DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 15, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2021/0233455 A1, hereinafter referred as “Yang”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2025/0291959 A1, hereinafter referred as “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a display device (title discloses Display Panel and Display Device), comprising:
a display panel on which a plurality of pixels are disposed (Fig. 2 and abstract discloses display panel includes a first pixel group and a second pixel group each including sub-pixels coupled to the first scan line);
a data driver (150) configured to provide a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through a plurality of data lines data lines (SC1, SC2,..., SCJ) (Figs. 1-2 and ¶0063 discloses the data driver 150 may include a plurality of source channels SC1, SC2, . . . , SCJ for respectively outputting the data voltages); and
a multiplexer (220) connected between the data driver (150) and the plurality of data lines data lines (SC1, SC2,..., SCJ) (Fig. 2, ¶0031 and ¶0065 discloses the display panel may further include a demultiplexer circuit configured to couple N source channels to N data lines selected from the plurality of data lines) and including a plurality of switching elements connected to be controlled by a plurality of mux control signals (DMCS1, DMCS2, DMCS3, DMCS4) (Fig. 2 and ¶0014 discloses demux switches configured to couple the N source channels to left and right data lines in response to demux control signals), …
a first sub-pixel (R1) configured to display a first image (DR1) (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0089 discloses a data driver 150 may receive image data DR1, DG1, DB1 and DG′1 for sub-pixels R1, G1, B1 and G′1 of a first pixel group PG1); and
a second sub-pixel (R2) configured to display a same color as the first sub-pixel (R1) and to display a second image different from the first image (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0090 discloses the data driver 150 may receive image data DR2, DG2, DB2 and DG′2 for sub-pixels R2, G2, B2 and G′2 of a second pixel group PG2).
Yang doesn’t disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel (Fig. 9 and ¶0068 discloses pixel 22 includes a red narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RN, a red wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RW, a green narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GN, a green wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GW, a blue narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BN, and a blue wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BW).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of allowing private content (e.g., content in private content regions 138) and/or public content (e.g., content in public region 136) may be displayed on display 14 (¶0116).
Regarding claim 10, Yang doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel includes: a first region in which the first image is configured to be displayed through the first sub-pixel of the plurality of pixels; and a second region in which the second image is configured to be displayed through the second sub-pixel of the plurality of pixels, and wherein the first region and the second region vary while the display panel is driven.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein the display panel (14) includes: a first region (14-N) in which the first image is configured to be displayed through the first sub-pixel (22-RN) of the plurality of pixels (22) (Figs. 9, 11-12, ¶0056 and ¶0094 discloses in private region 14-N only narrow-viewing-angle subpixels emit light.); and a second region (14-W) in which the second image is configured to be displayed through the second sub-pixel (22-RW) of the plurality of pixels (22) (Figs. 9, 11-12, ¶0056 and ¶0094 discloses in public region 14-W, the pixels emit light using only the wide-viewing-angle subpixels), and wherein the first region (14-N) and the second region (14-W) vary while the display panel is driven (Figs. 11-12 and ¶0095 discloses with the arrangement of FIGS. 9-11, any pixel in display 14 may be switched between a public mode and a private mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of enabling the display 14 to have multiple discrete private regions that are aligned with selected private content (¶0095).
Regarding claim 11, Yang doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein in the first region, the second sub-pixel outputs a dummy image, and wherein in the second region, the first sub-pixel outputs the dummy image.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein in the first region, the second sub-pixel outputs a dummy image (Fig. 9, ¶0072 and claims 5-6 discloses the first emission logic circuit is operable in a first mode in which the first red subpixel emits light and the second red subpixel does not emit light), and wherein in the second region, the first sub-pixel outputs the dummy image (Fig. 9, ¶0072 and claims 5-6 discloses a second mode in which the second red subpixel emits light and the first red subpixel does not emit light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of suppressing unwanted images on the non-active sub-pixel.
