 mrad is approx.. 1.72 degrees).
Regarding Claim 17: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one Bragg diffractor comprises a plurality of Bragg diffractors (Yun: Fig. 5C) and the at least one x-ray collimating optic comprises a plurality of x-ray collimating optics (Yun: Fig. 4B) configured to receive and collimate respective portions of the fluorescence x-rays emitted from the surface and to direct the collimated fluorescence x-rays to corresponding Bragg diffractors of the plurality of Bragg diffractors (Yun: Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 18: Yun discloses an angle resolved wavelength dispersive spectrometer (100) comprising:
at least one collimating optic (Fig. 5C, 420) configured to receive and collimate fluorescence x-rays emitted by one or more atomic elements of an object at an emission angle of at least 0.001 degree from a surface of the object and over an emission angular range of at least 0.5 degree, the fluorescence x-rays having energies characteristic of the one or more atomic elements of the object;
at least one Bragg diffractor configured to receive and diffract a first set of collimated fluorescence x-rays from the at least one collimating optic (Fig. 5C, 110a-d);
a plurality of x-ray detection elements configured to receive and detect at least some of the diffracted x-rays from the at least one Bragg diffractor (310a and 310b), the plurality of x- ray detection elements comprising:
at least a first x-ray detection element (310a) configured to receive and detect at least a first portion of the fluorescence x-rays diffracted by the at least one Bragg diffractor over a first diffraction angle relative to a surface normal of the at least one Bragg diffractor with a first angular acceptance less than 30 degrees (Abstract: “The x-ray beam includes x-rays and has an angular beam divergence less than 30 mrad in at least one direction.”); and
at least a second x-ray detection element (310b) configured to receive and detect at least a second portion of the fluorescence x-rays diffracted by the at least one Bragg diffractor over a second diffraction angle relative to the surface normal of the at least one Bragg diffractor with a second angular acceptance less than 30 degrees (Abstract: “The x-ray beam includes x-rays and has an angular beam divergence less than 30 mrad in at least one direction.”), the second diffraction angle different from the first diffraction angle by a difference greater than 0.5 degrees, wherein the first x-ray detection element and the second x-ray detection element are configured to provide depth distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object ([0062]: “…the first flat Bragg diffractor 110a configured to diffract the lower energy x-ray fluorescence line can be positioned upstream of the second flat Bragg diffractor 110b configured to diffract the higher energy x-ray fluorescence line. Certain such implementations can enable probing of the depth of the atomic element from a surface of the sample containing the atomic element.”).
Yun fails to teach an emission angle of at least 0.001 degree from a surface of the object and over an emission angular range of at least 0.5 degree, the fluorescence x-rays having energies characteristic of the one or more atomic elements of the object; and the second diffraction angle different from the first diffraction angle by a difference greater than 0.5 degrees.
Schamber discloses a plurality of x-ray detection elements comprising:
an emission angle of at least 0.001 degree from a surface of the object and over an emission angular range of at least 0.5 degree, the fluorescence x-rays having energies characteristic of the one or more atomic elements of the object ([0070]: “detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”, “detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”).
at least a first x-ray detection element (942) configured to receive and detect at least a first portion of the fluorescence x-rays emitted at a first emission angle relative to the surface with a first angular acceptance of less than 30 degrees ([0070]: “…detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”); and
at least a second x-ray detection element (941) configured to receive and detect at least a second portion of the fluorescence x-rays emitted at a second emission angle relative to the surface with a second angular acceptance less than 30 degrees([0070]: “…detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”), the second emission angle different than the first emission angle by at least 0.5 degree ([0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees.”; “Detector 941 is positioned around electron beam 932 at a takeoff angle of about 79 degrees”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yun to incorporate the teachings of Schamber such that the second diffraction angle different from the first diffraction angle by a difference greater than 0.5 degrees. One would be motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce shared geometric or systematic biases.
