Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 07/21/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 12, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 20230005321 A1, hereinafter, "Li") in view of Chiu (US 20170200337 A1, hereinafter, "Chiu") and Powers & O'Keefe (US 20140267631 A1, hereinafter, "Powers").
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a method of biological information recognition, comprising: selecting, based on historical usage information of a device for the biological information recognition (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."); obtaining a target biological information image of a target object by using the first camera, the target biological information image comprising identifiable biological information of the target object (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-2, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition."); performing image recognition processing based on the target biological information image, to obtain object identity information of the target object according to the identifiable biological information in the target biological information image (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."); and providing the target object with a target service of the plurality of services based on the object identity information (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."). Li does not teach at least a first camera from a plurality of cameras of the device, the plurality of cameras being configured to respectively collect biological information images for a plurality of services; configuring at least a second camera in the plurality of cameras in a power saving mode, the second camera not being selected based on the historical usage information of the device. However, Chiu teaches at least a first camera from a plurality of cameras of the device, the plurality of cameras being configured to respectively collect biological information images for a plurality of services (Chiu, [0015], ln. 3-7, "Therefore, the image light incident onto the color camera module or the infrared camera module is sensed by the color image sensors and the infrared image sensors to generate an image signal, respectively, and the image processing control unit receives the image signal to perform face recognition and/or iris recognition."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Chiu with those of Li because it is widely known in the art to configure cameras to collect biological information such as face or iris recognition. Powers teaches configuring at least a second camera in the plurality of cameras in a power saving mode, the second camera not being selected based on the historical usage information of the device (Powers, [0035], ln. 8-10, "These power state triggers preferably result from changes occurring during operation of the 3D image capture system, but may additionally or alternatively result from changes relative to a default or historical value."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Powers with those of Li and Chiu because it is widely known in the art to base power states on historical values.
Regarding Claim 9, Li, Chiu, and Powers teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Li teaches the performing the image recognition processing comprises: matching the target biological information image with biological information in a first database of the device for biological information recognition (Li, [0013], ln. 1-3, "…the communication module is configured to transmit the selection of the commodity to the database of the central system, so that the central system may establish an association with the biometric characteristics of the user as a basis for big data analysis."); and obtaining, when the matching is successful, the object identity information corresponding to the identifiable biological information from the first database of the device (Li, [0013], ln. 4-6, "…the big data analysis result may be received by the communication module, and based on which, the control module may be able to recommend via the user interface, new commodity potentially suitable for the user."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Li with those of Li, Chiu, and Powers because it is widely known in the art to transmit biometric characteristics to a database to obtain object identity information.
Regarding Claim 12, Li teaches an apparatus, comprising processing circuitry configured to: select, based on historical usage information of the apparatus for biological information recognition (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."); obtain a target biological information image of a target object by using the first camera, the target biological information image comprising identifiable biological information of the target object (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-2, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition."); perform image recognition processing based on the target biological information image, to obtain object identity information of the target object according to the identifiable biological information in the target biological information image (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."); and provide the target object with a target service of the plurality of services based on the object identity information (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."). Li does not teach at least a first camera from a plurality of cameras of the apparatus, the plurality of cameras being configured to respectively collect biological information images for a plurality of services; configure at least a second camera in the plurality of cameras in a power saving mode, the second camera not being selected based on the historical usage information of the apparatus. However, Chiu teaches at least a first camera from a plurality of cameras of the apparatus, the plurality of cameras being configured to respectively collect biological information images for a plurality of services (Chiu, [0015], ln. 3-7, "Therefore, the image light incident onto the color camera module or the infrared camera module is sensed by the color image sensors and the infrared image sensors to generate an image signal, respectively, and the image processing control unit receives the image signal to perform face recognition and/or iris recognition."). Powers teaches configure at least a second camera in the plurality of cameras in a power saving mode, the second camera not being selected based on the historical usage information of the apparatus (Powers, [0035], ln. 8-10, "These power state triggers preferably result from changes occurring during operation of the 3D image capture system, but may additionally or alternatively result from changes relative to a default or historical value.").
Regarding Claim 20, Li teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform: selecting, based on historical usage information of a device for biological information recognition (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."); obtaining a target biological information image of a target object by using the first camera, the target biological information image comprising identifiable biological information of the target object (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-2, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition."); performing image recognition processing based on the target biological information image, to obtain object identity information of the target object according to the identifiable biological information in the target biological information image (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."); and providing the target object with a target service of the plurality of services based on the object identity information (Li, Fig. 4, [0067], ln. 1-4, "In a further embodiment, the cigarette vending machine 400 of FIG. 4 can implement customized services based on facial recognition. When the user uses the cigarette vending machine 400 more than once, the user can be automatically recognized, so that the user's favorite choice is automatically presented as a default selection based on statistics of past transaction records."). Li does not teach at least a first camera from a plurality of cameras of the device, the plurality of cameras being configured to respectively collect biological information images for a plurality of services; configuring at least a second camera in the plurality of cameras in a power saving mode, the second camera not being selected based on the historical usage information of the device. However, Chiu teaches at least a first camera from a plurality of cameras of the device, the plurality of cameras being configured to respectively collect biological information images for a plurality of services (Chiu, [0015], ln. 3-7, "Therefore, the image light incident onto the color camera module or the infrared camera module is sensed by the color image sensors and the infrared image sensors to generate an image signal, respectively, and the image processing control unit receives the image signal to perform face recognition and/or iris recognition."). Powers teaches configuring at least a second camera in the plurality of cameras in a power saving mode, the second camera not being selected based on the historical usage information of the device (Powers, [0035], ln. 8-10, "These power state triggers preferably result from changes occurring during operation of the 3D image capture system, but may additionally or alternatively result from changes relative to a default or historical value.").