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses a method for driving a display device (title discloses Display Panel and Display Device), wherein the display device includes:
a display panel on which a plurality of pixels being disposed (Fig. 2 and abstract discloses display panel includes a first pixel group and a second pixel group each including sub-pixels coupled to the first scan line);
a data driver (150) configured to provide a data voltage to a plurality of data lines data lines (SC1, SC2,..., SCJ) connected to the plurality of pixels through a plurality of output channels (Figs. 1-2 and ¶0063 discloses the data driver 150 may include a plurality of source channels SC1, SC2, . . . , SCJ for respectively outputting the data voltages); and
a multiplexer (220) connected between the data driver (150) and the plurality of data lines data lines (SC1, SC2,..., SCJ) (Fig. 2, ¶0031 and ¶0065 discloses the display panel may further include a demultiplexer circuit configured to couple N source channels to N data lines selected from the plurality of data lines) and including a plurality of switching elements connected to be controlled by a plurality of mux control signals (DMCS1, DMCS2, DMCS3, DMCS4) (Fig. 2 and ¶0014 discloses demux switches configured to couple the N source channels to left and right data lines in response to demux control signals), …
a first sub-pixel (R1) configured to display a first image (DR1) (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0089 discloses a data driver 150 may receive image data DR1, DG1, DB1 and DG′1 for sub-pixels R1, G1, B1 and G′1 of a first pixel group PG1); and
a second sub-pixel (R2) configured to display a same color as the first sub-pixel (R1) and to display a second image (DR2) different from the first image (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0090 discloses the data driver 150 may receive image data DR2, DG2, DB2 and DG′2 for sub-pixels R2, G2, B2 and G′2 of a second pixel group PG2),
the method comprising:
controlling the data driver (150) to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image (DR1) to the first sub-pixel (R1) (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0089 discloses a data driver 150 may receive image data DR1, DG1, DB1 and DG′1 for sub-pixels R1, G1, B1 and G′1 of a first pixel group PG1); and
controlling the data driver (150) to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image (DR2) to the second sub-pixel (R2) (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0090 discloses the data driver 150 may receive image data DR2, DG2, DB2 and DG′2 for sub-pixels R2, G2, B2 and G′2 of a second pixel group PG2).
Yang doesn’t disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel (Fig. 9 and ¶0068 discloses pixel 22 includes a red narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RN, a red wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RW, a green narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GN, a green wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GW, a blue narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BN, and a blue wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BW).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of allowing private content (e.g., content in private content regions 138) and/or public content (e.g., content in public region 136) may be displayed on display 14 (¶0116).
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the display panel includes: a plurality of unit pixels, each of which including a first pixel (PG1) and a second pixel (PG2), wherein the outputting the first data voltage (VR1) includes: controlling the multiplexer (220) to connect a first output channel (SC1) to the first sub-pixel (R1) of the first pixel (PG1) in response to a first mux control signal (DMCS1) in a first period (SSOT1) of one horizontal period (SOT1) (Figs. 2, 5); and controlling the data driver (150) to output the first data voltage (VR1) to the first output channel (SC1) in synchronization with the first mux control signal (DMCS1) in the first period (SOT1) (Figs. 2, 5), and wherein the outputting a second data voltage (VG1) includes: controlling the multiplexer (220) to connect the second output channel (SC2) to the second sub-pixel (G1) of the first pixel (PG1) in response to the first mux control signal (DMCS1) in the first period (SSOT1); and controlling the data driver (150) to output the second data voltage (VG1) to the second output channel (SC2) in synchronization with the first mux control signal (DMCS1) in the first period (SSOT1) (Figs. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 21, Yang discloses a display device, comprising:
a display panel on which a plurality of unit pixels being disposed (Fig. 2 and ¶0069 discloses the sub-pixels (e.g., SP11 through SP1K) coupled to the odd-numbered scan line (e.g., the first scan line SL1) may be alternately grouped into a first pixel group PG1 and a second pixel group PG2);
a data driver (150) configured to provide a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through a plurality of data lines data lines (SC1, SC2,..., SCJ) (Figs. 1-2 and ¶0063 discloses the data driver 150 may include a plurality of source channels SC1, SC2, . . . , SCJ for respectively outputting the data voltages); and
a multiplexer (220) connected between the data driver (150) and the plurality of data lines data lines (SC1, SC2,..., SCJ) (Fig. 2, ¶0031 and ¶0065 discloses the display panel may further include a demultiplexer circuit configured to couple N source channels to N data lines selected from the plurality of data lines) and including a plurality of switching elements connected to be controlled by a plurality of mux control signals (DMCS1, DMCS2, DMCS3, DMCS4) (Fig. 2 and ¶0014 discloses demux switches configured to couple the N source channels to left and right data lines in response to demux control signals),
