DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5-11, and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,351,069 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences merely recite obvious variations in the arrangement, implementation, and operation of the same battery-pack, DCDC-converter, and vehicle electrical architecture, yielding predictable results.
Claims of Instant Application
Claims of US patent 12,351,069
1. A battery pack for a vehicle, the battery pack comprising: one or more batteries configured to provide a first voltage; first circuitry configured to provide access to the first voltage from the one or more batteries by a drive component of the vehicle; a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter configured to receive the first voltage and to provide a second voltage, lower than the first voltage, to a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle; and a second DCDC converter configured to receive the first voltage and to provide the second voltage, lower than the first voltage, to a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle.
1. A battery pack for a vehicle, the battery pack comprising: one or more batteries configured to provide a first voltage, the one or more batteries comprising a first battery subassembly and a second battery subassembly; first circuitry configured to provide access to the first voltage from the one or more batteries by a drive component of the vehicle; and second circuitry configured to receive the first voltage from the one or more batteries and to provide access to a second voltage, lower than the first voltage, by one or more electrical components of the vehicle, the second circuitry comprising a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter and a second DCDC converter, wherein: the first DCDC converter is configured to receive the first voltage from the first battery subassembly and is electrically isolated from the second battery subassembly, and the second DCDC converter is configured to receive the first voltage from the second battery subassembly and is electrically isolated from the first battery subassembly.
6. The battery pack of claim 3, wherein the second circuitry further comprises control circuitry for operating one or more of the electrical components that are located in a zone of the vehicle.
7. The battery pack of claim 6, wherein the zone comprises a rear zone of the vehicle, and wherein the second circuitry is further configured to provide the second voltage to one or more zone controllers, external to the battery pack, for operating one or more additional electrical components located in one or more other zones of the vehicle.
8. The battery pack of claim 6, wherein control circuitry comprises: first control circuitry coupled with the first DCDC converter and configured to operate a first subset of the one or more electrical components; and second control circuitry coupled with the second DCDC converter and configured to operate a second subset of the one or more electrical components.
Claims 2-8
Claims 2, 3, 5-11
9. A vehicle, comprising: a drive component; a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle; a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle; one or more batteries configured to provide a first voltage; first circuitry configured to provide access to the first voltage from the one or more batteries by the drive component; a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter configured to receive the first voltage and to provide a second voltage, lower than the first voltage, to the first controller; and a second DCDC converter configured to receive the first voltage and to provide the second voltage, lower than the first voltage, to the second controller.
1. A battery pack for a vehicle, the battery pack comprising: one or more batteries configured to provide a first voltage, the one or more batteries comprising a first battery subassembly and a second battery subassembly; first circuitry configured to provide access to the first voltage from the one or more batteries by a drive component of the vehicle; and second circuitry configured to receive the first voltage from the one or more batteries and to provide access to a second voltage, lower than the first voltage, by one or more electrical components of the vehicle, the second circuitry comprising a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter and a second DCDC converter, wherein: the first DCDC converter is configured to receive the first voltage from the first battery subassembly and is electrically isolated from the second battery subassembly, and the second DCDC converter is configured to receive the first voltage from the second battery subassembly and is electrically isolated from the first battery subassembly.
Claims 6-8
Claims 12-18
Claims 2, 3, 5-11
19. A method, comprising: providing a first voltage from a battery of a vehicle to a propulsion component of the vehicle; and providing, while providing the first voltage from the battery to the propulsion component, the first voltage to a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter and a second DCDC converter of the vehicle; providing, a second voltage, lower than the first voltage, from the first DCDC converter to a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle; and providing the second voltage, lower than the first voltage, from the second DCDC converter to a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle.
17. A method, comprising: providing a first voltage from a battery comprising a first battery subassembly and a second battery subassembly of a vehicle to a propulsion component of the vehicle; receiving the first voltage at a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter from the first battery subassembly, wherein the first DCDC converter is electrically isolated from the second battery subassembly; receiving the first voltage at a second DCDC converter from the second battery subassembly, wherein the second DCDC converter is electrically isolated from the first battery subassembly; and providing, while providing the first voltage from the battery to the propulsion component, a second voltage, lower than the first voltage, from the at least one of the first DCDC converter or the second DCDC converter to an electronic component of the vehicle.Claims 6-8
Claim 20
Claims 17-18
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,351,069.
Patent claim 1 recites a battery pack having one or more batteries providing a first voltage, first circuitry providing access to the first voltage by a drive component, and first and second DCDC converters receiving the first voltage and providing a lower second voltage. Patent claims 6 and 8 further recite zonal operation and first and second control circuitry associated with the first and second DCDC converters and configured to operate respective subsets of electrical components.
Instant claim 1 differs from the patented claims principally in expressly reciting that the first DCDC converter provides the second voltage to a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle, and that the second DCDC converter provides the second voltage to a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle.
