DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/03/2025, wherein claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 06/03/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 does not include a transitional phrase, such as “comprising”, so it is unclear which part of the claim is preamble and which is body of the claim. Therefore, the scope of the claim is unclear. Appropriate correction is required. See MPEP 2111.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (U.S. 2021/0014488) hereinafter Ko.
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses a video decoding method, comprising:
parsing a bitstream, to determine a motion vector corresponding to a current block and a first filter type corresponding to the current block (Ko [0199], [0125]: encoding apparatus can perform entropy encoding on motion vector candidate index which indicate an optimum motion vector candidate and generate a bitstream. The decoding apparatus performs decoding on the motion vector candidate index included in the bitstream and selects a motion vector candidate of the target block; [0125]: coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded and signaled to a decoder, and information derived when performing encoding or decoding. The coding parameter can include a prediction block filtering method, an interpolation filter type,…; [0254]: a filter type can be an n-tap filter, hence a regular n-tap filter. Number of filter taps can be set based on filter type);
determining a reference block corresponding to the current block based on the motion vector (Ko [0200]: generate a prediction block of the target block based on derived motion vector and the reference picture index information);
determining a first filter corresponding to the first filter type, wherein the first filter comprises at least: a sharp filter with at least 12 taps or a regular filter with at least 8 taps (Ko [0254]: a filter type can be an n-tap filter, hence a regular n-tap filter. Number of filter taps can be set based on filter type; [0350]: 8-tap filter can be used); and
performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on the reference block using the first filter, to determine a prediction picture block corresponding to the current block (Ko [0116], [0144]: generate a prediction block by performing motion compensation for the current block using motion vector; [0129]-[0133], [0145], [0188]: filter is used for block prediction, wherein a filter may be applied based on current block size).
Regarding claim 10, Ko discloses a video encoding method, comprising:
performing motion estimation on a current block based on a reference frame corresponding to a current frame, to determine a reference block corresponding to the current block (Ko [0200]: generate a prediction block of the target block based on derived motion vector and the reference picture index information);
determining a first filter type corresponding to the current block, and determining a first filter corresponding to the first filter type, wherein the first filter comprises at least: a sharp filter with at least 12 taps or a regular filter with at least 8 taps; and performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on the reference block using the first filter, to determine a prediction picture block corresponding to the current block (Ko [0125]: coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded and signaled to a decoder, and information derived when performing encoding or decoding. The coding parameter can include a prediction block filtering method, an interpolation filter type,…; [0254]: a filter type can be an n-tap filter, hence a regular n-tap filter. Number of filter taps can be set based on filter type; [0350]: 8-tap filter can be used; [0116], [0144]: generate a prediction block by performing motion compensation for the current block using motion vector; [0129]-[0133], [0145], [0188]: filter is used for block prediction, wherein a filter may be applied based on current block size).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ko discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Ko discloses wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type comprises: determining a first filter corresponding to the first filter type in at least one preset filtering direction according to a size of the current block (Ko [0014], [0188], [0253], [0279]-[0281]: determine filter length, which is number of filter taps as in [0279], on basis of at least one of a size of the current block; [0041], [0324]-[0326]: filter used in a filtering direction).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Ko discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 12, respectively.
Ko discloses wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type in the at least one preset filtering direction according to the size of the current block comprises: in a case where a size of the current block in a horizontal direction is less than or equal to a preset size threshold or a size of the current block in a vertical direction is less than or equal to the preset size threshold, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the first filter type as the first filter in the horizontal and vertical directions, wherein the second number of taps is less than a first number of taps (Ko [0281]-[0282]: filter length is adaptively determined according to a value of a block size N. When N is greater than Th_1, filtering of a L_2 length is applied. When N value is smaller than Th_1, filtering of a L_1 length may be applied, i.e. second number of filter taps as in as in [0279], wherein L_1 < L_2; [0291]: the block can be a square block, hence block size N is size of current block in vertical direction and horizontal direction; [0350]: 8-taps filter can be used).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ko discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 12, respectively.
