DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 3, “the closed-profile stringer” should say “the closed-profile thermoforming stringer” for claim language consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that the claims are directed to an apparatus/a system and therefore are only limited by positively recited elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Furthermore, it is well settled that the intended uses of and the particular material used in an apparatus have no significance in determining patentability of apparatus claims. A recitation with respect to manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims. In other words, the process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2114 (II) and 2115 for further details. In particular, the recitation of “for insertion into…” in the preamble of claim 1 is an intended use of the flexible tube element. Furthermore, the recitation of “a reinforcement member disposed only in an area…that faces the first principle surface of the thermoforming base layer” in claim 1 is also an intended use of the flexible tube element as it describes positioning relative to the above intended use.
Per specification paragraph [0046], space yarns means a biasing/spacing fabric that comprises e.g., two cover sheets or an outer hull tube and that is kept, by inner pressure, in a geometrically defined form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a minimum thickness” in line 2. The term “minimum thickness” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “minimum thickness” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no range or value to describe “minimum” in the spec and there is no other element described as “maximum thickness” to compare this “minimum thickness” to. The use of this term renders the thickness of the pre-shaped plate member indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “one of a drop-stitch tube and made of space yarns” in lines 2-3. This limitation is unclear and indefinite as “one of” suggests one of the following limitations is required, however the following limitations are recited with “and”. Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that this limitation is read as “one of a drop-stitch tube or made of space yarns”. This interpretation is supported by specification paragraph [0046], wherein the “space yarns” is described as another embodiment via “In the latter case,…”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the outside” in line 2. It is unclear if this limitation refers to the outside of the flexible tube core, the outside of the tolerance layer or if this is a new limitation. Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, this limitation will be read as “the outside of the flexible tube core”.
The dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osada (US 20200156332 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Osada discloses a flexible tube element (Fig. 11; [0119]; reinforced bladder bag) for insertion into a hollow portion enclosed between a first principal surface of a thermoforming base layer (Fig. 1; [0042]; panel O1) and a protruding part of a closed-profile thermoforming stringer (Fig. 1; [0049-0050]; sections O3 and O4 of elongated structure O2), wherein the closed-profile thermoforming stringer has a base part attached to the first principal surface (Fig. 1; edges of O2 are attached to panel O1), the flexible tube element comprising:
a flexible tube core (Fig. 11; [0120]; tubular member 5) configured to be expandable to essentially a same shape as the closed-profile thermoforming stringer ([0045]);
and a reinforcement member (Fig. 11; [0120]; third plate members 6C) disposed only in an area of the flexible tube element that faces the first principal surface of the thermoforming base layer (Fig. 1; [0120]; third plate members 6C are in the side facing panel O1).
Regarding claim 2, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 1, wherein the reinforcement member is configured to withstand layup pressure over the hollow portion so that a layup pressure is realized while keeping geometrical shape of the thermoforming base layer (Fig. 7, step S13; [0099]; plate members withstand pressure during layup compression process), or wherein the reinforcement member comprises at least one plate member (Fig. 11; [0120]; third plate members 6C), or both.
Regarding claim 3, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 2, wherein the reinforcement member comprises two or more plate members (Fig. 11; [0120]; third plate members 6C).
Regarding claim 4, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 3, wherein the two or more plate members are precured fillers ([0047]; each plate member can be a composite material, such as CFRP, which has sufficient strength so as to function as a rigid body; this CFRP material would inherently be precured) for stabilization during layup (Fig. 7, step S13; [0099]; plate members withstand pressure during layup compression process).
Regarding claim 5, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 2, wherein the reinforcement member is made of one pre-shaped plate member of a thickness (Fig. 11; [0120]; one of third plate members 6C; furthermore a single plate can be used as shown by plate members 6A, 6B on the respective sides).
Regarding claim 9, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 1, wherein the flexible tube core is a single-layered flexible tube core (Fig. 11; [0120]; tubular member 5 is single-layered).
Regarding claim 10, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 1, wherein at least one layer of the flexible tube core is reusable ([0087]; can be easily deformed inward and removed in order to be reused).
Regarding claim 13, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 1, wherein the thermoforming base layer is a composite skin ([0041]; panel O1 is a composite material structure), or wherein the closed-profile thermoforming stringer is an omega stringer (Fig. 1), or both.
Regarding claim 14, Osada discloses an aircraft component (Fig. 1; [0041]; composite material structure is mainly used as a wing structure and a fuselage structure of an aircraft) comprising: the flexible tube element of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada (US 20200156332 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of Hellwing et al. (DE 19523723 A1; hereafter Hellwing; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 5.
While Osada discloses the pre-shaped plate member maybe a metallic strip ([0047]; each plate member can be made of a metal), Osada does not explicitly disclose the pre-shaped plate member is convexly bent towards the first principal surface, or wherein the pre-shaped plate member is a bimetallic strip, or both.
