DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a non-final, first office action in response to the application filed 3 June 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 June 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12, 14, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 8, the Applicant claims, “wherein the software application allows a user to arrange transportation to multiple venues for a pet, with or without a companion, such as vet appointments, park visits, pet playdates, or doggy daycare.” The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read, “wherein the software application allows a user to arrange transportation to multiple venues for a pet, with or without a companion.” Claims 9-12 depend on claim 8, and therefore are rejected via dependency.
With respect to claim 14, the Applicant claims, “wherein alternative transit modes can be displayed, such as private planes and boats.” The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read, “wherein alternative transit modes can be displayed.”
With respect to claim 15, the Applicant claims, “wherein larger animals, such as livestock or exotic animals can be serviced on the software application.” This claim is indefinite and unclear for reciting relative language, and for reciting, “such as.” The terms “larger” and “exotic animals” in the claim are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “larger” and “exotic animals” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. With respect to “larger,” no comparable size is defined, thus rendering it unclear as to what would constitute a “larger animal.” Notably, any animal can be considered “larger,” when compared to another smaller animal, and thus, the term is relative to the reader. Similarly, with respect to “exotic animals,” not type of animal has previously been defined, thus rendering it unclear as to what animal is considered “exotic.” Notably, with any animal can be an “exotic animal,” compared to some “local animal,” depending on the reader’s relative and subjective terms and opinion. Thus, the Applicant has rendered the claim indefinite and unclear for failing to particularly define their invention. Additionally, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read, “wherein animals, can be serviced on the software application.”
With respect to claim 17, the Applicant claims, “wherein the add-on services include short-term pet sitting, dog walking, pet grooming, or backyard poop scooping.” This claim is indefinite and unclear for reciting relative language, specifically, “short-term.” The term “short-term” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “short-term” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Notably, the Applicant has failed to define any standard length of time in the claims or the specification, thus rendering it unclear how long of a time period is considered “short-term,” which is thus, a subjective term that is relative to the reader’s interpretation, rendering the claim indefinite and unclear. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read, “wherein the add-on services include pet sitting, dog walking, pet grooming, or backyard poop scooping.”
With respect to claim 20, the Applicant claims, “utilizing an easy-to-use interface for arranging pet transportation without an owner.” This claim is indefinite and unclear for reciting relative language, specifically, “easy-to-use.” The term “easy-to-use” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “easy-to-use” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Notably, no set definition is provided within the claims or specification which set forth what would constitute an “easy-to-use” interface, as the ease of use is purely a subjective and relative feeling of a reader/user, rendering this claim indefinite and unclear. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read, “utilizing an interface for arranging pet transportation without an owner.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a software application; and a user interface; wherein the software application is accessible on a smart device; and further wherein the user interface allows a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion.
The limitations of allowing a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion; as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, encompasses the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities), and the performance of elements that can be performed in the human mind. That is, other than reciting the use of generic computer elements (software application, user interface, smart device), the claims recite an abstract idea. In particular, allowing a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion; encompasses a user scheduling a reservation for a pet service; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities). Thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities.” In addition, allowing a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion; encompasses a human booking a reservation, which can be completed by the human mind (observation, evaluation, judgement). As such, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. The claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not recite additional elements, when taken individually and in an ordered combination with the abstract idea, that improve the functioning of a computer, another technology, or technical field. The claims do not recite the use of, or apply the abstract idea with, a particular machine, the claims do not recite the transformation of an article from one state or thing into another. Finally, the claims do not recite additional elements, taken individually and in an ordered combination, that apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Instead, the claims recite the use of generic computer elements (software application, user interface, smart device, user interface) as tools used to carry out the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements, when taken individually and in an ordered combination with the abstract idea, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer elements and machines to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are directed to non-patent eligible subject matter.