Ko discloses wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type in the at least one preset filtering direction according to the size of the current block comprises: in a case where a size of the current block in a horizontal direction is greater than a preset size threshold or a size of the current block in a vertical direction is greater than the preset size threshold, determining a filter with a first number of taps in the first filter type as the first filter in the horizontal and vertical directions (Ko [0281]-[0282]: filter length is adaptively determined according to a value of a block size N. When N is greater than Th_1, filtering of a L_2 length is applied. When N value is smaller than Th_1, filtering of a L_1 length may be applied, i.e. second number of filter taps as in as in [0279], wherein L_1 < L_2; [0291]: the block can be a square block, hence block size N is size of current block in vertical direction and horizontal direction; [0041], [0324]-[0326]: filter can be used in a horizontal and vertical directions).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ko discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 12, respectively.
Ko discloses wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type in the at least one preset filtering direction according to the size of the current block comprises: in a case where a size of the current block in a horizontal direction and a size of the current block in a vertical direction are less than or equal to a preset size threshold, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the first filter type as the first filter in the horizontal and vertical directions (Ko [0281]-[0282]: filter length is adaptively determined according to a value of a block size N. When N is greater than Th_1, filtering of a L_2 length is applied. When N value is smaller than Th_1, filtering of a L_1 length may be applied, i.e. second number of filter taps as in as in [0279], wherein L_1 < L_2; [0291]: the block can be a square block, hence block size N is size of current block in vertical direction and horizontal direction; [0041], [0324]-[0326]: filter can be used in a horizontal and vertical directions).
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 recites “A computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, wherein bitstream is generated by bit encoding according to information to be encoded…”
A bit stream generated by a process is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Ko which recites a generated bitstream is stored in a computer-reader medium as in [0113], [0137], [0025].
Ko further discloses the information to be encoded is determined based on a prediction picture block corresponding to a current block, the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block is obtained by performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on a reference block corresponding to the current block through a first filter corresponding to the current block, and the first filter comprises at least: a sharp filter with at least 12 taps or a regular filter with at least 8 taps (Ko [0125]: coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded and signaled to a decoder, and information derived when performing encoding or decoding. The coding parameter can include a prediction block filtering method, an interpolation filter type,…; [0254]: a filter type can be an n-tap filter, hence a regular n-tap filter. Number of filter taps can be set based on filter type; [0350]: 8-tap filter can be used; [0116], [0144]: generate a prediction block by performing motion compensation for the current block using motion vector; [0129]-[0133], [0145], [0188]: filter is used for block prediction, wherein a filter may be applied based on current block size).
2. Claims 1, 10-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vitvitskyy et al. (U.S. 10,455,253) hereinafter Vitvitskyy.
Regarding claim 1, Vitvitskyy discloses a video decoding method, comprising:
parsing a bitstream, to determine a motion vector corresponding to a current block and a first filter type corresponding to the current block (Vitvitskyy Col. 7, lines 53-64: information used to decode the block, which may include motion vectors are encoded and output to compressed bitstream; Col. 10, lines 52-67: a decoder can determine an interpolation filter by receiving, via an encoded bitstream, indications of a first or second filters, The filter can be a 12-tap sharp filter; Col. 3, lines 35-47, Col. 10, lines 35-40: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter);
determining a reference block corresponding to the current block based on the motion vector (Vitvitskyy Col. 9, lines 46-67: a reference block can be determined using motion vectors);
determining a first filter corresponding to the first filter type, wherein the first filter comprises at least: a sharp filter with at least 12 taps or a regular filter with at least 8 taps (Vitvitskyy Col. 10, lines 52-67, Col. 11, lines 1-30: decoder can determine a first interpolation filter and second interpolation filter by receiving, via an encoded bitstream, indications of a first or second filters. The filter can be a 12-tap sharp filter; Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter. 8-tap filters can be used); and
performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on the reference block using the first filter, to determine a prediction picture block corresponding to the current block (Vitvitskyy Col. 11, lines 30-50: generating prediction block using determined interpolation filter; Col. 19, lines 19-24: 12-tap filters are used when generating pixel motion compensated prediction).