However, this difference does not render instant claim 1 patentably distinct. The patented claims already provide first and second DCDC converters for supplying the lower second voltage, together with first and second control circuitry for operating electrical components in different portions or zones of the vehicle. It would have been an obvious variation of the patented subject matter to provide the output of each respective DCDC converter to a respective controller associated with a respective vehicle zone, because doing so merely associates the separately claimed DCDC power supplies with the respective zonal control circuitry already claimed in the patent, yielding the predictable result of independently supplying and controlling electrical components associated with the respective vehicle zones.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,351,069.
Patent claim 1 recites the battery pack and its first and second voltage architecture, while patent claim 11 further recites that, when the battery pack is implemented in the vehicle, the vehicle is free of a low voltage battery separate from the one or more batteries of the battery pack.
Instant claim 11 differs in reciting this limitation as part of a vehicle depending from instant vehicle claim 9 and in specifying that the vehicle is free of any separate batteries “capable of directly providing the second voltage.”
However, these differences do not render instant claim 11 patentably distinct. Patent claim 11 already claims implementation of the battery pack in a vehicle that is free of a separate low-voltage battery. Characterizing the absent low-voltage battery according to its capability of directly providing the second voltage merely expresses the function that such an omitted low-voltage battery would ordinarily perform and does not establish a materially different electrical architecture. Likewise, claiming the vehicle containing the patented battery-pack arrangement rather than the battery pack itself does not impart patentable distinctness where the patented claim already expressly defines the battery pack according to its implementation in that same vehicle environment.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 and 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,351,069.
Patent claim 17 recites a method including providing a first voltage from a battery to a propulsion component, providing the first voltage to first and second DCDC converters while providing the first voltage to the propulsion component, and providing a second voltage lower than the first voltage from at least one of the first or second DCDC converters to an electronic component of the vehicle. Patent claims 6-8 additionally establish the patented zonal electrical architecture, including control circuitry associated with DCDC converters and configured to operate subsets of vehicle electrical components.
Instant claim 19 differs principally in requiring the lower second voltage to be provided specifically from the first DCDC converter to a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle and from the second DCDC converter to a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle, rather than more generally providing the lower voltage from at least one DCDC converter to an electronic component.
However, this difference does not render instant claim 19 patentably distinct. The patented claims already establish both the method of simultaneously supplying the propulsion system and the first and second DCDC converters from the battery and a vehicle architecture employing separate control circuitry for different vehicle portions or zones. It would have been an obvious implementation of that patented method to provide the lower voltage from each of the two DCDC converters to the respective controller associated with a respective vehicle zone, because this merely applies the patented dual-DCDC power architecture to the patented zonal-control architecture according to their established functions, with the predictable result of supplying the respective zonal controllers with the lower operating voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spjuth et al. (US 2022/0274488 A1) in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2023/0406245 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Spjuth teaches a battery pack for a vehicle comprising: one or more batteries configured to provide a first voltage [see Fig. 2; para. 0030, battery groups 206 and 208 can be groups of a single battery pack and can provide a high voltage such as 800 V, 600 V, 400 V, or 200 V, including a voltage suitable for propulsion of an electric vehicle]; first circuitry configured to provide access to the first voltage from the one or more batteries by a drive component of the vehicle [see Fig. 3; para. 0037, switches 310 and/or 312 selectively couple or decouple battery groups 206 and/or 208 from high-voltage loads, including loads for propulsion of vehicle 316] Spjuth further teaches a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter configured to receive the first voltage and provide a second voltage lower than the first voltage [see Figs. 2-3; para. 0030, DCDC converter 210 is connected to battery group 206 and converts the high voltage thereof to the low voltage of cluster 214]; and a second DCDC converter configured to receive the first voltage and provide the second voltage lower than the first voltage [see Figs. 2-3; para. 0030, DCDC converter 212 is connected to battery group 208 and converts the high voltage thereof to the low voltage of cluster 216; para. 0036, clusters 214 and 216 can comprise the same voltage, e.g., 12 V, 14 V, 24 V, or 48 V].
However, Spjuth does not expressly teach that the first DCDC converter provides the second voltage to a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle, while the second DCDC converter provides the second voltage to a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle, as claimed.
In an analogous art Fuchs teaches a vehicle having a zone architecture including a plurality of different vehicle zones, including a front region zone 12, right-hand cabin zone 14, left-hand cabin zone 16, and rear region zone 18 [see Fig. 1; para. 0012-0016]. Fuchs teaches that the vehicle includes a number of zone controllers [see para. 0017] and expressly teaches separate zone controllers implemented in the cabin and rear zones for safety-related consumers [see para. 0004]. Fuchs further teaches supplying electrical power to the right-hand cabin, left-hand cabin, and rear region zones from a power distribution arrangement [see para. 0007], with consumers disposed within the respective zones and connected to corresponding vehicle networks [see para. 0018-0019]. Fuchs's Fig. 1 visually confirms the spatially separated zone-controller arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Spjuth's separated low-voltage distribution paths such that cluster 214, supplied by first DCDC converter 210, supplies a first controller associated with a first vehicle zone, and cluster 216, supplied by second DCDC converter 212, supplies a second controller associated with a second vehicle zone, as taught by Fuchs. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make such a modification to apply Spjuth's separated, fault-tolerant low-voltage power supply architecture to Fuchs's known zonal vehicle architecture, thereby providing localized power and control distribution while reducing wiring complexity and maintaining independent supply paths for improved availability and fault isolation. Spjuth expressly teaches separated power-supply sources and distribution systems to facilitate fault tolerance, safety, availability, and independence between power-supply sections. Fuchs likewise identifies complex cabling/wiring harnesses as a drawback of conventional architectures and teaches spatially differentiated zones with separate zone controllers and reliable electrical power supply to the zones.
