Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “patient based” (line 2) appears that it should be “patient is based.”
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “patient based” (line 2) appears that it should be “patient is based.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For claim 1, the claim language “based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, determining a cognitive state of the second patient” does not appear to be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. A claim may lack written description when the specification does not disclose the computer and the algorithm (i.e., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Here, the claim recites the function of determining a cognitive state of the second patient based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, but the specification never discloses the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how this occurs. The closest support the examiner could find is at para [0074] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed, which states
However, a teaching of comparing values to thresholds/ranges is not an algorithm that describes the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how to make a determination a cognitive state based on three different parameters (i.e., first EEG sensor output, first cognitive state, and second EEG sensor output). It is not enough that a skilled artisan could devise a way to accomplish the function because this is not relevant to the issue of whether the inventor has shown possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Therefore, adequate disclosure is needed.
For claim 8, the claim language “based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient” does not appear to be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. A claim may lack written description when the specification does not disclose the computer and the algorithm (i.e., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Here, the claim recites the function of determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, but the specification never discloses the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how this occurs. It is not enough that a skilled artisan could devise a way to accomplish the function because this is not relevant to the issue of whether the inventor has shown possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Therefore, adequate disclosure is needed.
For claim 9, the claim language “based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, determining a cognitive state of the second patient” does not appear to be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. A claim may lack written description when the specification does not disclose the computer and the algorithm (i.e., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Here, the claim recites the function of determining a cognitive state of the second patient based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, but the specification never discloses the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how this occurs. The closest support the examiner could find is at para [0074] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed, which states
However, a teaching of comparing values to thresholds/ranges is not an algorithm that describes the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how to make a determination a cognitive state based on three different parameters (i.e., first EEG sensor output, first cognitive state, and second EEG sensor output). It is not enough that a skilled artisan could devise a way to accomplish the function because this is not relevant to the issue of whether the inventor has shown possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Therefore, adequate disclosure is needed.
For claim 16, the claim language “based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient” does not appear to be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. A claim may lack written description when the specification does not disclose the computer and the algorithm (i.e., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Here, the claim recites the function of determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, but the specification never discloses the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how this occurs. It is not enough that a skilled artisan could devise a way to accomplish the function because this is not relevant to the issue of whether the inventor has shown possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Therefore, adequate disclosure is needed.
For claim 17, the claim language “based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, determining a cognitive state of the second patient” does not appear to be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. A claim may lack written description when the specification does not disclose the computer and the algorithm (i.e., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor invented the claimed subject matter. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Here, the claim recites the function of determining a cognitive state of the second patient based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, but the specification never discloses the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how this occurs. The closest support the examiner could find is at para [0074] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed, which states
However, a teaching of comparing values to thresholds/ranges is not an algorithm that describes the necessary steps and/or flowcharts of how to make a determination a cognitive state based on three different parameters (i.e., first EEG sensor output, first cognitive state, and second EEG sensor output). It is not enough that a skilled artisan could devise a way to accomplish the function because this is not relevant to the issue of whether the inventor has shown possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2161.01(I). Therefore, adequate disclosure is needed.
Dependent claim(s) 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 17, thus claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea).
Claim 1 is a claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter and therefore meets one of the categorical limitations of 35 U.S.C. 101. However, claim 1 meets the first prong of the step 2A analysis because it is directed to a/an abstract idea, as evidenced by the claim language of “receiving, from first electroencephalogram (EEG) sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a first patient, first EEG sensor outputs,” “based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and first cognitive states of the first patient,” “receiving, from second EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a second patient, second EEG sensor outputs,” and “based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, determining a cognitive state of the second patient.” This claim language, under the broadest, reasonable interpretation, encompasses subject matter that may be performed by a human using mental steps or with pen and paper that can involve basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represents abstract ideas (i.e., the mental comparison in Ambry Genetics, or the diagnosing an abnormal condition by performing clinical tests and thinking about the results in Grams). The claim language also meets prong 2 of the step 2A analysis because the above-recited claim language does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. That is, there appears to be no tangible improvement in a technology, effect of a particular treatment or prophylaxis, a particular machine or manufacture that is integrated, or transformation/reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing as a result of this claimed subject matter. As a result, step 2A is satisfied and the second step, step 2B, must be considered.
With regard to the second step, the claim does not recite any additional elements that amount to significantly more. Thus the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception.
Additionally, the ordered combination of elements do not add anything significantly more to the claimed subject matter. Specifically, the ordered combination of elements do not have any function that is not already supplied by each element individually. That is, the whole is not greater than the sum of its parts.