Regarding claim 10, Vitvitskyy discloses a video encoding method, comprising:
performing motion estimation on a current block based on a reference frame corresponding to a current frame, to determine a reference block corresponding to the current block (Vitvitskyy Col. 9, lines 46-67: a reference block can be determined using motion vectors and reference frame);
determining a first filter type corresponding to the current block, and determining a first filter corresponding to the first filter type, wherein the first filter comprises at least: a sharp filter with at least 12 taps or a regular filter with at least 8 taps; and performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on the reference block using the first filter, to determine a prediction picture block corresponding to the current block (Vitvitskyy Col. 10, lines 52-67: a decoder can determine an interpolation filter by receiving, via an encoded bitstream, indications of a first or second filters, The filter can be a 12-tap sharp filter; Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter and 8-tap filters can be used; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter; Col. 11, lines 30-50: generating prediction block using determined interpolation filter; Col. 19, lines 19-24: 12-tap filters are used when generating pixel motion compensated prediction).
Regarding claim 11, Vitvitskyy discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Vitvitskyy discloses wherein determining the first filter type corresponding to the current block comprises: determining the first filter type corresponding to the current block according to at least one distortion cost corresponding to at least one filter type (Vitvitskyy Col. 3, lines 65-67, Col. 4, lines 1-5: select filter that results in the best rate-distortion ratio which refers to a ratio that balances an amount of distortion with rate of bits, hence determining filter according to a distortion cost).
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 recites “A computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, wherein bitstream is generated by bit encoding according to information to be encoded…”
A bit stream generated by a process is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Vitvitskyy which recites a generated bitstream is stored in a receiving station which can be a computer as in Col. 4, lines 35-60.
Vitvitskyy further discloses the information to be encoded is determined based on a prediction picture block corresponding to a current block, the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block is obtained by performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on a reference block corresponding to the current block through a first filter corresponding to the current block, and the first filter comprises at least: a sharp filter with at least 12 taps or a regular filter with at least 8 taps (Vitvitskyy Col. 10, lines 52-67: a decoder can determine an interpolation filter by receiving, via an encoded bitstream, indications of a first or second filters, The filter can be a 12-tap sharp filter; Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter and 8-tap filters can be used; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter; Col. 11, lines 30-50: generating prediction block using determined interpolation filter; Col. 19, lines 19-24: 12-tap filters are used when generating pixel motion compensated prediction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (U.S. 2021/0014488) hereinafter Ko, in view of Vitvitskyy et al. (U.S. 10,455,253) hereinafter Vitvitskyy.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Ko discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 12, respectively.
Ko discloses wherein the first filter type comprises any one of: a sharp filter type, a regular filter type or a smooth filter type; and the at least one preset filtering direction comprises: a horizontal direction and a vertical direction (Ko [0254]: a filter type can be an n-tap filter and other filters such as smoothing filter, hence a regular n-tap filter can be used; [0324]-[0326]: filtering direction can be horizontal direction and vertical direction); wherein
determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type in the at least one preset filtering direction according to the size of the current block comprises: in a case where a size of the current block in the horizontal direction and a size of the current block in the vertical direction are greater than a preset size threshold, determining a filter with a first number of taps in the first filter type as the first filter in the horizontal and vertical directions, wherein the filter with the first number of taps comprises any one of: the sharp filter with at least 12 taps, the regular filter with at least 8 taps or a 6-tap smooth filter (Ko [0281]-[0282]: filter length is adaptively determined according to a value of a block size N. When N is a value greater than Th_(K-1), filtering of a L_K length may be applied. When N is greater than Th_1, filtering of a L_2 length is applied, which is number of filter taps as in as in [0279]; [0291]: the block can be a square block, hence block size N is size of current block in vertical direction and horizontal direction; [0350]: 8-taps filter can be used).
Ko broadly discloses the first filter type comprises any one of: a sharp filter type, a regular filter type or a smooth filter type as discussed above.