The dependent claims 2-12, when taken individually and in an ordered combination with the abstract idea, do not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea. In particular, the claims further recite the types of devices that encompass the smart device; which further recites the use of generic computer elements as tools to carry out the abstract idea; which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea (claim 2). In addition, the claims further recite the service being a rideshare service to transport the pet; which encompasses a user scheduling a reservation for a pet service; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 3). In addition, the claims further recite using an app or website to conduct the service; which further recites the use of generic computer elements as tools to carry out the abstract idea; which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea (claim 4). In addition, the claims further recite a server or cloud for storing location data; which further recites the use of generic computer elements as tools to carry out the abstract idea; which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea (claim 5). In addition, the claims further recite using a mapping service; which encompasses managing services and sales activities available to a user; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 6). In addition, the claims recite the use of a GPS; which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea (claim 7). In addition, the claims further recite arranging for transportation to multiple services; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 8). In addition, the claims further recite downloading the application and logging into it; which is deemed extrasolution activity, that is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (See at least paragraphs 51, which describe downloading the application and logging into the app at such a high level of generality that one of ordinary skill would understand it to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in order to satisfy 112a); which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea (claim 9). In addition, the claims further recite a user entering a monthly or yearly membership; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 10). In addition, the claims further recite a user selecting services screen and choosing specific options; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 11). In addition, the claims further recite the type of services that can be scheduled; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 12).
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a software application which is a rideshare app designed to safely transport pets when their owners are unavailable; and a user interface; wherein the software application provides a secure website or smart phone app access by users for arranging pet rides and other services for their pets, with or without a companion; wherein the software application utilizes a digital mapping service and GPS services; wherein the user interface allows a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion; wherein a user downloads the software application to their smart device and access the user interface to log into a home screen; wherein users select a services screen on the user interface and choose specific pet services; and further wherein the variety of services can include taxi services, dog walking, or pet sitting.
The limitations of proving access to users for arranging pet rides and other services for their pets, utilizing a digital mapping service and location services, allowing a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion, wherein users select a services screen on the user interface and choose specific pet services, and wherein the variety of services can include taxi services, dog walking, or pet sitting; as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation; encompasses the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities), and the performance of elements that can be performed in the human mind. That is, other than reciting the use of generic computer elements (software application, user interface, smart device, GPS, website, app), the claims recite an abstract idea. In particular, proving access to users for arranging pet rides and other services for their pets, utilizing a digital mapping service and location services, allowing a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion, having users select a services screen on the user interface and choose specific pet services, and the variety of services can include taxi services, dog walking, or pet sitting; encompasses a user scheduling reservations for pet services, wherein the reservation process using location and map information; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities). Thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities.” In addition, allowing a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion; which encompasses a human booking a reservation, which can be completed by the human mind (observation, evaluation, judgement). As such, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. The claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not recite additional elements, when taken individually and in an ordered combination with the abstract idea, that improve the functioning of a computer, another technology, or technical field. The claims do not recite the use of, or apply the abstract idea with, a particular machine, the claims do not recite the transformation of an article from one state or thing into another. Finally, the claims do not recite additional elements, taken individually and in an ordered combination, that apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Instead, the claims recite the use of generic computer elements (software application, user interface, smart device, GPS, website, app) as tools to carry out the abstract idea. In addition, the claims further recite a user downloading an app and logging into the app; which is deemed extrasolution activity. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements, when taken individually and in an ordered combination with the abstract idea, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer elements and machines to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. In addition, the claims further recite downloading the application and logging into it; which is deemed extrasolution activity, that is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (See at least paragraphs 51, which describe downloading the application and logging into the app at such a high level of generality that one of ordinary skill would understand it to be well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in order to satisfy 112a); which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The claims are directed to non-patent eligible subject matter.
