Detailed Office Action
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for KR10-2024-0167352 filed November 21, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 11, and 14-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasuhara (WO 2013011619 A1), hereafter referred to as Yasuhara.
Independent Claims
Regarding Claim 1, Yasuhara teaches an apparatus for controlling inertia driving (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] The automatic deceleration control unit 17 controls the vehicle A to a vehicle state (target deceleration described later) according to the curvature information output by the curvature radius calculation unit 16)
the apparatus comprising:
a communication interface configured to receive necessary operation information required for inertia driving control of a vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.9, pg.3 para.6] The curvature radius calculation unit 16 includes a plurality of road information setting points based on the detection results of the various sensors 1 and 2 and the GPS receiver 13 and the road information of the plurality of road information setting points stored in the map information storage device 14...The map information storage device 14 stores map information of the area where the vehicle A travels. The map information is information that expresses a road traffic network by a combination of nodes and links set along the road)
and a processor (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.8] The microprocessor 15 includes a curvature radius calculation unit 16 and an automatic deceleration control unit 17)
configured to:
determine whether a deceleration event will occur based on road curvature information contained in the necessary operation information (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] The automatic deceleration control unit 17 controls the vehicle A to a vehicle state (target deceleration described later) according to the curvature information output by the curvature radius calculation unit 16)
determine a target vehicle speed (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target vehicle speed based on the acquired curvature radius at the minimum curvature radius point. The target vehicle speed is a vehicle speed for causing the vehicle A to travel stably at the minimum radius of curvature)
determine inertia driving control time (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7, pg.2 para.15] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101...the braking / driving force control unit 6 outputs a command for controlling the operation reaction force to the reaction force motor 4 in accordance with the command from the navigation control unit 12) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the target deceleration based on speed and distance and therefore also inherently calculates the deceleration time, which is analogous to inertia driving control time
control torque for the inertia driving control based on the road curvature information indicative of the deceleration event (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] and a driving torque of the driving wheel 3 are reduced...Then, the microprocessor 15 outputs the generated command to the braking / driving force control unit 6 and the driving torque control unit 8)
control an actuator to perform the inertia driving control for the deceleration event based on determination results (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] In the control of the vehicle A, before the vehicle A enters the curved road, a command for increasing the brake fluid pressure of the wheel cylinder 7, a command for reducing the operation reaction force of the accelerator pedal 5...Then, the microprocessor 15 outputs the generated command to the braking / driving force control unit 6 and the driving torque control unit 8).
Regarding Claim 14, Yasuhara teaches a method of controlling inertia driving (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] The automatic deceleration control unit 17 controls the vehicle A to a vehicle state (target deceleration described later) according to the curvature information output by the curvature radius calculation unit 16)
the method comprising:
determining whether a deceleration event will occur based on road curvature information contained in received necessary operation information (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] The automatic deceleration control unit 17 controls the vehicle A to a vehicle state (target deceleration described later) according to the curvature information output by the curvature radius calculation unit 16)
determining a target vehicle speed (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target vehicle speed based on the acquired curvature radius at the minimum curvature radius point. The target vehicle speed is a vehicle speed for causing the vehicle A to travel stably at the minimum radius of curvature)
an inertia driving control time (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7, pg.2 para.15] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101...the braking / driving force control unit 6 outputs a command for controlling the operation reaction force to the reaction force motor 4 in accordance with the command from the navigation control unit 12) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the target deceleration based on speed and distance and therefore also inherently calculates the deceleration time, which is analogous to inertia driving control time
and a control torque for inertia driving control based on the road curvature information indicative of presence of the deceleration event (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] and a driving torque of the driving wheel 3 are reduced...Then, the microprocessor 15 outputs the generated command to the braking / driving force control unit 6 and the driving torque control unit 8) and
controlling an actuator to perform the inertia driving control for the deceleration event based on determination results (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] In the control of the vehicle A, before the vehicle A enters the curved road, a command for increasing the brake fluid pressure of the wheel cylinder 7, a command for reducing the operation reaction force of the accelerator pedal 5...Then, the microprocessor 15 outputs the generated command to the braking / driving force control unit 6 and the driving torque control unit 8).
