DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 06/03/2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-22 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 06/03/2025 are accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14,
The recitation “the upper frequency band of operation” in lines 3-4 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (US 6343208), hereinafter Ying.
Regarding claim 1,
Ying discloses a dual-band monopole antenna system (a two-part L slot patch antenna, Fig 6B) comprising:
spiral radiating elements (sub-parts 615A and 615B, Fig 6B); that enable operation a first frequency band (col 7, lines 2-3); and
patch radiating elements (sub-parts 620A and 620B, Fig 6B) that enable operation in a second frequency band (col 7, lines 2-3), higher than and distinct from the first frequency band (col 7, lines 2-3).
Ying does not explicitly teach the two-part L slot patch antenna comprises an elongated ground plane.
However, Ying teaches an elongated printed circuit board (PCB) 315 with a ground pin 335 (Fig 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the elongated PCB 315 being an elongated ground plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an elongated ground plane in Ying, in order to provide a low profile, high efficiency, broad band and multi-band antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Ying (US 6343208))]
[AltContent: textbox (Ying (US 6343208))]
Regarding claim 2,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ying does not explicitly teach the first frequency band comprises 700 MHz to 960 Mhz and wherein the second frequency band comprises 1700 MHz to 2200 MHz.
However, Ying teaches by controlling the size of the patch parts, the antenna is capable of being tuned to different frequencies (col 6, lines 30-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first frequency band comprising 700 MHz to 960 Mhz and wherein a second frequency band comprising 1700 MHz to 2200 MHz in Ying as modified, in order to provide a low profile, high efficiency, broad band and multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 4,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ying teaches the elongated ground plane is formed by a printed circuit board (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Ying teaches the spiral radiating elements and the patch radiating elements are top-loaded on the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 7,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Ying teaches a shared feed point (a feeding pin 325, Fig 6B) on the printed circuit board for both the first frequency band and the second frequency band.
Regarding claim 8,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Ying does not teach the printed circuit board comprises FR4 fiberglass material.
However, it is well known in the art that a printed circuit board comprises FR4 fiberglass material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a printed circuit board comprising FR4 fiberglass material in Ying as modified, in order to provide a low profile, high efficiency, broad band and multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 9,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 4.
Ying does not teach the printed circuit board is a multi-layer printed circuit board.
However, it is well known in the art that a printed circuit board is a multi-layer printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a printed circuit board being a multi-layer printed circuit board in Ying as modified, in order to provide a low profile, high efficiency, broad band and multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 10,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 9.
Ying does not teach the printed circuit board is a four-layer printed circuit board.
However, it is well known in the art that a printed circuit board is a four-layer printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a printed circuit board being a four-layer printed circuit board in Ying as modified, in order to provide a low profile, high efficiency, broad band and multi-band antenna.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (US 6343208), hereinafter Ying, in view of Azulay et al (US 20160187157), hereinafter Azulay.
Regarding claim 3,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ying does not teach the dual-band monopole system is positioned in a water meter.
However, Azulay teaches an antenna system AS (Fig3) is positioned in a water meter (a water meter 10, Fig 2; paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dual-band monopole system being positioned in a water meter in Ying as modified, as taught by Azulay, in order to provide a meter register for remote reading that can provide a proper and consistent reading even when positioned in a pit and particularly when the pit is filled with water.
[AltContent: textbox (Azulay (US 20160187157))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (H)][AltContent: textbox (Azulay (US 20160187157))]
[AltContent: textbox (AS)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Azulay (US 20160187157))]
Claims 11-12 and 14, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (US 6343208), hereinafter Ying, in view of Mayes et al (US 6337664), hereinafter Mayes.
Regarding claim 11,
Ying as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ying does not further teach lumped tuning elements that provide impedance matching and resonance suppression.
However, Mayes teaches an antenna system (an antenna AS, Fig 1A) comprises lumped tuning elements (lumped elements 20, Fig 1A) that provide impedance matching and resonance suppression (Fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use lumped tuning elements providing impedance matching and resonance suppression in Ying as modified, as taught by Mayes, in order to provide a meter register for remote reading that can provide an electrically small antenna that can operate across a very wide range of frequencies.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (AS)][AltContent: textbox (Mayes (US 6337664))]
[AltContent: textbox (Mayes (US 6337664))]
Regarding claim 12,
Ying as modified in view of Mayes discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Mayes teaches the lumped tuning elements comprise a series tuning inductor and tuning capacitor (Fig 2C).
Mayes does not explicitly teach the series tuning inductor and tuning capacitor center the first frequency band of operation.
However, Mayes teaches the frequency of the high-impedance resonance was varied by placing voltage-variable capacitors (varactors) in series with the inductors on the rim of the cone (col 3, lines 12-15). This teaching is result effect in order to switch the antenna from coverage of a certain band to coverage of another non-adjacent band (col 4, lines 62-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a series tuning inductor and tuning capacitor centering a first frequency band of operation in Ying as modified, in order to provide a meter register for remote reading that can provide an electrically small antenna that can operate across a very wide range of frequencies.