Regarding claim 9, Spjuth teaches a vehicle comprising: a drive component [see (Fig. 3; para. 0037) switches 310 and/or 312 selectively couple battery groups 206 and/or 208 to high-voltage loads, including loads for propulsion of vehicle 316]; one or more batteries configured to provide a first voltage [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0022, 0030; claims 7-8) battery groups 206 and 208 may be groups of a single battery pack and may each provide the same high voltage, including an embodiment wherein both battery groups comprise 800 V and another embodiment wherein both battery groups comprise 400 V]; and first circuitry configured to provide access to the first voltage from the one or more batteries by the drive component [see (Fig. 3; para. 0037) switches 310 and/or 312 selectively couple or decouple battery groups 206 and/or 208 from high-voltage loads, including loads for propulsion of vehicle 316]. Spjuth expressly teaches that the battery groups may form part of a single battery pack and may be series or parallel connected.
Spjuth further teaches a first direct-current-to-direct-current (DCDC) converter configured to receive the first voltage and to provide a second voltage, lower than the first voltage [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0023, 0030; claims 2-3, 7-8) DCDC converter 210 is connected to battery group 206 and converts the high voltage thereof to the lower voltage of cluster 214]; and a second DCDC converter configured to receive the first voltage and to provide the second voltage, lower than the first voltage [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0023, 0030, 0036; claims 4-8) DCDC converter 212 is connected to battery group 208 and converts the high voltage thereof to the lower voltage of cluster 216]. Spjuth expressly teaches embodiments wherein battery groups 206 and 208 provide the same high voltage, including both battery groups comprising 800 V or both comprising 400 V, and further teaches that clusters 214 and 216 can comprise the same lower voltage, including 12 V, 14 V, 24 V, or 48 V.
However, Spjuth does not expressly teach a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle and a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle, wherein the first DCDC converter provides the second voltage to the first controller and the second DCDC converter provides the second voltage to the second controller.
In an analogous art Fuchs teaches a vehicle having a plurality of spatially differentiated vehicle zones, including a front region zone 12, a right-hand cabin zone 14, a left-hand cabin zone 16, and a rear region zone 18 [see (Fig. 1; para. 0003, 0012-0017; claim 8)]. Fuchs further teaches that each of the vehicle zones includes a defined number of zone controllers [see (para. 0003-0005, 0017; claim 8)], and that separate zone controllers may be implemented in the cabin and rear zones for safety-related consumers [see (para. 0004-0005)]. Fuchs further teaches an electrical power-distribution arrangement wherein an electrical power distributor supplies electrical power to the right-hand cabin zone 14, left-hand cabin zone 16, and rear region zone 18 [see (Fig. 1; para. 0007)], and wherein power source 30 may comprise a DCDC converter [see (para. 0006, 0020; claim 12)]. Fuchs also teaches that the cabin and rear zones may be supplied from the front region zone through a channel and electronic switches [see (claim 13)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Spjuth's first and second separately supplied low-voltage distribution paths according to Fuchs's zonal-controller architecture, such that cluster 214, supplied by first DCDC converter 210, supplies a first controller located in a first vehicle zone, and cluster 216, supplied by second DCDC converter 212, supplies a second controller located in a second vehicle zone. Such a modification would have predictably applied Fuchs's known zonal-controller organization to Spjuth's separated low-voltage supply branches in order to localize power and control distribution, reduce wiring complexity, and maintain separated supply paths for improved availability and fault isolation [see (Spjuth, para. 0029-0031, 0036; Fuchs, para. 0002-0009, 0012-0017, 0020-0026; claims 8, 12-14)].
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above, Spjuth further teaches wherein the vehicle is free of any batteries, separate from the one or more batteries, capable of providing the second voltage.
Spjuth teaches a vehicle battery architecture that does not employ a low-voltage battery and explains that separated power supply sources and/or separated distribution systems provide a fault-tolerant power-supply structure “without utilizing low voltage batteries” [see (para. 0029)]. Spjuth further describes electric-vehicle battery architectures that do not employ a low-voltage battery and teaches satisfying low-voltage loads without comprising a low-voltage battery [see (para. 0002-0005)]. Thus, Spjuth teaches supplying the vehicle's low-voltage loads with the second voltage produced from the high-voltage battery architecture without a separate battery capable of directly providing that second voltage.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above, Fuchs further teaches wherein the first zone comprises a west zone of the vehicle and the second zone comprises an east zone of the vehicle.
