DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 11 is directed to a process but depends from claim 1. Examiner believes this is a typographical error and should be dependent from claim 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 11,459,743 (hereinafter Gottfried).
Regarding claim 1, Gottfried discloses a sanitary facility (“restroom”) comprising a structure (walls, floor that form restroom) delimiting a receiving space for users, where the receiving space comprises a floor (“floor”) and a toilet device (10), and where the sanitary facility further comprises: a waste detection device (24) able to detect and locate waste present on the floor (col. 4, ln. 33-47); a central unit able to receive information from the waste detection device and to determine in which preset zones the waste is located (col. 4, ln. 42-47; col. 5, ln. 13-20); and a washing device (26) able to wash the floor, the washing device (26) comprising: at least one nozzle able to spray a fluid (col. 4, ln. 62-64); means for rotating (261) the at least one nozzle, and means for detection (262) of at least sone angular position of a nozzle, means of detection which send the central unit position information for the at least one nozzle (col. 3, ln. 18-33), where the rotating means (261, driven by motor col. 5, ln. 8-9) are driven by the central unit for selectively washing the preset zones of the floor on which the waste is present (col. 3, ln. 18-33).
Regarding claim 4, Gottfried discloses wherein the rotating means (261, motor) give the at least one nozzle an oscillatory pivoting movement with two end positions defining the angular range of the at least one nozzle, wherein the angular range is subdivided in at least two angular sectors forming fixed zones since the motor is capable of driving and pivoting the wheels in a specific pattern, and the pattern described above is within the intended function of the device of Gottfried. In other words, no additional structure is being presented in claim 4, and the existing structure of Gottfried is deemed capable of creating the claimed positions and angles since the rotating means is a drivable, programmable motor and wheels.
Regarding claim 6, Gottfried discloses three nozzles and the sanitary facility comprises respective means for rotating each of the three nozzles (fig. 4 shows 3 devices each of which contains a nozzle/spraying apparatus, wheels, and a motor).
Regarding claim 7, Gottfried discloses the rotating means comprises a motor (“motor” col. 1, ln. 48-50) rotating an eccentric (261) and a connecting rod (wheels having bearings/axles coupled to the nozzle housing (262) (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Gottfried discloses wherein the at least one nozzle is arranged at a lower end of a vertical tube (housing 262 forms the vertical tube, and the nozzle is located on the underside of the housing; see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Gottfried discloses an embodiment where the nozzle is fixed to a wall to limit movement (col. 1, ln. 57-59).
Regarding claim 10, Gottfriend shows a process for washing a sanitary facility according to claim, the process comprising the steps consisting of: detecting the presence of waste (col. 3, ln. 21-22), determining a specific zone among the preset zones in which the waste is located (col. 3, ln. 24-27), determining a specific nozzle from the at least one nozzle which is associated with the specific zone (col. 3, ln. 65-col. 4, ln. 6), rotating this specific nozzle (col. 4, ln. 1-6), and supplying this specific nozzle with fluid when this specific nozzle is orientated towards the specific zone (col. 4, ln. 15-19, 42-64).
Regarding claim 11, Gottfried discloses wherein the facility comprises a waste collection zone (16) and the specific nozzle is supplied with fluid only when it is directed towards the specific zone and when it has a movement tending to bring the orientation of the specific nozzle closer to the collection zone (col. 6, ln. 22-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottfried in view of US Patent 8,484,772 (hereinafter Lostal Grasa).
Regarding claim 2, Gottfried fails to show comprising a solenoid valve driven by the central unit for supplying fluid to the at least one nozzle when the at least one nozzle is directed towards a set zone having waste. Attention is turned to Lostal Grasa which teaches using a solenoid valve (23) to selectively control fluid supplied to a spray nozzle (17) for cleaning a lavatory. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a solenoid valve in the system of Gottfried to selectively control the washing fluid of the device as is known in the art and evidenced by the teachings above
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 5 is similarly objected to but would be allowable since it depends from the objected claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 4,881,284 and US Patent 4,233,692 are directed to the state of the art of self-cleaning restrooms using stationary/pivoting nozzles.
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754