DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Deshpande does not explicitly teach the total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Deshpande teaches vps_max_layers_minus1 plus 1 specifies the maximum allowed number of layers in each CVS referring to the VPS. [0074]. vps_max_layers_minus1 plus 1 specifies the maximum allowed number of layers in each CVS referring to the VPS. [0488]. vps_output_layers_mode equal to 0 specifies that only the highest layer is output. vps_output_layer_mode equal to 1 specifies that all layers are output. vps_output_layer_mode equal to 2 specifies that the layers that are output are the layers with vps_output_layer_flag[i] equal to 1. The value of vps_output_layers_mode shall be in the range of 0 to 2, inclusive. The value 3 of vps_output_layer_mode is reserved for future use by ITU-T|ISO/IEC. [0081]. vps_output_layers_mode equal to 0 specifies that only the highest layer is output. vps_output_layer_mode equal to 1 specifies that all layers are output. vps_output_layer_mode equal to 2 specifies that the layers that are output are the layers with vps_output_layer_flag[i] equal to 1. The value of vps_output_layers_mode shall be in the range of 0 to 2, inclusive. The value 3 of vps_output_layer_mode is reserved for future use by ITU-T I ISO/IEC. When not present vps_output_layer_mode is inferred to be equal to 0. [0518]. See also [0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528].
The claim limitation requires that the total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one. vps_max_layers_minus1 plus 1 specifies the maximum allowed number of layers in each CVS referring to the VPS meets the claim limitation because vps_max_layers_minus1 plus 1 specifies the maximum allowed number of layers in each CVS referring to the VPS in all cases, which include when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12341972 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference patent discloses a method implemented by a decoder, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising one or more layers of coded pictures and a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an output layer set (OLS) mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to a number of layers specified by the VPS, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies the number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero; determining an output layer based on the ols_mode_idc in the VPS; and decoding a coded picture from the output layer to produce a decoded picture, wherein a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][i]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00013 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 ∥ ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ j ], wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is the total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 2 of reference patent discloses the ols_mode_idc specifies that the i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 3 of reference patent discloses the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 4 of reference patent discloses the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 1 of reference patent discloses a method implemented by a decoder, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising one or more layers of coded pictures and a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an output layer set (OLS) mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to a number of layers specified by the VPS, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies the number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero; determining an output layer based on the ols_mode_idc in the VPS; and decoding a coded picture from the output layer to produce a decoded picture, wherein a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][i]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00013 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 ∥ ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ j ], wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is the total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 5 of reference patent discloses A method implemented by an encoder, the method comprising: encoding a bitstream comprising one or more layers of coded pictures; encoding into the bitstream a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an output layer set (OLS) mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to a number of layers specified by the VPS, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies the number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero; and storing the bitstream, wherein a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][i]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00014 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 ∥ ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ j ], wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is the total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 6 of reference patent discloses the ols_mode_idc specifies that the i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, claim 7 of reference patent discloses the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 10, claim 8 of reference patent discloses the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 12, claim 5 of reference patent discloses A method implemented by an encoder, the method comprising: encoding a bitstream comprising one or more layers of coded pictures; encoding into the bitstream a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an output layer set (OLS) mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to a number of layers specified by the VPS, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies the number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero; and storing the bitstream, wherein a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][i]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00014 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 ∥ ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ j ], wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is the total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 14, application claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 15, application claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 9. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 16, application claim 16 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 10. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 18, application claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 12. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-14, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12081783 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference patent discloses A method implemented by a decoder, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising an output layer set (OLS) and a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the OLS includes one or more layers of coded pictures and the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that, for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; determining the output layers based on the ols_mode_idc in the VPS; and decoding a coded picture from the output layers to produce a decoded picture.