Yun and Schamber both fail to teach wherein the first x-ray detection element and the second x-ray detection element are configured to provide lateral distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object.
However, it is well known in the art of wavelength dispersive spectroscopy to provide lateral distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object as shown by Kato ([0050]: “The analyzer main body 10 can perform mapping analysis (surface analysis) of the specimen S. Specifically, in the analyzer main body 10, element mapping data can be obtained by dividing the designated range of the specimen S into predetermined pixels (unit areas) and measuring the X-ray intensity of each pixel by the energy dispersive detector 18 or the wavelength dispersive detector 19.”; [0051]: “The element mapping data include information on two-dimensional distribution of elements and include information on two-dimensional positions (coordinates) and X-ray intensity (or element concentration) at each position.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Yun and Schamber to incorporate the teachings of Kato and configure the detectors to provide lateral distribution information of one or more atomic elements in the object. One would be motivated to make such a modification on the basis of enabling a visual representation of the spatial distribution of chemical elements within a material.
Regarding Claim 19: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the spectrometer of claim 18, wherein the emission angle is at least one degree (Schamber: [0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees.”).
Regarding Claim 20: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the spectrometer of claim 18, wherein the emission angular range is at least 5 degrees (Schamber: [0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees.”).
Regarding Claim 21: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the spectrometer of claim 18, wherein the first angular acceptance and the second angular acceptance are less than 10 degrees (Schamber: [0070]: “detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”, “detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”).
Regarding Claim 22: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the spectrometer of claim 18, wherein the difference is greater than 5 degrees ([0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees.”; “Detector 941 is positioned around electron beam 932 at a takeoff angle of about 79 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 23: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the spectrometer of claim 18, further comprising circuitry configured to receive detection signals from the plurality of x-ray detection elements and in response at least to the detection signals to generate the depth distribution information of the one or more atomic elements in the object (Yun: [0062]: “…the first flat Bragg diffractor 110a configured to diffract the lower energy x-ray fluorescence line can be positioned upstream of the second flat Bragg diffractor 110b configured to diffract the higher energy x-ray fluorescence line. Certain such implementations can enable probing of the depth of the atomic element from a surface of the sample containing the atomic element.”).
Regarding Claim 24: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the spectrometer of claim 18, further comprising at least one second Bragg diffractor configured to receive and diffract a second set of fluorescence x-rays characteristic of and emitted by the one or more atomic elements in the object, the at least one second Bragg diffractor receiving the second set of fluorescence x-rays emitted from the object at an emission angle of at least 0.001 degree from the surface of the object and over an emission angular range of at least 0.5 degree (Yun: Fig. 5C; Schamber: [0070]: “Detector 942 is positioned with a takeoff angle of about 59 degrees”, “Detector 941 is positioned around electron beam 932 at a takeoff angle of about 79 degrees”, “detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”, “detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”).
Regarding Claim 25: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the spectrometer of claim 24, wherein the plurality of x-ray detection elements are configured to receive and detect at least some of the diffracted x-rays from the at least one second Bragg diffractor (Yun: Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 26: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the x-ray beam has a spot size less than 100 microns at the surface (Yun: [0053]: “…the x-rays 124 propagating from a spot size…less than 30 microns…”).
Regarding Claim 27: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one x-ray collimating optic configured to receive and collimate at least some of the fluorescence x-rays and to direct the collimated fluorescence x-rays to impinge the plurality of x-ray detection elements (Yun: Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 28: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the at least one x-ray collimating optic comprises a polycapillary optic (Yun: Fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 29: Yun in view of Schamber discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the polycapillary optic has an angular range of at least 0.5 degree with respect to the surface of the object in an emission plane (Yun: Fig. 4B; Schamber: [0070]: “detector 942 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 9 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”, “detector 941 collecting X-rays emitted from the sample 902 within plus or minus 3 degrees of the listed takeoff angle”).
Conclusion
/MIYA DOWNING/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884