DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2, after “window” insert --body--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1,6,7), 2, 3, 4, 5, (6,7), 8, 6, and 6, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,426,020. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application and claims 1, 6, and 7 of the related patent each disclose a delivery door extension that attaches to an existing door jamb and engages with an existing door, the delivery door extension comprising: a panel having a planar body with opposing front and rear surfaces extending between first and second side surfaces, a top surface, and a bottom surface, wherein the panel body includes an opening; a delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel; an attachment mechanism (hinge ring) on the first side surface of the panel, wherein the attachment mechanism is rotatably connected to the door jamb; and a blocking mechanism on the second side surface that restricts movement of the existing door.
Claims 2-5 of the instant application and claims 2-5, respectively, of the related patent are substantially identical.
Claim 6 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claims 6 and 7 of the related patent.
Claim 7 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claim 7 and claim 8 of the related patent.
Claim 8 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claim 6 of the related patent.
Claim 9 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claim 6 of the related patent.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1,5,6,8), 2, 5, 3, 4, (6,8), 7, 8, and 9, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,149. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application and claims 1, 5, 6, and 8 of the related patent each disclose a delivery door extension that attaches to an existing door jamb and engages with an existing door, the delivery door extension comprising: a panel having a planar body with opposing front and rear surfaces extending between first and second side surfaces, a top surface, and a bottom surface, wherein the panel body includes an opening; a delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel; an attachment mechanism (hinge attachment mechanism) on the first side surface of the panel, wherein the attachment mechanism is rotatably connected to the door jamb; and a blocking mechanism on the second side surface that restricts movement of the existing door.
Claim 2 of the instant application and claim 2 of the related patent are substantially identical.
Claim 3 of the instant application reads on claim 5, last line.
Claim 4 of the instant application and claim 3 of the related patent are substantially identical.
Claim 5 of the instant application and claim 4 of the related patent are substantially identical.
Claim 6 of the instant application reads on claims 6 and 8 of the related patent which recite the shelf.
Claim 7 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claim 6 and claim 7 of the related patent.
Claim 8 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claim 8 of the related patent.
Claim 9 of the instant application is substantially identical to claim 9 of the related patent.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1,6), 2, 3, 4, 5, (1,6), 1, 6, and 7, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,028. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application and claims 1 and 6 of the related patent each disclose a delivery door extension that attaches to an existing door jamb and engages with an existing door, the delivery door extension comprising: a panel having a planar body with opposing front and rear surfaces extending between first and second side surfaces, a top surface, and a bottom surface, wherein the panel body includes an opening; a delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel; an attachment mechanism on the first side surface of the panel, wherein the attachment mechanism is rotatably connected to the door jamb; and a blocking mechanism on the second side surface that restricts movement of the existing door.
Claims 2-5 of the instant application and claims 2-5, respectively, of the related patent are substantially identical.
Claim 6 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claims 1 and 6 of the related patent.
Claim 7 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claim 1 of the related patent.
Claim 8 of the instant application reads on the last paragraph of claim 6 of the related patent.
Claim 9 of the instant application reads on claim 7 of the related patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationship is between the key lock and the delivery door extension, specifically the blocking mechanism thereof. Paragraphs [0055] and [0056] of the instant specification appear to discuss the key lock.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booker (US#4103458) in view of Anderson (US#2020/0308903).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Booker discloses a delivery door extension that attaches to an existing door jamb 14’,24 and engages with an existing door 10, the delivery door extension comprising: a panel 18 having a planar body 20 with opposing front and rear surfaces extending between first and second side surfaces (opposing vertical edges), a top surface, and a bottom surface; an attachment mechanism 22 on the first side surface (right vertical edge Fig. 2) of the panel, wherein the attachment mechanism is rotatably connected (hinged) to the door jamb portion 24; and a blocking mechanism 16 on (attached to) the second side surface (left vertical edge Fig. 2) that restricts movement of the existing door (see Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 1, Booker fails to disclose wherein the panel body includes an opening, and a delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel. However, as evidenced by Anderson, such an arrangement is known in the security door art, see opening 102 in panel body 100 and cooperating delivery window body 130 allowing for package delivery, the delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel. Therefore, as evidenced by Anderson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Booker such that the panel body included an opening and a delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the opening and cooperating delivery window body would allow for package delivery while maintaining a secure, blocked entrance.