claim 3 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 1 of reference patent discloses A method implemented by a decoder, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream comprising an output layer set (OLS) and a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the OLS includes one or more layers of coded pictures and the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that, for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; determining the output layers based on the ols_mode_idc in the VPS; and decoding a coded picture from the output layers to produce a decoded picture.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 4 of reference patent discloses a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][j]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00012 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 | | ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 5 of reference patent discloses A method implemented by an encoder, the method comprising: encoding a bitstream comprising one or more output layer sets (OLSs) including one or more layers of coded pictures; encoding into the bitstream a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; and storing the bitstream for communication toward a decoder.
claim 7 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 5 of reference patent discloses A method implemented by an encoder, the method comprising: encoding a bitstream comprising one or more output layer sets (OLSs) including one or more layers of coded pictures; encoding into the bitstream a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; and storing the bitstream for communication toward a decoder.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 12, claim 8 of reference patent discloses a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][j]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00013 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 | | ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vyps_layer_id[ j ] wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 14, application claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 18, application claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 12. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3-4, 9-10, 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12081783 B2 (reference patent) in view of Wang (US 12,341,972 B2).
Consider application claim 3, claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in application claim 2 but do not explicitly teach the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer.
Wang teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer (claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known element of ols_mode_idc specifying that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer because such incorporation would provide efficient signaling to allow a video sequence to be correctly and efficiently employed. Col. 23, lines 59-62.
Consider application claim 4, claim 3 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, Wang teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer (claim 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known element of ols_mode_idc specifying that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer because such incorporation would provide efficient signaling to allow a video sequence to be correctly and efficiently employed. Col. 23, lines 59-62.
Consider application claim 10, claim 7 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 15, application claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 9. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 16, application claim 16 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 10. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-14, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12647594 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference patent discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product for use by a video coding device, the computer program product comprising computer executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by a processor cause the video coding device to: obtain a bitstream comprising an output layer set (OLS) and a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the OLS includes one or more layers of coded pictures and the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that, for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; determine the output layers based on the ols_mode_idc in the VPS; and decode a coded picture from the output layers to produce a decoded picture.
Claim 3 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 1 of reference patent discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product for use by a video coding device, the computer program product comprising computer executable instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by a processor cause the video coding device to: obtain a bitstream comprising an output layer set (OLS) and a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the OLS includes one or more layers of coded pictures and the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that, for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; determine the output layers based on the ols_mode_idc in the VPS; and decode a coded picture from the output layers to produce a decoded picture.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 6 of reference patent discloses a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][j]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00012 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ]for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 | | ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, claim 7 of reference patent discloses A video coding device comprising: one or more processors configured to: encode a bitstream comprising one or more output layer sets (OLSs) including one or more layers of coded pictures; and encode into the bitstream a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; and a memory coupled to the processors and configured to store the bitstream.
Claim 9 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 7 of reference patent discloses A video coding device comprising: one or more processors configured to: encode a bitstream comprising one or more output layer sets (OLSs) including one or more layers of coded pictures; and encode into the bitstream a video parameter set (VPS), wherein the VPS includes an OLS mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that for each OLS, all layers in each OLS are output layers, wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies a number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS, and wherein the ols_mode_idc specifies that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to the number of layers specified by the VPS where an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive; and a memory coupled to the processors and configured to store the bitstream.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 12, claim 12 of reference patent discloses a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in the i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][j]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00013 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ]for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 | | ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vyps_layer_id[ j ] wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 13, application claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 14, application claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 18, application claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 12. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3-4, 9-10, 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12647594 B2 (reference patent) in view of Wang (US 1,234,972 B2).
Consider application claim 3, claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in application claim 2 but do not explicitly teach the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer.
Wang teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer (claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known element of ols_mode_idc specifying that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer because such incorporation would provide efficient signaling to allow a video sequence to be correctly and efficiently employed. Col. 23, lines 59-62.
Consider application claim 4, claim 3 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, Wang teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer (claim 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known element of ols_mode_idc specifying that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer because such incorporation would provide efficient signaling to allow a video sequence to be correctly and efficiently employed. Col. 23, lines 59-62.
Consider application claim 10, claim 9 of reference patent discloses a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one.
