DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, the terms “colling” and “neutral” are misspelled. They should be written as –cooling—and –neural--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 24, the term “colling” should be written as –cooling—. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the formal informalities and corrections shown using underlines are laid out as per below:
A chip configured for implantation in a human for delivering cooling treatment, said chip comprising: first and second parts secured together; the first part having a top surface having an inlet opening and an outlet opening therein, the first part having first and second interior chambers extending downward from the openings and through a lower end of the first part, said first interior chamber communicating with the inlet opening and the second interior chamber communicating with the outlet opening; the second part having a plurality of coolant spaces therein open toward the first part and configured so that cooling fluid in said spaces causes cooling of a bottom surface of the second part; the first and second parts being configured such that a cooling fluid supplied through the inlet opening flows through the first interior chamber to the coolant spaces, and then flows from the coolant spaces to the second interior chamber and out of the first part through the outlet opening; the first and second parts together forming a cube having a dimension along each edge of 3 mm or less, said first part having a downward protrusion and the second part having an upper recess receiving the downward protrusion enclosing an interior of the chip; the second part having a portion through which the coolant spaces extend completely, and a metallic layer or aluminum tape overlying the coolant spaces and providing the bottom surface of the second part; and the first and second interior chambers of the first part being trapezoidal in a horizontal cross section and each overlying all of the coolant spaces of the second part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in line 2 recites “a conduit” and then in line 3 recites again “a conduit”. It is unclear whether the above terms are the same or different conduits. As such, the term lacks proper antecedent basis such that one skilled in the art is unable to determine whether the conduits are the same or not. For purpose of compact prosecution, the term “a conduit” in line 3 is interpreted to be the same as the “a conduit” recited in line 2, as such the Examiner is interpreting the term “a conduit” in line 3 as –the conduit--.
Claim 6 recites the limitations "the first conduit" in line 6, “the inlet opening of the chip”, “the cooling spaces of the chip”, and “the outlet opening of the chip” in lines 8-9, and “the metallic layer” on line 17, and “the cooling surface of the chip” on line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 depends from claim 2 which depends from claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the term “the first conduit” as –the conduit--. The Examiner is interpreting the term “the chip” as –the neural cooling element--. The terms “the inlet opening” and “the outlet opening” are interpreted as –the inlet—and –the outlet--, respectively. The term “the metallic layer” is interpreted as –a metallic layer--. In light of the above, “the cooling surface of the chip” is interpreted as –the cooling surface of the neural cooling element--.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the cooling fluid” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitations "the wall” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saunders US 2011/0282418.
Regarding claim 1, Saunders discloses a system (fig. 2) for pain reduction in an organism [0003-0005], said system comprising: a source of cooling liquid 31 [0105] supplying the cooling liquid to a conduit 32; the conduit 32 carrying the cooling liquid (coolant, chilled fluid, [0105]) to a neural cooling element 30 (an implant 30 which has an outer surface and an inner surface with cooling medium flowing it [0103-0105]; the neural cooling element 30 having a cooling surface 40 ([0111-0114]) that is cooled by the cooling liquid supplied by the conduit 32; the neural cooling element 30 being configured for placement in an area of nerve tissue 13,15 (laminae in the spine are made of nerve tissue and spinal content 15 include nerve roots which include tissue) in the organism (in the organism’s spine 16) such that the cooling surface 40 cools the nerve tissue 13,15 and reduces pain for the organism [0097-0101] (figs. 1A-8, but also see figs. 9-16 for applications in other parts of the spine).
Regarding claim 2, Saunders discloses the neural cooling element 30 is a unit having an inlet A (see annotated fig. 3G, which is exemplary due to it being a close up) connected with the conduit 32 and receiving the cooling liquid therefrom to go to the neural cooling element 30, and an outlet B (see annotated fig. 3G) connected with a second conduit 36 receiving for the cooling liquid after passing through the neural cooling element 30; the neural cooling element 30 having an interior space 52 communicating with the inlet A and outlet B such that the cooling liquid flows therethrough and cools the cooling surface 40.
Regarding claim 3, Saunders discloses the second conduit 36 connects the outlet B to the source 31 (tube 36 connects the outlet B to the source 31, see fig. 2), the source 31 having a pump [0105] causing flow of the cooling liquid therethrough, said source 31 receiving the cooling liquid back via 36 from the neural cooling element 30, cooling the cooling liquid returned, and then transmitting the cooled cooling liquid to the neural cooling element 30 (31 includes a circulation system, [0105,0175,0176,0212]).