wherein each of the plurality of unit pixels includes a plurality of pixels (Fig. 2 and ¶0069 discloses the sub-pixels (e.g., SP11 through SP1K) coupled to the odd-numbered scan line (e.g., the first scan line SL1) may be alternately grouped into a first pixel group PG1 and a second pixel group PG2),…
a first sub-pixel (R1) configured to emit light at a first luminance corresponding to a first image (DR1) (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0089 discloses a data driver 150 may receive image data DR1, DG1, DB1 and DG′1 for sub-pixels R1, G1, B1 and G′1 of a first pixel group PG1); and
a second sub-pixel (R2) configured to emit light of the same color as the first sub-pixel (R1) at a second luminance different from the first luminance corresponding to a second image (DR2) (Figs. 2, 5 and ¶0090 discloses the data driver 150 may receive image data DR2, DG2, DB2 and DG′2 for sub-pixels R2, G2, B2 and G′2 of a second pixel group PG2),
wherein the first sub-pixel (R1) and the second sub-pixel (R2) are time-dividedly driven during one horizontal period (SOT1) (Fig. 5 and ¶0089 discloses during the first sub-scan on time SSOT1, as illustrated in FIG. 7A, a data driver 150 may receive image data DR1… and may output data voltage VR1corresponding to the image data DR1; Fig. 5 and ¶0090 discloses during the second sub-scan on time SSOT2, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the data driver 150 may receive image data DR2… and may output data voltages VR2 corresponding to the image data DR2).
Yang doesn’t disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel (Fig. 9 and ¶0068 discloses pixel 22 includes a red narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RN, a red wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RW, a green narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GN, a green wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GW, a blue narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BN, and a blue wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BW).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of allowing private content (e.g., content in private content regions 138) and/or public content (e.g., content in public region 136) may be displayed on display 14 (¶0116).
4. Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Chen and in further view of Hong et al. (US 2022/0208125 A1, hereinafter referred as “Hong”).
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the display device of claim 1,
…wherein the multiplexer (220) includes:
a first switching element configured to be turned on in response to a first mux control signal (DMCS1) and connect the output channel (SC1) to the first sub-pixel (R1) (Fig. 2 and ¶0089 discloses demultiplexer circuit 120a may receive a first demux control signal DMCS1 from the controller 170 of FIG. 1, and first demux switches SWS1 may be turned on in response to the first demux control signal DMCS1); and
a second switching element configured to be turned on in response to a second mux control signal (DMCS2) and connect the output channel (SC1) to the second sub-pixel (R2) (Fig. 2 and ¶0090 discloses demultiplexer circuit 120a may receive a second demux control signal DMCS2 from the controller 170 of FIG. 1, and second demux switches SWS2 may be turned on in response to the second demux control signal DMCS2).
Yang doesn’t disclose wherein the data driver includes: an output buffer configured to output the data voltage to an output channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hong discloses wherein the data driver (130) includes: an output buffer (BF1) configured to output the data voltage to an output channel (Fig. 3 and ¶0072 discloses first red, third red and fifth red data voltages Vr1, Vr3 and Vr5 and may transmit the first red, third red and fifth red data voltages Vr1, Vr3 and Vr5 to the first buffer BF1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of facilitating timing and sequencing when the driver is outputting voltages to different columns or subpixels in turn.
Regarding claim 3, Yang doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 2, wherein the output buffer is configured to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image in synchronization with the first mux control signal while the pixel is operated in a first mode; and wherein the output buffer is configured to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image in synchronization with the second mux control signal while the pixel is operated in a second mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses …output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image… while the pixel is operated in a first mode (¶0116 discloses gamma circuitry 142 may apply a first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is public content and a second gamma value that is different from the first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is private content); and …output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image… while the pixel is operated in a second mode (¶0116 discloses gamma circuitry 142 may apply a first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is public content and a second gamma value that is different from the first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is private content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of switching functions without changing the pixel hardware.
