Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 10-21) in the reply filed on 8/12/26 is acknowledged. Even though Applicant stated that the election is elected with traverse, the election is actually elected without traverse because Applicant presented no reasons explaining why the restriction requirement is improper. Therefore, the restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 22-30 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 12, 13, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 20190017404 (KR’404).
For claim 10, KR’404 teaches a method of manufacture of an animal tag, said method including the steps of:
a. providing a casing (111a) configured for accommodating therein one or more electronic components; and
b. molding a one-piece animal tag (110) over said casing in a peripheral configuration around said casing (see Abstract).
For claim 12, KR’404 teaches wherein molding includes encapsulation of said one or more electronic components (battery, see Abstract).
For claim 13, KR’404 teaches wherein the one-piece animal tag is molded around a peripheral configuration, while forming an access port (where the battery is inserted therein) for allowing access to said casing.
For claim 17, KR’404 teaches wherein the one-piece animal tag comprises a first portion (112) and a second portion (111), wherein said second portion encapsulated said one or more electronic components.
For claim 18, KR’404 teaches wherein the method includes integrally molding a retaining member between said first portion and said second portion (see Figure 2 below).
For claim 19, KR’404 teaches wherein said retaining member has a substantially narrower width with respect to the first portion and the second portion (see Figure 2 below).
For claim 20, KR’404 teaches wherein said method includes forming a latitudinal recess in the retaining member (see Figure 2 below).
For claim 21, KR’404 teaches wherein forming of the latitudinal recess includes forming the retaining member to have various levels of thickness by forming a sloped or a stepped structure (see Figure 2 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20190017404 (KR’404).
For claim 11, as described above, KR’404 discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein said method includes introducing said one or more electronic components into said casing prior to the molding of the one-piece animal tag.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of KR’404 so as to include the step of introducing said one or more electronic components into said casing prior to the molding of the one-piece animal tag, since a particular order is deemed to be a matter of design choice wherein no stated problem is solved or any new or unexpected result achieved by performing these steps in the manner as claimed versus the manner as taught by KR’404, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the steps conducted in the manner as taught in KR’404.
For claim 14, as described above, KR’404 discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein said method includes introduction of at least one of said one or more electronic components into the casing after the molding stage.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of KR’404 so as to include the step of introduction of at least one of said one or more electronic components into the casing after the molding stage, since a particular order is deemed to be a matter of design choice wherein no stated problem is solved or any new or unexpected result achieved by performing these steps in the manner as claimed versus the manner as taught by KR’404, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the steps conducted in the manner as taught in KR’404.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20190017404 (KR’404) in view of Pollack (US 4854328; as cited on IDS 7/1/25).
For claim 15, as described above, KR’404 discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein said method includes forming a tube configured to accommodate a light source.
Pollack teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide an animal tag having a tube configured to accommodate a light source (66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of KR’404 so as to include a tube configured to accommodate a light source, in a similar manner as taught in Pollack, so as to provide a light source visible to a user.
For claim 16, KR’404 as modified by Pollack (emphasis on Pollack) further teach wherein said light source (66) is capable of providing light indications visible to a user when the animal tag is attached to the animal.
Conclusion
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Collins can be reached on 571-272-6886. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644