Regarding claim 4, Saunders discloses the source 31 includes control circuitry 33 connected with a temperature sensor 34 associated with the neural cooling element 30, said control circuitry 33 controlling operation of the source 31 so as to maintain a preselected temperature of tissue in contact with the colling surface 40 of the neutral cooling element 30 [0104,0108,0109].
Regarding claim 8, Saunders discloses the interior space 52 is divided into a plurality of parallel cooling channels C (see annotated fig. 3G) through which the cooling liquid flows and cools the cooling surface 40 (channel 32 and 36 form channels that are parallel such that both 32 and 36 protrude into space 52 such that channels are inherently formed within 52 as defined by the hollow space of 52 surrounding the channels 32,36, all of which are a along the longitudinal axis of the device 30, forming parallel channels and coolant flows therethrough cooling the surface 40).
Regarding claim 12, Saunders discloses the wall formed of metal [0137].
Regarding claim 14, Saunders discloses a method of providing pain management, said method comprising providing a system according to claim 1, applying the neural cooling element 30 thereof in a person via 22 (see fig. 5, step 105 inserting cooling instrument 30 into hole 22 of the bony structure 10,23 see figs. 1A-2, 6-8, 10-16) with the cooling surface 40 of the neural cooling element 30 adjacent a ganglion of the person (the bore hole 22 is formed in spine cord 16 and/or different parts of spine such as the pedicle 12 all of which are adjacent a spinal ganglion) and causing the system to cool the cooling surface 40 of the neural cooling element 30 so as to provide temperature treatment to the ganglion (e.g. via step 110 in fig. 5 the cooling emanates and spreads to surround tissue including the spinal ganglion, [0080-0087]).
Regarding claim 15, Saunders discloses the temperature treatment comprises reducing the temperature of the ganglion below 20 degree C below normothermia (the target tissue is cooled below normothermia which ranges from 36 degree C to 37.5 degrees C, so 20 degrees C below 37.5 degrees C is 17.5 degrees C which meets the claimed value, see [0080-0087]).
Regarding claim 16, Saunders discloses the pain being managed is gastric pain, and the neural cooling element 30 is applied to dorsal root ganglia of the person (as see in figs. 1A and 1B, the bore 22 is created in the pedicle 12 and the dorsal ganglion is located directly underneath the vertebral pedicle as the upper part of the opening, so when the instrument 30 is inserted into bore 22, the dorsal ganglion is cooled which directly manages gastric pain [0009, 0010, 0016,0032-0033, 0076, 0088, 0093, 0095-0100]).
Regarding claim 17, Saunders discloses the applying of the neural cooling element 30 is an implantation of the neural cooling element 30 in the patient (via 22 into the vertebra) in proximity to the ganglion (as see in figs. 1A and 1B, the bore 22 is created in the pedicle 12 and the dorsal ganglion is located directly underneath the vertebral pedicle as the upper part of the opening , [0009, 0010, 0016,0032-0033, 0076, 0088, 0093, 0095-0100]).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Youngblood US 2021/0219736.
Regarding claim 1, Youngblood discloses a system 10,11,700 (figs. 1-4, 8A-8C) for pain reduction in an organism, said system comprising: a source 10,10’ of cooling liquid 33A,33B supplying the cooling liquid to a conduit 16,17,19,28 (C,D, see annotated fig. 4 below, but 16 and 17 are also conduits); the conduit 16,17,19(C,D)also the fluid circuit 28 connecting outlet 24 to pump 81 to lumen 16 is also a conduit) carrying the cooling liquid to a neural cooling element 11; the neural cooling element 11 having a cooling surface (A,B the mattress has zoned surfaces A,B, [0144-0148] for cooling) that is cooled by the cooling liquid supplied by the conduit 16,17,19,C,D ; the neural cooling element 11 being configured for placement in an area of nerve tissue in the organism (the mattress pad supports a person thereon [0003]such as when sleeping and so it cools the back of the patient, when the patient lies/sleeps on their back) that the cooling surface A,B cools the nerve tissue and reduces pain for the organism (as the back of the patient is cooled, the nerves inside the patient and in/around the spine are also cooled).