The dependent claims 14-19, when taken individually and in an ordered combination- with the abstract idea, do not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea. In particular, the claims further recite providing alternative modes of transportation; which further encompasses the selecting services to reserve; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 14). In addition, the claims further recite the type of animals that can have services booked; which is merely narrowing the field of use; which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea (claim 15). In addition, the claims further recite booking additional services, in addition to transportation, and the type of services that can be booked; which encompass a user making reservations for services; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claims 16 and 17). In addition, the claims further recite a plurality of indicia; which is merely narrowing the field of use; which does not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or add significantly more to the abstract idea (claim 18). In addition, the claims further recite a user electing to donate to a charity; which encompasses users making payments; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities); thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities,” (claim 19).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite providing a pet transportation application device comprising a software application that provides a rideshare app for pet owners; accessing the software application; utilizing an easy-to-use interface for arranging pet transportation without an owner; and arranging independent transportation to vet appointments, park visits, pet playdates, or doggy daycare on the application.
The limitations of providing a service that allows uses to arrange pet transportation without an owner, and arranging independent transportation to vet appointments, park visits, pet playdates, or doggy daycare on the application; as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, encompasses the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities), and the performance of elements that can be performed in the human mind. That is, other than reciting the use of generic computer elements (application device, software application, rideshare app, interface), the claims recite an abstract idea. In particular, providing a service that allows uses to arrange pet transportation without an owner, and arranging independent transportation to vet appointments, park visits, pet playdates, or doggy daycare on the application; encompasses a user scheduling reservations for pet services; which is the management of commercial activity (business relations, sales activities). Thus, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities.” In addition, allowing a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion; which encompasses a human booking a reservation, which can be completed by the human mind (observation, evaluation, judgement). As such, the claims recite elements that fall into the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. The claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not recite additional elements, when taken individually and in an ordered combination with the abstract idea, that improve the functioning of a computer, another technology, or technical field. The claims do not recite the use of, or apply the abstract idea with, a particular machine, the claims do not recite the transformation of an article from one state or thing into another. Finally, the claims do not recite additional elements, taken individually and in an ordered combination, that apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Instead, the claims recite the use of generic computer elements (application device, software application, rideshare app, interface) as tools to carry out the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements, when taken individually and in an ordered combination with the abstract idea, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer elements and machines to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is directed to non-patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You (US 2022/0301091 A1) (hereinafter You).
With respect to claim 1, You teaches:
A software application; and a user interface; Wherein the software application is accessible on a smart device; and (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 40, 47, and 62 which describe a pet mobility service, which provides an app for a user to install on a user device, such as their smart phone).
Further wherein the user interface allows a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, and wherein the pets can travel with or without the owner).
With respect to claim 2, You discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein the smart device is a smartphone, tablet, laptop, or a desktop computer (See at least paragraph 6, 10, 40, and 47 which describe the user devices as including a laptop, smartphone, or a specialized device).
With respect to claim 3, You discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein the software application is a rideshare app designed to safely transport pets when their owners are unavailable (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 40, 47, and 62 which describe a pet mobility service, which provides an app for a user to install on a user device, such as their smart phone, and wherein the app is a rideshare app for transporting their pet without the owner).
With respect to claim 4, You discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-3 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein the software application provides a secure website or smart phone app access by users for arranging pet rides and other services for their pets, with or without a companion (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 40, 47, and 62 which describe a pet mobility service, which provides an app for a user to install on a user device, such as their smart phone, and wherein the app is a rideshare app for transporting their pet without the owner).
With respect to claim 5, You discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-4 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
A web server and Cloud database of location and rideshare data connectable to the smart device (See at least paragraphs 6-8, 11, 49, 50, 54, 62, 70, and 120, which describe a management server that collects and stores location information and service information).
With respect to claim 20, You teaches:
Providing a pet transportation application device comprising a software application that provides a rideshare app for pet owners (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 40, 47, and 62 which describe a pet mobility service, which provides an app for a user to install on a user device, such as their smart phone).
Accessing the software application; Utilizing an easy-to-use interface for arranging pet transportation without an owner; Arranging independent transportation to vet appointments, park visits, pet playdates, or doggy daycare on the application (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks, and wherein the pets can travel with or without the owner).