Fuchs teaches a vehicle having spatially differentiated zones, including a right-hand cabin zone 14 and a left-hand cabin zone 16 positioned on opposing lateral portions of the vehicle, with the vehicle zones including zone controllers [see Fig. 1; para. 0012-0017; claim 8].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to designate the opposing lateral vehicle zones of Fuchs as respective west and east zones, because assigning directional designations to Fuchs's already spatially differentiated opposing vehicle zones would have been a predictable implementation that does not alter the disclosed zonal electrical architecture or operation of the zone controllers.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. Fuchs further teaches wherein the first controller is configured to operate a first set of electrical components in the first zone, wherein the second controller is configured to operate a second set of electrical components in the second zone, and wherein the second set of components includes at least one electrical component that is not included in the first set of electrical components.
Fuchs teaches a zonal vehicle electrical architecture having spatially differentiated zones, each including zone controllers [see Fig. 1; para. 0003-0005, 0012-0017; claim 8]. Fuchs further teaches electrical consumers disposed in different vehicle zones, including consumers 20 and 22 in the front and rear zones, and teaches a plurality of switches in each zone, whereby individual consumers or small groups of consumers can be selectively disconnected from safety-related consumers [see para. 0018, 0026]. In particular, Fuchs identifies separate zone controllers for different zones and consumers located in respective zones.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the respective zone controllers of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination to operate respective sets of electrical components associated with their respective zones, such that the second set includes at least one electrical component that is not included in the first set, because Fuchs teaches separate zone controllers and consumers arranged according to spatial vehicle zones. Such a configuration would predictably reduce network and wiring complexity and permit selective isolation of individual consumers or consumer groups while maintaining availability of other consumers [see Fuchs para. 0002-0005, 0009, 0018, 0026].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above, Spjuth further teaches further comprising a switching mechanism configured to switchably connect the first controller between the first and second DCDC converters and to switchably connect the second controller between the first and second DCDC converters.
Spjuth teaches first DCDC converter 210 supplying cluster 214 and second DCDC converter 212 supplying cluster 216, wherein the separated power-supply sources and separated distribution systems provide a fault-tolerant power-supply architecture [see Fig. 2; para. 0029-0030]. Spjuth further teaches that critical systems can be supplied from more than one cluster and specifically teaches load 226 connected to both cluster 214 and cluster 216 such that failure of either cluster does not result in loss of power to load 226 [see Fig. 2; para. 0031].
Spjuth additionally teaches a switch-controlled distribution architecture in which DCDC converters 210 and 306 can both be connected to battery group 206 and cluster 214 via one or more switches 318, while DCDC converters 212 and 308 can both be connected to battery group 208 and cluster 216 via one or more switches 320. Spjuth further teaches that switch 318 can be directly connected to DCDC converter 210, DCDC converter 306, and/or loads on cluster 214, while switch 320 can be directly connected to DCDC converter 212, DCDC converter 308, and/or loads on cluster 216, and that switches 318 and 320 may each represent a plurality of switches connected to loads or clusters [see Fig. 3; para. 0034]. Spjuth further teaches that DCDC converter 210 may comprise or be coupled to a power-distribution module having one or more switches configured to output current to loads [see para. 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Spjuth’s redundant switch-controlled power-distribution arrangement to the first and second zone controllers of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination, such that each controller is switchably connectable to the low-voltage supply path associated with either DCDC converter 210 or DCDC converter 212. Such a configuration would predictably provide redundant power access to each controller so that failure of one supply cluster or associated distribution path would not result in loss of power to the corresponding controller, consistent with Spjuth’s stated fault-tolerance, safety, and availability objectives [see Spjuth para. 0029-0031, 0034, 0036].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. Fuchs further teaches a first set of electrical components in the first zone; and a second set of electrical components in the second zone, wherein the second set of components includes at least one electrical component that is not included in the first set of electrical components, wherein the first controller is configured to operate the first set of electrical components in the first zone, and wherein the second controller is configured to operate the second set of electrical components in the second zone.
Fuchs teaches a zonal vehicle electrical architecture having spatially differentiated front region, right-hand cabin, left-hand cabin, and rear region zones having respective zone controllers [see Fig. 1; para. 0003-0005, 0012-0017]. Fuchs further teaches consumers for implementing vehicle functions located in different zones, including consumers 20 in front zone 12 and consumers 22 in rear region zone 18 [see Fig. 1; para. 0018; claim 9]. Fuchs additionally teaches separate zone controllers for safety-related consumers and a plurality of switches in each zone whereby individual consumers or small groups of consumers can be selectively disconnected [see para. 0004-0005, 0009, 0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the respective zone controllers of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination to operate respective sets of electrical components associated with their respective zones, such that the second set includes at least one electrical component that is not included in the first set, because Fuchs teaches separate zone controllers and consumers arranged according to spatial vehicle zones. Such a configuration would predictably reduce network and wiring complexity and permit selective isolation of individual consumers or consumer groups while maintaining availability of other consumers [see Fuchs para. 0002-0005, 0009, 0018, 0026].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. Spjuth further teaches wherein the at least one electrical component that is not included in the first set of electrical components comprises at least one of: a washer pump motor, a horn component, a rear view mirror control, a frunk lighting component, a frunk component actuator, an accent lighting component, a sensor, or an oil pump.