Regarding Claim 15, Yasuhara teaches an eco-friendly vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10, pg.8 para.8] The automatic deceleration control unit 17 controls the vehicle A to a vehicle state (target deceleration described later) according to the curvature information output by the curvature radius calculation unit 16…the malfunction of the vehicle A can be prevented)
comprising:
an information providing apparatus configured to provide necessary operation information required for inertia driving control of the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.9, pg.3 para.6] The curvature radius calculation unit 16 includes a plurality of road information setting points based on the detection results of the various sensors 1 and 2 and the GPS receiver 13 and the road information of the plurality of road information setting points stored in the map information storage device 14...The map information storage device 14 stores map information of the area where the vehicle A travels. The map information is information that expresses a road traffic network by a combination of nodes and links set along the road) and
an inertia driving control apparatus configured to determine whether a deceleration event is present based on road curvature information contained in the necessary operation information (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] The automatic deceleration control unit 17 controls the vehicle A to a vehicle state (target deceleration described later) according to the curvature information output by the curvature radius calculation unit 16)
determine target vehicle speed (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target vehicle speed based on the acquired curvature radius at the minimum curvature radius point. The target vehicle speed is a vehicle speed for causing the vehicle A to travel stably at the minimum radius of curvature)
determine…inertia driving control time (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7, pg.2 para.15] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101...the braking / driving force control unit 6 outputs a command for controlling the operation reaction force to the reaction force motor 4 in accordance with the command from the navigation control unit 12) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the target deceleration based on speed and distance and therefore also inherently calculates the deceleration time, which is analogous to inertia driving control time
determine…control torque for the inertia driving control based on the road curvature information indicative of presence of the deceleration event (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] and a driving torque of the driving wheel 3 are reduced...Then, the microprocessor 15 outputs the generated command to the braking / driving force control unit 6 and the driving torque control unit 8) and
and control an actuator to perform the inertia driving control for the deceleration event based on determination results (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.10] In the control of the vehicle A, before the vehicle A enters the curved road, a command for increasing the brake fluid pressure of the wheel cylinder 7, a command for reducing the operation reaction force of the accelerator pedal 5...Then, the microprocessor 15 outputs the generated command to the braking / driving force control unit 6 and the driving torque control unit 8).
Dependent Claims
Regarding Claim 2, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the road curvature information comprises a radius of curvature comprising a sign of the curvature, a length of a curvature section, and a first distance corresponding to a distance between a curvature section starting point and the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.4 para.5, pg.3 para.6] and the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines the curvature radius (hereinafter referred to as control radius) of the traveling road at each of the road information setting point and the link position in the set section based on the road information read in step S101. (Also called a working radius). As a method of calculating the radius of curvature, an arc passing through three consecutive road information setting points is calculated, and the calculated radius of curvature of the arc is calculated by using the middle road information setting point of the three road information setting points and the surrounding points....The complementary points are points arranged along the link at a set distance (for example, 25 m) from each other and representing the shape of the link) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the information of road segments that contain information regarding arcs passing through points and the shape of the segments, because the shape of the curved segment would include the direction of the curve (curving left or right), it is analogous to a sign of the curvature
the processor is configured to determine that the deceleration event will occur based on the road curvature information, wherein the determination is made based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.4 para.6] curved road that requires the vehicle A to be decelerated before the vehicle A enters the curved road. As a method for determining the radius of curvature to be controlled, a method is adopted in which a radius of curvature equal to or less than a preset threshold value (for example, 300 m) among the radius of curvature of the traveling path of vehicle A is determined as the radius of curvature to be controlled)
the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.5 para.5, pg.] The curve threshold is a minimum value (for example, 100 m) of the length of a curved road (for example, 100 m to 200 m or more) assumed on an actual road. When the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines that there is an illegally curved road in the set section...As the length of the curved road, the length of a section in which the curvature radius of the curved road is equal to or less than the curvature radius to be controlled (300 m) is employed. The curve threshold is a minimum value (for example, 100 m) of the length of a curved road (for example, 100 m to 200 m or more) assumed on an actual road. When the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines that there is an illegally curved road in the set section (Yes), the road information setting in which the difference in curvature radius between the preceding and following road information setting points is greater than or equal to the set threshold value) and
the first distance being smaller than a third reference value (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7, pg.4 para.4] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101...the set section is a section from a current position of the vehicle A to a position that is a predetermined distance (for example, 500 m) ahead of the traveling direction of the vehicle A).
