DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. Claims 1-12 are pending and under examination on the merits.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement during the telephone call with Michael North on 08/24/2026, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Restrictions
2. Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-12, drawn to a mutagenesis process, classified in C12N 15/111.
II. Claims 13-20, drawn to a method for CRISPR-CAS9 gene editing within a plurality of cannabis cells, classified in C12N 2310/20.
3. The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related processes. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect. The process of Invention I can be practiced by employing ethyl methanesulfonate (EMS) mutagenesis, T-DNA insertion, and/or site-directed nucleases. The process of Invention II requires CRISPR-CAS9.
4. Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
and/or the inventions are likely to raise non-prior art issues, such as non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a), which issues would be relevant to one invention, but not the other(s).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
5. During a telephone conversation with Michael North on 08/24/2026 a provisional election was made to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-12, directed to a mutagenesis process. No traversal was made during the telephone conversation. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Priority
6. The Office acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s domestic priority document provisional Application No. 63/654,846 filed May 31, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
7. No Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been received for consideration by the Office.
Specification
8. The disclosure is objected to because of the following:
[0011], ln. 6 contains a grammatical error; it is suggested “however not limited to” be amended to “however are not limited to” for grammatical correctness. See also: [0012], ln. 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
9. Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following:
It is recommended Applicant amend “an organism’s phenotype” in lns. 9-10 to “the organism’s phenotype” to clarify that the organism being assessed is the same organism transformed in ln. 6.
Dependent claims are included. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
11. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claim 1 are indefinite because it is unclear how the “target gene” relates to the mutagenesis process. It is unclear if the DNA extracted from the organism is required to contain the target gene. It is unclear if the target gene is required to be mutated by the mutagenesis method recited in ln. 4. It is unclear how or if the target gene is to be modified at all.
The scope of claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what is encompassed by a target gene having a function that is relevant to a mutagenesis process. How does said function relate to the mutagenesis process? Is said function required for mutagenesis?
The metes and bounds of claim 1 are unclear because claim 1 is directed to a mutagenesis process that does not appear to require a mutagenesis step. Lns. 4-5 recite identifying a mutagenesis method resulting in at least one mutation but does not recite mutagenizing any DNA. Identifying a mutagenesis method is distinct from performing mutagenesis.
The scope of claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what is encompassed by the recitation of “an increase in cannabis females within the organism.” Applicant does not provide an instant definition for the term “the”, therefore, the term “the” is interpreted to refer to a single subject. A single cannabis organism does not comprise multiple females but may comprise multiple female plant parts. Similarly, the recitation of “the cannabis females” in claim 2 is also indefinite. It is unclear if the claim is restricted to a cannabis plant or some organism comprising “cannabis females”. Furthermore, it is unclear if the claimed process is restricted to cannabis or can be practiced with other organisms. The claim recites some generic organism in lns. 3, 5-6, 9, and 11; cannabis is not recited until the final line of the claim.
The scope of claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what is encompassed by the recitation of “intended genetic changes”. It is unclear what genetic changes are intended. The specification does not provide a definition or list of “intended genetic changes”. It is unclear what features would distinguish such “intended” changes from those unintended by Applicant.
The metes and bounds of claim 1 are unclear because it is unclear what, if any, difference there is between the presence and/or nature of the at least one mutation introduced to the DNA and the “corresponding intended genetic changes”. Though the recitation of “intended genetic changes” is unclear, a mutation is a change in a gene/nucleic acid sequence. Therefore, the nature of the at least one mutation is that of a genetic change.
Dependent claims are included. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
13. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the reasons discussed above in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The description of the claimed invention is indefinite and does not comprise sufficient structure to convey possession of the claimed invention. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 1 is interpreted to be directed to a mutagenesis process comprising selecting a target gene having a function of interest; extracting DNA from an organism for further processing; identifying and performing a mutagenesis method on the DNA, wherein the mutagenesis method results in at least one mutation to the DNA; introducing the mutated DNA into a host organism; and assessing an impact of the at least one mutation on one or more of the organism’s phenotype, biochemical pathways, or overall fitness, wherein the impact relates to an increase in cannabis female parts, organs, and/or structures within the organism.
The claims all require selecting a targeting gene, extracting DNA from an organism, identifying a mutagenesis method, introducing mutated DNA into a host organism’s cells, and assessing the impact of the mutation on an organism. Though ln. 11 recites cannabis females, the claimed mutagenesis process is not limited to and does not require cannabis. The claims are broadly directed to a method of mutagenizing an “organism”. Therefore, the claims encompass all organisms.