Vitvitskyy discloses the first filter type comprises any one of: a sharp filter type, a regular filter type or a smooth filter type (Vitvitskyy Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter, wherein 8-tap filters can be used; Col. 10, lines 52-67, Col. 11, lines 1-30: decoder can determine a first interpolation filter and second interpolation filter by receiving, via an encoded bitstream, indications of a first or second filters. The filter can be a 12-tap sharp filter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by ko, and further incorporate having the first filter type comprises any one of: a sharp filter type, a regular filter type or a smooth filter type, and wherein the filter with the first number of taps comprises any one of: the sharp filter with at least 12 taps, the regular filter with at least 8 taps or a 6-tap smooth filter, as taught by Vitvitskyy, to improve prediction (Vitvitskyy Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 19, lines 19-35).
4. Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (U.S. 2021/0014488) hereinafter Ko, in view of Vitvitskyy et al. (U.S. 10,455,253) hereinafter Vitvitskyy, in view of Ogata (U.S. 6,332,043), further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2018/0176561) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 7, Ko discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Ko discloses wherein before performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on the reference block using the first filter, to determine the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block, the method further comprises: parsing a current video sequence in the bitstream, to determine a sequence-level filtering flag; wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type comprises: in a case where the sequence-level filtering flag is set to a first preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a first filter corresponding to the regular filter type in at least one preset filtering direction according to a size of the current block; or in a case where the sequence-level filtering flag is set to a second preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction (Ko [0125]: coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded and signaled to a decoder, and information derived when performing encoding or decoding. The coding parameter includes information required for encoding or decoding which includes a prediction block filtering method, an interpolation filter type, wherein a filter type can be an n-tap filter and other filter such as smoothing filter as in [0254], hence a regular n-tap filter can be used. Hence, syntax element such as flag can be used for filter type which indicates an n-tap filter, i.e. a second number of taps; [0077], [0056]: parameter set corresponds to header information wherein sequence parameter set can be used. Hence, sequence level flag including filter flag can be used; [0041], [0324]-[0326]: filter used in a filtering direction).
Ko broadly discloses the filter is a regular filter type and sequence-level filtering flag as discussed above.
Vitvitskyy discloses the filter is a regular filter type, and in a case where the filtering flag is set to a second preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction (Vitvitskyy Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter, hence syntax for number of filter taps, wherein syntax can be a flag as in Ko).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by ko, and further incorporate having the filter is a regular filter type and in a case where the filtering flag is set to a second preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction, as taught by Vitvitskyy, to improve prediction (Vitvitskyy Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 19, lines 19-35).
Ogata discloses parsing a current video sequence in the bitstream, to determine a filtering flag; determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type comprises: in a case where the filtering flag is set to a first preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a first filter corresponding to the regular filter type in at least one preset filtering direction according to a size of the current block; or in a case where the filtering flag is set to a second preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction (Ogata Col. 5, lines 40-50: flags indicating number of filter taps are used, hence determining a filter with a second number of taps when a filtering flag is a second preset value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko and Vitvitskyy, and further incorporate having determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type comprises: in a case where the filtering flag is set to a first preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a first filter corresponding to the regular filter type in at least one preset filtering direction according to a size of the current block; or in a case where the filtering flag is set to a second preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction, as taught by Ogata, for coding efficiency (Ogata Col. 8, lines 65, Col. 9, lines 1-5).
Furthermore, Kim discloses filtering flag can be sequence-level filtering flag (Kim [0146]-[0148]: a flag indicating whether a filtering method based on a filter bank is used, wherein the flag can be applied in sequence, picture (or frame). A filter type flag indicates whether a filtering method based on a filter back is used and is signaled when the value of the filter bank-available flag is 1. Hence, the filter type flag can also be applied in sequence, picture (or frame).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko and Vitvitskyy and Ogata, and further incorporate having the filtering flag is a sequence-level filtering flag, as taught by Kim, to improve coding efficiency (Kim [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, Ko discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Ko discloses wherein before performing pixel value prediction and motion compensation based on the reference block using the first filter, to determine the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block, the method further comprises: parsing a current frame in the bitstream, to determine a first frame-level flag; wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type comprises: in a case where the first frame-level flag is set to a third preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a first filter corresponding to the regular filter type in at least one preset filtering direction according to a size of the current block; or in a case where the first frame-level flag is set to a fourth preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction (Ko [0125]: coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded and signaled to a decoder, and information derived when performing encoding or decoding. The coding parameter includes information required for encoding or decoding which includes a prediction block filtering method, an interpolation filter type, wherein a filter type can be an n-tap filter or other type such as smoothing filter as in [0254], hence regular n-tap filter can be used. Hence, syntax element such as flag can be used for filter type which indicates an n-tap filter, i.e. a second number of taps; [0077], [0056], [0059]: parameter set corresponds to header information wherein picture parameter set can be used. Hence, frame level flag including filter flag can be used; [0041], [0324]-[0326]: filter used in a filtering direction).