Regarding Claim 6, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine a remaining distance from a current location of the vehicle to a starting point of the deceleration event (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7, pg.] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101. . The target deceleration is a deceleration for making the vehicle speed of the vehicle A coincide with the target vehicle speed when reaching the entrance of the latest curve road).
Regarding Claim 8, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 6 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the necessary operation information comprises current location information of the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.5] The GPS receiver 13 detects the current position of the vehicle A. Then, the GPS receiver 13 outputs the detection result to the microprocessor 15)
and the processor is configured to determine the remaining distance based on the current location information of the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101. . The target deceleration is a deceleration for making the vehicle speed of the vehicle A coincide with the target vehicle speed when reaching the entrance of the latest curve road).
Regarding Claim 11, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 6 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the inertia driving control time for the deceleration event based on the target vehicle speed and the remaining distance (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101. . The target deceleration is a deceleration for making the vehicle speed of the vehicle A coincide with the target vehicle speed when reaching the entrance of the latest curve road) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the target deceleration based on speed and distance and therefore also inherently calculates the deceleration time, which is analogous to inertia driving control time.
Regarding Claim 16, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 14 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the road curvature information comprises a radius of curvature comprising a sign of the curvature, a length of a curvature section, and a first distance corresponding to a distance between a curvature section starting point and the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.4 para.5, pg.3 para.6] and the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines the curvature radius (hereinafter referred to as control radius) of the traveling road at each of the road information setting point and the link position in the set section based on the road information read in step S101. (Also called a working radius). As a method of calculating the radius of curvature, an arc passing through three consecutive road information setting points is calculated, and the calculated radius of curvature of the arc is calculated by using the middle road information setting point of the three road information setting points and the surrounding points....The complementary points are points arranged along the link at a set distance (for example, 25 m) from each other and representing the shape of the link) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the information of road segments that contain information regarding arcs passing through points and the shape of the segments, because the shape of the curved segment would include the direction of the curve (curving left or right), it is analogous to a sign of the curvature.
Regarding Claim 17, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 16 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the inertia driving control apparatus is configured to:
determine that the deceleration event will occur based on the road curvature information wherein the determination is made based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.4 para.6] curved road that requires the vehicle A to be decelerated before the vehicle A enters the curved road. As a method for determining the radius of curvature to be controlled, a method is adopted in which a radius of curvature equal to or less than a preset threshold value (for example, 300 m) among the radius of curvature of the traveling path of vehicle A is determined as the radius of curvature to be controlled)
the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.5 para.5, pg.] The curve threshold is a minimum value (for example, 100 m) of the length of a curved road (for example, 100 m to 200 m or more) assumed on an actual road. When the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines that there is an illegally curved road in the set section...As the length of the curved road, the length of a section in which the curvature radius of the curved road is equal to or less than the curvature radius to be controlled (300 m) is employed. The curve threshold is a minimum value (for example, 100 m) of the length of a curved road (for example, 100 m to 200 m or more) assumed on an actual road. When the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines that there is an illegally curved road in the set section (Yes), the road information setting in which the difference in curvature radius between the preceding and following road information setting points is greater than or equal to the set threshold value)
and the first distance being smaller than a third reference value (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7, pg.4 para.4] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101...the set section is a section from a current position of the vehicle A to a position that is a predetermined distance (for example, 500 m) ahead of the traveling direction of the vehicle A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara (WO 2013011619 A1) in view of Sekine et al (DE 19750171 A1). Hereafter referred to as Yasuhara and Sekine respectively.