It is also unclear what function is required by the claim. The recitation of an impact which “relates” to an increase in cannabis females is broad. Applicant has provided no definition or bounds by which to assess what factors do and do not relate to an increase in cannabis females. The Office notes that the recitation does not require the impact result in or cause an increase in cannabis female organs and/or parts. Accordingly, an impact which relates to an increase in cannabis female organs and/or parts encompasses any impact which affects cannabis female organs and/or parts. The Office further notes the claim does not require the transformation or mutagenesis of cannabis only some generic “organism”. Furthermore, the claims do not actually require that the one or more mutations cause an impact on an organism’s phenotype, only that the organism be assessed for some impact. Therefore, claims encompass any and all impacts resulting from the recited mutagenesis.
Accordingly, the claims encompass any process of mutagenizing any organism wherein said process comprises introducing mutated DNA into an organism and assessing the effects of said introduction. Thus, the claims are extremely broad.
Applicant does not disclose working examples describing any mutagenized organisms or organisms that have undergone any mutagenesis process.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Applicant has not demonstrated actual reduction to practice, disclosed any number of relevant, identifying characteristics, disclosed any functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or disclosed any combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
Accordingly, claim 1 lacks adequate written description.
Dependent claims 2-12 do not provide sufficient additional structure to remedy the deficiencies of the independent claim as described above. Accordingly, claims 2-12 also lack adequate written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
15. Claims 1-2 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Thomas et al. (US-2022/0356482-A1, published 11/10/2022 (A)).
Claim 1 is indefinite for the reasons discussed above in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Because some claim limitations are unclear, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Thomas et al. (US-2022/0356482-A1, published 11/10/2022 (A)). For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 1 is herein interpreted to be directed to a mutagenesis process comprising selecting a target gene having a function of interest; extracting DNA from an organism for further processing; identifying and performing a mutagenesis method on the DNA, wherein the mutagenesis method results in at least one mutation to the DNA; introducing the mutated DNA into a host organism; and assessing an impact of the at least one mutation on one or more of the organism’s phenotype, biochemical pathways, or overall fitness.
Regarding claim 1, Thomas teaches a mutagenesis process comprising selecting a target gene having a function of interest (e.g., the flower sex locus (FSL), the gibberellic acid insensitive (GAI1) gene, and/or VvMADS5 locus)[0016],[0040],[0048]; extracting DNA from an organism for further processing, identifying a mutagenesis method based at least in part on the DNA extracted from the organism, the mutagenesis method resulting in at least one mutation to the DNA, and introducing the mutated DNA into a host organism’s cell or cells[0020-0022],[0040-0044]; assessing an impact of the at least one mutation on one or more of an organism’s phenotype, biochemical pathways, or overall fitness[0033],[0039],[0045],[0055-0059]; and wherein the impact relates to an increase in cannabis female organs, plant parts, or structures within the organism[0005-0009],[0030-0033],[0060],[0065].
The recitation of an impact which “relates” to an increase in cannabis females is broad. Applicant has provided no definition or bounds by which to assess what factors do and do not relate to an increase in cannabis females. The Office notes that the recitation does not actually require the impact result in or cause an increase in “cannabis females”, female organs, and/or female parts. Accordingly, an impact which relates to an increase in cannabis female organs and/or parts encompasses any impact which affects cannabis female organs and/or parts. The Office further notes the claim does not require the transformation or mutagenesis of cannabis only some generic “organism”. Furthermore, the claims do not actually require that the one or more mutations cause an impact on an organism’s phenotype, only that the organism be assessed for some impact. Therefore, in teaching a process for impacting the production of female flowers in dioecious species including cannabis[0003-0005], Thomas anticipates and/or renders obvious this claim limitation.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high. The Office notes that the extraction, mutagenesis, and identification of DNA is routine in the art and obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art as indicated by Thomas[0334-0340]. Additionally, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to assess the impact of transforming such a DNA molecule into an organism of interest. Accordingly claim 1 is anticipated by and/or rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Thomas.
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Thomas teaches treating the cannabis with exogenous compounds[0008],[0022],[0289],[0302],[0307-0309].
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Thomas teaches a transformation process[0178],[0227],[0286-0287],[0322-0323],[0329].
Regarding claim 7, Thomas teaches transfection[0022].
Regarding claims 8 and 12, in addition to the teachings discussed above, the processes taught by Thomas are biological. For example, Thomas describes “biologically active” fragments of polypeptides[0018].