However, in the analogous art Hellwing teaches a flexible support core ([0001, 0012]) for supporting a preform during shaping ([0009]; producing dented tubes), wherein the flexible support core comprises a flexible tube body ([0012]; elastic body on shaft) and a bimetallic strip ([0014]; bimetallic support).
Osada and Hellwing are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of flexible support cores for shaping/molding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the metallic strip of Osada with the teachings of Hellwing to provide the pre-shaped plate member is a bimetallic strip. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Doing so would allow the flexible tube element to have a smaller profile before heating and thereafter thermally expand to support the preforms (Hellwing [0014]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada (US 20200156332 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of Seminel et al. (US 20190315451 A1; hereafter Seminel).
Regarding claim 7, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 1.
Osada does not disclose the flexible tube element comprises a split core having: the flexible tube core as a first member of the split core, and the reinforcement member being a further flexible tube core as a second member of the split core, wherein at least one of the flexible tube core and the reinforcement member is shaped during pressurization.
However, in the analogous art Seminel teaches a flexible support core (Fig. 4; [0078]; bladder 28’) comprising a split core (Fig. 4; [0078]; bladder 28’ may comprise two or more lobes) with a reinforcement member (Fig. 4; [0078]; reinforcement member 34) that is shaped during pressurization ([0075]).
Osada and Seminel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of flexible support cores for shaping/molding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flexible tube element of Osada with the teachings of Seminel to provide the flexible tube element comprises a split core having: the flexible tube core as a first member of the split core, and the reinforcement member being a further flexible tube core as a second member of the split core, wherein at least one of the flexible tube core and the reinforcement member is shaped during pressurization. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow the flexible tube element to be removed without damaging the reinforcement member (Seminel [0078]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada (US 20200156332 A1), in view of Seminel et al. (US 20190315451 A1; hereafter Seminel) as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Drop-Stitch Technology (NPL 1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 7.
Modified Osada does not disclose at least one of the flexible tube core and the reinforcement member is one of a drop-stitch tube or made of space yarns.
However, Drop-Stitch Technology teaches that inflatable members (Pg. 1, 1st ¶) can be made using drop-stitch yarns (Pg. 2, 1st ¶; drop-stitch core formed from woven fibers).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor's endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2141.01(a). In this case, Drop-Stitch Technology is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned as it seeks to improve inflatable members/elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flexible tube element of modified Osada with the teachings of Drop-Stitch Technology to provide at least one of the flexible tube core and the reinforcement member is one of a drop-stitch tube or made of space yarns. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Doing so allow the flexible tube element to be inflated utilizing higher air pressure (Drop-Stitch Technology Pg. 3, 1st ¶), resulting in allowing the flexible tube element to be used for higher pressure composite molding.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada (US 20200156332 A1) as applied to claim 10, in view of Roland (WO 2015044652 A2).
Regarding claim 11, Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 10.
Osada does not disclose the at least one layer is an exchangeable airtight tube disposed inside an aramide braid core.
However, Roland teaches a flexible tube element (Fig. 1; [0002]; inflatable tube) comprising an exchangeable airtight tube (Fig. 1; [0009, 0043]; inflatable bladder can enter and be removed from the tube) disposed inside an aramide braid core ([0009-0011]; para-aramid fiber outer braid).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor's endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2141.01(a). In this case, Roland is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned as it seeks to improve inflatable tubes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flexible tube element of Osada with the teachings of Roland to provide at least one layer is an exchangeable airtight tube disposed inside an aramide braid core. Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(D). Doing so would increase the quality and strength of the flexible tube element, with the potential for higher working pressures (Roland [0007]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada (US 20200156332 A1), in view of Roland (WO 2015044652 A2) as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Parker (US 20150298364 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Osada discloses the flexible tube element of claim 11.
Modified Osada does not disclose the flexible tube core is an open cell foam core with a tolerance layer and a sealing film on the outside of the flexible tube core.
However, in the analogous art Parker teaches a flexible support core ([0022]; collapsible foam core plug) comprising an open cell foam core ([0023]; open cell foam core) with a tolerance layer ([0024]; innate to the foam core being dimensioned to replicate size and shape of internal void of the component being molded) and a sealing film on the outside ([0026]; sealant outer coating).
Osada and Parker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of flexible support cores for shaping/molding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the flexible tube element of modified Osada with the teachings of Parker to provide the flexible tube core is an open cell foam core with a tolerance layer and a sealing film on the outside of the flexible tube core. Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(D). Doing so would enable the flexible tube element to collapse in response to negative pressure and be easily removed after molding ([0018]).
Conclusion
/VIPUL MALIK/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754