DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "a biocompatible material" in lines 2 and 7 of the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “a biocompatible material” in line 7 refers to the same biocompatible material in line 2 or an additional biocompatible material. The examiner interprets the limitation in line 7 to be “the biocompatible material” to refer to the same biocompatible material in line 2 for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 21-24, 26-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Blaesar (US 6514281).
Regarding claim 21, Blaeser et al (hereafter Blaeser) discloses a method comprising: placing within a patient vessel an endovascular prosthesis comprising: a main tubular body (24) having an open end and an opposed ipsilateral leg and a contralateral leg (42, 40), said ipsilateral leg and contralateral leg each having an open end (figure 2A); the tubular body comprising a bifurcation point between the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg (figure 2A), a distal ipsilateral leg portion and a distal contralateral leg portion; and a biocompatible material (22) extending between the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg and restraining movement of the contralateral leg with respect to the ipsilateral leg (C:3, L:50-56).
Regarding claim 22, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 21, further comprising the step of causing at least a portion of the biocompatible material to separate (C:3, L:65-67).
Regarding claim 23, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 22, wherein a portion of the biocompatible material is separated by application of a displacement force (withdrawal of elongate retaining wire).
Regarding claim 24, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 23, wherein the biocompatible material comprises a weakened portion (118) that is configured to allow separation of one portion of the biocompatible material from another portion of the biocompatible material (C:7, L:57-62).
Regarding claim 26, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 21, wherein the biocompatible material between the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg increases in a direction extending from the bifurcation point to the distal ipsilateral leg portion or distal contralateral leg portion (figure 9B).
Regarding claim 27, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 21, wherein the biocompatible material has a distal portion near a distal portion of the ipsilateral leg and near a distal portion of the contralateral leg (104, 106); wherein the biocompatible material has a proximal portion (108) near the bifurcation point of the prosthesis where the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg separate from the main tubular body; and wherein the distal portion of the biocompatible material is configured to allow more independent mobility of the distal portions of the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg as compared to proximal portions of the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg near the bifurcation point (figure 9B, separate branch portions 104, 106 allow more independent mobility).
Regarding claim 28, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 21, wherein the biocompatible material is configured to restrict the contralateral leg from significant rotational movement so as to prevent misalignment within a bodily lumen (when wrapped around stent in delivery configuration, significant rotational movement is restricted).
Regarding claim 29, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 28, wherein the biocompatible material comprises a plurality of connections shaped to allow more relative independent movement of distal portions of the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg (connection between panel 104, 106 and portion 108).
Regarding claim 30, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 21, further comprising placement of the contralateral leg and the ipsilateral leg in the patient vessel (figure 2A-2C, placement in bifurcation).
Regarding claim 31, Blaeser discloses a method comprising: placing within a patient vessel an endovascular prosthesis comprising: a main tubular body (24) having an open end and an opposed ipsilateral leg and a contralateral leg (42, 40), said ipsilateral leg and contralateral leg each having an open end; the tubular body comprising a bifurcation point between the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg, a distal ipsilateral leg portion and a distal contralateral leg portion; and a biocompatible material (22, 44) extending between the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg, wherein the biocompatible restrains movement of the contralateral leg with respect to the ipsilateral leg, and wherein the biocompatible material is substantially triangular-shaped (figure 9B, portions 104, 106 comprise triangular extensions. The limitation ‘substantially triangular-shaped is also sufficiently broad to encompass the shape of 9B).
Regarding claim 32, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 31, further comprising the step of causing at least a portion of the biocompatible material to separate (C:7, L:57-62).
Regarding claim 33, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 32, wherein a portion of the biocompatible material is separated by application of a displacement force (withdrawal of elongate retaining wire).
Regarding claim 34, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 31, wherein the biocompatible material comprises a plurality of connections (121, 1128, 104, 106, 116, 114).
Regarding claim 35, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 31, wherein the biocompatible material comprises a web portion (elongate retaining wire threaded through eyelets forms a web, figure 3B).
Regarding claim 36, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 35, wherein a distal edge of the web portion is curved (44 threaded between eyelets forming loops which are curved) to allow the ipsilateral leg and contralateral leg more relative independent movement as compared to a web without a curved distal edge.
Regarding claim 37, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 34, wherein each of the plurality of connections comprise a weakened portion (118, configured to allow separation of one portion of the biocompatible material from another portion of the biocompatible material, C:7, L:57-62)
Regarding claim 38, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 34, wherein each of the plurality of connections is shaped to allow more relative independent movement of distal portions of the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg (figure 9B, separate branch portions 104, 106 allow more independent mobility).
Regarding claim 39, Blaesar discloses a method comprising: separating a portion of a biocompatible material (44, 22) which forms a part of an endovascular device, wherein the device comprises: a main tubular body (24) having an open end and an opposed ipsilateral leg and contralateral leg (42, 40) defining a graft wall therein between, said ipsilateral leg and contralateral leg each having an open end; the biocompatible material extending between the ipsilateral leg and the contralateral leg; wherein the biocompatible material restrains movement of the contralateral leg with respect to the ipsilateral leg (C:3, L:50-56)..
Regarding claims 40, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 39, wherein a portion of the biocompatible material is separated by application of a displacement force (withdrawal of elongate retaining wire).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 25 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Blaesar (US 6514281) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Mayberry et al (US 20090259298).
Regarding claim 25, Blaeser discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 24, but does not specifically disclose the weakened portion comprises a tear line. However, Mayberry et al (hereafter Mayberry) teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention to include a plurality of perforations configured to tear portions of the tubular member of the main branch restraint to deploy the main branch portion when a release wire is proximally retracted (paragraph 0013). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the weakened portion to include a tear line in addition to the release wire as a known alternative deployment mechanism for the biocompatible material around the main tubular body at the time of the invention by Mayberry to propagate a tear along the side of the main branch sheath, since it has been held that mere substitution of art-recognized equivalents involves routine skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12336920. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent claim 1-15 recites the claimed method comprising the claimed main tubular body and biocompatible material (elongate release wire). Therefore, patent claims 1-15 are in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 21-40. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 21-40 are anticipated by patent claims 1-15, it is not patentably distinct from patent claims 1-15.
Conclusion
/ANH T DANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771