[AltContent: textbox (Mayes (US 6337664))]
Regarding claim 14,
Ying as modified in view of Mayes discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Mayes teaches the lumped tuning elements comprise a series matching inductor; (Fig 2C).
Mayes does not explicitly teach the series matching inductor is configured to center the upper frequency band of operation.
However, Mayes teaches the frequency of the high-impedance resonance was varied by placing voltage-variable capacitors (varactors) in series with the inductors on the rim of the cone (col 3, lines 12-15). This teaching is result effect in order to switch the antenna from coverage of a certain band to coverage of another non-adjacent band (col 4, lines 62-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a series matching inductor being configured to center an upper frequency band of operation in Ying as modified, as taught by Mayes, in order to provide a meter register for remote reading that can provide an electrically small antenna that can operate across a very wide range of frequencies.
Claims 15-17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azulay et al (US 20160187157), hereinafter Azulay, in view of Ying (US 6343208), hereinafter Ying.
Regarding claim 15,
Azulay discloses a water meter module (a water meter 10, Fig 2; paragraph [0032]) comprising:
an enclosure (a housing H, Fig 2); and
a dual-band monopole antenna system (an antenna system AS, Fig 3) sized and configured for placement within the enclosure (Fig 1).
Azulay does not teach the antenna system AS comprises:
an elongated ground plane;
spiral radiating elements that enable operation in a first frequency band; and
patch radiating elements that enable operation in a second frequency, the second frequency band being separate from and higher than the first frequency band.
However, Ying teaches an antenna system (a two-part L slot patch antenna, Fig 6B) comprises:
spiral radiating elements (sub-parts 615A and 615B, Fig 6B) that enable operation in a first frequency band (col 7, lines 2-3); and
patch radiating elements (sub-parts 620A and 620B, Fig 6B) that enable operation in a second frequency (col 7, lines 2-3), the second frequency band being separate from and higher than the first frequency band (col 7, lines 2-3).
Ying does not explicitly teach the two-part L slot patch antenna comprises an elongated ground plane.
However, Ying teaches an elongated printed circuit board (PCB) 315 with a ground pin 335 (Fig 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the elongated PCB 315 being an elongated ground plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna system comprising an elongated ground plane, spiral radiating elements enabling operation in a first frequency band, and patch radiating elements enabling operation in a second frequency, the second frequency band being separate from and higher than the first frequency band in Azulay, as taught by Ying, in order to provide a low profile, high efficiency, broad band and multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 16,
Azulay in view of Ying discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 15.
Ying does not explicitly teach the first frequency band comprises 700 MHz to 960 Mhz and wherein the second frequency band comprises 1700 MHz to 2200 MHz.
However, Ying teaches by controlling the size of the patch parts, the antenna is capable of being tuned to different frequencies (col 6, lines 30-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first frequency band comprising 700 MHz to 960 Mhz and wherein a second frequency band comprising 1700 MHz to 2200 MHz in Azulay as modified, in order to provide a low profile, high efficiency, broad band and multi-band antenna.
Regarding claim 17,
Azulay in view of Ying discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 15.
Ying teaches the elongated ground plane is a printed circuit board (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 21,
Azulay in view of Ying discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 15.
Azulay does not explicitly teach the enclosure is formed of an HDPE material.
However, it is well known in the art that an enclosure is formed of an HDPE material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an enclosure being formed of an HDPE material in Azulay as modified, in order to provide a meter register for remote reading that can provide a proper and consistent reading even when positioned in a pit and particularly when the pit is filled with water.
Regarding claim 22,
Azulay in view of Ying discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 15.
Azulay does not explicitly teach a plastic housing sized and configured to receive and substantially surround the enclosure.
However, it is well known in the art that a plastic housing sized and configured to receive and substantially surround an enclosure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plastic housing sized and configured to receive and substantially surround an enclosure in Azulay as modified, in order to provide a meter register for remote reading that can provide a proper and consistent reading even when positioned in a pit and particularly when the pit is filled with water.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the printed circuit board is T-shaped; and wherein the elongated ground plane is enhanced by the T-shaped printed circuit board”.
Regarding claim 13, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the tuning capacitor couples the spiral radiating elements and the patch radiating elements on a printed circuit board”.
Regarding claim 18, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the printed circuit board is T-shaped; and wherein the elongated ground plane is enhanced by the T-shaped printed circuit board”.
Regarding claim 19, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “a battery and a hybrid layer capacitor (HLC) coupled to the printed circuit board”.
Dependent claim 20 is considered to be allowable by virtue of its/their dependency/dependencies on claim 19.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845