Spjuth teaches sensor 110, which may comprise a voltmeter, current sensor, position sensor, pressure sensor, force or bump sensor, vibration sensor, optical sensor, microphone, proximity sensor, or other sensor [see para. 0021]. Spjuth further teaches that its clusters comprise vehicle loads, including steering control, climate control, power windows, power locks, communications or entertainment equipment, safety features or components, lighting systems or components, and other vehicle loads [see para. 0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include at least one sensor among the second set of electrical components operated by the second controller in the second zone of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination, because Spjuth teaches sensors as vehicle electrical components and Fuchs teaches electrical components allocated among respective spatial vehicle zones and associated zone controllers. Such an arrangement would predictably provide localized sensing and control for electrical components associated with the respective vehicle zone.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. Spjuth further teaches a switching mechanism configured to switchably connect the first controller between the first and second DCDC converters and to switchably connect the second controller between the first and second DCDC converters.
Spjuth teaches separated power-supply sources and separated distribution systems configured to provide a fault-tolerant power-supply architecture [see para. 0029]. Spjuth further teaches first DCDC converter 210 supplying cluster 214 and second DCDC converter 212 supplying cluster 216, and teaches that load 226 can be connected to both clusters such that failure of either cluster does not result in loss of power to load 226 [see Fig. 2; para. 0030-0031].
Spjuth further teaches switches 318 and 320 associated with respective converter and cluster paths. Switch 318 may be directly connected to DCDC converters 210 and 306 and one or more loads on cluster 214, while switch 320 may be directly connected to DCDC converters 212 and 308 and one or more loads on cluster 216. Spjuth further teaches that switches 318 and 320 may each represent a plurality of switches connected to one or more loads or clusters [see Fig. 3; para. 0034]. Spjuth additionally teaches that DCDC converter 210 may comprise or be coupled to a power-distribution module having one or more switches configured to output current to one or more loads [see para. 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the switching arrangement of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination such that each of the first and second controllers is switchably connectable to either of the first and second DCDC converters. Such a configuration would predictably provide redundant power access to each controller so that failure of a supply cluster or associated distribution path would not result in loss of power to the corresponding controller, consistent with Spjuth’s fault-tolerant power-distribution architecture.
Claim(s) 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spjuth et al. (US 2022/0274488 A1) in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2023/0406245 A1) further in view of Ohkura et al. (US 2011/0159336 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. Spjuth further teaches that the first and second DCDC converters are configured to provide redundant access to the second voltage by one or more electrical components of the vehicle [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0030-0031) first DCDC converter 210 supplies low-voltage cluster 214 and second DCDC converter 212 supplies low-voltage cluster 216, wherein load 226 is connected to both clusters 214 and 216 such that failure of either cluster does not result in load 226 losing power], thereby providing redundant access to the low second voltage through the respective DCDC-fed clusters.
However, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs does not expressly teach that the first circuitry comprises a high voltage connector and a contactor disposed between the one or more batteries and the high voltage connector.
In analogous art, Ohkura teaches a battery system including battery modules 100A-100D, contactor 102, and HV (High Voltage) connector 520 [see (Fig. 36; para. 0253, 0255-0261)]. Ohkura specifically teaches that the high-potential electrode 10c of battery module 100A is connected to voltage terminal V1 of HV connector 520 through power supply line 501 via contactor 102, and that the low-potential electrode 10d of battery module 100D is likewise connected to voltage terminal V2 of HV connector 520 through power supply line 501 via contactor 102 [see (para. 0261)], thereby teaching a high voltage connector and a contactor disposed between the one or more batteries and the high voltage connector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery circuitry of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination to include Ohkura’s high-voltage connector and contactor arrangement, to provide controlled connection and disconnection between the battery groups and a high-voltage connector that interfaces with the high-voltage vehicle load, and to improve maintenance safety. Ohkura teaches that turning off contactor 102 cuts off the current path and provides a high degree of safety during maintenance [see (para. 0260)].
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spjuth et al. (US 2022/0274488 A1) in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2023/0406245 A1) further in view of Prasad et al. (US 2024/0243596 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. However, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the one or more batteries are disposed within a frame of an energy volume of a battery pack, and wherein the first circuitry, the first DCDC converter, and the second DCDC converter are disposed within a modular enclosure attached to the frame of the energy volume.