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 18, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of the apparatus of Claim 1 and the vehicle of Claim 15. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the road curvature information comprises a radius of curvature comprising a sign of the curvature, a length of a curvature section, and a first distance corresponding to a distance between a curvature section starting point and the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.4 para.5, pg.3 para.6] and the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines the curvature radius (hereinafter referred to as control radius) of the traveling road at each of the road information setting point and the link position in the set section based on the road information read in step S101. (Also called a working radius). As a method of calculating the radius of curvature, an arc passing through three consecutive road information setting points is calculated, and the calculated radius of curvature of the arc is calculated by using the middle road information setting point of the three road information setting points and the surrounding points....The complementary points are points arranged along the link at a set distance (for example, 25 m) from each other and representing the shape of the link) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the information of road segments that contain information regarding arcs passing through points and the shape of the segments, because the shape of the curved segment would include the direction of the curve (curving left or right), it is analogous to a sign of the curvature.
However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to determine that the deceleration event will occur based on the road curvature information, wherein the determination is made based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value, the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value, and presence of alteration in the sign of the curvature.
Sekine, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that the deceleration event will occur based on the road curvature information, wherein the determination is made based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value (see at least Sekine [English Translation pg.3 para.1, pg.7 para.1] If the road data of the road ahead in the automatic Slowdown zone is one by the control means automatic deceleration performed to allow the The curve is passed safely…if it is assumed in Fig. 6 that the road in the processing section A has a curve with a curve radius R, a point a, at which the curve with the curve radius R indicating the straight line intersects the outer edge of the warning zone Z .sub.2 , creates a warning start position so that the warning is issued when the curve approaches this warning start position. On the other hand, a point b at which the above-mentioned linear distance intersects the outer edge of the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 creates an automatic deceleration start position, so that the automatic deceleration is started when the curve approaches the automatic deceleration start position)
the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value (see at least Sekine [English Translation pg.6 para.7] For each key position N .sub.k it is also decided in step S19 whether the points N .sub.k + 1 , N .sub.k + 2 ,. . . etc. fall within the arcs C .sub.1 'into the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 . If this answer is NO, ie the points N .sub.k + 1 , N .sub.k + 2,. . . etc. do not fall into the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 , the routine is reset to step S3. If the answer in step S19 is YES, that is to say that one of the points N .sub.k + 1 , N .sub.k + 2 , etc. falls within the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 , the vehicle speed setting means M9 is actuated to perform the automatic deceleration in step S20 to effect)
and presence of alteration in the sign of the curvature (see at least Sekine [English Translation pg.8 para.3, pg.2 para.8] an S curve decision means M11 (with reference to FIG. 1) is provided for deciding whether or not an S curve is present on the road ahead of the tactile position N .sub.k . If an S curve is present, the areas of the individual zones Z .sub.1 , Z .sub.2 and Z .sub.3 are corrected by the accessibility decision means M8....If the road ahead lies in the warning zone, the driver is warned and forced by control means to slow the vehicle down).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Yasuhara to contain a system for wherein the processor is configured to determine that the deceleration event will occur based on the road curvature information, wherein the determination is made based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value, the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value, and presence of alteration in the sign of the curvature with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the safe driving of the vehicle as discussed in Sekine (see at least Sekine [English Translation Abstract and pg.3 para.1] The radius of curvature of the vehicle movement path is calculated, with a decision stage providing control of the vehicle to ensure safe cornering…the curve is passed safely).
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 19, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of the apparatus of Claim 1 and the vehicle of Claim 15. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the road curvature information comprises a radius of curvature comprising a sign of the curvature, a length of a curvature section, and a first distance corresponding to a distance between a curvature section starting point and the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.4 para.5, pg.3 para.6] and the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines the curvature radius (hereinafter referred to as control radius) of the traveling road at each of the road information setting point and the link position in the set section based on the road information read in step S101. (Also called a working radius). As a method of calculating the radius of curvature, an arc passing through three consecutive road information setting points is calculated, and the calculated radius of curvature of the arc is calculated by using the middle road information setting point of the three road information setting points and the surrounding points....The complementary points are points arranged along the link at a set distance (for example, 25 m) from each other and representing the shape of the link) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the information of road segments that contain information regarding arcs passing through points and the shape of the segments, because the shape of the curved segment would include the direction of the curve (curving left or right), it is analogous to a sign of the curvature.
