DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-4, "resistive" should be changed to --resistance-- for consistency;
In claim 4, "a temperature regulator" should be changed to --the temperature regulator-- or --said temperature regulator--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,918. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated thereby see table below:
Application claims
Patented claims
Remarks
1
1
All limitations included; a temperature regulator anticipated as a thermal switch.
2
1
All limitations included
4
1
All limitations included; a temperature regulator anticipated as a thermal switch.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,918 in view of claims 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,754,275.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,918 discloses the elongate resistive (resistance) heating element; but does not clearly show the Indium Tin Oxide trace. Claims 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,754,275 teaches the Indium Tin Oxide trace.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine claim 1 of U.S. 12,331,918 with claims 9-10 of U.S. 11,754,275 for purpose of providing an advantageous way of its unique optical and electrical properties, acting as a thin-film electrode that lets light through while conducting electricity.
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 8 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,231,171. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated thereby see table below:
Application claims
Patented claims
Remarks
1
1 and 8
All limitations included; a temperature regulator anticipated as a thermal switch.
2
3, 4, 8 and 9
All limitations included; the covering is a tubular segment; the thermal switch in thermally conductive contact with the tubular segment. Thus, the thermal switch in thermally conductive contact with the covering.
4
1, 3, 4, 8 and 9
All limitations included; the covering is a tubular segment; the thermal switch in thermally conductive contact with the tubular segment. Thus, the thermal switch in thermally conductive contact with the covering.
Claim 3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,231,171 in view of claims 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,754,275.
Claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,231,171 discloses the elongate resistive (resistance) heating element; but does not clearly show the Indium Tin Oxide trace. Claims 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,754,275 teaches the Indium Tin Oxide trace.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine claims 1 and 8 of U.S. 11,231,171 with claims 9-10 of U.S. 11,754,275 for purpose of providing an advantageous way of its unique optical and electrical properties, acting as a thin-film electrode that lets light through while conducting electricity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillner et al. [U.S. 6,396,026 B2] in view of Runfola et al. [U.S. 6,601,983 B1].
Regarding claim 1, Gillner et al. discloses a heater [a heating wire 2, figure 1, abstract] for an environment, comprising: an elongate resistance heating element [a core 21 made from chromium-nickel, figure 3]; a thermally transmissive, temperature mitigating, and electrically insulative cover [a matt black layer of paint 23] configured to surround at least a portion of the elongate resistance heating element [a core 21 made from chromium-nickel] (figures 1 and 3).
However, Gillner et al. does not clearly show the temperature regulator associated with the heating element.
Runfola et al. teaches the temperature regulator [thermal switch 13'] connected with the heating element [resistive heating element 12'] (figure 6, column 1 lines 41-52).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the heater of Gillner et al. with the temperature regulator (the thermal switch) as taught by Runfola et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of that such an assembly provide no heating when it is not needed so as to conserve energy and reduce stress. Thus, the thermal switch that closes only when the temperature is low enough for ice and snow to accumulate thereon.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Runfola et al. teaches the temperature regulator comprises a thermal switch [13'] electrically coupled in series with the elongate resistive heating element [12'] (figure 6). While Gillner et al. discloses the cover [a matt black layer of paint 23] of the elongate resistance heating element [a core 21 made from chromium-nickel] (figure 3). The motivation is the same as above.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillner et al. and Runfola et al. in view of Salter et al. [U.S. 2018/0320884 A1].
Regarding claim 3, Gillner et al. and Runfola et al. disclose the heater having the elongate resistive heating element. However, they do not clearly show the elongate resistive heating element comprises an Indium Tin Oxide trace.
Salter et al. teaches a heater 50 being formed with a film of indium tin oxide (ITO) (figures 2-4, paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the heater of Gillner et al. and Runfola et al. with the film of indium tin oxide (ITO) as taught by Salter et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way that the ITO layer forming the heater is a substantially visually transparent medium that can be used to form a heater element and other conductive signal lines for forming the heater. As such, the heater will remain substantially invisible to a user looking through the outer lens.
Conclusion
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875