In an analogous art, Prasad teaches a rechargeable energy storage system including multiple battery cell modules 12 and multiple DC/DC converters 16, wherein the DC/DC converters may be integrated into the rechargeable energy storage system [see para. 0033]. Prasad further teaches that multiple DC/DC converters may be placed together in a central converter housing and that a centralized converter enclosure may house multiple unidirectional and/or bidirectional DC/DC converters [see para. 0034-0035, 0044]. Prasad further teaches that the DC/DC converter housing may be part of the rechargeable energy storage system, including in the same area of the vehicle as the rechargeable energy storage system [see para. 0056].
Prasad additionally teaches converter housing 18 containing multiple DC/DC converters 16 associated with battery cell modules 12, and alternative converter housings 17 and 19 containing respective groups of DC/DC converters 16 as part of rechargeable energy storage system 21 [see Figs. 1-2; para. 0057-0073]. Prasad further teaches centralized packaging and thermal management of multiple DC/DC converters within a converter housing, including a central thermal management module and common cooling arrangements for the converters [see para. 0043-0044, 0055-0056, 0062-0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to package the first circuitry and the first and second DCDC converters of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination within Prasad's centralized converter housing and mount the converter housing to the frame containing the battery energy volume. Such an arrangement would predictably centralize the battery-related power electronics adjacent to the associated battery system, facilitate electrical interconnection and thermal management of the DCDC converters, and provide compact, serviceable packaging.
Claim(s) 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spjuth et al. (US 2022/0274488 A1) in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2023/0406245 A1) further in view of Prasad et al. (US 2024/0243596 A1) further in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0051875 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Spjuth, Fuchs, and Prasad teaches the invention set forth above; the combination does not expressly teach at least one low voltage port that is accessible from a top of the modular enclosure and configured for direct connection to an electrical harness of the vehicle.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches a connector mounting hole 113 provided in upper case 110 of a battery-pack enclosure and a vehicle connector 620 fixedly mounted in connector mounting hole 113 such that the vehicle connector is accessible through the upper portion of the battery-pack case and is configured for connection outside the battery pack to harness cable 630 [see Figs. 1-5; para. 0018, 0040-0044, 0058-0060]. Choi further teaches that harness cable 630 electrically connects vehicle connector 620 and pack connector 610 and includes a bundle of wires for data transmission and grounding [see para. 0058-0060].
The combination Spjuth, Fuchs, and Prasad provides the low-voltage electrical environment associated with the first and second DCDC converters, while Choi teaches locating an externally accessible vehicle-harness connector at an upper portion of an enclosure. Thus, Choi's teaching is relied upon for the location and external harness connection of the claimed port, rather than for expressly teaching that the port is a low voltage port.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the low voltage port associated with the DCDC converter circuitry of the Spjuth-Fuchs-Prasad combination at a top portion of Prasad's converter housing and configure the port for direct connection to an external vehicle electrical harness, as taught by Choi, in order to provide an accessible and serviceable electrical connection between the low-voltage circuitry within the modular enclosure and the vehicle electrical harness.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spjuth et al. (US 2022/0274488 A1) in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2023/0406245 A1) further in view of Prasad et al. (US 2024/0243596 A1) further in view of Kurokawa et al. (US 2022/0281466 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Spjuth and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. However, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the first set of electrical components and the second set of electrical components each include a steering component and a braking component.
In an analogous art, Kurokawa teaches a vehicle control architecture including a plurality of zone controllers 400 disposed in predetermined vehicle zones. Kurokawa teaches zone controller 401 disposed in a center portion of the right side of vehicle 11 and zone controller 402 disposed in a center portion of the left side of vehicle 11 [see Figs. 1-2; para. 0039-0040]. Kurokawa further teaches that zone controllers 501-505 and electric-mirror actuator 107 are associated with zone controller 401, while zone controllers 511-514 and electric-mirror actuator 115 are associated with zone controller 402 [see para. 0040].
Kurokawa further teaches vehicle-mounted electrical components including actuator 101 for electric power steering and actuators 102, 103, 111, and 112 for electric brakes [see Figs. 1-2; para. 0026]. Kurokawa teaches that each zone controller 400 is provided in a predetermined vehicle zone and disposed on a signal path between central controller 300 and a corresponding actuator [see para. 0049]. In particular, zone controllers 401 and 502 relay a braking-control signal to electric-brake actuator 102, while zone controllers 401 and 501 relay a steering-control signal to electric-power-steering actuator 101 [see para. 0051-0052]. Kurokawa additionally explains that its multiple-controller arrangement is intended to maintain a fail-operational function and continue actuator control despite abnormalities or communication failures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the first and second sets of electrical components operated by the respective zone controllers of the Spjuth-Fuchs combination such that each set includes a steering component and a braking component, in view of Kurokawa’s teaching of zonally distributed control paths for safety-related electric steering and electric braking components. Such a configuration would predictably distribute safety-related steering and braking functions across the respective zonal component sets and improve continued availability of those functions consistent with Kurokawa’s stated fail-operational objective.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spjuth et al. (US 2022/0274488 A1), in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2023/0406245 A1), in view of Prasad et al. (US 2024/0243596 A1), in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0051875 A1), further in view of Kohara et al (US 2021/0300168 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Spjuth, Fuchs, and Prasad teaches the invention set forth above. However, the combination does not expressly teach at least one low voltage port that is accessible from a top of the modular enclosure and configured for direct connection to an electrical harness of the vehicle.