However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to:
determine whether the sign of the curvature is altered based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value, the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value, and the first distance being greater than or equal to a third reference value, and determine that the deceleration event will occur in the road curvature information upon presence of the alteration in the sign of the curvature.
Sekine, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches the processor configured to determine whether the sign of the curvature is altered based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value…and determine that the deceleration event will occur in the road curvature information upon presence of the alteration in the sign of the curvature (see at least Sekine [English Translation pg.8 para.3, pg.2 para.8] an S curve decision means M11 (with reference to FIG. 1) is provided for deciding whether or not an S curve is present on the road ahead of the tactile position N .sub.k . If an S curve is present, the areas of the individual zones Z .sub.1 , Z .sub.2 and Z .sub.3 are corrected by the accessibility decision means M8....If the road ahead lies in the warning zone, the driver is warned and forced by control means to slow the vehicle down).
the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value (see at least Sekine [English Translation pg.6 para.7] For each key position N .sub.k it is also decided in step S19 whether the points N .sub.k + 1 , N .sub.k + 2 ,. . . etc. fall within the arcs C .sub.1 'into the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 . If this answer is NO, ie the points N .sub.k + 1 , N .sub.k + 2,. . . etc. do not fall into the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 , the routine is reset to step S3. If the answer in step S19 is YES, that is to say that one of the points N .sub.k + 1 , N .sub.k + 2 , etc. falls within the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 , the vehicle speed setting means M9 is actuated to perform the automatic deceleration in step S20 to effect)
and the first distance being greater than or equal to a third reference value (see at least Sekine [English Translation pg.7 para.1] creates a warning start position so that the warning is issued when the curve approaches this warning start position. On the other hand, a point b at which the above-mentioned linear distance intersects the outer edge of the automatic deceleration zone Z .sub.3 creates an automatic deceleration start position, so that the automatic deceleration is started when the curve approaches the automatic deceleration start position)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Yasuhara to contain a system for wherein a processor is configured to determine whether the sign of the curvature is altered based on the radius of the curvature being smaller than a first reference value, the length of the curvature section being greater than a second reference value, and the first distance being greater than or equal to a third reference value, and determine that the deceleration event will occur in the road curvature information upon presence of the alteration in the sign of the curvature with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the safe driving of the vehicle as discussed in Sekine (see at least Sekine [English Translation Abstract and pg.3 para.1] The radius of curvature of the vehicle movement path is calculated, with a decision stage providing control of the vehicle to ensure safe cornering…the curve is passed safely).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara (WO 2013011619 A1) in view of Matsumoto et al (US 20050240334 A1). Hereafter referred to as Yasuhara and Matsumoto respectively.
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 20, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of the apparatus of Claim 1 and the vehicle of Claim 15 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein the road curvature information comprises a radius of curvature comprising a sign of the curvature (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.4 para.5, pg.3 para.6] and the curvature radius calculation unit 16 determines the curvature radius (hereinafter referred to as control radius) of the traveling road at each of the road information setting point and the link position in the set section based on the road information read in step S101. (Also called a working radius). As a method of calculating the radius of curvature, an arc passing through three consecutive road information setting points is calculated, and the calculated radius of curvature of the arc is calculated by using the middle road information setting point of the three road information setting points and the surrounding points....The complementary points are points arranged along the link at a set distance (for example, 25 m) from each other and representing the shape of the link) The disclosure in Yasuhara teaches determining the information of road segments that contain information regarding arcs passing through points and the shape of the segments, because the shape of the curved segment would include the direction of the curve (curving left or right), it is analogous to a sign of the curvature.
However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: determine an absolute value for the radius of the curvature, search information about speeds corresponding to the radius of the curvature for a speed corresponding to the absolute value, and determine the searched speed as the target vehicle speed.
