DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escowitz (US 20180345605).
As to claim 1, Escowitz teaches a method for manufacturing continuous fiber composite frame. Escowitz teaches providing a continuous fiber bundle including multiple fiber bundles ([0085], fiber bundles) coated with thermoplastic resin ([0234] and [0067]) inherently having a melting point. Escowitz teaches steps of heating ([0155]) the continuous fiber bundle coated with thermoplastic resin ([0008]) and bending the heated portion in three-dimensional directions along a fiber axis of the continuous fiber bundle in space (Fig. 6 at item 604) to form multiple structural units (Fig. 1A). Escowitch further teaches bonding the structural units to create a part that would meet the claimed structural prototype ([0195]). Even if the Escowitz tack bonding does not specifically teach “bonding two connection points between one or two of the multiple structural units to create a structural prototype” the places where the points on the respective structural units are tack bonded would obviously comprise two connection points between multiple structural units and create a prototype.
As to claim 2, Escowitz does not specifically show the locations of the connection points being in the bending region. However, Escowitz does teach tack bonding “adjacent” filament segments and depicts adjacent filament segments within a bending region (See Fig. 1C, for example). Therefore, one would have found it obvious to provide bonded connection points in the bending region. As to claim 3, Escowitz teaches placing a preform that meets the claimed structural prototype (Figs. 1A-1F) and placing it into a mold (Fig. 2A) and compression molding (Abstract) which would inherently shape the preform. As to claim 5, Escowitz’s tack bonding by melting ([0195]) obviously requires heating and fusing of two connection points. Performing the process multiple times in multiple locations would have been obvious for the reasons discussed in the rejection above. As to claim 7, Escowitz teaches any suitable temperature can be used to compression mold the part ([0095]) and Escowitz also teaches to optimize manufacturing and optimize the properties of the finished part ([0210]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the compression molding temperature in an effort to optimize manufacturing and the properties of the finished part, and thereby arrive at the claimed compression molding temperature. As to claims 8 and 9, Escowitz teaches carbon fibers ([0073]) and a polycarbonate matrix, among others ([0067]). As to claims 10 and 11, Escowitz provides a plurality of closed circular structures (Fig. 1F, outer portion of first and second layer) depicted as inherently or obviously having the two ends connected together.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escowitz (US 20180345605) in view of Guha (US 20220305693). Escowitz teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claim 4 and 6, Escowitz already teaches tack bonding ([0195]) fusing of the connection points but is silent to ultrasonic welding or gluing connection points. However, Guha teaches that tack points in a fiber preform may be formed by (hot) glue, sprayed adhesive, or fused points formed by ultrasonic welding ([0014]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate the ultrasonic welding or glue/adhesive of Guha into Escowitz because Escowitz already teaches/suggests tack bonding and Guha provides ultrasonic welding or glue/adhesive tacking within the scope of the Escowitz teaching/suggestion. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success since Guha provides a fiber preform similar to that of Escowitz.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escowitz (US 20180345605) in view of Hargarter (US 5,876,852). Escowitz teaches the subject matter of claim 2 and 11 above under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claim 12-14, Escowitz appears to be silent to coating/covering the frame with a material selected from the claimed list.
Hargarter teaches laminating a thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) film (a resin or elastic containing polyurethane) to a porous surface for sealing and to provide outstanding abrasion and scratch resistance (6:58-62).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate the Hargarter TPU covering into Escowitz because this is the use of a known technique (covering with TPU) to improve a similar article. The prior art of Escowitz provides a base device upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement because of its covering layer. The prior art of Hargarter provides a comparable device improved in the same way as the claimed invention by providing sealing and outstanding abrasion resistance to the surface. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known Hargarter improvement in the same way to Escowitz to provide a predictable sealing and outstanding abrasion resistance also to Escowitz.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escowitz (US 20180345605) in view of Bernabe (US 20180258283). Escowitz teaches the subject matter of claim 2 and 11 above under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claim 12-14, Escowitz appears to be silent to coating/covering the frame with a material selected from the claimed list.
Bernabe teaches a thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) composition (title) and overmolding the TPU on another polymeric part ([0048]). This TPU is a coating/covering material formed from a resin (inherent) which also meets porous and foam material ([0042], “foam molding”), and therefore meets all of claims 12-14.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate the Bernabe TPU covering into Escowitz because this is the use of a known technique (overmolding with TPU) to improve a similar article. The prior art of Escowitz provides a base device upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement because of surface properties. The prior art of Bernabe provides a comparable device improved in the same way as the claimed invention by providing a glossy and protective finish ([0002]). One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known Bernabe improvement in the same way to Escowitz to provide a predictable glossy and protective finish also to Escowitz.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escowitz (US 20180345605) in view of Struzziero (Composites Part A, Vol. 144 (2021), 12 pages). Escowitz teaches the subject matter of claims 1 and 2 above under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claims 15 and 16, Escowitz teaches heating ([0155]) a continuous fiber bundle ([0008]), but is silent to the bending process comprises passing the continuous fiber bundle through a shaper mold comprising a tubular cavity with a three-dimensional bent cavity.
Struzziero teaches passing composite material through a post-former die that has a tubular and three-dimensionally bent cavity (Fig. 1, Post-former die).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate the Struzziero post-former die into Escowitz because Escowitz teaches/suggests forming curved shapes (Fig. 4A and 4B and Fig. 6) and Struzziero provides a post-former die that would produce curved parts within the scope of the Escowitz suggestion. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Struzziero provides the curved shape that Escowitz already requires.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escowitz (US 20180345605) in view of Steiner (US 20170266864). Escowitz teaches the subject matter of claims 1 and 2 above under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claims 17 and 18, Escowitz teaches a continuous fiber bundle but is silent to a bending machine and a step of bending.
Steiner teaches a bending machine for a thermoplastic material ([0038]) which includes a heating device for heating a portion of the thermoplastic material ([0016]; Fig. 8; [0035]) and bending the heated portion.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate the Steiner bending step into Escowitz because Escowitz teaches/suggests continuous thermoplastic fiber bundles with bends (Figs. 1A-1C) and Steiner provides a bending step for thermoplastic materials within the scope of the Escowitz teaching/suggestion. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in light of thermoplastic material used in both cases.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742