Ko broadly discloses the filter is a regular filter type and frame-level filtering flag as discussed above.
Vitvitskyy discloses the filter is a regular filter type, and in a case where the first flag is set to a fourth preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction (Vitvitskyy Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter, hence syntax for number of filter taps, wherein syntax can be a flag as in Ko).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko, and further incorporate having the filter is a regular filter type, and in a case where the first flag is set to a fourth preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction, as taught by Vitvitskyy, to improve prediction (Vitvitskyy Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 19, lines 19-35).
Ogata discloses parsing a current frame in the bitstream, to determine a first frame-level flag; wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type comprises: in a case where the first flag is set to a third preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a first filter corresponding to the regular filter type in at least one preset filtering direction according to a size of the current block; or in a case where the first flag is set to a fourth preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction (Ogata Col. 5, lines 40-50: flags indicating number of filter taps are used, hence determining a filter with a second number of taps when a filtering flag is a second preset value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko and Vitvitskyy, and further incorporate parsing a current frame in the bitstream, to determine a first frame-level flag; wherein determining the first filter corresponding to the first filter type comprises: in a case where the first flag is set to a third preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a first filter corresponding to the regular filter type in at least one preset filtering direction according to a size of the current block; or in a case where the first flag is set to a fourth preset value and the first filter type is a regular filter type, determining a filter with a second number of taps in the regular filter type as a first filter corresponding to at least one preset filtering direction, as taught by Ogata, for coding efficiency (Ogata Col. 8, lines 65, Col. 9, lines 1-5).
Furthermore, Kim discloses filtering flag can be frame-level filtering flag (Kim [0146]-[0148]: a flag indicating whether a filtering method based on a filter bank is used, wherein the flag can be applied in sequence, picture (or frame). A filter type flag indicates whether a filtering method based on a filter back is used and is signaled when the value of the filter bank-available flag is 1. Hence, the filter type flag can also be applied in sequence, picture (or frame).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko and Vitvitskyy and Ogata, and further incorporate having the filtering flag is a frame-level filtering flag, as taught by Kim, to improve coding efficiency (Kim [0022]).
Regarding claim 17, Ko discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Ko discloses wherein after determining the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block, the method further comprises: continuing to perform filtering processing on a next block in the current frame until processing on the current frame is completed, and determining encoding information corresponding to the current frame according to prediction picture blocks corresponding to each block in the current frame; continuing to encode a next frame in a current video sequence, to determine encoding information corresponding to the next frame until processing on the current video sequence is completed, and determining encoding information corresponding to each frame in the current video sequence (Figs. 3, 7 and 10, [0145], [0192], [0056]: it is also well known in the art to process all blocks in a current frame and process next frame of video data);
Ko broadly discloses determining a sequence-level filtering flag corresponding to the current video sequence, wherein the sequence-level filtering flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current video sequence; and determining bitstream information corresponding to the current video sequence according to the sequence-level filtering flag and the encoding information corresponding to each frame (Ko [0125]: coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded and signaled to a decoder, and information derived when performing encoding or decoding. The coding parameter includes information required for encoding or decoding which includes a prediction block filtering method, an interpolation filter type, wherein a filter type can be an n-tap filter and other filter such as smoothing filter as in [0254], hence a regular n-tap filter can be used. Hence, syntax element such as flag can be used for filter type which indicates an n-tap filter, i.e. a second number of taps; [0077], [0056]: parameter set corresponds to header information wherein sequence parameter set can be used. Hence, sequence level flag including filter flag can be used; [0041], [0324]-[0326]: filter used in a filtering direction).