Regarding claim 2, Youngblood discloses the neural cooling element 11 is a unit having an inlet A connected with the conduit 19,C,28 and receiving the cooling liquid therefrom to go to the neural cooling element 11, and an outlet B connected with a second conduit 19,D,28 (28 inside the source 10 that receives returned liquid via 17 and delivers via inlet 25 into reservoir 22 is also the second conduit) receiving for the cooling liquid after passing through the neural cooling element 11;the neural cooling element 11 having an interior space 14 (tubing) communicating with the inlet A and outlet B such that the cooling liquid flows therethrough and cools the cooling surface A,B [0144-0150].
Regarding claim 3, Youngblood discloses the second conduit 19,D connects the outlet B to the source 10, the source 10 having a pump 81 (fig. 5) causing flow of the cooling liquid therethrough, said source 10 receiving the cooling liquid back via 19,D,28 and 17,18 from the neural cooling element 11, cooling the cooling liquid returned via 22, 33A,33B, and then transmitting the cooled cooling liquid to the neural cooling element 11 via 19,C 16,18,28 (see figs. 4, 5, [0149]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood US 2021/0219736 in view of Walls US 2015/0013347.
Regarding claim 6, Youngblood discloses the invention as discussed above. Youngblood further discloses the source 10,10’ comprises a housing 21 having therein a reservoir (second fluid reservoir [0149-0150]) and connected so as to receive via 28 cooling liquid from the second conduit 19,D, a pump 81 connected with the reservoir (second fluid reservoir) and drawing therefrom cooling liquid and supplying the cooling fluid to a cooling chamber (first fluid reservoir, [0148-0150]) the cooling chamber (first fluid reservoir [0084]) being in communication with the first conduit 19,C such that the cooling liquid is cycled by the pump 81 through the cooling chamber (first fluid reservoir), to the first conduit 19,C, then to the inlet opening A of the neural cooling element 11, then through the cooling spaces A,B (as defined by conduits 14 inside the neural cooling element 11) of the neural cooling element 11, the cooling chamber (first fluid reservoir) having operatively connected therewith two Peltier chips (TEC, 33A,B) that are both powered so as to cool the cooling chamber 22 and the cooling liquid therein, the Peltier chips 33,A,B each being connected thermally through thermal connecting material and a heat pipe to a heat sink 41A,42A,41B,42B,61A-61D [0144-0148], the heat sink 41A,42A,41B,42B,61A-61D being exposed to airflow by one or more fans 71,72 drawing cool air from the environment and through the housing 21 [0148], each of the Peltier chips 33A,B being powered by a respective power supply 48 [0144-0150].
Youngblood, [0150] does not explicitly disclose the outlet opening 19,D of the neural cooling element 11 is cycled to the reservoir (second fluid reservoir) and then back to the pump.
However, Youngblood, in the embodiment of figs. 5-6, teaches the pump 81 cycles cooling fluid through the outlet opening 19,D of the neural cooling element 11 to the reservoir 22 via fluid return inlet 25 and tubing 28 (see figs. 5-6), then back to the pump 81 via the fluid being chilled by cooling elements 33A,33B and chamber outlet 24 that connects to the pump 81, for the purpose of operatively connecting the pump to the reservoir to circulate the fluid through the source in a fluid circuit via the fluid return line, and back into the reservoir through a fluid return inlet in order to condition and cool the fluid such that it can be cycled and circulated back to the inlet opening of the neural cooling element [0149].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the first fluid reservoir in embodiment [0150] of Youngblood with the fluid return inlet 25 as taught by the embodiment of figs. 5-6 of Youngblood in order to have provided an improved first fluid reservoir that operatively connects the pump to the first reservoir to circulate the fluid through the source in a fluid circuit via the fluid return line, and back into the reservoir through the fluid return inlet in order to condition and cool the fluid such that it can be cycled and circulated back to the inlet opening of the neural cooling element which optimizes timesaving for the user by mitigating constant manual refilling of fluid [0149] et seq. [0150].
Youngblood discloses the invention as discussed above. Youngblood does not disclose a temperature detector or thermocouple connected with the metallic layer and communicating electrically with control circuitry so as to transmit thereto data corresponding to a temperature of the cooling surface of the chip, said control circuitry controlling operation of the source so as to cool the cooling surface to below a predetermined temperature.