Yang as modified doesn’t disclose wherein the output buffer is configured to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image in synchronization with the first mux control signal; and wherein the output buffer is configured to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image in synchronization with the second mux control signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hong discloses wherein the output buffer (BF1) is configured to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image in synchronization with the first mux control signal (SOE1) (Fig. 3, and ¶0072 discloses transmit the first red, third red and fifth red data voltages Vr1, Vr3 and Vr5 to the first buffer BF1; and ¶0076 discloses according to the first MUX signal MUX1, the plurality of first MUX switches MT1 may sequentially transmit the first red, third red and fifth red data voltages Vr1, Vr3 and Vr5 of the first buffer BF1 to a first data line); and wherein the output buffer (BF1) is configured to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image in synchronization with the second mux control signal (SOE2) (Fig. 3 and ¶0072 discloses transmit the first green, third green and fifth green data voltages Vg1, Vg3 and Vg5 to the first buffer BF1; and ¶0076 discloses according to the second MUX signal MUX2, the plurality of second MUX switches MT2 may sequentially transmit the first green, third green and fifth green data voltages Vg1, Vg3 and Vg5 of the first buffer BF1 to a second data line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of facilitating timing and sequencing when the driver is outputting voltages to different columns or subpixels in turn.
Regarding claim 4, Yang doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the output buffer is configured to output a dummy data voltage in synchronization with the second mux control signal while the pixel is operated in the first mode, and wherein the output buffer is configured to output the dummy data voltage in synchronization with the first mux control signal while the pixel is operated in the second mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses …output a dummy data voltage …while the pixel is operated in the first mode (Fig. 9, ¶0072 and claims 5-6 discloses the first emission logic circuit is operable in a first mode in which the first red subpixel emits light and the second red subpixel does not emit light); and …output the dummy data voltage… while the pixel is operated in the second mode (Fig. 9, ¶0072 and claims 5-6 discloses a second mode in which the second red subpixel emits light and the first red subpixel does not emit light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of suppressing unwanted images on the non-active sub-pixel.
Yang as modified doesn’t disclose wherein the output buffer is configured to output a… voltage in synchronization with the second mux control signal…, and wherein the output buffer is configured to output the… data voltage in synchronization with the first mux control signal…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hong discloses wherein the output buffer is configured to output a… voltage in synchronization with the second mux control signal (Fig. 4 illustrates the MUX2 signal is inactive when the MUX1 signal is active)…, and wherein the output buffer is configured to output the… data voltage in synchronization with the first mux control signal (Fig. 4 illustrates the MUX1 signal is inactive when the MUX2 signal is active)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of alternately displaying the privacy mode and the public mode and avoiding crosstalk between the two data paths.
5. Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Chen, in further view of Lim et al. (US 2025/0391309 A1, hereinafter referred as “Lim”) and in further view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0212617 A1, hereinafter referred as “Lee”).
Regarding claim 5, Yang doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the data driver includes: a first output buffer configured to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image to a first output channel; and a second output buffer configured to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image to a second output channel, wherein the first output channel is connected to the first sub-pixel, and wherein the second output channel is connected to the second sub-pixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses …wherein the first output channel (CHN_1) is connected to the first sub-pixel (EN_R) (Figs. 6-7 and ¶0121 discloses the (1_4)th anode AE1_4 corresponding to (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit EN_R may be connected to the first narrow channel CHN_1), and wherein the second output channel (CHW_1) is connected to the second sub-pixel (EW_R) (Figs. 6-7 and ¶0123 discloses the (2_4)th anode AE2_4 corresponding to the (2_4)th sub-light emitting unit EW_R may be connected to the first wide channel CHW_1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of simultaneously displaying the privacy mode and the public mode along the two data paths.
Yang as modified doesn’t disclose wherein the data driver includes: a first output buffer configured to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image to a first output channel; and a second output buffer configured to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image to a second output channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the data driver (110) includes: a first output buffer configured to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image to a first output channel (¶0082 discloses the data voltage is outputted via, for example, an output buffer from each of the channels of the data driver 110); and a second output buffer configured to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image to a second output channel (¶0082 discloses the data voltage is outputted via, for example, an output buffer from each of the channels of the data driver 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of simultaneously displaying the privacy mode and the public mode along the two data paths.
