DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 4-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,286. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they utilize the exact same claimed features, with the current application broadening the claims by removing the requirement to utilize a first and second aperture through which the amplitude adjustment actuator passes through the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zaiser, US 20050126803.
Regarding claim 1, Zaiser discloses: An oscillating power tool (Fig. 1, power tool 10) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, housing 12);
a motor (Fig. 1, motor 14) disposed generally within the housing and including a drive shaft (Fig. 1, drive shaft 16);
an output spindle (Fig. 1, driven shaft 32) configured to be driven by the motor and journaled for oscillating rotation about an oscillation axis;
a drive mechanism (Fig. 2, shows the entirety of the drive mechanism) configured to convert rotation of the drive shaft into oscillating rotation of the output spindle about the oscillation axis, the drive mechanism including an eccentric member (Fig. 1, mechanism, 20, 22, 24, 26) configured to rotate off center about a motor axis, and a forked member (Fig. 1, fork 26) operatively coupled to the eccentric member and configured for oscillating rotation about the oscillation axis in response to rotation of the eccentric member; and
an amplitude adjustment actuator (Fig. 1, driver 42, 44, and switch 46) configured to move the eccentric member in a direction generally parallel to the motor axis to change an angular amplitude of oscillating rotation of the forked member, wherein the amplitude adjustment actuator includes an actuator portion (Fig. 1, driver 42, 44, and switch 46) having an actuation surface extending through an aperture in the housing.
Regarding claim 2, Zaiser further discloses: the eccentric member (Fig. 1, mechanism, 20, 22, 24, 26) includes an eccentric shaft (Fig. 1,shaft 20) coupled to the drive shaft and an eccentric bearing (Fig. 1, bearing 24) slidably fitted on the eccentric shaft.
Regarding claim 3, Zaiser further discloses: forked member includes a sleeve portion (Fig. 1, fork stem 30) fixedly coupled to the output spindle.
Regarding claim 4, Zaiser further discloses: the forked member further comprises two arms (Fig. 1, Two parallel fork prongs 28) extending from the sleeve portion and defining a recess therebetween.
Regarding claim 5, Zaiser further discloses: the eccentric bearing is disposed within the recess of the forked member and each arm engages an outer circumferential surface of the eccentric bearing and wherein the eccentric bearing rotates off center and pushes each arm in alternating fashion to cause the forked member to oscillate (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Zaiser further discloses: the actuator portion (Fig. 1, driver 42, 44, and switch 46) includes a bearing fork (Fig. 1, driver 42) and wherein the bearing fork receives the eccentric bearing.
Regarding claim 7, Zaiser further discloses: the eccentric bearing is symmetrically engaged (see Fig. 1, the driver 42 engages both sides of the bearing, thus symmetrically) and evenly pushed by the amplitude adjustment actuator (Fig. 1, driver 42, 44, and switch 46).
Regarding claim 8, Zaiser discloses: An oscillating power tool (Fig. 1, power tool 10) comprising:
A housing (Fig. 1, housing 12);
a motor (Fig. 1, motor 14) disposed generally within the housing and including a drive shaft (Fig. 1, drive shaft 16);
an output spindle (Fig. 1, driven shaft 32) configured to be driven by the motor and journaled for oscillating rotation about an oscillation axis;
a drive mechanism (Fig. 2, shows the entirety of the drive mechanism) configured to convert rotation of the drive shaft into oscillating rotation of the output spindle about the oscillation axis, the drive mechanism including an eccentric shaft (Fig. 1,shaft 20) coupled to the drive shaft and an eccentric bearing (Fig. 1, bearing 24) slidably fitted on the eccentric shaft to rotate off center about the motor axis, and a forked member (Fig. 1, fork 26) operatively coupled to the eccentric bearing and configured for oscillating rotation about the oscillation axis in response to rotation of the eccentric bearing; and
an amplitude adjustment actuator (Fig. 1, driver 42, 44, and switch 46) configured to symmetrically engage the eccentric bearing and evenly push the eccentric bearing in a direction generally parallel to the motor axis to change an angular amplitude of oscillating rotation of the forked member, wherein the amplitude adjustment actuator includes an actuator portion (Fig. 1, driver 42, 44, and switch 46) having an actuation surface (Fig. 1, switch 46) extending through an aperture in the housing.
Regarding claim 9, Zaiser further discloses: the forked member includes a sleeve (Fig. 1, fork stem 30) portion fixedly coupled to the output spindle.
Regarding claim 10, Zaiser further discloses: the forked member further comprises two arms (Fig. 1, Two parallel fork prongs 28) extending from the sleeve portion and defining a recess therebetween.
Regarding claim 11, Zaiser further discloses: the eccentric bearing is disposed within the recess of the forked member and each arm engages an outer circumferential surface of the eccentric bearing and wherein the eccentric bearing rotates off center and pushes each arm in alternating fashion to cause the forked member to oscillate (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Zaiser further discloses: the actuator portion includes a bearing fork (Fig. 1, driver 42) and wherein the bearing fork receives the eccentric bearing.
Regarding claim 13, Zaiser further discloses: the bearing fork (Fig. 1, driver 42) defines a receptacle (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Zaiser further discloses: the eccentric bearing is received within the receptacle (see Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731