Walls teaches an analogous source 100 having temperature detector(s) or thermocouple(s) 80 (thermocouple 80 can be multiple thermocouples [0037]) connected with a metallic layer of an analogous cooling chamber (that can be touching the sides of the metal container, container is made of metal, [0034]) and communicating electrically via 70 [0034] with analogous control circuitry 70 so as to transmit data corresponding to a temperature of the cooling surface of an analogous chip 40 (TEC or Peltier chips 40), said control circuitry 70 controlling operation of the analogous source 10 so as to cool the cooling surface to below a predetermined temperature (figs. 1-3b, [0023-0038]), for the purpose of reading temperatures of the container in order to modulate the amount of heat transfer using the Peltier chips to make sure that the temperature of the container vis-à-vis the Peltier chips can stay at the desired temperature ([0029 et seq. 0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the source 10 of Youngblood with the temperature detector or thermocouple 80 connected to the control circuitry 70 as taught by Walls in order to have provided an improved source that allows for reading temperatures of the cooling chamber in order to modulate the amount of heat transfer using the Peltier chips to make sure that the temperature of the cooling chamber vis-à-vis the Peltier chips can stay at the desired temperature ([0029 et seq. 0037]).
Claims 4-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood US 2021/0219736 in view of Young US 2024/0057697.
Regarding claim 4, Youngblood discloses the invention as discussed above. Although Youngblood discloses the source 10 includes control circuitry 48, Youngblood does not disclose the source includes control circuitry connected with a temperature sensor associated with the neural cooling element, said control circuitry controlling operation of the source so as to maintain a preselected temperature of tissue in contact with the colling surface of the neutral cooling element.
Young teaches an analogous source 12 including an analogous control circuitry 38 connected with a temperature sensor (connected to the tank 24, [0026]) associated with an analogous neural element 14, said control circuitry 38 controlling operation of the source 12 so as to maintain a preselected temperature of tissue in contact with the cooling surface of the analogous cooling element 14 [0024,0026,0027,0033,0038-0039], for the purpose of controlling the Peltier elements and the temperature of the tank and that of the neural cooling element by receiving inputs from the temperature sensor [0038-0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the source 10 and the control circuitry of Youngblood with the control circuitry connected with a temperature sensor associated with the neural cooling element, said control circuitry controlling operation of the source so as to maintain a preselected temperature of tissue in contact with the colling surface of the neutral cooling element as taught by Young in order to have provided an improved source that includes control circuitry that includes temperature sensor(s) that allows control circuitry connected with a temperature sensor associated with the neural cooling element, said control circuitry controlling operation of the source so as to maintain a preselected temperature of tissue in contact with the colling surface of the neutral cooling element to optimate temperature for the user [0038-039].
Regarding claim 5, Youngblood in view of Young discloses the invention as discussed above.
Youngblood further discloses the source 10 includes a reservoir (second fluid reservoir that stores fluid, [0150]) storing the cooling liquid and a cooling chamber (first fluid reservoir that cools the liquid, [0150]) cooled by at least one Peltier chip 33A,B connected with a heat sink 41A,42A,41B,42B,61A-D [0146-0149].
Regarding claim 7, Youngblood in view of Young discloses the invention as discussed above. Youngblood in view of Young does not disclose the neural cooling element includes a body that is formed of non-metallic material supporting a metallic wall portion, said cooling surface being on the metallic wall portion; the metallic wall portion being at least partly exposed on a side thereof opposite to the cooling surface to the interior space in the neural cooling element so as to contact the cooling liquid in the interior space and to be cooled thereby.
Young further discloses an analogous neural cooling element 14 includes a body that is formed of non-metallic material (polypropylene PAX, [0029]) supporting a metallic wall portion (a metallic foil adjacent a side of the heat exchanger 14), said cooling surface being on the metallic wall portion (when cooling reflect heat away from the body surface) the metallic wall portion being at least partly exposed on a side thereof opposite to the cooling surface to the interior space in the neural cooling element 14 so as to contact the cooling liquid in the interior space and to be cooled thereby (the side facing the inner chamber is a side away from the human body and so it comes into contact with the fluid) [0029].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the inner surfaces 14 of the neural cooling element of Youngblood in view of Young with the body that is formed of non-metallic material supporting a metallic wall portion, said cooling surface being on the metallic wall portion; the metallic wall portion being at least partly exposed on a side thereof opposite to the cooling surface to the interior space in the neural cooling element so as to contact the cooling liquid in the interior space and to be cooled thereby as further taught by Young in order to have provided an improved neural cooling element that has inner surfaces that come into contact with the cooling fluid such that reflect heat away from the human body to cool the body more efficiently [0029].
Regarding claim 8, Youngblood in view of Young discloses the invention as discussed above. Youngblood further discloses the interior space 14 is divided into a plurality of parallel cooling channels 14 (as can be seen in fig. 1, parts of 14 are parallel) through which the cooling liquid flows and cools the cooling surface A,B [0144-0146].