In analogous Choi teaches a top-case-mounted, externally accessible vehicle-harness connector arrangement; Choi teaches connector mounting hole 113 in upper case 110 and vehicle connector 620 fixedly mounted in connector mounting hole 113. Choi further teaches that vehicle connector 620 is connected to harness cable 630 outside battery pack 10, and that harness cable 630 electrically connects vehicle connector 620 and pack connector 610 [see Figs. 1-5; para. 0018, 0041-0043, 0058-0060]. Choi describes vehicle connector 620 as a communication-and-grounding connector rather than expressly as a low-voltage power port. However, the Spjuth-Fuchs-Prasad combination already provides the claimed low-voltage electrical distribution from the DCDC converters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Choi’s known top-accessible vehicle-harness connector arrangement as at least one low voltage port that is accessible from a top of the modular enclosure and configured for direct connection to an electrical harness of the vehicle, thereby providing a readily accessible interface between the low-voltage circuitry of the modular enclosure and the vehicle electrical harness.
The combination of Spjuth, Fuchs, Prasad, and Choi doesn’t expressly teach wherein the modular enclosure is positioned beneath a rear seat of the vehicle.
In an analogous art, Kohara teaches locating battery-pack-associated electrical components in a battery-pack region beneath a rear-seat area. Kohara teaches that kick-up section 12 is positioned beneath rear seat 26, that battery pack 33 is attached to a lower portion of floor panel 10, and that coupling section 71 is positioned beneath the kick-up section. Kohara further teaches rear junction box 43b and battery control unit 44 positioned in the coupling section beneath the kick-up section [see Figs. 4-9; para. 0057, 0103-0111].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the modular enclosure of the Spjuth-Fuchs-Prasad-Choi combination beneath a rear seat of the vehicle, as suggested by Kohara’s under-seat battery-pack packaging arrangement, in order to efficiently utilize protected under-seat space and locate battery-related electrical components proximate to the associated battery system. Such an arrangement would have predictably provided compact and protected packaging of the battery-related power electronics within the vehicle lower structure.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spjuth et al. (US 2022/0274488 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0139338 A1) further in view of Fuchs et al. (US 2023/0406245 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Spjuth teaches a method comprising providing a first voltage from a battery of a vehicle to a propulsion component of the vehicle [see (Fig. 3; para. 0030, 0037) battery groups 206 and 208 provide high voltage suitable for propulsion of an electric vehicle, and switches 310 and/or 312 selectively couple battery groups 206 and/or 208 to high-voltage loads, including loads for propulsion of vehicle 316]. Spjuth further teaches a vehicle electrical architecture including first DCDC converter 210 connected to battery group 206 and second DCDC converter 212 connected to battery group 208 [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0023, 0030; claims 1, 4)]. Spjuth further teaches embodiments in which battery groups 206 and 208 each provide the same high voltage, including embodiments wherein both battery groups comprise 800 V or both comprise 400 V [see (para 0022, claims 7-8)].
Spjuth further teaches providing a second voltage, lower than the first voltage, from the first DCDC converter [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0023, 0030) DCDC converter 210 converts the high voltage of battery group 206 to the lower voltage of cluster 214], and providing the second voltage, lower than the first voltage, from the second DCDC converter [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0023, 0030, 0036) DCDC converter 212 converts the high voltage of battery group 208 to the lower voltage of cluster 216]. Spjuth further teaches that the converter outputs may comprise the same lower voltage, including an embodiment wherein the respective converter outputs comprise 12 V, and that clusters 214 and 216 can comprise the same voltage, including 12 V, 14 V, 24 V, or 48 V.
However, Spjuth does not expressly teach providing, while providing the first voltage from the battery to the propulsion component, the first voltage to the first DCDC converter and the second DCDC converter of the vehicle, as claimed.
Kim teaches an electric-vehicle high-voltage system including high-voltage battery 10 and LDC 13, wherein LDC 13 is a low-voltage DC-DC converter [see (Fig. 3; para. 0028)]. Kim further teaches that, at ignition-on, the high-voltage circuit is closed, LDC 13 begins operation, and high-voltage motor 16 is operated by power from high-voltage battery 10 [see (Figs. 3-4; para. 0039-0041)]. Kim further teaches that LDC 13 functions as a power supply for low-voltage electric equipment when the vehicle travels and reduces the high-voltage power of high-voltage battery 10 to low voltage [see (para. 0033-0034)]. Thus, Kim teaches operation of an HV-to-LV DC-DC converter from the high-voltage battery while the battery also supplies the propulsion motor during vehicle operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to operate Spjuth's first and second DCDC converters during vehicle propulsion, in view of Kim's teaching that, during normal driving, an HV battery concurrently powers an HV motor and an LDC converts HV battery power to LV power for LV vehicle equipment. Applying Kim's known operating condition to Spjuth's dual-DCDC architecture would predictably maintain power to Spjuth's separated LV distribution branches while the vehicle is propelled [see (Kim, para. 0028, 0033-0034, 0039-0042; Spjuth, para. 0029-0031, 0034, 0037)].