Matsumoto, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches the processor is configured to: determine an absolute value for the radius of the curvature, search information about speeds corresponding to the radius of the curvature for a speed corresponding to the absolute value, and determine the searched speed as the target vehicle speed (see at least Matsumoto [¶ 36, 4] the first node at which the absolute value of the path radius is smaller than or equal to a predetermined threshold radius Rin is defined as the start point of the curve section. In such a case as shown in FIG. 3, node N3 is the start point of the curve section....the system determines a desired speed that the host vehicle is traveling through a point of minimum radius of curvature of the curve, based on the minimum radius of curvature of the curve, and determines whether to perform a warning operation and a deceleration control operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Yasuhara to contain a system for wherein the processor is configured to: determine an absolute value for the radius of the curvature, search information about speeds corresponding to the radius of the curvature for a speed corresponding to the absolute value, and determine the searched speed as the target vehicle speed with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the driving of the vehicle to take turns at the proper speed and timing as discussed in Matsumoto (see at least Matsumoto [¶ 5] reduces the vehicle speed to a proper cornering speed at a proper timing in accordance with the shape of an upcoming curve).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara (WO 2013011619 A1). Hereafter referred to as Yasuhara.
Regarding Claim 7, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 6 as set forth above. Yasuhara further teaches wherein: the road curvature information comprises a first distance corresponding to a distance between a curvature section starting point and the vehicle, the necessary operation information comprises a vehicle speed for the vehicle (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.7 para.7] the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101. . The target deceleration is a deceleration for making the vehicle speed of the vehicle A coincide with the target vehicle speed when reaching the entrance of the latest curve road).
However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach determining the remaining distance by subtracting a vehicle speed integral value from the first distance.
However, Yasuhara does teach determining the remaining distance to a curved area (see at least Yasuhara [English Translation pg.3 para.5, pg.7 para.7] The GPS receiver 13 detects the current position of the vehicle A…the automatic deceleration control unit 17 calculates the target deceleration based on the calculated target vehicle speed, the distance from the current position to the entrance of the nearest curve road, and the rotational speed Vw of each wheel 3 read in step S101…The map information storage device 14 stores map information of the area where the vehicle A travels. The map information is information that expresses a road traffic network by a combination of nodes and links set along the road. A node is a connection point on the road network expression. The link is a line segment connecting nodes on the road network expression, that is, a road. As the map information, information including position information of nodes…a node at the entrance of the roundabout).
Therefore, Yasuhara discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the remaining distance is determined by subtracting a vehicle speed integral value from the first distance. It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a method for wherein the remaining distance is determined by subtracting a vehicle speed integral value from the first distance since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select such a method based on its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara (WO 2013011619 A1) in view of Ikezawa et al (CN 116476789 A). Hereafter referred to as Yasuhara and Ikezawa respectively.
Regarding Claim 9, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 6 as set forth above. However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach wherein, based on presence of multiple deceleration events, the processor is configured to:
determine the remaining distance for each of the multiple deceleration events, and
determine, among the multiple deceleration events, deceleration events as a single deceleration event when differences in the remaining distances between the multiple deceleration events are smaller than or equal to a preset threshold.