In view of the above, independent claim 1 fails to recite patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. Independent claim(s) 9 and 17 fail to recite patent-eligible subject matter for similar, if not the exact same, reasoning as that of claim 1. Independent claims 9 differs in that it recites “one or more processors” and “memory including a plurality of computer-executable components that are executable by the one or more processors.” However, these components do not add anything significantly more because they are generic computer structures and Bilksi and Alice have held that generic computer structures do not otherwise transform patent-ineligible subject matter into eligible subject matter. Independent claim 17 differs in that it recites “[o]ne or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that upon execution cause one or more processors to perform acts.” However, like above, these components do not add anything significantly more because they are generic computer structures and Bilksi and Alice have held that generic computer structures do not otherwise transform patent-ineligible subject matter into eligible subject matter. Dependent claim(s) 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 17 by merely reciting additional abstract ideas and/or further limitations on abstract ideas already recited. Thus, claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 13-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0285220 to Yadav et al. (hereinafter “Yadav”)
For claim 1, Yadav discloses a computer-implemented method (Abstract), comprising:
receiving, from first electroencephalogram (EEG) sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a first patient, first EEG sensor outputs (para [0017]);
based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and first cognitive states of the first patient (para [0017]) (also see Fig. 5 and para [0048]);
receiving, from second EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a second patient, second EEG sensor outputs (para [0057]); and
based on the relationships (Examiner’s Note: this claim term being construed in view of para [0070] of Applicant’s specification, which discloses a model, and para [0072] of Applicant’s specification, which discloses thresholds/ranges and/or a classifier) between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, determining a cognitive state of the second patient (para [0057]).
For claim 2, Yadav further discloses determining numerical values based on the first EEG sensor outputs (para [0029]-[0030]), wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the numerical values and the first cognitive states (see Fig. 5 and para [0048]).
For claim 5, Yadav further discloses wherein determining the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises providing the first EEG sensor outputs to a model (see Figs. 4 and/or 6).
For claim 6, Yadav further discloses generating a classifier that is configured to receive numerical values that are based on given EEG sensor outputs and output a given cognitive state of a given patient (para [0016] and [0026]).
For claim 9, Yadav discloses a system (Abstract), comprising:
one or more processors (1010) (Fig. 10) (para [0065]); and
memory (1012) (Fig. 10) (para [0065]) including a plurality of computer-executable components that are executable by the one or more processors to perform acts (para [0065] and [0069]) comprising:
receiving, from first electroencephalogram (EEG) sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a first patient, first EEG sensor outputs (para [0017]);
based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and first cognitive states of the first patient (para [0017]) (also see Fig. 5 and para [0048]);
receiving, from second EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a second patient, second EEG sensor outputs (para [0057]); and
based on the relationships (Examiner’s Note: this claim term being construed in view of para [0070] of Applicant’s specification, which discloses a model, and para [0072] of Applicant’s specification, which discloses thresholds/ranges and/or a classifier) between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, determining a cognitive state of the second patient (para [0057]).
For claim 10, Yadav further discloses wherein the acts comprise: determining numerical values based on the first EEG sensor outputs (para [0029]-[0030]), wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the numerical values and the first cognitive states (see Fig. 5 and para [0048]).
For claim 13, Yadav further discloses wherein determining the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises providing the first EEG sensor outputs to a model (see Figs. 4 and/or 6).
For claim 14, Yadav further discloses wherein the acts comprise: generating a classifier that is configured to receive numerical values that are based on given EEG sensor outputs and output a given cognitive state of a given patient (para [0016] and [0026]).
For claim 17, Yadav discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (1012) (Fig. 10) (para [0065]) storing computer-executable instructions that upon execution cause one or more processors to perform acts (para [0065] and [0069]) comprising:
receiving, from first electroencephalogram (EEG) sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a first patient, first EEG sensor outputs (para [0017]);
based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and first cognitive states of the first patient (para [0017]) (also see Fig. 5 and para [0048]);
receiving, from second EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a second patient, second EEG sensor outputs (para [0057]); and
based on the relationships (Examiner’s Note: this claim term being construed in view of para [0070] of Applicant’s specification, which discloses a model, and para [0072] of Applicant’s specification, which discloses thresholds/ranges and/or a classifier) between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient and based on the second EEG sensor outputs, determining a cognitive state of the second patient (para [0057]).
For claim 18, Yadav further discloses wherein the acts comprise: determining numerical values based on the first EEG sensor outputs (para [0029]-[0030]), wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the numerical values and the first cognitive states (see Fig. 5 and para [0048]).
For claim 19, Yadav further discloses wherein determining the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises providing the first EEG sensor outputs to a model (see Figs. 4 and/or 6).
For claim 20, Yadav further discloses wherein the acts comprise: generating a classifier that is configured to receive numerical values that are based on given EEG sensor outputs and output a given cognitive state of a given patient (para [0016] and [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0081731 to Ji.
For claim 3, Yadav does not expressly disclose wherein the numerical values are eigenvalues and eigenvectors.