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You as applied to claims 1-5 as stated above, and further in view of Vasant (US 2008/0014908 A1) (hereinafter Vasant).
With respect to claim 6, You discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-5 as stated above. You does not explicitly disclose the following, however Vasant teaches:
Wherein the software application utilizes a digital mapping service (See at least paragraphs 33-35, 41, 57, 59, and 75 which describe a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app to book pet services, such as transportation, with or without the owner of You, with the system and method of a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services of Vasant. By utilizing mapping services, a management system will predictably be able to identify service providers in an area around a user, and alert parties to other parties’ locations, thus increasing the likelihood of completing business transactions.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of You and Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-6 as stated above. In addition, Vasant teaches:
Wherein the software application utilizes GPS services (See at least paragraphs 33-35, 41, 57, 59, and 75 which describe a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app to book pet services, such as transportation, with or without the owner of You, with the system and method of a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services of Vasant. By utilizing mapping services and a GPS, a management system will predictably be able to identify service providers in an area around a user, and alert parties to other parties’ locations, thus increasing the likelihood of completing business transactions.
With respect to claim 8, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-7 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein the software application allows a user to arrange transportation to multiple venues for a pet, with or without a companion, such as vet appointments, park visits, pet playdates, or doggy daycare (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks, and wherein the pets can travel with or without the owner).
With respect to claim 9, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-8 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein a user downloads the software application to their smart device and access the user interface (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 40, 47, and 62 which describe a pet mobility service, which provides an app for a user to install on a user device, such as their smart phone, and allows a user to book services in the app interface).
You discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. You does not explicitly disclose the following, however Vasant teaches:
Wherein a user downloads the software application to their smart device and access the user interface to log into a home screen (See at least paragraphs33-36, 46, 49, and 67 which describe a user installing an application to their smart device, and logging into it to access its services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app to book pet services, such as transportation, with or without the owner of You, with the system and method of a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services, and wherein the user installs the application to their smart device, and logs into it to access its services of Vasant. By having a user log into an account in order to access its service, a management system can predictably increase security of their service, thus, preventing fraudulent actions.
With respect to claim 10, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-9 as stated above. In addition, Vasant teaches:
Wherein users can enter into a monthly or yearly membership account (See at least paragraphs 39, 46, 52, and 69 which describe a user subscribing the transportation service, wherein the subscription can be monthly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app to book pet services, such as transportation, with or without the owner of You, with the system and method of a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services, wherein the user installs the application to their smart device and logs into it to access its services, and wherein the user can enroll in a membership for the service of Vasant. By allowing users to enroll in membership for a transportation service, a management system can predictably provide premium services to members, and would provide a constant revenue stream to the system.
With respect to claim 11, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-10 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein users select a services screen on the user interface and choose specific pet services (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks, and wherein the user can select specific services by selecting them).
With respect to claim 12, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claims 1-11 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein the variety of services can include taxi services, dog walking, pet sitting dog training, animal behavior therapy or animal merchandise to be purchased (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks, and wherein the user can select specific services by selecting them).
Claims 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of Vasant.
With respect to claim 13, You teaches:
A software application which is a rideshare app designed to safely transport pets when their owners are unavailable; and a user interface; Wherein the software application provides a secure website or smart phone app access by users for arranging pet rides and other services for their pets, with or without a companion; Wherein the user interface allows a user to schedule various services for their pet with or without a companion (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 40, 47, and 62 which describe a pet mobility service, which provides an app for a user to install on a user device, such as their smart phone, and wherein the pets can travel with or without the owner).
Wherein a user downloads the software application to their smart device and access the user interface (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 40, 47, and 62 which describe a pet mobility service, which provides an app for a user to install on a user device, such as their smart phone, and allows a user to book services in the app interface).