Regarding claim 9, in addition to the teachings discussed above, the methods taught by Thomas correlate to the generation of desired mutations (e.g., flower sex phenotype)[0094],[0275],[0280].
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Thomas teaches a chemical mutagen[0349].
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Thomas teaches physical methods that cause DNA damage that leads to mutations during repair. Applicant has not provided a definition for “physical methods” and the recitation is broad. CRISPR/Cas9 introduces mutations into DNA by physically breaking the bonds between strands of the DNA backbone to introduce a double-strand break.
Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Thomas et al. (US-2022/0356482-A1, published 11/10/2022 (A)). This rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 because the scope of the claims is so undefined, it is unclear exactly which steps and components are required in the claimed process.
16. Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (US-2022/0356482-A1, published 11/10/2022 (A)) as applied to claims 1-2 and 6-12 above, further in view of Hahm et al. (Agronomy 2023, 13(6), 1497 (U)), and further in view of Flajšman et al. (Front. Plant Sci. 2021; 12:718092 (V)).
The teachings of Thomas are as discussed above.
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Thomas teaches the practical application of gibberellins to plants to control or alter flower sex[0008]. Thomas does not teach reducing the amount of gibberellic acid produced.
Hahm teaches that treatment with diniconazole promotes the yield of female hemp (Cannabis sativa) inflorescence and cannabinoids in a vertical farming system (Title); that diniconazole treatment increased the production of female hemp inflorescences as well as major cannabinoids (Abstract); that diniconazole is suitable for use in a vertical farming system (Abstract); and that cannabis has been gaining global attention for its applications in both agriculture and industry as the plant becomes legalized (Abstract; Introduction, first paragraph).
Flajšman teaches that cannabinoids are increasingly important pharmaceuticals that are produced in the trichomes on flower bracts of female inflorescences in cannabis (“Introduction”, first paragraph); several genes involved in cannabis sex determination (p. 02, first full paragraph); that the ratio of phytohormones plays a crucial role in sex expression in cannabis (p. 02, second full paragraph); that treatment with gibberellic acid affects sex expression in cannabis and induces the development of male flowers on female plants (Abstract); the gene gibberellic acid insensitive (GAI), which encodes a gene required for sensitivity to gibberellic acid (p. 02, first full paragraph). It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to target the GA1 gene taught by Flajšman with the dsRNA method taught by Thomas to reduce expression of GA1 and reduce sensitivity to gibberellic acid; and suggests that manipulation of sex expression is of paramount importance in breeding medical cannabis, since only genetically and phenotypically female plants are used in commercial cultivation (p. 08, Discussion, first paragraph).
The combination of Thomas, Hahm, and Flajšman renders obvious a mutagenesis process wherein an organism is treated with exogenous diniconazole to reduce the amount of gibberellic acid produced.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high as evidenced by Thomas, Hahm, and Flajšman. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the diniconazole taught by Hahm to inhibit the reduce the amount of gibberellic acid produced in an organism. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the GA1 gene taught by Flajšman with CRISPR/Cas9 methodology disclosed by Thomas to reduce the amount of gibberellic acid produced in a cannabis plant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because controlling cannabis flower sex has increasing medical and economic importance as discussed by both Thomas and Hahm. Hahm discloses that diniconazole is both suitable for vertical farming and increases the development of favorable traits in cannabis. Flajšman also teaches that the ratio of phytohormones plays a crucial role in sex expression in cannabis; that treatment with gibberellic acid affects sex expression in cannabis and induces the development of male flowers on female plants; and suggests that manipulation of sex expression is of paramount importance in breeding medical cannabis, since only genetically and phenotypically female plants are used in commercial cultivation. Therefore, each of Thomas, Hahm, and Flajšman provide sufficient motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to alter the ratio of male-to-female flowers in a cannabis plant. The Office also notes that the claims do not require an increase in the number females, female parts, or female organs, only that the impact relate to an increase in female parts and/or organs. Because neither the claims nor specification provide any definition limiting the relationship between the impact and the increase in female parts and/or organs, the claim encompasses both negative and positive relationships. Therefore, the claims encompass impacts that negatively relate to an increase in female parts and/or organs as well as impacts that positively relate to an increase in female parts and/or organs.
Regarding claim 4-5, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Thomas teaches mutagenesis and CRISPR[0239].
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce the claimed invention without any surprising and/or unexpected results.
Conclusion
17. No claim is allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/DEQUANTARIUS JAVON SPEED/Junior Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/MATTHEW R KEOGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663