Ikezawa, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein, based on presence of multiple deceleration events, the processor is configured to:
determine the remaining distance for each of the multiple deceleration events (see at least Ikezawa [English Translation pg.7 para.7, pg.9 para.7, pg.5 para.5] In the following description, "object requiring vehicle deceleration" is recorded as "deceleration object". The deceleration object is, for example, a stop vehicle, a pedestrian moving on the side of the road, a bicycle, a signal lamp, a crosswalk, a slow-running road mark, a deceleration road mark, a crossroad, a T-shaped road, a curve of the road and so on...when a plurality of deceleration objects are detected...when a specific object is detected, when it is determined that the distance from the vehicle to the object is equal to or greater than a reference distance, the automatic deceleration control is started again) and
determine, among the multiple deceleration events, deceleration events as a single deceleration event when differences in the remaining distances between the multiple deceleration events are smaller than or equal to a preset threshold (see at least Ikezawa [English Translation pg.4 para.6, pg.13 para.1] when a plurality of objects include an object of a non-specific object, the automatic deceleration control is started again, so that the vehicle can be decelerated by the automatic deceleration control to prevent the vehicle from colliding with the object of the non-specific object. In contrast, when a plurality of objects are all specific objects, the automatic deceleration control is not started again, so that the driver can be prevented from being bored by the automatic deceleration...in the presence of a plurality of specific objects, the distance L is a distance from the vehicle 50 to a specific object closest to the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Yasuhara to contain a system for wherein, based on presence of multiple deceleration events, the processor is configured to: determine the remaining distance for each of the multiple deceleration events, and determine, among the multiple deceleration events, deceleration events as a single deceleration event when differences in the remaining distances between the multiple deceleration events are smaller than or equal to a preset threshold with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the safe driving of the vehicle as discussed in Ikezawa (see at least Ikezawa [English Translation pg.6 para.2] "an object requiring deceleration of the vehicle" means that the object is present on the road on which the vehicle is travelling and around the road, and is an object requiring deceleration of the vehicle in order to cause the vehicle to travel safely and in order to cause the vehicle to travel in accordance with the road traffic law).
Regarding Claim 10, Yasuhara in view of Ikezawa teaches all limitations of Claim 9 as set forth above. However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to determine a minimum value of the target vehicle speeds determined for the deceleration events, which are identified to be the same, as the target vehicle speed for the single deceleration event.
Ikezawa, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine a minimum value of the target vehicle speeds determined for the deceleration events, which are identified to be the same, as the target vehicle speed for the single deceleration event (see at least Ikezawa [English Translation pg.9 para.8-9, pg.13 para.4] the CPU determines whether the end condition of the automatic deceleration control is satisfied, that is, whether the deceleration is completed. The CPU advances the control to step S80 when the positive determination is made, and advances the control to step S70 when the negative determination is made....For example, in the case where the deceleration object is a forward vehicle, the relative speed of the vehicle 50 relative to the forward vehicle is 0 km/h or less. When the relative distance between the forward vehicle and the own vehicle is greater than the reference relative distance determined according to the vehicle speed V, it is determined that the end condition of the automatic deceleration control is satisfied. When the vehicle speed V of the vehicle 50 at the stop line or before the stop line is 0 km/h, it is determined that the end condition of the automatic deceleration control is satisfied...when the object detection device 10 detects a plurality of objects requiring deceleration of the vehicle…under the condition that it is determined that a plurality of objects include non-specific objects, the automatic deceleration control starts again).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Yasuhara to contain a system for wherein the processor is configured to determine a minimum value of the target vehicle speeds determined for the deceleration events, which are identified to be the same, as the target vehicle speed for the single deceleration event with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the safe driving of the vehicle as discussed in Ikezawa (see at least Ikezawa [English Translation pg.6 para.2] "an object requiring deceleration of the vehicle" means that the object is present on the road on which the vehicle is travelling and around the road, and is an object requiring deceleration of the vehicle in order to cause the vehicle to travel safely and in order to cause the vehicle to travel in accordance with the road traffic law).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara (WO 2013011619 A1) in view of Kazuya et al (JP 3385812 B2). Hereafter referred to as Yasuhara and Kazuya respectively.
Regarding Claim 12, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 11 as set forth above. However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to determine the inertia driving control time based on a distance required to reach the target vehicle speed by the inertia driving being greater than or equal to a first set distance value, and the remaining distance being greater than or equal to a second set distance value.
