Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 October 2025 has been considered by the examiner. The Examiner notes that the patent number for the provided PG-Pub was incorrect; however, the correct document was found and corrected on the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Trilux (DE 10 2021 114 478; hereinafter ‘Trilux’). The Examiner notes a machine translation is being provided herewith in addition to a copy of the German document.
Regarding claim 1, Trilux discloses a track system for receiving controllable output devices, comprising:
at least one rigid track section (at least 20; as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B);
the at least one track section (20) having at least one internal power conductor (at least 23; as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B) and at least one internal data conductor (at least 10; as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B) provided within the at least one track section (20), the internal power conductor (23) and internal data conductor (10) being separated and electrically isolated from each other;
the at least track section (20) having one or more of an optical isolator, an optical splitter, and an optical repeater (at least 86; as seen in at least fig. 8B and described in the associated text), provided within the at least one track section (20) in electrical continuity with the data conductor (as seen in at least fig. 8B), whereby the one or more of an optical isolator, optical splitter, and optical repeater electrically isolate (at least 12)a section of the data conductor of the at least one track section and transmit control signals carried on the data conductor from the electrically isolated section of the data conductor to an adjacent section of the data conductor (as disclosed in the text associated with fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 2, Trilux discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein the at least one track section (20) is a primary track section, a joiner track section, or a track end section (as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B).
Regarding claim 6, Trilux discloses the at least one track section (20) is primary track section (as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B).
Regarding claim 7, Trilux discloses the track system of claim 1, wherein the one or more of an optical isolator, an optical splitter, and an optical repeater (at least 86) are electrically connected to and powered by the power conductor (as disclosed in the text associated with fig. 8B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trilux as applied to claim at least claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of Duarte (US 5,559,681; hereinafter ‘Duarte’).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 13, Trilux discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Whilst Trilux shows the connection between at least two tracks (see at least figs. 2A-8B), Trilux does not specify any other arrangements between two neighboring devices.
Duarte teaches a flexible, modular lighting system including at least one track section is a joiner track section (16 or 94a-e; figs. 2 or 6) configured in the form of an “L”, or a “T”, or an “X” for connecting 2, 3, or 4 primary track sections (as seen in fig. 6) (Claims 3 and 13); at least one track section is a joiner track section (94c; fig. 6) which is a straight joiner track section for connecting 2 primary track sections (as seen in at least fig. 6) (claim 4); and at least one track section (22, at least fig. 2) is a track end section (as seen in at least fig. 2) (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make Trilux’s at least one track section is a joiner track section configured in the form of an “L”, or a “T”, or an “X” for connecting 2, 3, or 4 primary track sections; at least one track section is a joiner track section which is a straight joiner track section for connecting 2 primary track sections; and/or at least one track section is a track end section.
One would have been motivated to do so to position the tracks in a desired arrangement.
Claims 8-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trilux.
Regarding claim 8, Trilux discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Trilux further teaches the use of at least a DALI interface and is connected via multiple connectors but does not specifically indicate that the lights are individually controllable.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the disclosed DALI interface provides the needed components to individually control lighting elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to having Trilux’s one or more lighting fixtures being individually controllable output and mounted on the track system and having a first contact element connected to the power conductor and a second contact element connected to the data conductor.
One would have been motivated to do so based on the disclosure of Trilux which states that there are multiple connectors for the lighting elements and independent control would allow a user to desirably adjust and modify the lighting elements as needed.
Similarly, regarding claim 9, Trilux discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. As noted above, Trilux further teaches the use of a DALI interface and is connected via multiple connectors but does not specifically indicate individually controllable elements.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Trilux’s one or more individually controllable output devices mounted on the track system and having a first contact element connected to the power conductor and a second contact element connected to the data conductor.
One would have been motivated to do so to allow a user to modify the device as desired.
Regarding claim 10, Trilux discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Trilux further teaches the data connector is a DALI device.
Trilux does not specifically disclose a DMX512 device.
One having ordinary skill in the art recognizes that both DALI and DMX512 perform similar functions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace Trilux’s DALI device with a DMX512 producing DMX512 signals.
One would have been motivated to do so to provide the control to the lighting that is faster responding and more dynamic.
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Trilux discloses a connector section (at least 20; as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B) for joining adjacent track sections in a track system (as seen in at least fig. 8B), the connector section (20) including a track (20) containing an electrically insulated power conductor (at least 23; as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B)and an electrically insulated data conductor (at least 10; as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B) for transmission of signals, the connector section/track end (20) having one or more of an optical isolator, an optical splitter, and an optical repeater (at least 86; as seen in at least figs. 2A-8B) provided within the connector section in electrical continuity with the data conductor (10), whereby the one or more of an optical isolator, optical splitter, and optical repeater (86) electrically isolate a section of the data conductors of the at least one track section and transmit control signals carried on the data conductor from the electrically isolated section of the data conductor to an adjacent section of the data conductor (as disclosed in the text associated with fig. 8B).
Trilux does not specifically disclose a DMX512 device.
One having ordinary skill in the art recognizes that both DALI and DMX512 perform similar functions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace Trilux’s DALI device with a DMX512 producing DMX512 signals.
One would have been motivated to do so to provide the control to the lighting that is faster responding and more dynamic.
Regarding claim 12, Trilux discloses the connector section of claim 11, wherein the connector track section is a straight joiner track section for connecting 2 primary track sections (as seen in at least fig. 8B)
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Trilux discloses the connector section of claim 11, wherein the one or more of an optical isolator, an optical splitter, and an optical repeater (86) are powered by power supplied by the power conductor (as disclosed in the text associated with fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 17, Trilux discloses the track end section of claim 15, wherein there are at least two data conductors (10, in each section).
However, Trilux does not specifically name a resistor as part of the circuitry; yet, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize resistors as a basic building block of electrical circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a resistor connected across the at least two of Trilux’s data conductors.
One would have been motivated to do so to ensure the appropriate current reaches all of Trilux’s track end sections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited due to its similar track lighting applications including joining sections as well as data control modules (including and similar to DMX512).
/LEAH MACCHIAROLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875