Wherein users select a services screen on the user interface and choose specific pet services; and further wherein the variety of services can include taxi services, dog walking, or pet sitting (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks, and wherein the user can select specific services by selecting them).
You discloses all of the limitations of claim 13 as stated above. You does not explicitly disclose the following, however Vasant teaches:
Wherein the software application utilizes a digital mapping service and GPS services (See at least paragraphs 33-35, 41, 57, 59, and 75 which describe a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services).
Wherein a user downloads the software application to their smart device and access the user interface to log into a home screen (See at least paragraphs33-36, 46, 49, and 67 which describe a user installing an application to their smart device, and logging into it to access its services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app to book pet services, such as transportation, with or without the owner of You, with the system and method of a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services, and wherein the user installs the application to their smart device, and logs into it to access its services of Vasant. By utilizing mapping services and a GPS, a management system will predictably be able to identify service providers in an area around a user, and alert parties to other parties’ locations, thus increasing the likelihood of completing business transactions. In addition, by having a user log into an account in order to access its service, a management system can predictably increase security of their service, thus, preventing fraudulent actions.
With respect to claim 15, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claim 13 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein larger animals, such as livestock or exotic animals can be serviced on the software application (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks, and wherein the pet can be any type of animal).
With respect to claim 16, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claim 13 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein add-on services can be utilized on the software application in addition to rideshare or taxi services (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks).
With respect to claim 17, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claims 13 and 16 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
Wherein the add-on services include short-term pet sitting, dog walking, pet grooming, or backyard poop scooping (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, walks, and beauty services).
With respect to claim 18, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claim 13 as stated above. In addition, You teaches:
A plurality of indicia (See at least paragraphs 6, 10, 36, 45, 47, 48, 49, 57, 62-68, 70, and 93 which describe users using the app to reserve pet services for their pet, wherein the services include pet transportation, vet appointments, and walks, and wherein the user can select specific services by selecting them).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You and Vasant as applied to claim 13 as stated above, and further in view of Shibano (US 2022/0138635 A1) (hereinafter Shibano)
With respect to claim 14, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claim 13 as stated above. You and Vasant do not explicitly disclose the following, however Shibano teaches:
Wherein alternative transit modes can be displayed, such as private planes and boats (See at least paragraphs 67-80 which describe a user requesting a transportation service, wherein the transport app displays different modes of transportation as options for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app to book pet services, such as transportation, with or without the owner of You, with the system and method of a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services, and wherein the user installs the application to their smart device, and logs into it to access its services of Vasant, with the system and method of a user requesting a transportation service, wherein the transport app displays different modes of transportation as options for the user of Shibano. By allowing different modes of transportation to be offered to a customer, a transport management system will predictably be able to ensure that a user can utilize their desired mode of travel along desired routes, thus increasing their satisfaction with the service, and driving further usage.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You and Vasant as applied to claim 13 as stated above, and further in view of Talavera (US 2024/00399005 A1) (hereinafter Talavera).
With respect to claim 19, You/Vasant discloses all of the limitations of claim 13 as stated above. You and Vasant do not explicitly disclose the following, however Talavera teaches:
Wherein a user can elect to donate to animal welfare causes or other pet-related charities (See at least paragraphs 945 ad 1482 wherein a user is able to utilize an app to book services, such as animal care, wherein the user is also able to elect to donate funds to charities and animals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app to book pet services, such as transportation, with or without the owner of You, with the system and method of a user using an app to request transportation services, wherein the software utilizes mapping services and a GPS to track parties and book services, and wherein the user installs the application to their smart device, and logs into it to access its services of Vasant, with the system and method of a user is able to utilize an app to book services, such as animal care, wherein the user is also able to elect to donate funds to charities and animals of Talavera. By allowing users to elect to donate funds for charities, alongside with booking other services, a management system will predictably allow a customer to feel pride in their usage of a service, thus increasing their satisfaction with the service, and driving further usage.
Conclusion
Michael Harrington
Primary Patent Examiner
19 March 2026
Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628