Regarding claim 3, Booker discloses a “key lock” as element 26 is turned to move bolt 28 between a locking and unlocking position. Further, Anderson teaches its delivery window includes an activator panel 140, namely a key fob sensor, that controls operation of the delivery window via cooperation with a key fob 146, i.e. “key lock”.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, as discussed above, Anderson teaches its delivery window includes an activator panel 140, namely a key fob sensor, that controls operation of the delivery window.
Regarding claim 6, Booker also fails to disclose a shelf attached to the panel adjacent to the opening. However, as evidenced by Anderson, such an arrangement is known in the security door art, see Figs. 4-5 and shelf 400 attached to the panel 100 adjacent to the opening 102. Therefore, as evidenced by Anderson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Booker such that a shelf was attached to the panel adjacent to the opening. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the shelf would allow for retrieval of the delivered item without requiring the user to pick up the delivered item off the floor or ground.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booker (US#4103458) in view of Yamamoto (US#7165595).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Booker discloses a delivery door extension that attaches to an existing door jamb 14’,24 and engages with an existing door 10, the delivery door extension comprising: a panel 18 having a planar body 20 with opposing front and rear surfaces extending between first and second side surfaces (opposing vertical edges), a top surface, and a bottom surface; an attachment mechanism 22 on the first side surface (right vertical edge Fig. 2) of the panel, wherein the attachment mechanism is rotatably connected (hinged) to the door jamb portion 24; and a blocking mechanism 16 on (attached to) the second side surface (left vertical edge Fig. 2) that restricts movement of the existing door (see Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 1, Booker fails to disclose wherein the panel body includes an opening, and a delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel. However, as evidenced by Yamamoto, such an arrangement is known in the security door art, see opening in panel body 4 and cooperating delivery window body 7 allowing for package delivery (col. 4, lines 51-56). Therefore, as evidenced by Yamamoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Booker such that the panel body included an opening and a delivery window body configured to move between an open position and a closed position along the opening of the panel, wherein the delivery window covers the opening of the panel body in the closed position. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the opening and cooperating delivery window body would allow for package delivery while maintaining a secure, blocked entrance.
Regarding claim 3, Booker discloses a “key lock” as element 26 is turned to move bolt 28 between a locking and unlocking position.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booker (US#4103458) in view of Yamamoto (US#7165595), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gray (US#2003/0006275).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Booker in view of Yamamoto fails to disclose an activator panel to control window operation. However, as evidenced by Gray, such an arrangement is known in the security door art, see activator panel 11, namely an alpha-numeric panel, to control window 1 operation of door 3. Therefore, as evidenced by Gray, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Booker to include an activator panel, such an alpha-numeric panel, to control window operation. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the activator panel, such as an alpha-numeric panel, to control window operation would enhance security of the door extension.
Allowable Subject Matter
Upon filing an approved terminal disclaimer(s), claims 7-9 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form, including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Booker (US#4103458) in view of Anderson (US#2020/0308903) fails to disclose or suggest wherein the shelf is configured to move between an active position and an inactive position, and wherein the shelf extends outwardly from the panel in the active position. The shelf 400 taught by Anderson is fixed and it would be improper to modify this modifying reference.
Regarding claim 8, Booker (US#4103458) in view of Anderson (US#2020/0308903) fails to disclose or suggest wherein the shelf is hingedly connected to the panel body, and wherein the shelf moves between an extended position and a withdrawn position. The shelf 400 taught by Anderson is fixed and it would be improper to modify this modifying reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
It is noted Janas (US#11534015) discloses a pass-through device including a shelf 88 which is configured to move via hinge 134 between an active position (deployed, extended) and an inactive position (stowed, withdrawn), and wherein the shelf extends from the panel 80 in the active position (Fig. 5).
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677