DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/02/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niimi et al. (US 2020/0198563) in view of Matsuda et al. (US 2015/0266386).
Regarding claim 1:
Niimi teaches a method for controlling one or more batteries (first and second battery, B1 and B2, see at least abstract, ¶0031) for an electric vehicle (may be electric vehicle, see at least ¶0020) which includes a plurality of wheels (wheels 54), a driving motor (first and second motors MG1, MG2) configured to supply power to the plurality of wheels, and a controller configured to at least control one of power supply to the driving motor or charging the one or more batteries with electric power generated by the driving motor (HV-ECU 102, see at least ¶0035-0037), the method comprising:
determining, by the controller, a plurality of operating areas (operating ranges, R1, R2, R3, R11, R12, R13, see at least Fig. 3, 8, ¶0038-0039) based on references determined using a parameter of a first battery and a second battery (adjusting operating region size/shape based on differences of SOC in first and second battery, see at least ¶0059);
determining, by the controller, one between the first battery and the second battery based on an operating area that an operating point of the driving motor corresponds among the plurality of operating areas (selecting among series, parallel, single B1 or single B2 based on SOC and required power, see at least Fig. 6, ¶0059-0060); and
controlling, by the controller, at least one of the power supply or the charging by using the determined battery (see at least ¶0059-0060).
Niimi is silent as to the parameter being a state of health of the batteries.
Matsuda teaches a system and method of controlling an electric vehicle, wherein the vehicle includes a first and second battery, and determining by a controller one between the first battery and the second battery based on a state of health of the first and second batteries (see at least ¶0062-0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of selecting among a first and second battery in an electric vehicle as taught by Niimi with the technique of utilizing a state of health as a parameter for selecting a battery among a first and second battery as taught by Matsuda in order to maintain the health of the two batteries, balance battery degradation, and ensure that the vehicle has sufficient charge to operate as intended.
Regarding claim 2:
Niimi further teaches wherein the determining the plurality of operating areas comprises adjusting reference data for determining the plurality of operating areas based on the parameters of the first battery and the second battery (see at least ¶0059-0060, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3:
Niimi further teaches wherein the plurality of operating areas comprise a high-voltage area and a low-voltage area, and
wherein the controlling the at least one of the power supply or the charging comprises:
controlling the power supply or the charging by using a higher-voltage battery among the first battery and the second battery when the operating point corresponds to the high-voltage area; or
controlling the power supply or the charging by using a lower-voltage battery among the first battery and the second battery when the operating point corresponds to the low-voltage area (see at least Fig. 4, ¶0038).
Regarding claim 4:
Niimi further teaches wherein the adjusting the reference data comprises: a first adjustment of adjusting the reference data to increase use of a higher-voltage battery and decrease use of a lower-voltage battery when a first parameter of the lower-voltage battery is less than a second parameter of the higher-voltage battery among the first battery and the second battery; or
a second adjustment of adjusting the reference data to increase the use of the lower- voltage battery and decrease the use of the higher-voltage battery when the first parameter is greater than the second parameter (Niimi teaches discharging the higher SOC battery when appropriate, see at least Fig. 6. Niimi further teaches wherein B1 and B2 have different voltages, see at least ¶0045. Therefore, in at least some scenarios, such as wherein the higher voltage battery also has the higher SOC, the claim limitations are met by the teachings of Niimi).
Regarding claim 5:
Niimi further teaches wherein the adjusting the reference data further comprises maintaining the reference data without any adjustments when the first parameter is equal to the second parameter (see at least Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 13-17, Niimi in view of Matsuda teaches an electric vehicle as in claims 1-5 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619