Combination of Spjuth and Kim does not expressly teach providing the second voltage from the first DCDC converter to a first controller for a first zone of the vehicle and providing the second voltage from the second DCDC converter to a second controller for a second zone of the vehicle, as claimed.
In an analogous art, Fuchs teaches a vehicle having a plurality of spatially differentiated vehicle zones, including front region zone 12, right-hand cabin zone 14, left-hand cabin zone 16, and rear region zone 18 [see (Fig. 1; para. 0003, 0012-0017; claim 8)]. Fuchs further teaches that each of the zones includes a defined number of zone controllers and that separate zone controllers may be implemented in the cabin and rear zones [see (para. 0003-0005, 0017; claim 8)]. Fuchs further teaches an electrical power-distribution arrangement wherein an electrical power distributor supplies electrical power to the right-hand cabin, left-hand cabin, and rear region zones [see (Fig. 1; para. 0007)], and wherein power source 30 may comprise a DCDC converter [see (Fig. 1; para. 0006, 0020; claim 12)]. Fuchs additionally teaches supplying the right-hand cabin zone, left-hand cabin zone, and rear region zone from the front region zone via a channel and electronic switches [see Para 0012, (claim 13)]. The disclosed Fuchs architecture and its zone controllers are shown in Fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Spjuth's first and second DCDC-fed low-voltage distribution paths using Fuchs's teaching of zone controllers assigned to respective spatial vehicle zones, such that cluster 214, supplied by first DCDC converter 210, provides the lower second voltage to a first controller located in a first vehicle zone, and cluster 216, supplied by second DCDC converter 212, provides the same lower second voltage to a second controller located in a second vehicle zone. Such a modification would have predictably applied Fuchs's known zonal-controller organization to Spjuth's separated low-voltage supply branches to localize power and control distribution, reduce wiring complexity, and maintain separated supply paths for improved availability and fault isolation [see (Fuchs, para. 0002-0009, 0012-0020, 0026; claims 8, 12-14)].
Accordingly, in the resulting combination, the battery supplies the first voltage to the propulsion component while concurrently supplying the first voltage to Spjuth's first and second DCDC converters 210 and 212, as suggested by Kim's concurrent propulsion and DC-DC conversion operation; first DCDC converter 210 provides the lower second voltage through cluster 214 to a first controller for a first vehicle zone; and second DCDC converter 212 provides the same lower second voltage through cluster 216 to a second controller for a second vehicle zone, using Fuchs's zonal-controller architecture.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Spjuth, Kim, and Fuchs teaches the invention set forth above. Spjuth further teaches disconnecting a battery group from high-voltage propulsion loads. In particular, Spjuth teaches that switches 310 and/or 312 may couple or decouple battery groups 206 and/or 208 from high-voltage loads, including loads for propulsion of vehicle 316 [see (Fig. 3; para. 0037)].
Spjuth further teaches separate propulsion-load and low-voltage conversion and distribution paths. DCDC converter 210 is connected to battery group 206 and cluster 214, while DCDC converter 212 is connected to battery group 208 and cluster 216 [see (Figs. 2-3; para. 0023, 0030)], Spjuth further teaches DCDC converters 306 and 210 both connected to battery group 206 and cluster 214 through switch 318, and DCDC converters 308 and 212 both connected to battery group 208 and cluster 216 through switch 320 [see (Fig. 3; para. 0034)], Spjuth specifically teaches that DCDC converters 306 and 308 may be utilized when vehicle 316 is parked, whereas DCDC converters 210 and 212 may be utilized when vehicle 316 is driving [see (para. 0034)], Spjuth further teaches that switches 318 and 320 are associated with the respective DCDC converters and low-voltage clusters and may be used for priority-based load management, including disconnecting noncritical loads or isolating faults [see (para. 0034)].
However, Spjuth does not expressly teach continuing to provide, while the propulsion component of the vehicle is disconnected from the battery, the second voltage from at least one of the first DCDC converter or the second DCDC converter to at least one of the first controller or the second controller.
Kim teaches the desirability of maintaining low-voltage vehicle functionality after the high-voltage propulsion circuit is disconnected. Specifically, at an ignition-off state, Kim teaches turning off high-voltage relay 12 to disconnect the high-voltage circuit, while continuing to operate low-voltage electrical equipment from a cell or module of the high-voltage battery through NC relay 14 [see (Fig. 5; para. 0043-0045)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to operate the Spjuth-Kim-Fuchs combination such that, upon disconnecting the propulsion component from the battery, at least one of DCDC converters 210 or 212 remains operative to continue providing the second voltage to at least one of the first controller or the second controller, in order to maintain low-voltage vehicle functionality while the propulsion component is disconnected.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836