Regarding claim 9, Youngblood in view of Young discloses the invention as discussed above. Youngblood further discloses the inlet A has a manifold 18 receiving the cooling fluid and communicating with cooling channels 14 via 16 so as to supply the cooling liquid from the inlet A thereto (see annotated fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Youngblood in view of Young discloses the invention as discussed above. Youngblood further discloses the outlet B has a manifold 18,19 (the claim does not preclude the manifold in claim 10 to be separate or distinct from that of the manifold 18 in claim 9 also 18 necessarily and obviously as ports that mate with 19,C,D) communicating with the cooling channels 14 via 17 so that cooling fluid passes through the neural cooling element 11 by passing through the manifold 18,19 of the inlet A through all of the cooling channels 14, through the manifold 18,19 of the outlet B and out of the neural cooling element 11 (see annotated fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Youngblood in view of Young discloses the invention as discussed above. Youngblood further discloses cooling element 11 is formed in two parts, one of the parts having openings (ports) for the inlet A and outlet B and the manifolds 18,19 therein, and the other of the parts having the cooling channels 14 (within the pad 11) therein extending completely therethrough, and a wall overlying the cooling channels (the polypropylene PAX that houses the conduits 14) and being cooled by cooling liquid therein, the cooling surface A,B being on a side of the wall opposite to the colling channels (areas/zones A,B define surfaces on the outside of the mat that come into contact with the patient’s body, see annotated fig. 4 and fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are allowed.
Applicant’s attention is drawn to the claim objections regarding suggested language to claim 18 for purpose of consistency in claim language.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance with regards to independent claim 18 (with language suggested in the objections section of this Office action):
Independent claim 18 recites:
A chip configured for implantation in a human for delivering cooling treatment, said chip comprising: first and second parts secured together; the first part having a top surface having an inlet opening and an outlet opening therein, the first part having first and second interior chambers extending downward from the openings and through a lower end of the first part, said first interior chamber communicating with the inlet opening and the second interior chamber communicating with the outlet opening; the second part having a plurality of coolant spaces therein open toward the first part and configured so that cooling fluid in said spaces causes cooling of a bottom surface of the second part; the first and second parts being configured such that a cooling fluid supplied through the inlet opening flows through the first interior chamber to the coolant spaces, and then flows from the coolant spaces to the second interior chamber and out of the first part through the outlet opening; the first and second parts together forming a cube having a dimension along each edge of 3 mm or less, said first part having a downward protrusion and the second part having an upper recess receiving the downward protrusion enclosing an interior of the chip; the second part having a portion through which the coolant spaces extend completely, and a metallic layer or aluminum tape overlying the coolant spaces and providing the bottom surface of the second part; and the first and second interior chambers of the first part being trapezoidal in a horizontal cross section and each overlying all of the coolant spaces of the second part.
The closest prior art of record are Saunders US 2011/0282418 which is an implant, but it is not a chip having a first and second parts such that the first and second parts together forming a cube having a dimension along each edge of 3 mm or less, said first part having a downward protrusion and the second part having an upper recess receiving the downward protrusion enclosing an interior of the chip; the second part having a portion through which the coolant spaces extend completely, and a metallic layer or aluminum tape overlying the coolant spaces and providing the bottom surface of the second part; and the first and second interior chambers of the first part being trapezoidal in a horizontal cross section and each overlying all of the coolant spaces of the second part as required by the claim.
Neither Saadat US 2007/0225781 and Boyden US 2012/0290051 (both of which are cited below) neither anticipate nor render obvious the required structure of a first and second parts such that the first and second parts together forming a cube having a dimension along each edge of 3 mm or less, said first part having a downward protrusion and the second part having an upper recess receiving the downward protrusion enclosing an interior of the chip; the second part having a portion through which the coolant spaces extend completely, and a metallic layer or aluminum tape overlying the coolant spaces and providing the bottom surface of the second part; and the first and second interior chambers of the first part being trapezoidal in a horizontal cross section and each overlying all of the coolant spaces of the second part as required by the claim. The prior art of record do not disclose or teach the above limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2007/0225781 to Saadat (implant in the spine region to cool nerve tissues using Peltier effect, heat exchangers, pump, and cooling fluid)
US 2012/0290051 to Boyden (implant in brain using Peltier effect and liquid or gas for cooling)
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786