DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 7 each recite “determining an intervention event corresponding to the predicted mismatch state, from among a plurality of intervention events each respectively corresponding to one or more of a plurality of mismatch states” which is indefinite” the “one or more of a plurality of mismatch states” is undefined. Furthermore, the claim, and other dependent claims further limit the “at least one of the plurality of intervention events” however the claims do not require any of the particulars of these limitations, only a single broad intervention event corresponding to a predicted mismatch state. If the application states determining at least one event A from possible events A, B, or C, prior art anticipating A reads on the claim. The act of not selecting a possible option is not an actual method step, as it is currently claimed. Thus it is unclear whether the limitations were intended to be required by the claim.
Additionally, claim 5 recites “wherein a further intervention event, or lack thereof, is performed…” and claim 6 recites “determining an intervention event, or lack thereof” It is unclear how a lack of an intervention event is performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graushar et al. (US 2008/0199276).
In respect to claims 1-3, although indefinite for the reasons stated above, Graushar et al. disclose a method of correcting book portion mismatches comprising: receiving input signals from a sensor 152 corresponding to a sequence of first book portions (book blocks) and a second sensor 156 corresponding to a sequence of second book portions (covers) being conveyed into a book binding stage (0040; Fig. 6); predicting a mismatch state between the first and second book portion with respect to expected first and second sequences (a zero position) (0049); determining an intervention event (longitudinal adjustment) corresponding to the predicted mismatch state*, and automatically executing the determined intervention event corresponding to the predicted mismatch state (0050). The selective routing claimed as an intervention event is optional and is not positively recited.
*Note: The other “plurality of intervention events” is not material to the method claim. Graushar et al. inherently discloses “determination” of a mismatch. Selection from other invention events which are not selected “determined”. These other events which are not selected are not positive methods steps in the claim. Regardless, Graushar et al. disclose other intervention events such as correction of skew and lateral alignment (0039).
In respect to claim 4, Graushar et al. disclose that the intervention event (longitudinal alignment) is performed without interrupting the bookbinding stage.
In respect to claim 6, Graushar et al. disclose that the predicted mismatch state is a predicted mismatch differential (comparing a measured value of deviation from the zero position) (0049).
In respect to claims 7-10 and 12, Graushar et al. disclose the claimed invention for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 2012/0257946) in view of Graushar et al. (US 2008/0199276).
Although indefinite for the reasons stated above, Mueller discloses a method of correcting book portion mismatches comprising: receiving input signals from a sensor (barcode scanner) corresponding to a sequence of first book portions (book blocks) and corresponding to a sequence of second book portions (covers) (as the covers and barcodes are matched electronically) being conveyed into a book binding stage (0045; Fig. 5); predicting a mismatch state between the first and second book portion with respect to expected first and second sequences (non-matching book blocks and covers) (0015; Fig. 5); determining an intervention event corresponding to the predicted mismatch state, and automatically executing the determined intervention event corresponding to the predicted mismatch state (0050). Wherein the intervention event is selective routing of the first book portion (book block) associated with the mismatch state from the respective assembly channel 6 into a correction channel 78, and reinsertion of the first book portion (book block) into the respective assembly channel corresponding to a modified version of the respective sequence (0065-0066; Fig. 5).
Although the non-selected plurality of intervention events are not positive method steps, and the “selected” intervention event is disclosed by both Graushar et al. and Mueller, Graushar et al. additionally teach a separate intervention event involving further sensors leading into the bookbinding stage (see 35 USC 102, above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to provide the bookbinding device and method taught in Mueller with additional sensors leading to the bookbinding stage taught in Graushar et al. to assure proper alignment between the first and second portions prior to bookbinding (0039). Thus, at least two intervention events are selectable, with Mueller in view of Graushar et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muller et al. (US 2020/0324566), Dobrovolsky (US 2006/0028662), Hartshorne et al. (US 2011/0170987), Antonuzzo (US 2024/0308261), Altenbach et al. (US 2017/0066273), Herrmann (US 2021/0008918), and De Marco et al. (EP 2,269,823), disclose similar inventions.
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637