Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No.12,445,484. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1, 9, and 17 of US 12,445,484 closely map to Claims 1, 17, 18 of the current application.
Dependent claims of US 12,445,484 closely align with dependent claims of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulusu US 2022/0329442 in view of Andrabi US 2023/0007023.
As per claim 1. Bulusu teaches A system, comprising: a processor configured to: receive, at a firewall appliance interposed between a client and a server, a network communication between the client and the server; [0109][0110][0113] (interception proxy)
Bulusu teaches determine, at the firewall appliance, and using the received network communication, that a ransomware attack is being attempted against the server; [0036][0109][0110][0113] (interception proxy, detection of ransomware and command and control connections)
Bulusu teaches and in response to detecting the attempted ransomware attack, perform a remedial action; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. [0069] [0120] (remedial actions, blocking threats)
Andrabi more specifically teaches using the received network communication, that a ransomware attack is being attempted against the server; [0040][0055] [0113]-[0115] (teaches anomaly detection system that specifically can be installed client side, server side, or administrator/middle device to detect ransomware actions, and provide remediation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Andrabi with Bulusu because it provides more effective ransomware protection.
As per claim 2. The system of claim 1, Andrabi teaches wherein the network communication comprises server message block (SMB) traffic. [0115]-[0117] (blocks client smb traffic)
As per claim 14. The system of claim 1, Andrabi teaches wherein the determining includes forwarding, by the firewall appliance, at least a portion of the network communication to a remote device. [0053][0120] (sending anomalies to remote admin device)
As per claim 15. Bulusu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein performing the remedial action includes blocking the client from accessing the server. [0069] [0120] (remedial actions, blocking threats)
As per claim 16. Bulusu teaches the system of claim 1, wherein performing the remedial action includes generating an alert. [0069] [0120] (remedial actions, alerts, blocking threats)
As per claim 17. Bulusu teaches A method, comprising: receiving, at a firewall appliance interposed between a client and a server, a network communication between a client and a server; [0109][0110][0113] (interception proxy)
Bulusu teaches determining, at the firewall appliance, and using the received network communication, that a ransomware attack is being attempted against the server; [0036][0109][0110][0113] (interception proxy, detection of ransomware and command and control connections)
Bulusu teaches and in response to detecting the attempted ransomware attack, performing a remedial action. [0069] [0120] (remedial actions, blocking threats)
Andrabi more specifically teaches using the received network communication, that a ransomware attack is being attempted against the server; [0040][0055] [0113]-[0115] (teaches anomaly detection system that specifically can be installed client side, server side, or administrator/middle device to detect ransomware actions, and provide remediation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Andrabi with Bulusu because it provides more effective ransomware protection.
As per claim 18. Bulusu teaches A computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising computer instructions for: receiving, at a firewall appliance interposed between a client and a server, a network communication between a client and a server; [0109][0110][0113] (interception proxy)
Bulusu teaches determining, at the firewall appliance, and using the received network communication, that a ransomware attack is being attempted against the server; [0036][0109][0110][0113] (interception proxy, detection of ransomware and command and control connections)
Bulusu teaches and in response to detecting the attempted ransomware attack, performing a remedial action. [0069] [0120] (remedial actions, blocking threats)
Andrabi more specifically teaches using the received network communication, that a ransomware attack is being attempted against the server; [0040][0055] [0113]-[0115] (teaches anomaly detection system that specifically can be installed client side, server side, or administrator/middle device to detect ransomware actions, and provide remediation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Andrabi with Bulusu because it provides more effective ransomware protection.
Claim(s) 3-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulusu US 2022/0329442 in view of Andrabi US 2023/0007023 in view of Constantinescu US 2021/0319103.
As per claim 3. The system of claim 1, Constantinescu teaches wherein the firewall appliance is configured to determine a is file type in response to the client transmitting a read request to the server and wherein the firewall appliance is configured to save the filetype in a session state. [0036][0037] [0047] [0052][0053] [0063][0066] (detect read write operations, save collected data, teaches the detection mechanism is a daemon that may be installed on client, server, off client, or on a server detecting client actions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Constantinescu with the prior art because it provides more effective ransomware protection.
As per claim 4. The system of claim 1, Constantinescu teaches wherein the determining is based at least in part on the firewall appliance detecting a file encryption operation initiated by the client. [0036][0047][0050][0052][0053] [0063][0066] (teaches detection of ransomware-based encryption)
As per claim 5. The system of claim 4, Constantinescu teaches wherein detecting the file encryption includes detecting a filetype change initiated by the client during a write operation.
[0036][0047][0050][0052][0053][0066] (teaches filetype change with write)
Andrabi teaches filetype anomaly. [0077]
As per claim 6. The system of claim 4, Constantinescu teaches wherein detecting the file encryption includes detecting a file rename operation initiated by the client during a write operation. [0036][0047][0050][0052][0053] [0063][0066] (teaches detection of ransomware based on write length pattern)
As per claim 7. The system of claim 4, Constantinescu teaches wherein detecting the file encryption includes detecting a file entropy change during a write operation initiated by the client. [0036][0047][0050][0052][0053] [0063][0066] (entropy detection)
As per claim 8. The system of claim 4, Constantinescu teaches wherein detecting the file encryption includes determining whether file contents match what is expected for an associated extension during a write operation initiated by the client. [0036][0047][0050][0052][0053] (detecting file replacing and what is expected)
As per claim 9. The system of claim 4, Constantinescu teaches wherein the file encryption is a partial encryption initiated by the client. [0052] (partial encryption)
As per claim 10. The system of claim 9, Constantinescu teaches wherein the partial encryption is detected at least in part based on a subset of blocks having entropy that significantly differs between a read operation and write operation initiated by the client. [0047][0052] (read and write entropy calculations) (overwriting file with high entropy)
As per claim 11. The system of claim 9, Constantinescu teaches wherein the partial encryption is detected at least in part based on a write offset associated with a write operation initiated by the client. [0036][0047][0050][0052][0053] (teaches detection of ransomware based on write offset operation)
As per claim 12. The system of claim 9, Constantinescu wherein the partial encryption is detected at least in part based on a write length pattern associated with a write operation initiated by the client. [0036][0047][0050][0052][0053] (teaches detection of ransomware based on write length pattern)
As per claim 13. The system of claim 4, Constantinescu wherein the detecting is performed prior to a complete file write io operation initiated by the client. [0036][0047][0050] (teaches detection in real-time prior to completion)
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439