Kazuya, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the inertia driving control time based on a distance required to reach the target vehicle speed by the inertia driving being greater than or equal to a first set distance value, and the remaining distance being greater than or equal to a second set distance value (see at least Kazuya [English Translation pg.14 para.11, pg.15 para.4, pg.2 para.11] a distance that requires deceleration to enter the curve, and corresponds to the distance from the deceleration start point P1 to the curve start point ... the setting of the control start distance is premised on that the actual vehicle speed Vb is higher than the target approach speed V * (that is, Vb> V *), and the actual vehicle speed Vb is equal to or less than the target approach speed V *...the control start distance setting unit 72, the actual vehicle speed Vb detected by the vehicle speed sensor (vehicle speed detecting means) 84 by the above equation. Then, the control start distance Lneed is calculated and set from the target approach vehicle speed V * set in the target vehicle speed setting 34...It may be possible to automatically perform an appropriate deceleration operation under required conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Yasuhara to contain a system for wherein the processor is configured to determine the inertia driving control time based on a distance required to reach the target vehicle speed by the inertia driving being greater than or equal to a first set distance value, and the remaining distance being greater than or equal to a second set distance value with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the safe driving of the vehicle when entering curves as discussed in Kazuya (see at least Kazuya [English Translation pg.23 para.8] the vehicle speed can be surely suppressed when entering the curve, and the driver can be assisted in safe driving).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuhara (WO 2013011619 A1) in view of Ikezawa et al (CN 116476789 A) and Wang et at (CN 118387096 A). Hereafter referred to as Yasuhara, Ikezawa, and Wang respectively.
Regarding Claim 13, Yasuhara teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Yasuhara does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to:
upon more than a preset number of pieces of road curvature information being received within a preset distance, determine a priority of the deceleration event based on the road curvature information
and selectively perform the inertia driving control for the piece of road curvature information having the highest priority
wherein the priority is determined based on at least one of a size of a radius of curvature, presence of alteration in a sign of the curvature, a number of alterations in the sign of the curvature, or a length of a curvature section of the respective pieces of road curvature information.
Ikezawa, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
upon more than a preset number of pieces of road curvature information being received within a preset distance, determine a priority of the deceleration event based on the road curvature information (see at least Ikezawa [English Translation pg.10 para.5-6] The automatic deceleration control may be performed with any of the key points known in the art. In addition, when a plurality of deceleration objects are detected, an automatic deceleration control can be performed based on a deceleration object having a high priority)
and selectively perform the inertia driving control for the piece of road curvature information having the highest priority (see at least Ikezawa [English Translation pg.10 para.5-6] in the case where the deceleration object is a curve of the road, the vehicle itself is automatically decelerated so that the magnitude of the lateral acceleration of the vehicle 50 travelling in the curve is equal to or less than a predetermined value).
Wang, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the priority is determined based on at least one of a size of a radius of curvature, presence of alteration in a sign of the curvature, a number of alterations in the sign of the curvature, or a length of a curvature section of the respective pieces of road curvature information (see at least Wang [English Translation pg.12 para.2, pg.9 para.3] the electronic device 140 determining a speed planning curve for the candidate path further includes: determining the priority of a plurality of speed planning curves to be determined according to the speed curve cost function...the speed curve cost function is related to at least one of the following: the time of reaching the target speed, the average acceleration change rate and the difference between the end point of the undetermined speed planning curve and the target speed...the electronic device 140 selects the predicted path with the largest average curvature absolute value as the candidate path. Therefore, under the condition that the candidate path cannot be determined based on the passing probability, the predicted path with maximum average curvature absolute value, or the predicted path with maximum transverse speed and highest risk is taken as the candidate path to ensure the driving safety of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Yasuhara to contain a system for wherein the processor is configured to: upon more than a preset number of pieces of road curvature information being received within a preset distance, determine a priority of the deceleration event based on the road curvature information and selectively perform the inertia driving control for the piece of road curvature information having the highest priority wherein the priority is determined based on at least one of a size of a radius of curvature, presence of alteration in a sign of the curvature, a number of alterations in the sign of the curvature, or a length of a curvature section of the respective pieces of road curvature information with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving both the comfort of the vehicle user and improving the safety of the driving of the vehicle as discussed in Wang (see at least Wang [English Translation Abstract] the comfort of the driver and the passenger can be improved while the driving safety of the vehicle is ensured).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ANDERSON YANOSKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664