Claims of reference disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 15, application claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 9. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 16, application claim 16 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by the application claim 10. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deshpande (US 2022/0345745 A1).
Consider claim 1, Deshpande teaches a decoder comprising: a receiver configured to receive a bitstream ([0630] – [0633] and Fig. 6) comprising one or more layers of coded pictures ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]) and a video parameter set (VPS) ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]), wherein the VPS includes an output layer set (OLS) mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to a number of layers specified by the VPS ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]), wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies the number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS ([0067] – [0086], [0487] – [0489], and [0517] – [0528]); and one or more processors coupled to the receiver and configured to: determine an output layer based on the ols_mode_idc in the VPS ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]); and decode a coded picture from the output layer to produce a decoded picture ([0633] – [0634], [0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528], and Fig. 6), a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 2, Deshpande teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 3, Deshpande teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only a highest layer in the each OLS is the output layer ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 4, Deshpande teaches the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 6, Deshpande teaches a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in an i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][j]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00012 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 ∥ ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ j ], wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 7, Deshpande teaches an encoder comprising: one or more processors configured to: encode a bitstream ([0238] – [0239] and Fig. 5) comprising one or more layers of coded pictures ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]); and encode into the bitstream, by the encoder, a video parameter set (VPS) ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]), wherein the VPS includes an output layer set (OLS) mode identification code (ols_mode_idc) specifying that a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS is equal to a number of layers specified by the VPS ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]), wherein the VPS includes a VPS maximum layers minus one (vps_max_layers_minus1) plus one that specifies the number of layers specified by the VPS, which is a maximum allowed number of layers in each coded video sequence (CVS) referring to the VPS ([0067] – [0086], [0487] – [0489], and [0517] – [0528]); and a memory coupled to the one or more processors ([0635]) and configured to store the bitstream ([0229] – [0330] and Fig. 1), a total number of OLSs (TotalNumOlss) is equal to vps_max_layers_minus1 plus one when the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero or when the ols_mode_idc is equal to one ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 8, Deshpande teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that an i-th OLS includes layers with layer indices from zero to i, inclusive ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 9, Deshpande teaches the ols_mode_idc specifies that for each OLS only the highest layer in the each OLS is an output layer ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 10, Deshpande teaches the ols_mode_idc is equal to zero ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claim 12, Deshpande teaches a number of layers in an i-th OLS (NumLayersInOls[i]), specifying the number of layers in an i-th OLS, and a layer identifier (ID) in an OLS (LayerIdInOLS[i][j]), specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit header layer identifier (nuh_layer_id) value of a j-th layer in the i-th OLS, are derived as follows: TABLE-US-00013 NumLayersInOls[ 0 ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ 0 ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ 0 ] for( i = 1, i < TotalNumOlss; i++ ) { if( each_layer_is_an_ols_flag ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = 1 LayerIdInOls[ i ][ 0 ] = vps_layer_id[ i ] } else if( ols_mode_idc = = 0 ∥ ols_mode_idc = = 1 ) { NumLayersInOls[ i ] = i + 1 for( j = 0; j < NumLayersInOls[ i ]; j++ ) LayerIdInOls[ i ][ j ] = vps_layer_id[ j ] wherein vps_layer_id[i] is an i-th VPS layer identifier, TotalNumOlss is a total number of OLSs specified by the VPS, and an each_layer_is_an_ols_flag is an each layer is an OLS flag that specifies whether at least one OLS contains more than one layer. ([0067] – [0086] and [0517] – [0528]).
Consider claims 13-16, 18, A bitstream generated by a method, the method comprising… is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claims 13-18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Deshpande which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0230] – [0231], [0628] – [0629]).
Alternatively, if the limitations in claims 13-16 and 18 are found to be given patentable weight, claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected as follows:
Consider claim 13, claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by claim 7. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 14, claim 14 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 15, claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by claim 9. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 16, claim 16 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by claim 10. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 18, claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method implemented by claim 12. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAT C CHIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486