DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12346500 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as shown below which shows the pending claims are merely broader versions of the patented claims. Only claim mapping of claim 1 will be shown as the other two claims are similarly rejected.
Claim 1 of pending application
Claim 1 of Patent US 12346500 B1
A method comprising: collecting, by an electromyograph (EMG) communication device, a first set of EMG signals over a first time interval;
A method comprising: collecting, by an electromyograph (EMG) communication device used by a user, a first set of EMG signals over a first time interval;
generating a first plurality of features based on the first set of EMG signals;
generating a first plurality of features based on the first set of EMG signals;
generating a first probability associated with presence of inner speech by processing the first plurality of features with a machine learning (ML) model;
generating a first probability associated with presence of inner speech by processing the first plurality of features with a machine learning (ML) model;
comparing the first probability generated by the ML model to a specified threshold;
and detecting presence of the inner speech based on the first probability generated by the ML model.
and detecting presence of the inner speech of the user in response to determining that the first probability generated by the ML model transgresses the specified threshold.
Claims 2-20 of underlying application are similarly rejected over claims 2-20 of Patent 12346500 B1 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kothari et al. (US 20240221741 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kothari teaches a method comprising: collecting, by an electromyograph (EMG) communication device used by a user, a first set of EMG signals over a first time interval; (Para 7, 66. Fig. 3 wherein the plurality of sensors comprises: a plurality of EMG electrodes configured to record signals at a check of the user associated with movement of facial muscles of the user)
generating a first plurality of features based on the first set of EMG signals; (Para 56, 116: the first plurality of features are the signal used to determined presence of the silent speech which is partly based on EMG signals .)
generating a first probability associated with presence of inner speech by processing the first plurality of features with a machine learning (ML) model; (Para 116-117: In the standby 2 state, the machine learning model may also output a probability distribution of the likelihood the user is speaking words or phrases or has performed a speech related action.)
and detecting presence of the inner speech of the user based on the first probability generated by the ML model. (Para 116-117. In the standby 2 state, the machine learning model may also output a probability distribution of the likelihood the user is speaking words or phrases or has performed a speech related action.)
Regarding claim 19 and 20, refer to rejection for claim 1 as they are apparatus and product claim version of method claim 1 respectively. (Para 58 and 120 of Kothari discloses processor and memory).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothari et al. (US 20240221741 A1), further in view of Pan et al. (US 20230309864 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kothari already teaches the method of claim 1,
However Kothari does not teach further comprising: filtering the first set of EMG signals to reduce interference noise and to remove low frequency components of the first set of EMG signals.
However Pan teaches further comprising: filtering the first set of EMG signals to reduce interference noise and to remove low frequency components of the first set of EMG signals. (Para 61-63)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kothari with Pan to teach filtering the first set of EMG signals to reduce interference noise and to remove low frequency components of the first set of EMG signals in order to enhance the silent speech accuracy by filtering out undesirable signals.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothari et al. (US 20240221741 A1, provisionally filed 1/4/2023), further in view of Pan et al. (US 20230309864 A1), further in view of Caparso et al. (US 20240165411 A1, provisionally filed 11/23/2022 and 1/4/2023).
Regarding claim 6, Kothari and Pan already teach the method of claim 5,
However Kothari and Pan do not teach further comprising: generating the first plurality of features by extracting at least one of temporal or spectral features from the first set of EMG signals that have been filtered.
However Caparso teaches generating the first plurality of features by extracting at least one of temporal or spectral features from the first set of EMG signals that have been filtered. (Para 46)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kothari and Pan with Caparso to each generating the first plurality of features by extracting at least one of temporal or spectral features from the first set of EMG signals that have been filtered in order to analyze the change of EMG signals over time to detect silent speech occurrence.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothari et al. (US 20240221741 A1, provisionally filed 1/4/2023), further in view of Garg et al. (US 20240221738 A1, provisionally filed 01/04/2023)
Regarding claim 12, Kothari already teaches the method of claim 1,
However Kothari does not teach further comprising controlling an extended reality (XR) experience based on the detected inner speech.
However Garg teaches controlling an extended reality (XR) experience based on the detected inner speech. (Para 61, 69, 97-99)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kothari with Garg to teach comprising controlling an extended reality (XR) experience based on the detected inner speech in order further enhance the XR experience with silent speech input function.
Regarding claim 13, Kothari already teaches the method of claim 1,
However Kothari does not teach further comprising presenting an indication that inner speech has been detected in response to detecting presence of the inner speech.
However Garg teaches comprising presenting an indication that inner speech has been detected in response to detecting presence of the inner speech. (Para 67. The activation of the applications are the indication)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kothari with Garg to teach comprising presenting an indication that inner speech has been detected in response to detecting presence of the inner speech in order to further enhance the functionality of the device with voice activated functions.
Regarding claim 14,Kothari already teaches the method of claim 1, However Kothari does not teach further comprising activating a function of an interaction client in response to detecting the inner speech.
However Garg teaches activating a function of an interaction client in response to detecting the inner speech. (Para 61, 69, 97-99)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kothari with Garg to teach activating a function of an interaction client in response to detecting the inner speech in order further enhance the XR experience with silent speech input function.
Regarding claim 15, Kothari and Garg already teach the method of claim 14, and Garg further teaches wherein the function comprises capturing an image or video by a camera of a user system coupled to the EMG communication device. (Para 67. This means that the voice can be used to activate camera to take picture.)
Regarding claim 16, Kothari and Garg already teach the method of claim 15, and Garg further teaches wherein the user system comprises extended reality (XR) glasses. (Para 44)
Conclusion
/HANG LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626