DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 September 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a resin transfer mold" in lines 5-6. It is unclear if this resin transfer mold is the same resin transfer mold previously introduced in the claim at line 1. For purposes of examination, the resin transfer mold of lines 5-6 will be interpreted as the same resin transfer mold of line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harper (U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0057150).
Regarding claim 1, Harper discloses a resin transfer vent bleeder valve system for composite manufacturing, comprising:
a bleeder valve (VBV) (FIG. 1) configured to regulate air evacuation and resin flow during a resin transfer molding process;
an integrated pressure cylinder 14 operatively coupled to the VBV to provide controlled resin injection and pressure stabilization;
a multi-stage sealing mechanism 17; and
an air piston 10 movable within the VBV (FIG. 1; Paragraph 29-32, 36-37, 41-42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper in view of Marino (U.S. Patent 7,871,251).
Regarding claim 1, Harper discloses a resin transfer mold vent bleeder valve (VBV) device (FIG. 1) comprising:
an assembly cap (top of FIG. 1);
an assembly main body 21;
a valve stem 26 comprising a vent passageway (inside 26);
an air piston 10;
an upper compression spring dead stop (bottom of “cap”);
an upper compression spring 13;
a plug 27;
a vent port entrance (the bottom opening of 26);
a vent port exit 29; and
a vent port interface (the bottom of 26) (FIG. 1-2; Paragraph 29, 35-37).
Harper is silent regarding a lower compression spring.
However, Marino teaches a valve stem 20; a lower compression spring 17; and a plug 13 (FIG. 1; Col. 2 ln 66-Col. 3 ln 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Harper by adding a spring loaded plug/ball to the end of the valve stem, as taught by Marino, for the purpose of providing the valve member with a means to firmly close the valve at the lower valve seat.
Regarding claim 2, Harper, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Harper further discloses a first diametric seal 17; and
a second diametric seal 17 (FIG. 1; Paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 3, Harper, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 2.
Harper further discloses an integrated pressure cylinder 14 (FIG. 1; Paragraph 29-32).
Regarding claim 4, Harper, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Harper/Marino further teaches the plug is a ball (Marino FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Harper, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Harper further discloses said VBV is preassembled and inserted into a corresponding opening on a resin transfer mold 31 that contains a channel passage for resin and allows resin to freely pass through the mold, and when the mold resin pressure increases above a set point, an opening is created between a vent port interface and the plug that allows resin to exit the mold via the vent passageway through the vent port exit, thus reducing the system liquid pressure to more acceptable levels and removal of entrapped air (Paragraph 41-42).
Claims 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper in view of Biello (U.S. Patent 3,356,103).
Regarding claim 1, Harper discloses a resin transfer mold vent bleeder valve (VBV) device (FIG. 1) comprising:
an assembly cap (top of FIG. 1);
an assembly main body 21;
a valve stem 26 comprising a vent passageway (inside 26);
an air piston 10;
an upper compression spring dead stop (bottom of “cap”);
an upper compression spring 13;
a plug 27;
a vent port entrance (the bottom opening of 26);
a vent port exit 29; and
a vent port interface (the bottom of 26) (FIG. 1-2; Paragraph 29, 35-37).
Harper is silent regarding a lower compression spring.
However, Biello teaches a lower compression spring 57; and a plug 50 (FIG. 1, 4; Col. 1 ln 65-Col. 2 ln 4, Col. 2 ln 67-Col. 3 ln 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Harper by adding a spring loaded plug to the end of the valve stem, as taught by Biello, for the purpose of providing the valve member with a means to firmly close the valve at the lower valve seat.
Regarding claim 5, Harper, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Harper/Biello further teaches the plug is a poppet 50 (Biello FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Harper discloses a resin transfer molding vent bleeder valve (FIG. 1) for attachment to a resin transfer mold 31, adapted to move from a normal (closed) (FIG. 1) configuration to an energized (open) (FIG. 2) configuration, comprising:
a body 21 having a lower end and an upper end, comprising a main body and an
assembly cap (top portion of FIG. 1), and further comprising a connector (at 23) for connecting the body to a resin transfer mold (Paragraph 41-42);
a vent port entrance (the bottom opening of 26) at the lower end of the body and a vent port exit 29 at the upper end of the body;
a vent port interface (the bottom of 26) comprising the entryway from the vent port entrance into the body;
a plug 27, sized relative to the vent port interface so as to block the passage of air and fluids through the vent port interface when the vent bleeder valve is in its closed position, and movable from a point blocking the vent port interface when the vent bleeder valve is in its closed position to a point allowing only the passage of air, and to a further point allowing the passage of air and resin, when the vent bleeder valve is in its open position;
a valve stem 26 having a lower end and an upper end, the valve stem comprising the vent port exit and a vent passageway (inside 26) extending downwardly through the body from the vent port exit to a point proximate the vent port entrance plug, the valve stem being configured to move linearly up and down within the body;
an air piston 10 connected to the valve stem and configured to move linearly up and down within the body;
an upper compression spring 13 housed at least in part within the assembly cap and having a dead stop (bottom of “cap” against the assembly cap;
an air port 15 comprising an air entry and a channel directing air into an opening in the body below the air piston (FIG. 1-3; Paragraph 29-32, 35-37, 41-42).
Harper is silent regarding a lower compression spring surrounding a lower portion of the valve stem and touching, at its lower end, the plug, and
configured to apply pressure to the plug at a predetermined set point, when the vent bleeder valve is in its open position, so as to maintain the plug in a bleeder state allowing the passage of air but not resin through the vent port interface; and
configured to respond to pressure above the predetermined set point by compressing so as to apply less pressure to the plug, allowing the passage not only of air but of resin between the plug and the vent port interface; and
further configured to apply pressure to the plug, when the vent bleeder valve is in its closed position, sufficient to maintain the plug in a closed state blocking the vent port interface and preventing the passage of air therethrough.
However, Biello teaches a lower compression spring 57; and a plug 50; the compression spring configured to apply pressure to the plug at a predetermined set point, when the vent bleeder valve is in its open position, so as to maintain the plug in a bleeder state allowing the passage of air but not resin through the vent port interface; and
configured to respond to pressure above the predetermined set point by compressing so as to apply less pressure to the plug, allowing the passage not only of air but of resin between the plug and the vent port interface; and
further configured to apply pressure to the plug, when the vent bleeder valve is in its closed position, sufficient to maintain the plug in a closed state blocking the vent port interface and preventing the passage of air therethrough (FIG. 1, 4; Col. 1 ln 65-Col. 2 ln 4, Col. 2 ln 67-Col. 3 ln 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Harper by adding a spring loaded plug to the end of the valve stem, as taught by Biello, for the purpose of providing the valve member with a means to firmly close the valve at the lower valve seat.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper in view of Marino in further view of Kristoffersen (U.S. Patent 9,739,387).
Regarding claim 7, Harper, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 6.
Harper further discloses upper seals (flared edges of piston 10), and diametric seals 17, an air port 15, a purge port 29, and an integrated pressure cylinder 14 (FIG. 1; Paragraph 29, 37).
Harper is silent regarding lower seals.
However, Kristoffersen teaches using lower seals (21 below 23 in FIG. 1) and upper seals (21 at 27 in FIG. 1) (FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Harper by adding a lower set of seals, as taught by Kristoffersen, for the purpose of preventing the resin and air from accessing areas of the valve they should not be in thus preventing failure of the valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753