Vitvitskyy discloses wherein after determining the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block, the method further comprises: continuing to perform filtering processing on a next block in the current frame until processing on the current frame is completed, and determining encoding information corresponding to the current frame according to prediction picture blocks corresponding to each block in the current frame; continuing to encode a next frame in a current video sequence, to determine encoding information corresponding to the next frame until processing on the current video sequence is completed, and determining encoding information corresponding to each frame in the current video sequence (Vitvitskyy Col. 6, lines 30-67, Col. 7, lines 1-25: in the video stream, frames can be processed in unit of blocks);
the filter is a regular filter type, and filtering flag corresponding to the current video sequence, wherein the filtering flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current video sequence (Vitvitskyy Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter, hence syntax for number of filter taps, wherein syntax can be a flag as in Ko).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by ko, and further incorporate having the filter is a regular filter type, and filtering flag corresponding to the current video sequence, wherein the filtering flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current video sequence, as taught by Vitvitskyy, to improve prediction (Vitvitskyy Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 19, lines 19-35).
Ogata discloses determining a filtering flag corresponding to the current video sequence, wherein the filtering flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current video sequence; and determining bitstream information corresponding to the current video sequence according to the filtering flag and the encoding information corresponding to each frame (Ogata Col. 5, lines 40-50: flags indicating number of filter taps are used, hence determining a filter with a second number of taps when a filtering flag is a second preset value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko and Vitvitskyy, and further incorporate determining a filtering flag corresponding to the current video sequence, wherein the filtering flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current video sequence; and determining bitstream information corresponding to the current video sequence according to the filtering flag and the encoding information corresponding to each frame, as taught by Ogata, for coding efficiency (Ogata Col. 8, lines 65, Col. 9, lines 1-5).
Furthermore, Kim discloses filtering flag can be sequence-level filtering flag (Kim [0146]-[0148]: a flag indicating whether a filtering method based on a filter bank is used, wherein the flag can be applied in sequence, picture (or frame). A filter type flag indicates whether a filtering method based on a filter back is used and is signaled when the value of the filter bank-available flag is 1. Hence, the filter type flag can also be applied in sequence, picture (or frame).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko and Vitvitskyy and Ogata, and further incorporate having the filtering flag is a sequence-level filtering flag, as taught by Kim, to improve coding efficiency (Kim [0022]).
Regarding claim 18, Ko discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Ko broadly discloses wherein after determining the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block, the method further comprises: continuing to perform filtering processing on a next block in the current frame until processing on the current frame is completed, and determining encoding information corresponding to the current frame according to prediction picture blocks corresponding to each block in the current frame (Figs. 3, 7 and 10, [0145], [0192], [0056]: it is also well known in the art to process all blocks in a current frame and process next frame of video data);
determining a first frame-level flag corresponding to the current frame, wherein the first frame-level flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current frame; and determining bitstream information corresponding to the current frame according to the first frame-level flag and the encoding information corresponding to the current frame (Ko [0125]: coding parameter may include information (flag, index, etc.) such as syntax element that is encoded and signaled to a decoder, and information derived when performing encoding or decoding. The coding parameter includes information required for encoding or decoding which includes a prediction block filtering method, an interpolation filter type, wherein a filter type can be an n-tap filter and other filter such as smoothing filter as in [0254], hence a regular n-tap filter can be used. Hence, syntax element such as flag can be used for filter type which indicates an n-tap filter, i.e. a second number of taps; [0077], [0056]: parameter set corresponds to header information wherein picture parameter set can be used. Hence, frame level flag including filter flag can be used; [0041], [0324]-[0326]: filter used in a filtering direction).