However, Ji teaches wherein the numerical values are eigenvalues and eigenvectors (para [0039]-[0041], [0050], and [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav wherein the numerical values are eigenvalues and eigenvectors, in view of the teachings of Ji, for the obvious advantage of understanding how the matrix of the EEG readings transforms space.
For claim 4, Yadav does not expressly disclose wherein the numerical values are frequency values, damping values, and complexity values.
However, Ji teaches wherein the numerical values are frequency values, damping values, and complexity values (para [0039]-[0041], [0050], and [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav wherein the numerical values are frequency values, damping values, and complexity values, in view of the teachings of Ji, for the obvious advantage of understanding the different brainwaves that occur at the different frequencies in the EEG readings.
For claim 11, Yadav does not expressly disclose wherein the numerical values are eigenvalues and eigenvectors.
However, Ji teaches wherein the numerical values are eigenvalues and eigenvectors (para [0039]-[0041], [0050], and [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav wherein the numerical values are eigenvalues and eigenvectors, in view of the teachings of Ji, for the obvious advantage of understanding how the matrix of the EEG readings transforms space.
For claim 12, Yadav does not expressly disclose wherein the numerical values are frequency values, damping values, and complexity values.
However, Ji teaches wherein the numerical values are frequency values, damping values, and complexity values (para [0039]-[0041], [0050], and [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav wherein the numerical values are frequency values, damping values, and complexity values, in view of the teachings of Ji, for the obvious advantage of understanding the different brainwaves that occur at the different frequencies in the EEG readings.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav in view of “Global Neuromagnetic Cortical Fields Have Non-Zero Velocity,” by Alexander et al. (hereinafter “Alexander”).
For claim 7, Yadav does not expressly disclose wherein: determining a direction of traveling waves in the brain of the first patient is based on the first EEG sensor outputs, wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the direction of the traveling waves and the first cognitive states.
However, Alexander teaches wherein: determining a direction of traveling waves in the brain of the first patient is based on the first EEG sensor outputs (fourth full paragraph on page 2 and fourth full paragraph on page 3), wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the direction of the traveling waves and the first cognitive states (fourth full paragraph on page 2).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav wherein: determining a direction of traveling waves in the brain of the first patient is based on the first EEG sensor outputs, wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the direction of the traveling waves and the first cognitive states, in view of the teachings of Alexander, for the obvious advantage of taking account additional parameters that give insight into cortical activity for more accurate diagnosis of cognitive state(s) and/or condition(s).
For claim 15, Yadav does not expressly disclose wherein: determining a direction of traveling waves in the brain of the first patient is based on the first EEG sensor outputs, wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the direction of the traveling waves and the first cognitive states.
However, Alexander teaches wherein: determining a direction of traveling waves in the brain of the first patient is based on the first EEG sensor outputs (fourth full paragraph on page 2 and fourth full paragraph on page 3), wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the direction of the traveling waves and the first cognitive states (fourth full paragraph on page 2).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav wherein: determining a direction of traveling waves in the brain of the first patient is based on the first EEG sensor outputs, wherein determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first cognitive states of the first patient comprises determining relationships between the direction of the traveling waves and the first cognitive states, in view of the teachings of Alexander, for the obvious advantage of taking account additional parameters that give insight into cortical activity for more accurate diagnosis of cognitive state(s) and/or condition(s).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0283526 to Bonmassar.
For claim 8, Yadav does not expressly disclose based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient; receiving, from third EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a third patient, third EEG sensor outputs; and based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient.
However, Bonmasser teaches based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient (para [0125]); receiving, from third EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a third patient, third EEG sensor outputs (para [0125]); and based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient (para [0125]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav to include based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient; receiving, from third EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a third patient, third EEG sensor outputs; and based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient, in view of the teachings of Bonmasser, for the obvious advantage of supporting clinical utility of different EEG sensor net(s) (see para [0132] of Bonmasser).
For claim 16, Yadav does not expressly disclose wherein the acts comprise: based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient; receiving, from third EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a third patient, third EEG sensor outputs; and based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient.
However, Bonmasser teaches wherein the acts comprise: based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient (para [0125]); receiving, from third EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a third patient, third EEG sensor outputs (para [0125]); and based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient (para [0125]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Yadav wherein the acts comprise: based on the first EEG sensor outputs, determining relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient; receiving, from third EEG sensors that are physically detecting activity of a brain of a third patient, third EEG sensor outputs; and based on the relationships between the first EEG sensor outputs and the first patient and based on the third EEG sensor outputs, determining whether the first patient and the third patient are a same patient, in view of the teachings of Bonmasser, for the obvious advantage of supporting clinical utility of different EEG sensor net(s) (see para [0132] of Bonmasser).
Conclusion
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791