Regarding claim 6, Yang doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 5, wherein the first output buffer is configured to output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image to the first sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in a first mode, and wherein the second output buffer is configured to output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image to the second sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in a second mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses output a first data voltage corresponding to the first image to the first sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in a first mode (¶0116 discloses gamma circuitry 142 may apply a first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is public content and a second gamma value that is different from the first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is private content); and … output a second data voltage corresponding to the second image to the second sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in a second mode (¶0116 discloses gamma circuitry 142 may apply a first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is public content and a second gamma value that is different from the first gamma value to image data (e.g., image data from SOC 140) that is private content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of switching functions without changing the pixel hardware.
Yang as modified doesn’t disclose wherein the first output buffer is configured to output a first data voltage; and wherein the second output buffer is configured to output a second data voltage.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the first output buffer is configured to output a first data voltage (¶0082 discloses the data voltage is outputted via, for example, an output buffer from each of the channels of the data driver 110); and wherein the second output buffer is configured to output a second data voltage (¶0082 discloses the data voltage is outputted via, for example, an output buffer from each of the channels of the data driver 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of having better isolation between the channels and thereby reducing crosstalk.
Regarding claim 7, Yang doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 6, wherein the first output buffer is configured to output a dummy data voltage to the first sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in the first mode, and wherein the first output buffer is configured to output the dummy data voltage to the second sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in the second mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses …output a dummy data voltage to the first sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in the first mode (Fig. 9, ¶0072 and claims 5-6 discloses the first emission logic circuit is operable in a first mode in which the first red subpixel emits light and the second red subpixel does not emit light); and …output the dummy data voltage to the second sub-pixel while the pixel is operated in the second mode (Fig. 9, ¶0072 and claims 5-6 discloses a second mode in which the second red subpixel emits light and the first red subpixel does not emit light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of suppressing unwanted images on the non-active sub-pixel.
Yang as modified doesn’t disclose the first output buffer is configured to output a …data voltage to the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses the first output buffer is configured to output a …data voltage to the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel (¶0082 discloses the data voltage is outputted via, for example, an output buffer from each of the channels of the data driver 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of having better isolation between the channels and thereby reducing crosstalk.
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein the multiplexer includes: a first switching element configured to be turned on in response to a first mux control signal (DMCS1) and connect the first output channel (SC1) to the first sub-pixel (R1) (Fig. 2 and ¶0089 discloses demultiplexer circuit 120a may receive a first demux control signal DMCS1 from the controller 170 of FIG. 1, and first demux switches SWS1 may be turned on in response to the first demux control signal DMCS1. The first demux switches SWS1 may couple the source channels SC1, SC2, SC3 and SC4 to data lines RDL1, LDL2, RDL3 and LDL4 coupled to the sub-pixels R1, G1, B1 and G′1 the first pixel group PG1); and a second switching element configured to be turned on in response to the first mux control signal (DMCS1) and connect the second output channel (SC2) to the second sub-pixel (G1) (Fig. 2 and ¶0089 discloses demultiplexer circuit 120a may receive a first demux control signal DMCS1 from the controller 170 of FIG. 1, and first demux switches SWS1 may be turned on in response to the first demux control signal DMCS1. The first demux switches SWS1 may couple the source channels SC1, SC2, SC3 and SC4 to data lines RDL1, LDL2, RDL3 and LDL4 coupled to the sub-pixels R1, G1, B1 and G′1 the first pixel group PG1).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein the display panel includes: a plurality of unit pixels, each of which including a first pixel (PG1) and a second pixel (PG2), wherein the multiplexer (220) includes: a first switching element configured to be turned on in response to a first mux control signal (DMCS1) and connect the first output channel (SC1) to a first sub-pixel (R1) of the first pixel (PG1) (Fig. 2); a second switching element configured to be turned on in response to the first mux control signal (DMCS1) and connect the second output channel (SC2) to a second sub-pixel (G1) of the first pixel (PG1) (Fig. 2); a third switching element configured to be turned on in response to a second mux control signal (DMCS2) and connect the first output channel (SC1) to a first sub-pixel (R2) of the second pixel (PG2) (Fig. 2); and a fourth switching element configured to be turned on in response to the second mux control signal (DMCS2) and connect the second output channel (SC2) to a second sub-pixel (G2) of the second pixel (PG2) (Fig. 2).
6. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Chen and in further view of Cohen et al. (US 2016/0210473 A1, hereinafter referred as “Cohen”).
Regarding claim 12, Yang as modified doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel have a same pixel structure, and wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel have a form mirrored along a pixel column direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cohen discloses wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel have a same pixel structure (Figs. 2A-2B illustrate the sub-pixel units 204A, 204B, and 204C have an identical layout to sub-pixel units 206A, 206B, and 206C), and wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel have a form mirrored along a pixel column direction (Figs. 2A-2B and ¶0022 discloses the one or more pixels 202A each include respective red, green, and blue sub-pixel units 204A, 204B, and 204C having a first viewing angle, and respective red, green, and blue sub-pixel units 206A, 206B, and 206C having a second viewing angle. The second viewing angle may be generated to be narrower than the first viewing angle by using one or more optical collimators implemented using, for example, one or more optical lenses (see FIGS. 3A & 3B)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of reducing layout complexity, improve symmetry and make the two sub-pixels easier to drive.
7. Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Chen and in further view of Lee.
Regarding claim 13, Yang as modified doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a lens member disposed on the display panel and including a plurality of lenses, wherein the lens member includes: a first lens disposed in a first light emitting region of the first sub-pixel; and a second lens disposed in a second light emitting region of the second sub-pixel and having a form different from the first lens.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a lens member disposed on the display panel and including a plurality of lenses (¶0151 discloses FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating lenses disposed on the first and second light emitting elements EL1 and EL2), wherein the lens member includes: a first lens (304) disposed in a first light emitting region (EL2) of the first sub-pixel (¶0067 and ¶0164 discloses second lens 304 illustrated in FIG. 13 may be disposed on the second light emitting element EL2); and a second lens (302) disposed in a second light emitting region (EL1) of the second sub-pixel and having a form different from the first lens (304) (Fig. 13 and ¶0162 discloses first lens 302 illustrated in FIG. 13 may be disposed on the first light emitting element EL1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang so that the up and down viewing angle of the first light emitting element EL1 is comparable to (e.g., equal to or slightly different from) the second light emitting element EL2, and the left and right viewing angle thereof is larger than that of the second light emitting element EL2 (¶0162).
Regarding claim 14, Yang as modified doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 13, wherein the first lens is configured to control a light emitted from the first light emitting region to be emitted at a first viewing angle, and wherein the second lens is configured to control a light emitted from the second light emitting region to be emitted at a second viewing angle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the first lens (304) is configured to control a light emitted from the first light emitting region (EL2) to be emitted at a first viewing angle, and wherein the second lens (302) is configured to control a light emitted from the second light emitting region (EL1) to be emitted at a second viewing angle (Fig. 13 and ¶0162 discloses the up and down viewing angle of the first light emitting element EL1 is comparable to (e.g., equal to or slightly different from) the second light emitting element EL2, and the left and right viewing angle thereof is larger than that of the second light emitting element EL2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of limiting the up and down viewing angle to reduce or prevent ghost images on the image captured by the front-facing camera 312 (¶0162).
8. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Chen and in further view of Jeong et al. (US 2022/0301478 A1, hereinafter referred as “Jeong”).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the outputting the first data voltage includes: controlling the data driver (150) to output the first data voltage (VR1) to the first sub-pixel (R1) through a first output channel (SC1) in a first horizontal period (SOT1) (Figs. 2, 5), and wherein the outputting a second data voltage (VR2) includes: controlling the data driver (150) to output the second data voltage (VR2) to the second sub-pixel (R2)… in the first horizontal period (SOT1) (Figs. 2, 5).
Yang as modified doesn’t disclose output a second data voltage through a second output channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeong discloses output a second data voltage through a second output channel (Fig. 2A-2B illustrate the second data voltage applied to the pixels that are not used in the narrow angle viewing mode through a second output channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Yang for the purpose of having better isolation between the channels and thereby reducing crosstalk.
9. Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 22, Hong discloses a display device (Title discloses Display Device), comprising:
a display panel on which a plurality of pixels are disposed (abstract discloses a display panel including a plurality of subpixels); and
a data driver (130) including a plurality of output buffers (BF1, BF2, BF3) configured to provide a data voltage to the plurality of pixels (Fig. 3 and ¶0064 discloses the data driving part 130 of the display device 110… may include… a plurality of buffers BF1, BF2 and BF3; and ¶0073 discloses the plurality of buffers BF1, BF2 and BF3… sequentially output the plurality of data voltages through an output terminal (a channel)),…
a first sub-pixel (SPr1) connected to an output buffer (BF1) through a first switch (MT1) (Fig. 3 and ¶0078 discloses red subpixel SPr display an image using the plurality of data voltages transmitted through the plurality of first MUX switches MT1…and the plurality of data lines DL); and
a second sub-pixel (SPg1) connected to the output buffer (BF1) through a second switch (MT2) (Fig. 3 and ¶0078 discloses green subpixel SPg display an image using the plurality of data voltages transmitted through the plurality of second MUX switches MT2…and the plurality of data lines DL),…; and
wherein the first switch (MT1) and the second switch (MT2) are configured to have opposite switching states (Figs. 3-4 and ¶0089 discloses the plurality of data voltages sequentially outputted from one output terminal (one channel) of the data driving part 130 are sequentially transmitted to the two adjacent subpixels in one horizontal pixel line through the plurality of first MUX switches MT1 and the plurality of second MUX switches MT2 of the display panel 150).
Hong doesn’t disclose wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel; and the second sub-pixel configured to display a same color as the first sub-pixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises: a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel (Fig. 9 and ¶0068 discloses pixel 22 includes a red narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RN, a red wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RW, a green narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GN, a green wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-GW, a blue narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BN, and a blue wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-BW); and the second sub-pixel configured to display a same color as the first sub-pixel (Fig. 9 and ¶0068 discloses pixel 22 includes a red narrow-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RN, a red wide-viewing-angle subpixel 22-RW).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang for the purpose of allowing private content (e.g., content in private content regions 138) and/or public content (e.g., content in public region 136) may be displayed on display 14 (¶0116).
10. Claim(s) 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and in view of Chen and in further view of Lee.
Regarding claim 23, Hong as modified doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 22, comprising: a first lens on a light emitting region of the first sub-pixel; and a second lens on a light emitting region of the second sub-pixel, wherein the first lens is configured to emit light at a first angle, and the second lens is configured to emit light at a second angle different from the first angle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a first lens (304) on a light emitting region (EL2) of the first sub-pixel (¶0067 and ¶0164 discloses second lens 304 illustrated in FIG. 13 may be disposed on the second light emitting element EL2); and a second lens (302) on a light emitting region (EL1) of the second sub-pixel (Fig. 13 and ¶0162 discloses first lens 302 illustrated in FIG. 13 may be disposed on the first light emitting element EL1), wherein the first lens (304) is configured to emit light at a first angle (¶0164 discloses the light emitted from the second light emitting element EL2 is collected in a narrow viewing angle in the up and down direction and the left and right direction), and the second lens is configured to emit light at a second angle different from the first angle (¶0162 discloses the up and down viewing angle of the first light emitting element EL1 is comparable to (e.g., equal to or slightly different from) the second light emitting element EL2, and the left and right viewing angle thereof is larger than that of the second light emitting element EL2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hong for the purpose of pairing different lenses with different sub-pixels and selectively driving them.
Regarding claim 24, Hong as modified doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 23, wherein the first lens is a hemispherical lens, and has a cross-section having a semicircular shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the first lens (304) is a hemispherical lens (Fig. 13 and claim 15 discloses the second lens is a hemispherical lens), and has a cross-section having a semicircular shape (Fig. 13 illustrates a semicircular shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hong for the purpose of limiting the viewing angle in the horizontal and vertical directions.
Regarding claim 25, Hong as modified doesn’t disclose the display device of claim 23, wherein the second lens is a semicylindrical lens, and has a rectangular shape in a first cross-section and a semicircular shape in a second cross-section.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the second lens is a semicylindrical lens (Fig. 13 and claim 15 discloses the first lens is a semi-cylindrical lens), and has a rectangular shape in a first cross-section (Fig. 13 illustrates rectangular shape in a first cross-section) and a semicircular shape in a second cross-section (Fig. 13 illustrates semicircular shape in a second cross-section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hong for the purpose of limiting the viewing angle in one of the vertical or horizontal directions.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 16-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PRIYANK J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626