Claims 8 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Chiu, Powers, and Zhu et al (CN 115797980 A, hereinafter, "Zhu").
Regarding Claim 8, Li, Chiu, and Powers teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Zhu teaches taking a video clip comprising the identifiable biological information by using the first camera (Zhu pg. 8, para. 1, ln. 1, "The method based on palm print image identification for identity verification…"); and selecting, based on a shooting angle and a picture parameter of the identifiable biological information, a picture screenshot from the video clip as the target biological information image, the picture screenshot comprising the identifiable biological information (Zhu, pg. 8, para. 1, ln. 2-4, "…analyzing from the algorithm angle, the advantages are derived from the system using the target detection algorithm to detect the palm, obtaining the palm screenshot by non-contact…"). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhu with those of Li, Chiu, and Powers because it is widely known in the art to collect palm print images for identity verification, analyze them based on a shooting angle, and develop a screenshot based on said images.
Regarding Claim 19, Li, Chiu, and Powers teach the limitations of dependent Claim 12 as noted above. Zhu teaches take a video clip comprising the identifiable biological information by using the first camera (Zhu pg. 8, para. 1, ln. 1, "The method based on palm print image identification for identity verification…"); and select, based on a shooting angle and a picture parameter of the identifiable biological information, a picture screenshot from the video clip as the target biological information image, the picture screenshot comprising the identifiable biological information (Zhu, pg. 8, para. 1, ln. 2-4, "…analyzing from the algorithm angle, the advantages are derived from the system using the target detection algorithm to detect the palm, obtaining the palm screenshot by non-contact…").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-11, & 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Xu et al (CN 211742166 U) was additional prior art found relevant to the application. However, it was silent on the limitations listed below.
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious the historical usage information comprises a quantity of transaction orders on the device in a first historical time period, a transaction amount on the device in the first historical time period and a size of a database associated with the device in the first historical time period; and the selecting comprises: when the quantity of transaction orders on the device, the transaction amount on the device, and the size of the database associated with the device respectively satisfy corresponding preset requirements, determining whether a worker exists onsite with the device; and selecting a color camera as the first camera when a worker exists onsite with the device.
Regarding Claim 3, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, , the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious determining whether the device has performed a first type of scanning operations in a second historical time period, the first type of scanning operations being configured to scan electronic codes; adjusting the device to have a first focal length for a second type of scanning operations when the device lacks the first type of scanning operations in the second historical time period, the second type of scanning operations being configured to scan for biological information; and setting the device into a first mode to solely perform the second type of scanning operations in a preset future time period.
Regarding Claim 5, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 6, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious the historical usage information comprises a quantity of transaction orders on the device in a first historical time period, a transaction amount on the device in the first historical time period, and a size of a database associated with the device in the first historical time period; and the selecting comprises: selecting a color camera and an infrared camera from the plurality of cameras when at least one of the quantity of transaction orders, the transaction amount, and/or the size of the database in the first historical time period does not satisfy a corresponding preset requirement.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious the server matching the target biological information image with biological information in a second database of the server; receiving, when the matching with the biological information in the second database of the server is successful, object identity information corresponding to the identifiable biological information, the object identify information being transmitted by the server; and receiving, when the matching with the biological information in the second database of the server fails, prompt information indicating a recognition failure, the prompt information being transmitted by the server.
Regarding Claim 11, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 13, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious the historical usage information comprises a quantity of transaction orders on the apparatus in a first historical time period, a transaction amount on the apparatus in the first historical time period, and a size of a database associated with the apparatus in the first historical time period; and the processing circuitry is configured to: when the quantity of transaction orders on the apparatus, the transaction amount on the apparatus and the size of the database associated with the apparatus respectively satisfy corresponding preset requirements, determine whether a worker exists onsite with the apparatus; and select a color camera as the first camera when a worker exists onsite with the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 14, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious determine whether the apparatus has performed a first type of scanning operations in a second historical time period, the first type of scanning operations being configured to scan electronic codes; adjust the apparatus to have a first focal length for a second type of scanning operations when the apparatus lacks the first type of scanning operations in the second historical time period, the second type of scanning operations being configured to scan for biological information; and set the apparatus into a first mode to solely perform the second type of scanning operations in a preset future time period.
Regarding Claim 16, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 17, it would be allowable because it is dependent on Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious the historical usage information comprises a quantity of transaction orders on the apparatus in a first historical time period, a transaction amount on the apparatus in the first historical time period, and a size of a database associated with the apparatus in the first historical time period; and the processing circuitry is configured to: select a color camera and an infrared camera from the plurality of cameras when at least one of the quantity of transaction orders, the transaction amount, and/or the size of the database in the first historical time period does not satisfy a corresponding preset requirement.
Conclusion
/STEVEN DANIEL BARRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638