Vitvitskyy discloses wherein after determining the prediction picture block corresponding to the current block, the method further comprises: continuing to perform filtering processing on a next block in the current frame until processing on the current frame is completed, and determining encoding information corresponding to the current frame according to prediction picture blocks corresponding to each block in the current frame (Vitvitskyy Col. 6, lines 30-67, Col. 7, lines 1-25: in the video stream, frames can be processed in unit of blocks);
the filter is a regular filter type, and determining a first flag corresponding to the current frame, wherein the first flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current frame; and determining bitstream information corresponding to the current frame according to the first flag and the encoding information corresponding to the current frame (Vitvitskyy Col. 3, lines 35-47: different filter types can be used including smooth filter, normal filter and sharp filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter; Col. 12, lines 22-42: indication of the first and second interpolation filters can be encoded in bitstream such as syntax elements indicating interpolation filter type (e.g. smooth, sharp, normal) and the size of the filter, hence syntax for number of filter taps, wherein syntax can be a flag as in Ko).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by ko, and further incorporate having the filter is a regular filter type, and filtering flag corresponding to the current video sequence, wherein the filtering flag is used to indicate whether a decoder enables a filter with a first number of taps in a regular filter type in the current video sequence, as taught by Vitvitskyy, to improve prediction (Vitvitskyy Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 19, lines 19-35).
Furthermore, Kim discloses filtering flag can be frame-level filtering flag (Kim [0146]-[0148]: a flag indicating whether a filtering method based on a filter bank is used, wherein the flag can be applied in sequence, picture (or frame). A filter type flag indicates whether a filtering method based on a filter back is used and is signaled when the value of the filter bank-available flag is 1. Hence, the filter type flag can also be applied in sequence, picture (or frame).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Ko and Vitvitskyy and Ogata, and further incorporate having the filtering flag is a frame-level filtering flag, as taught by Kim, to improve coding efficiency (Kim [0022]).
5. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitvitskyy et al. (U.S. 10,455,253) hereinafter Vitvitskyy, in view of Luo et al. (U.S. 2021/0092457) hereinafter Luo, further in view of Filippov et al. (U.S. 2023/0074457) hereinafter Filippov.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Vitvitskyy discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively.
Vitvitskyy discloses wherein the sharp filter with at least 12 taps comprises: a respective first filtering coefficient corresponding to each of the at least 12 taps at each pixel position of at least one pixel position; and the regular filter with at least 8 taps comprises: a respective second filtering coefficient corresponding to each of the at least 8 taps at each pixel position of at least one pixel position (Vitvitskyy Col. 3, lines 41-52),
Vitvitskyy does not explicitly disclose wherein the first filtering coefficient is obtained by performing processing on a random signal through a first preset sampling function and normalizing a first processing result obtained to a preset coefficient interval corresponding to a preset bit depth; and wherein the second filtering coefficient is obtained by performing processing on a random signal through a second preset sampling function and normalizing a second processing result obtained to the preset coefficient interval.
However, Luo discloses wherein the first filtering coefficient is obtained by performing processing on a random signal through a first preset sampling function and normalizing a first processing result obtained to a preset coefficient interval corresponding to a preset interval; and wherein the second filtering coefficient is obtained by performing processing on a random signal through a second preset sampling function and normalizing a second processing result obtained to the preset coefficient interval (Luo [0005], [0028], [0115]-[0123]: sampling filter function wherein 8 tap filter can be used; [0123]: filter coefficients are normalized to an interval).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Vitvitskyy, and further incorporate having wherein a first filtering coefficient is obtained by performing processing on a random signal through a first preset sampling function and normalizing a first processing result obtained to a preset coefficient interval corresponding to a preset interval; and a second filtering coefficient is obtained by performing processing on a random signal through a second preset sampling function and normalizing a second processing result obtained to the preset coefficient interval, as taught by Luo, to improve video quality and processing efficiency (Luo [0144], [0123]).
Furthermore, Filippov discloses normalizing a first processing result obtained to a preset coefficient interval corresponding to a preset bit depth (Filippov [0318]: normalized result of a filter to fit in a range of allowed values, i.e. interval that could be derived from the sample’s bit depth).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Vitvitskyy and Luo, and further incorporate normalizing a first processing result obtained to a preset coefficient interval corresponding to a preset bit depth, as taught by Filippov, to improve prediction (Filippov Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 19, lines 19-35).
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486